If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Manchester United Team Talk/Gossip/Rumours Thread 2015 - Mod Note Post 7373

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,460 ✭✭✭✭StringerBell

Home? Isn't he Portuguese?

If, in some parallel universe, United had a choice between Ronaldo, Bale and Neymar then Ronaldo should be a distant distant 3rd choice.

Nice to see you still dropping in randomly to look out for hypocrisy, Ronaldo has stated many, many times that he loves Manchester United, he loves the club, the city and the fans and feels it will always be a home in his heart.

Having said that, I don't see him coming back, nor do I particularly want him back as in I wouldn't be spending the kind of money required to do it for a guy his age with a growing concern over his troubling knee problem (tendonitis isn't something that just goes away normally as we learned with Hargreaves)

I see Bale as a more realistic target at some point for both ourselves and Madrid, I think Ronaldo may be swayed to go to Paris for one last hurrah and a new league winners medal but I can see him retiring by 34/35 at the latest since he is pretty firm in his stance that he does not want to end up at a lower level, he wants to go out on top, not the likes of the US or Qatar.

Course Ronnie could just retire at Madrid, not like Benitez will last much longer and a manager who plays to his strengths again will see him firing on all cylinders in no time I have no doubt.

Bale on the other hand is more likely to favour a return to the Premier League at some point I think and we would certainly among the front runners to sign him, we would absolutely be interested.

"People say ‘go with the flow’ but do you know what goes with the flow? Dead fish."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,180 ✭✭✭KH25

If you believe the stories going round when we loaned Januzaj to Dortmund, United were told €60m would get Reus.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,128 ✭✭✭✭Sand

So what you were saying is there has been nothing linking us to these players, when you exclude the press , ok.

So the only time you will allow discussion without b1tching is if, for example, LVG says "We are trying to sign Roaldo".

That seems an utterly reasonable stance to take - yep.

The papers link United to a lot of players. Gaitan is a long running gag at this point. Every club in the world would like to sign Ronaldo, Bale and Neymar and the media can only say that United are one of those clubs. None of these players are for sale. Any move by any club for those top rank players has to be opportunistic, and is usually accompanied by the player forcing the move like Ronaldo did at United and Bale did at Spurs.

You're setting yourself up for huge disappointment every transfer window if you believe every transfer story in the paper. People do not want to hear next summer that Ed Woodward is a joke and a failure because he didn't sign Ronaldo, Bale or Neymar when they were never for sale.
    Rafa will not likely see past Christmas anyway.

In a dream world where we had a choice between Bale, Ronaldo or Neymar, Id take Neymar considering his age.

Id say though in the real world, Ronaldo would be most likely.

If we could get him for £40m then Id take him in a heartbeat.

£50m would be pushing it.

Any more than that would be silly.

I don't think a sensible deal could be done for Ronaldo. I wouldn't go above 30 million for him, and even then I would be trying to break it down into performance related payments to offset the risk of a player in his thirties with recent concerns on form and injuries. And on the other hand, I cant see Real want rid at a low price unless his form this season continues to be unremarkable for the wages he is on there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,134 ✭✭✭✭Rayne Wooney

If you want to win the league you need the mid table teams to cause upsets against your rivals

Thank you Liverpool

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,839 ✭✭✭Caovyn Lineah

If you want to win the league you need the mid table teams to cause upsets against your rivals

Thank you Liverpool

United will not be winning the league. Your buddies already made that "joke" last night too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,779 ✭✭✭✭jayo26

United will not be winning the league. Your buddies already made that "joke" last night too.

Of course they wont its not as if we are second in table behind a team the will more then likely fall away after xmass and our main rivals for the league are all dropping silly points and have serious injury problems.

No one can realistically rule united out of winning the league we are in a very good position that alot of clubs would like to have.

Leicester are my pick for it anyway, they look unstoppable. Vardy to break the consecutive games with goals record and set the target at 29 for anyone foolish enough to believe they can break it.

"People say ‘go with the flow’ but do you know what goes with the flow? Dead fish."

jayo26 wrote: »
    Of course they wont its not as if we are second in table behind a team the will more then likely fall away after xmass and our main rivals for the league are all dropping silly points and have serious injury problems.

No one can realistically rule united out of winning the league we are in a very good position that alot of clubs would like to have.

United will not win the league, I am 100% confident of that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,241 ✭✭✭Vic Vinegar

Good for you. Bravo.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,889 ✭✭✭✭The Moldy Gowl

And after how many games would you consider them to be mounting a challenge?
    Considering they are top, discounting Leicester for obvious reasons.

All the while playing awful football.

That knowledge and a couple of euro would probably get you a bag of chips

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,779 ✭✭✭✭jayo26

I dont think we will win it either but i wouldnt rule it out same as i wouldn't rule liverpool out if getting into top four but id be confident tey wont.

