Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The 2015 In Between Grand Slam Thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,019 ✭✭✭Floppybits

Someatch last night between wawrinka and nadal. Stan won 7-6,7-6. The second set tie break was unreal. Nadal missed a smash in the tie break can't remember if it would have put him 4-1 up then but that miss changed the tie break. Was hoping for a third set.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,419 ✭✭✭cowboyBuilder

Floppybits wrote: »
    Someatch last night between wawrinka and nadal. Stan won 7-6,7-6. The second set tie break was unreal. Nadal missed a smash in the tie break can't remember if it would have put him 4-1 up then but that miss changed the tie break. Was hoping for a third set.

When Stan turns it on he can be GOAT ... But when he's bad .... Let's see today v Djokovic , have they met since the RG final ?

So a djokovic murray final , should be a good game , sets it up nicely for the WTF .
    Question - is the selection for the groups random or is it based on seeds ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 695 ✭✭✭lostcat

When Stan turns it on he can be GOAT ... But when he's bad .... Let's see today v Djokovic , have they met since the RG final ?

ah, easy up, stan on his day (once every two years or so) can be unbeatable, but that's hardly GOAT stuff

So a djokovic murray final , should be a good game , sets it up nicely for the WTF .
    Question - is the selection for the groups random or is it based on seeds ?

its seeded in some way, Djokovic, Federer and Nadal are now likely to end up in the same group, which would be nice.

Djokovic now in 14 consecutive finals, if he wins tomorrow he will be the first player to win 6 masters level tournaments in a season.

Murray will be keen to hold onto the no 2 ranking for next years AO at this stage.

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 23,997 Mod ✭✭✭✭TICKLE_ME_ELMO

I think they just put #1 and #2 into separate pools and then the rest are drawn at random? Not sure though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,150 ✭✭✭Johnmb

I think they just put #1 and #2 into separate pools and then the rest are drawn at random? Not sure though.
    1&2 into different pools, then 3&4 are drawn, 5&6, and 7&8 are also drawn between the groups, so once the seedings are decided, you can tell if certain pairs will be in opposite groups, but not who will be in what group (except for the top two, who are placed into group A&B respectively)

Djokovic setting records, 6 Masters titles in one year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,919 ✭✭✭RosyLily

Groups for the World Tour Finals are set.

Smith: Federer, Djokovic, Berdych and Nishikori

Nastase: Murray, Wawrinka, Nadal and Ferrer.

RosyLily wrote: »
    Groups for the World Tour Finals are set.

Smith: Federer, Djokovic, Berdych and Nishikori

Nastase: Murray, Wawrinka, Nadal and Ferrer.

Hope they make a better fist of this than last year, when only Djokovic and Federer bothered to show up at all, and Federer didn't even bother to play the final!

Sharapova giving Russia every chance to win the Fed Cup here. Don't screw it up, lesser Russians.

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 15,398 Mod ✭✭✭✭whiterebel

Sharapova giving Russia every chance to win the Fed Cup here. Don't screw it up, lesser Russians.

Kvitova really fell apart at the end of the 2nd set. Especially when you see how wobbly Sharapova went herself.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,777 Mod ✭✭✭✭yerwanthere123

It's a shame Pliskova can't turn it on at the events that really matter throughout the year, she could be a real star. Next year is another year though, of course. Glad to see Sharapova got the win over Kvitova too, Petra was starting to get close to overturning their head-to-head!

Their could be some good matches in London this week, even f it will end up being the usual Djokovic procession.

It's a shame Pliskova can't turn it on at the events that really matter throughout the year, she could be a real star. Next year is another year though, of course. Glad to see Sharapova got the win over Kvitova too, Petra was starting to get close to overturning their head-to-head!

All the pressure was on Pavs in that match. Even if Pliskova had lost people wouldn't really have blamed her for it.

Stan giving up tonight after losing the first set to nadal.

