Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Shootings in Paris - MOD NOTE UPDATED - READ OP

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,730 ✭✭✭Sheep Lover

Custardpi wrote: »
    Which basically lets Islamists off the hook by depicting them as uncontrollable animals, incapable of responding to criticism by anything other than violence. Sure all that rationalism, proportionality etc stuff is only for us Westerners. Those poor Muslims wouldn't understand it. Effectively an abandonment of hope & an utterly pessimistic view of the intellect of a large section of humanity.

Well infairness, they are a somewhat "touchy" collection of people...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,740 ✭✭✭the evasion_kid

wet_runner wrote: »
    as its been revealed that one of the killers came to europe last month as a refugee

i hope FG have the cop on to take this opportunity to now rule out this country taking in any refugees , labour will blow a gasket but the electorate will warmly greet such a step

Endas balls are in Angela's handbag I'm afraid...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,949 ✭✭✭A Primal Nut

Yea, I mean the automatic weapons they were carrying were grand but no doubt they were mega concerned about not having a valid passport on them if they were ID checked.

It was the suicide bombers who's passports are believed to have been found. They didn't have automatic weapons.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,871 ✭✭✭rolliepoley

watch anti migrant video going viral across europe.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=44vzMNG2fZc

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,955 ✭✭✭Sunflower 27

Careful now one will be told a couple of thousand westerners can't really do much damage. Even thought it was just 8 in France.

Am not following you. It always only takes a few. The vast majority of refugees have done nothing wrong, suggesting otherwise is stupid. Anyway, the point is these pr#cks are not going away. They have too many followers worldwide and after the media attention in the last few days they are going to keep on going. I truly believe them when they say more to come. It sickens me to say it, but i feel this is the way it is now. They were allowed to get too strong. Big mistake.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,436 ✭✭✭c_man

Not sure why people have a problem with passports being found. Do ye think everything around a suicide bomber vaporises or something?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,807 ✭✭✭Custardpi

Well infairness, they are a somewhat "touchy" collection of people...

They are human beings & capable of reason. To give in to handwringing apologetics - "sure what would you expect from them, better to just keep our heads down & not offend people" is to reject their humanity.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 12,333 ✭✭✭✭JONJO THE MISER

I see loads of muslims every day with full on head to toe veils, how were there left into this country.
    We need to start deporting en masse, but that will never happen and we will see attacks here too.
    Write to all td's and tell them we do not want islamic immigration into this country.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 92 ✭✭ihatemyfish

I can't help but think Angela Merkel inviting millions of economic migrants to Europe will be in the history books in 50-100 years time.

The only question is, will they be in our history books after we win or will they be in American, Australian, Chinese history books after we lose.

We are living in 100% denial if we think there will never again be a case of where millions of civilian men are drafted to fight a war.

All of this is self inflicted. That is the sad thing. It didn't have to be this way. Yet still the diversity darlings will want the borders kept upon. I used to think that they were naive but with their heart in the right place. Not anymore. I now think that they are downright dangerous.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,775 ✭✭✭✭RobertKK

Custardpi wrote: »
    Which basically lets Islamists off the hook by depicting them as uncontrollable animals, incapable of responding to criticism by anything other than violence. Sure all that rationalism, proportionality etc stuff is only for us Westerners. Those poor Muslims wouldn't understand it. Effectively an abandonment of hope & an utterly pessimistic view of the intellect of a large section of humanity.

I don't think it lets one off the hook. We can all do things to attract the wrong kind of attention, most people choose to avoid it.
    We all know there are some very irrational people who are Muslim, we know what they are capable of. Why look for that kind of trouble?
    They now have to operate from a secret location in Paris. That to me means you lost. They operate like people on boards hidden away from people they might be offending.
    What good did those cartoons do when most of your staff end up dead and the rest go into hiding?

Last night was different in that rather than targeting a specific target, the target was the general public.
    I saw a French woman say this. That before last night they didn't believe they were the target.