And after how many games would you consider them to be mounting a challenge?
    Considering they are top, discounting Leicester for obvious reasons.

All the while playing awful football.

Why are you discounting Leicester? United aren't top of the table, why say they are?

If United are top (while not having to discount other teams) after 32 games I'd consider it a realistic challenge.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,128 ✭✭✭✭Sand

None of United, City or Arsenal look all that convincing but one of them has to win the thing by May. So far, United are doing best from that group when it comes to putting points on the board.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 19,081 Mod ✭✭✭✭Trigger

CUV7MbDWIAEXVvd.jpg:large

Why are you discounting Leicester? United aren't top of the table, why say they are?

If United are top (while not having to discount other teams) after 32 games I'd consider it a realistic challenge.

Becuase they are Leicester and concede loads of goals.
    They have utd up next
    Then, Everton, Swansea, Chelsea, man city, and Liverpool.

Fair assumption to discount them for top 3?
    Just like it's a fair assumption to discount Chelsea from a relagation battle?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,709 ✭✭✭✭Cantona's Collars

Maybe we could nearly win the league and have a big celebration in April?;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,192 ✭✭✭✭Kerrydude1981

Whats this young lad Marcus Rashford like lads,see he was on the bench yesterday

zerks wrote: »
    Maybe we could nearly win the league and have a big celebration in April?;)

Next weekend not too late?

So you are less then 100% confident Leicester won't win the league?

A realistic challenge means you have to be top after 32 games! Jaysus

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,308 ✭✭✭Pyjamarama

Slightly above average might be enough to win the league. I think United ceiling is lower than city and arsenal but their floor is higher imo and that could be enough this year. The other two just don't inspire any confidence atm but that could change when silva comes back I guess. In fairness to cits they've had poor luck with injuries in that it's their best players who keep getting crocked.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,846 ✭✭✭✭Liam McPoyle

Ah lads, why are ye even bothering with that one? He is just giddy after yesterdays win against City and the new rock and roll manager.

Personally speaking I dont think we will win the league but we are a third of the way through the season and we are 1 point off the top. We are 8 points better off than we were at the same time last year, albeit with one more game played this year. We have been awful in alot of games but in the main have been getting the results. We are making headway up the table and our rivals have been dropping points. We are 4 points off where Chelsea were this time last year and they won the league at a canter.

Is it a possibility we win the league?

Of course it is and only an out and out clown would say otherwise.

We do however have a depleted squad and are a couple of injuries away from being in serious trouble.

Who knows, if we bring in a couple of first teamers in January we could push on and mount a serious challenge.

All I know for certain is that Im much happier being one point off the top than Id be if we were 6 points off fourth.

So you are less then 100% confident Leicester won't win the league?

A realistic challenge means you have to be top after 32 games! Jaysus

Leicester have as much chance of winning the league as United, absolutely zero.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,377 ✭✭✭✭Jayop

Anyone asking about a valuation got Vardy should know they said on the Sunday Supplement thus morning that he's out to find contract in the summer.

Not that I'd want that anywhere near my club.

IYWGrOV.gif

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,824 ✭✭✭ShooterSF

You willing to give me the odds I can get on Leicester then?

IYWGrOV.gif

I just can't handle all this hilarity today. I'm sorry for having an opinion that goes against the grain in here.

Ye will go unbeaten for the rest of the season and win the league at a canter, oh and also win the FA cup and champions league too.

ShooterSF wrote: »
    You willing to give me the odds I can get on Leicester then?

To win the league? I'd be wanting at least 500/1. And yes, I'd rate Uniteds chances at a similar price.

Pyjamarama wrote: »
    Slightly above average might be enough to win the league. I think United ceiling is lower than city and arsenal but their floor is higher imo and that could be enough this year. The other two just don't inspire any confidence atm but that could change when silva comes back I guess. In fairness to cits they've had poor luck with injuries in that it's their best players who keep getting crocked.

Nope, when its the same players every time for City it is not poor luck. You have to go and replace them, would it be unlucky for Liverpool that Sturridge is a sick-note? As in a valid excuse after multiple seasons of it not to take it into account and get other options into the squad capable of filling his boots when he breaks down?

The first part makes no sense either tbh, lower ceiling/higher floor.

It sounds nice maybe but it means nothing. United are capable of playing worse then both, and better then both. If all 3 play to full potential I certainly couldn't tell you who is better since I haven't seen United play to full potential in quite some time, I know they can all play like dog**** though and wouldn't put Uniteds floor particularly higher then either even with supporter bias.

So why would you be pissy when another poster discounts them as easily as you have? You seem to be in agreement :confused: