Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Dairy Chit Chat- Please read Mod note in post #1

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,135 ✭✭✭kowtow

Great to see a young lad getting off his ass and going for it. No future in farming, his like is the future

Guys like that are an absolute tonic.

Never worries me too much when I read about average age of farmers getting older, a handful of guys with his enthusiasm would take over from a county full of them!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,551 ✭✭✭keep going

I got the Irish Dairy Farmer winter issue today.

They have an interesting comparison of 5 different parlours and how they operate.

Sounds like one fella thought he d get abit of cheap relief milking done , cup of tea and all.:-).dont ye know jack talks about milking cows not milking them

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,282 ✭✭✭Deepsouthwest

Got qouted 5500 plus vat for automatic scraper foe a single 3 bay shed, madness to get it?

Probably, but from ur posts u come across as a young farmer(I could be wrong!), and I'm pretty sure auto scrapers are included in the new TAMS, so u could get a 60% or at the minimum 40% grant. Then it would be worth considering

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 607 ✭✭✭jack o shea

Are they included Deepsouth? The hassle and paperwork is unreal tho with them grants, is 5500 plus vat a very expensive qoute for a small shed/number of cubicles? In fairness he did say another 1500 or so would pay for a 2nd scraper, (at the moment it would be only one shed i could convert)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,551 ✭✭✭keep going

Got qouted 5500 plus vat for automatic scraper foe a single 3 bay shed, madness to get it?
    I made one for a single house for less than a thousand, its rachet but the bar is driven off a chain scraper motor like the old finger bar mower iykwim

Are they included Deepsouth? The hassle and paperwork is unreal tho with them grants, is 5500 plus vat a very expensive qoute for a small shed/number of cubicles? In fairness he did say another 1500 or so would pay for a 2nd scraper, (at the moment it would be only one shed i could convert)

If it's any help last time I bought track it was about 30eur a metre. I bought a second hand saddle for 500 odd as the one we had was shot. Motor was fine but we had to rebuild the control box.

keep going wrote: »
    I made one for a single house for less than a thousand, its rachet but the bar is driven off a chain scraper motor like the old finger bar mower iykwim

Oh ffs!!

Yes they are included, how much hassle could the paperwork be? U will hardly need planning permission.

Have to connect two slurry channels .. actually a single slat at the end of a passage to an open slurry channel about 20 ft away.

Ideally want to use a pipe rather than an actual channel to connect them as need to drive over it with heavy loads and want it in place quickly..

Would a largish length of corripipe set so the slurry channel water half fills it, with six inches of concrete and steel over the top do the trick? Or am I asking for trouble?

is that why they are so expensive?the grant. could you put the scraper in soon and get the grant after or is it not that simple?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,847 ✭✭✭Brown Podzol

kowtow wrote: »
    Have to connect two slurry channels .. actually a single slat at the end of a passage to an open slurry channel about 20 ft away.

Ideally want to use a pipe rather than an actual channel to connect them as need to drive over it with heavy loads and want it in place quickly..

Would a largish length of corripipe set so the slurry channel water half fills it, with six inches of concrete and steel over the top do the trick? Or am I asking for trouble?

Using 18" concrete pipes here with a lip at the end to hold about 6" of water in them. Working well for years. I think it needs to be at least size as anything smaller would block.

is that why they are so expensive?the grant. could you put the scraper in soon and get the grant after or is it not that simple?

Same price for yrs, expensive. Can't buy before grant is approved

when is the next grant applications? looks like il be sraping with the tractor for a while if i go ahead with it so.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,342 ✭✭✭awaywithyou

kowtow wrote: »
    Guys like that are an absolute tonic.

Never worries me too much when I read about average age of farmers getting older, a handful of guys with his enthusiasm would take over from a county full of them!

Best of luck to the chap... His puss is in the papers a bit too much for my liking tho....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,493 ✭✭✭Greengrass1

http://www.agriland.ie/farming-news/only-22-and-plans-to-be-milk-275-cows-in-co-galway/

Great to see a young lad getting off his ass and going for it. No future in farming, his like is the future
    While I know Kevin but he has said before only for his uncle putting down the land his 10th loan application would have failed too.
    Great initiative there and alot of hard work after all is said and done and the best of luck to him

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 998 ✭✭✭Damo810

http://www.agriland.ie/farming-news/only-22-and-plans-to-be-milk-275-cows-in-co-galway/

Great read, hadn't actually heard of him but he's only from out the road. Makes you think, especially since I'm coming from a similar position, looking to take on the uncles but it's a hell of a long way from being a viable dairy farm. Share-farming seems my best chance at getting into things tbh. He had a bit of a head start in being able to access the uncles place with a structure in place and a good size block, still though, fair play to him, all the best. Hopefully I'll be working down a similar path in a few years :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,506 ✭✭✭Dawggone

I'm thinking we could get a drop of rain...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,493 ✭✭✭Greengrass1

I got the Irish Dairy Farmer winter issue today.

They have an interesting comparison of 5 different parlours and how they operate.
    They are all up on youtube too
    https://youtu.be/UD6-oHBCUT4

https://youtu.be/9dLlSNibJ5k

https://youtu.be/-48Ag18s_Qw

https://youtu.be/MapL3haLrdc

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,633 ✭✭✭✭Buford T. Justice XIX

Dawggone wrote: »
    Jaysus, are the IFA making it rain in France as well?:pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,506 ✭✭✭Dawggone

Jaysus, are the IFA making it rain in France as well?:pac:

IFA hoorz!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,241 ✭✭✭✭Kovu

Dawggone wrote: »

I'm picturing you singing the opening theme song to The Lion King and holding a calf in the air... :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,396 ✭✭✭✭Timmaay

Feb due cow aborted this morning. Have the calf. Is it worth testing it, where/how much anyone?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,433 ✭✭✭Milked out

Timmaay wrote: »
    Feb due cow aborted this morning. Have the calf. Is it worth testing it, where/how much anyone?

Take it to local dvo lab, your vet might have to book it in for ya I think not sure how much

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,387 ✭✭✭cute geoge

You will always have the odd slinger this time ofn year .I would not be too worried if it stopped at one or two. I would say hold fire and see how things pan out

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,705 ✭✭✭✭mahoney_j

Bummer ,least u should do is isolate cow and blood her asap .are u vaccinating for salmonella ??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,278 ✭✭✭frazzledhome

Milk her and carry on. Don't waste your time sending to Lab. The only response will be inconclusive.

Had one this am also, cow straight to parlour and carried on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,396 ✭✭✭✭Timmaay

Milk her and carry on. Don't waste your time sending to Lab. The only response will be inconclusive.

Dried her off 2wks ago anyways, she was 3 spinner, very average milker, and scc up and down, going into the fattening pen and will be gone early Jan.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,185 ✭✭✭blackdog1

I would blood her for salmonella. I wouldn't want a positive salmonella cow going into the tank I drink the milk out of.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,751 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

are you not supposed to blood any cow that aborts for brucellosis or is that gone now

lads just back to the grants again, could someone put in a sraper now and claim the grant in 6 months time or whenever the nxt timeframe is if the reciepts were backdated or is there any way around it?