I see loads of muslims every day with full on head to toe veils, how were there left into this country.
    We need to start deporting en masse, but that will never happen and we will see attacks here too.
    Write to all td's and tell them we do not want islamic immigration into this country.
    Wtf? You think every Muslim is a terrorist. Lol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,508 ✭✭✭✭JCX BXC

With a move away from religious dependence in most countries in the world, will the long-term effect be a weakening in the endless supply of Muslim terrorist groups. A key in reducing the dependence on religion is economic prosperity, and with oil riches in this country, there's plenty of scope to allow the riches to be spread along the local populace. Main barrier is corruption though, so maybe we should focus on combating corruption in these countries as a long term goal for reducing terrorism?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,033 ✭✭✭✭Richard Hillman

as its been revealed that one of the killers came to europe last month as a refugee

i hope FG have the cop on to take this opportunity to now rule out this country taking in any refugees , labour will blow a gasket but the electorate will warmly greet such a step

Nah, Fine Gael are too worried about Sinn Feim and the 1% left alliance calling them racists. If they call them racists then people who will never vote for them will still never vote for them

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,563 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

watch anti migrant video going viral across europe.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=44vzMNG2fZc

Don't forget to read the comments to get an idea of the type of people watching and agreeing with it!
    THE ARYAN RACE SHALL RISE AGAIN! HEAR MY CALL, BROTHERS AND SISTERS.
    These are the fruits of western liberal democracy. Kinda makes you reconsider what you've learned about the evilness of the Third Reich, doesn't it?
    It's on. Now even the most insane liberals have to shut up. The media can no longer hide that it's all about white genocide.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,949 ✭✭✭A Primal Nut

Am not following you. It always only takes a few. The vast majority of refugees have done nothing wrong, suggesting otherwise is stupid. .

Of course, but some of them have, some of them will in the future, and then there's the children and grandchildren, who as we are learning, turn out much more extreme than the original immigrants. That's enough reason to now allow any in, as even a small percentage being terrorists is enough to terrorize all of Europe for generations to come.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,436 ✭✭✭c_man

Yea, I mean the automatic weapons they were carrying were grand but no doubt they were mega concerned about not having a valid passport on them if they were ID checked.

Well yeah, usually ID checks are cursory at best. No pat down checks or the likes. Just have it on you in case you're pulled aside on your way to the targets. Is that really so hard to believe? That these band of murderers wanted to cause maximum damage at the intended targets rather than having to shoot a suspicious policeman and getting rumbled miles from the event?

I know it's inconvenient for some that the guy had a Syrian passport but really...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,029 ✭✭✭✭Ace2007

So because a very very very very very small % of people that came have attacked Paris, you think Ireland and the rest of the world should close its borders and say no you can't come in?

Can i ask - do we then stop holiday markers coming to this country - just in case they are ISIS members who have gone below the radar - after all one of the attackers was a 30 year old french citizen?

The majority of the refugees are running for their lives, trying to escape death, and your attitude is simple, i don't give a f**K about you - stay in your own country.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,461 ✭✭✭✭darkpagandeath

c_man wrote: »
    Not sure why people have a problem with passports being found. Do ye think everything around a suicide bomber vaporises or something?

Yes people believe what they see in films, You know explosions mostly petrol.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 12,333 ✭✭✭✭JONJO THE MISER

Wtf? You think every Muslim is a terrorist. Lol

Islam is a cancer and islamic immigration has caused problems in every single western country where it is allowed.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,166 ✭✭✭Tasden

How quick people are to forget the outrage they expressed at the poor little boy washed up on a beach. But when the terror is closer to home they suddenly don't care all that much about those who are also trying to get away from it. Some absolutely horrible comments on this thread.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,703 ✭✭✭IrishTrajan

And still people think the West can just go in and wipe them out. These monsters have support. Even westerners have joined their crusade.
    Although not much is said about that on here.