I really think he can't be arsed with these ATP events.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,777 Mod ✭✭✭✭yerwanthere123

^ Yeah, he only really seems to properly motivate himself for the slams. A shame really, he really should be beating Nadal.

Stan giving up tonight after losing the first set to nadal.

I really think he can't be arsed with these ATP events.

Yeah he's frustrating to watch, he did the same against him in Shanghai, then beat him the following week in Paris.

as if Nadal needs luck like that, he's only won about 5 grand slams by meeting his 1st decent opponent in the semis..

ah joke !!!

Federer Nadal final now, with Federer turning into a big pile of fear v Nadal.

Joke

I wonder who´s looking after his FOUR kids ... ah yeah a slave maid, him and his "wife" ... sociopaths ..

well. he's human after all :)

its been a long time since djokovic was that far off pitch, but still, there's life in the old dog yet.

I would now love them both to get to the final and see what happens, but maybe djokovic is finally starting to check out after an amazing/draining season.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,150 ✭✭✭Johnmb

ah joke !!!

Joke

I wonder who´s looking after his FOUR kids ... ah yeah a slave maid, him and his "wife" ... sociopaths ..
    Seriously? Why do you even bother... :rolleyes:

Johnmb wrote: »
    Seriously? Why do you even bother... :rolleyes:

Beats reading or watching the telly !

ah joke !!!

Joke

Give it a rest. Nobody is interested in your nonsense. Keep it up and you'll get a ban.

I really don't get why he starts a new account and then comes back to the exact same thread and post the same old guff :pac:

Anyway, great result tonight! I know Federer loves indoors but with the courts playing like clay and Djokovic being well... Djokovic, I doubt many could have anticipated that result tonight. Quite the achievement for the old man to score two wins over Djokovic at age 34.

This is why peak Fed is greater than peak Djokovic. Even at 34, way past his peak he can compete with and even beat Djokovic.

Worrying times for tennis though, it's fairly weak in terms of competition, not many youngsters coming through.

Twaddle - Nole didn´t show up today, simple as that.

As much as I hate to do it I have to agree with Cowboy Builder. Novak wasn't playing at 100% tonight and Fed took advantage. Hopefully they both make the final and we get a real match.

I do often wonder if the players treat this tournament as seriously as they do others. It seems a lot of players just go through the motions in these group games and are not really bothered whether they win or loose. I was speaking to a few people who went to this tournament in the last couple of years and they were saying to could see that some players just weren't bothered.

Why do they have Nadal vs Murray on this afternoon, surely it would be better to have this match on in the evening.

It's the 5th biggest tournament, anyone who "isn't bothered" needs to take a good hard look at themselves.

It's not really. The Masters events are next after the Slams. Even last year Dimitrov couldn't be arsed going to London as an alternate. It's just a corporate showpiece.

Points wise it is actually, I think for an undefeated champion they earn 1500 pts, Grand Slam is 2000

Masters is 1000

Points wise it is actually, I think for an undefeated champion they earn 1500 pts, Grand Slam is 2000

Masters is 1000

That maybe so but the players can't be arsed and are just going through the motions. At this stage of the seasons the points are meaningless. Look at Murray he is more concerned with the Davis cup that with this tournament, the final last year which was a non event because Federer pulled out with a back injury but yet was ok to play the Davis Cup final a few days later.

Most of the players are on the beach mentally for this and are just looking to fill in the time.

That maybe so but the players can't be arsed and are just going through the motions. At this stage of the seasons the points are meaningless. Look at Murray he is more concerned with the Davis cup that with this tournament, the final last year which was a non event because Federer pulled out with a back injury but yet was ok to play the Davis Cup final a few days later.

Most of the players are on the beach mentally for this and are just looking to fill in the time.

Good point, anyway Nadal well and truly back ... depressingly ...

I have nothing to say

Good point, anyway Nadal well and truly back ... depressingly ...

I have nothing to say

The only player who needs to do well at this tournament is Nadal. He needs to finish a crap year on a high to get some form going into next year.