Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Shootings in Paris - MOD NOTE UPDATED - READ OP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,178 ✭✭✭bajer101

Mardy Bum wrote: »
    Can you get me a quote from that article? Can't access it.

"Violent extremists in Syria and Iraq have nothing to do with Islam, President Barack Obama said on Thursday, as he tried to separate the growing threat from terrorism in the Middle East from a discussion about religion."

The problem seems to be that leaders like Obama are afraid to admit that Islam obviously plays a role in Islamism because they are worried that they will antagonise moderate Muslims, and more importantly, give fuel to the far right.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,759 ✭✭✭jobbridge4life

First thing they reach for with a woman terrorist. Where was it with the males?

For over a year now newspapers have been reporting on the pathetic nature of the lives of the males who leave Europe and join ISIS, or the fact that they lead less than halal existences before their participation in fundamentalism. Before the raid that lead to this woman self-exploding the media outlets were already talking about how some of those involved we're drug addicts.

Honest to God is there not enough actual crap in the world without you seeking out sexism on behalf of a dead suicide bomber?

• Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 26,411 Mod ✭✭✭✭Peregrine

Peist2007 wrote: »
    Ah shut up, good lad.
    Well that's all it is, bleating.

I live in reality. I want peace from gimps like yourself.
    Na. I find it useful to observe the other end of the spectrum every now and then.
    The above user has been banned. Please don't reply to their posts.
    conorhal wrote: »
    You want some peace from reality, why not toddle off this thread to theguardian.com
    conorhal wrote: »
    Well then leave the thread so. You certiantly don't seem have any interest in contributing to it.

If you have a problem with a post, report it. Don't backseat moderate and no more snide comments.

Now, back on topic.

Mod

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,204 ✭✭✭dodderangler

price690 wrote: »
    I suppose we will see everyone on facebook change their French flag for a Mali one tonight?

No?

Yeah because that'll stop this war

I suppose we will see everyone on facebook change their French flag for a Mali one tonight?

No?

No not likely I doubt there is the geographic, cultural or social proximity with Mali to engender such an outpouring of grief/support. No doubt though there will be a parade of smug 'better than thou' comments like the above made by people who were barely aware of the existence of Mali last week and cared even less.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 716 ✭✭✭Red King

DubVelo wrote: »
    Do you remember the Russians shooting down a plane full of 298 innocent mostly Europeans over Ukraine?
    Who wouldn't exist if it weren't for their great benefactor the New-Tsar of Russia Putin.

Which is totally different to your original claim. By your logic, the US & Saudi Arabia are responsible for every act carried out by ISIS and Al Qaeda.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,299 ✭✭✭Yeah_Right

Mardy Bum wrote: »
    I have not seen anyone who has said it has nothing at all to do with Islam.

Read this thread and you'll find a few.

Red King wrote: »
    Which is totally different to your original claim. By your logic, the US & Saudi Arabia are responsible for every act carried out by ISIS and Al Qaeda.

I never made an 'original claim'.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,732 ✭✭✭kleefarr

Yeah because that'll stop this war

It's just a show of support I believe.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,204 ✭✭✭dodderangler

kleefarr wrote: »
    It's just a show of support I believe.

Sorry about what happened to your country. But il change my picture on Facebook to the flag. That'll help everything. Bollöx that. Help them fight back is what should be happening

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 22,499 ✭✭✭✭Ash.J.Williams

Sorry about what happened to your country. But il change my picture on Facebook to the flag. That'll help everything. Bollöx that. Help them fight back is what should be happening
    actually help??? I think most people will be happy enough with themselves to just change the pic on facebook...because that's what it's all about...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,402 ✭✭✭nxbyveromdwjpg

Have you signed up yourself? When do you deploy?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,829 ✭✭✭TommyKnocker

Depp wrote: »
    This suggests that allah changed his mind, but suspiciously many of the contradictions occurred after the pedo muhammad had accrued power and a large following.

Id love to sit down talk to a proper Muslim scholar about the whole thing get their insight into it tbh, My impression from the quran comes from reading it only im no expert. If I'm honest I'd like to debate it with one of the radical scholars too get an insight into there insanity but i dont think they work that way.

I don't think it's that "they don't work that way". I think it more that they would not be prepared to waste their time and energy on closed minded bigots who insult their prophet, judging him by today's standards for something that was pretty much the norm 1,400 years ago and done by people of all religions as well as those who followed no religion.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,023 ✭✭✭testaccount123

Apologists for child rapists along to come in, nice

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

its very simple,so even you will understand it.