You think the West can't wipe them out if it really wanted to? We'd have to break every restriction we've placed on ourselves, yes, but if you think 800 million+ people with 50% of the world's economy can't eradicate 20-30,000 fighters, you're delusional.

Of course, but some of them have, some of them will in the future, and then there's the children and grandchildren, who as we are learning, turn out much more extreme than the original immigrants. That's enough reason to now allow any in, as even a small percentage being terrorists is enough to terrorize all of Europe for generations to come.

We've discussed this at length in the political cafe so I won't repeat all that again.

We both know where each other stands on this front. And we are never going to agree so it is pointless.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 92 ✭✭ihatemyfish

Don't forget to read the comments to get an idea of the type of people watching and agreeing with it!

Smear, smear, smear. The stills are from news footage throughout Europe and the west. There is nothing to agree or disagree with. The footage is factual.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,871 ✭✭✭rolliepoley

I'm not bother by what some of these idiots say i'm just showing people what the world is seeing and reading at the moment.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,100 ✭✭✭Autonomous Cowherd

But there is likewise a rise in white supremacy and indigenous right wing support in Europe...Anders Breivik and the assailant at the school in Sweden last month being cases in point....their children and grandchildren and admirers may harbour extremist views into the future. What are we supposed to do? Expel or imprison whole swathes of various types of people to try and prevent psychopaths wreaking havoc in civilised society?

There must be a better way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,190 ✭✭✭tritriagain

Uncle Ben wrote: »
    Bono: a direct attack on music. Jeez.
    Jeez. Taken out of context . I heard the interview and what he said was that these people do not like music , sporting events, etc. And that it was a direct attack on peoples freedom and that they,u2,will play Paris and not let them win.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,080 ✭✭✭conorhal

Stupid comment.

If they passed through a checkpoint with no ID they might have been searched and thus the automatic weapons found, since France requires people to carry ID they could hardly go without it or they would have risked closer scrutiny, thus explaining why they were carrying passports, especially since it seems that some at least some were not French nationals. All I'm pointing out is that they carried passports because it was required. What's your point?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,312 ✭✭✭Paramite Pie

Amirani wrote: »
    Wall Street Journal reporting that at least 1 bomber at the Stade De France had a match ticket and tried to enter the stadium, but was stopped by security. One could only imagine how much worse things would've been if they'd blown themselves up inside the stadium.

http://www.wsj.com/articles/attacker-tried-to-enter-paris-stadium-but-was-turned-away-1447520571

On live television -- that'd be a horrible spectacle. A full attack on a stadium could easily have killed far more than 9/11.

They probably had concert tickets as well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,807 ✭✭✭Custardpi

RobertKK wrote: »
    I don't think it lets one off the hook. We can all do things to attract the wrong kind of attention, most people choose to avoid it.
    We all know there are some very irrational people who are Muslim, we know what they are capable of. Why look for that kind of trouble?
    They now have to operate from a secret location in Paris. That to me means you lost. They operate like people on boards hidden away from people they might be offending.
    What good did those cartoons do when most of your staff end up dead and the rest go into hiding?

Last night was different in that rather than targeting a specific target, the target was the general public.
    I saw a French woman say this. That before last night they didn't believe they were the target.

How far would you go with that appeasement approach (make no mistake that's exactly what it is)? Should the Satanic Verses have been banned to avoid offending their sensitivities? Bending the knee to religious fascism will ultimately do far more harm than Charlie Hebdo's cartoons could ever have done. As long as they are publishing at all that is a victory for free speech & a tribute to their bravery.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,775 ✭✭✭✭RobertKK

Tasden wrote: »
    How quick people are to forget the outrage they expressed at the poor little boy washed up on a beach. But when the terror is closer to home they suddenly don't care all that much about those who are also trying to get away from it. Some absolutely horrible comments on this thread.

People haven't forgotten. The question is how many Islamic State fighters have entered the EU with these genuine refugees.
    We can't say 'come on in', if some of the people coming in are coming to kill many times that boy who drowned and washed up on the beach.