Large population of muslims,ghettoes and no intergration in society.No go zones,Extremist groups can recruit new members without any interference.

small mumbers of muslims,like in Ireland,no problem cause they are not many enough,easy to keep under surveilance.
    If Ireland had 10 times more,it could become a problem if extremist groups gets a free playground.

And since refugees comes in large numbers,i am sure you see the outcome.

But according to you earlier, they're out to attack people. Now they just recruit in "ghettoes" and they don't do anything? Is most of jihadi activity in France made up of social evenings and poker games? You've now said that they aren't under surveillance.......what's stopping them?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,058 ✭✭✭✭bilston

No?

Sadly we are just too used to attacks in Africa and the Middle East. The response to the attacks in Paris is because it was such a shock. We aren't used to a major European capital being attacked in this way. Let's hope we never do.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,515 ✭✭✭zeffabelli

bilston wrote: »
    Sadly we are just too used to attacks in Africa and the Middle East. The response to the attacks in Paris is because it was such a shock. We aren't used to a major European capital being attacked in this way. Let's hope we never do.

Ireland is part of the EU and Europe, if France gets attacked, all of Europe gets attacked.

There is a war on, where you come from becomes important.

France, Germany, Italy....the heart of Europe.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,059 ✭✭✭thomasj

First thing they reach for with a woman terrorist. Where was it with the males?

The guardian are now quoting itele as saying that the suicide bomber was a male.

With that surely we can't be certain if the screams for help from a woman were a lure into the apartment or a genuine cry for help.
    Hasna Aït Boulahcen was not the St-Denis suicide bomber – Paris prosecutor

The French TV station iTele is reporting that an unidentified man – not a woman – was the suicide bomber who blew himself up on Wednesday during a violent police shoot-out in St-Denis, write Kim Willsher (@kimwillsher1) and Luke Harding (@lukeharding1968):

It was previously believed that Hasna Aït Boulahcen – a 26-year-old French national whose passport was found in a handbag in what remained of the apartment raided on Tuesday – had blown herself up by detonating a suicide vest. She was killed during the battle with police but wasn’t the suicide bomber, the TV station reported.

The Paris prosecutor confirmed this to the Guardian. “All I can tell you is that the kamikaze was not Hasna,” the prosecutor said.

Aït Boulahcen is the cousin of Abdelhamid Abaaoud, the suspected ringleader of the Paris attacks. His body was also discovered among the ruins of the terrorist apartment.

Sure, this one has been doing the rounds on social media and was even referenced by one of our own learned imams in a statement to the press:

Religion of Peace, see?

Oh no, wait:
    On account of his deed, We decreed to the Children of Israel that if anyone kills a person - unless in retribution for murder or for spreading corruption in the land - it is as if he kills all mankind, while if any saves a life it is as if he saves the lives of all mankind. Our messengers came with clear signs, but many of them continued to commit excesses in the land.
    5.33 Those who wage war against God and His Messenger and strive to spread corruption in the land should be punished by death, crucifixion, the amputation of an alternate hand and foot, or banishment from the land: a disgrace for them in this world, and then a terrible punishment in the Hereafter.

Children of Israel = the Jews, just in case you missed that, so not actually addressed to muslims at all.

There's more about no escape for disbelievers from everlasting torment and cutting off the hands of thieves further down the very same page but yeah sure, religion of peace.

You conveniently left out verse 5:34, probably didn't suit your agenda. Here, let me add it for you
    (5:34) except for those who repent before you have overpowered them. Know well that Allah is All-Forgiving, All-Compassionate.
    Wage war against Allah (swt) and his messenger (pbuh) in interpreted to mean to attempt to over throw an Islamic state. Also please note that there are different punishments for listed ranging from death to banishment.

If the anybody tried to overthrow the US, Uk Irish etc governments by force what do you think would be the outcome?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,565 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

Large population of muslims,ghettoes and no intergration in society. No go zones, Extremist groups can recruit new members without any interference.

Are they the same non-existent 'no-go zones' that Fox and other deluded right-wing media orgs shite on about, and Paris is now suing Fox over?
    Where did the story of the no-go zones come from? Daniel Pipes, a U.S. historian and political commentator, says he believes he was the first person to refer to disadvantaged French neighborhoods as no-go zones. In a 2006 article, he said the existence of the zones suggested "that the French state no longer has full control over its territory."

Pipes now says he was mistaken. In 2013, after traveling to several listed Paris neighborhoods and mainly immigrant and Muslim areas of five other European cities, he wrote: "For a visiting American, these areas are very mild, even dull. We who know the Bronx and Detroit expect urban hell in Europe, too, but there things look fine … hardly beautiful, but buildings are intact, greenery abounds, and order prevails. … Having this first-hand experience, I regret having called these areas no-go zones," he wrote.

http://www.bloomberg.com/news/articles/2015-01-14/debunking-the-muslim-nogo-zone-myth

http://money.cnn.com/2015/01/20/media/paris-mayor-sue-fox-news/index.html

There's more legitimate 'no-go areas' in NI than in any major European city

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,493 ✭✭✭long range shooter

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 543 ✭✭✭DubVelo

really,is there any no go zones in Ireland too?

Yes.

Oh, it's nothing to do with islam though. :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,493 ✭✭✭long range shooter

Yes.

Oh, it's nothing to do with islam though. :D

no,not yet.But maybe generations to come.
    Take a trip to sweden,they have 55 no go zones so far.
    and they also have largest population of muslims in the nordic countries.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,681 ✭✭✭Fleawuss

Boards most hated atheist (possibly ;) ) has savaged IS over the last while; his contribution on Twitter about the "mastermind".

"@RichardDawkins: Paris "mastermind" killed. Why call him "mastermind"? In the company of "minds" such as his, anyone who can read a watch is a mastermind."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 543 ✭✭✭DubVelo

You conveniently left out verse 5:34, probably didn't suit your agenda. Here, let me add it for you

Wage war against Allah (swt) and his messenger (pbuh) in interpreted to mean to attempt to over throw an Islamic state. Also please note that there are different punishments for listed ranging from death to banishment.

If the anybody tried to overthrow the US, Uk Irish etc governments by force what do you think would be the outcome?

My 'agenda' was merely pointing out that claiming the above snippet as proof that Islam is a religion of peace is demonstrably a complete shovel-full of taqiyah.

If we're going to play that game you conveniently left out 5:36-37 which didn't suit your 'cuddly Islam' agenda:
    If the disbelievers possessed all that is in the earth and twice as much again and offered it to ransom themselves from torment on the Day of Resurrection, it would not be accepted from them - they will have a painful torment.
    They will wish to come out of the Fire but they will be unable to do so: theirs will be a lasting torment.

And then it's straight into the cutting hands off thieves... which is compelling, I admit. But ultimately probably not cool.

Actually I'm glad you recognised my implication that claiming the above quote as evidence of a religion of peace can in fact be seen as a sly, backhanded endorsement of terrorism.
    You seem to be running with that and further implying that IS is a legitimate government and their reaction justifiable?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,843 ✭✭✭Uncle Ben

It would appear that the Hungarians have been proven to have acted correctly when they sought proper identity checks at their borders last month.

KingBrian2 wrote: »
    Many people did come out to denounce those actions. Many European countries came out to declare support for Palestine entering the UN as a Nation. Nobody is listening to these voices.
    Ordinary people came out and criticised the Israeli attack, however apart from a couple of south american states, all other countries went on about how Israel "has the right to defend itself" even though they are the aggressor and have been since the creation of the state. where were the sanctions against Israel? Where is Israels name on the list of terrorists? The get overwhelming support and funding from the majority of the countries in the world. The worst they get are some "strong condemnations". You can never have enough condemnations I always say.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 286 ✭✭Anachrony

Samaris wrote: »
    Also, since when have we punished people for acts that they might commit in the future (when there is not the slightest shred of proof it's being considered now) or the potential crimes of their children?

Not accepting unlimited refugees from a culture with vastly different values and social mores is not a "punishment". That would imply that anyone from anywhere has a right to move wherever they like, and that right is being taken away, but no such right exists. Immigration is a privilege, so turning it down it is no punishment. Deporting them once they've already become a citizen would be a punishment. But countries first obligation is to look out for their own citizens, and they have no obligation to accept immigrants from other countries that are detrimental to the needs of the of the current population.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,166 ✭✭✭Fr_Dougal

People still calling for Islam/Muslims to be kicked out of Europe?

The ringleader was doing drugs and drinking, hardly the preserve of a Muslim.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 551 ✭✭✭leavingirl

Fr_Dougal wrote: »
    People still calling for Islam/Muslims to be kicked out of Europe?

The ringleader was doing drugs and drinking, hardly the preserve of a Muslim.

It's such a joke at this stage it's not even funny anymore. That so called ringleader looks like a complete dope.