Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Shootings in Paris - MOD NOTE UPDATED - READ OP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,917 ✭✭✭✭GT_TDI_150

I wonder were the bombs ahead of schedule? There could have 60,000 and 80,000 at that match tonight ... Surely to set off the bombs as people were pouring out would have been their more optimum time ... from the baddies point of view that is ... thankfully they didnt do it in that fashion

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,775 ✭✭✭✭RobertKK

efb wrote: »
    @mattmoorek: FWIW Charlie Hebdo attacks carried out by French citizens. Border controls are designed to stop perps fleeing. https://t.co/mqaMGJIAQ9

Good point as that female terrorist escaped the country and made it to Syria.

The thread is not going to be closed, this is happening now and it would be irresponsible of us to lock it at this point.

In future report the thread if you think it should be locked, posting on thread is backseat modding and derailing the thread.

Move on please folks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,643 ✭✭✭✭Mr.Nice Guy

Ah here, there a billion or so people who practice Islam, they are people with the same hopes and dreams as anyone. Fanatics are the problem and what drives them. That's what needs to be addressed.

It's depressing the amount of people on this thread who don't seem to get this. It plays right into these nutter's hands.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,748 ✭✭✭✭Lovely Bloke

Orban, La Pen and the rest will benefit from this.
    good

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,440 ✭✭✭The Rape of Lucretia

Lia_lia wrote: »
    Just rang my Dad who lives a few hours south of Paris, my phonecall was the first he heard of it..

Quoi ?

Strider wrote: »
    Yes..because the police can read the minds of people who formulate these plans in secret and carry them out at the drop of a hat.

Did the people carrying out the attack do so telepathically? French intelligence has been shown up a few times recently with perpetrators known to police, supposedly being tracked yet able to get their hands on automatic weapons without the police knowing.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,129 ✭✭✭my friend

This is going to boost Donald Trumps numbers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 789 ✭✭✭jimd2

CNN reporting shots / explosions coming from concet hall now.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 35,514 ✭✭✭✭efb

Isaiah wrote: »
    I work with Muslims that will not condenm such attacks as these. They REFUSE to condemn them. I know that in their hearts they applaud them.

Have you reported them for supporting terrorism???

Or do really work with people of the Islamic faith that support barbaric terrorism???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,020 ✭✭✭BlaasForRafa

moneymad wrote: »
    it's selfish and insincere. please like my comment

Go back under your bridge.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,291 ✭✭✭✭Gatling

GT_TDI_150 wrote: »
    I wonder were the bombs ahead of schedule? There could have 60,000 and 80,000 at that match tonight ... Surely to set off the bombs as people were pouring out would have been their more optimum time ... from the baddies point of view that is ... thankfully they didnt do it in that fashion

There saying suicide attacks rather than bombs on timers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,798 ✭✭✭✭hatrickpatrick

Becoming a terrorist is not an inevitable consequence of an event or series of events. The terrorists of Isis could have taken any number of peaceful choices to resolve what they faced but they decided that they preferred rape and murder, they exercised their free will to do so.

What peaceful choices could they have taken exactly, to combat the biggest militaries in the world f*cking their countries for resources and bulldozing anybody who tried to object?
    Anger is an inevitable consequence of hopelessness and helplessness. Violence is not an inevitable consequence of anger but it's a common consequence.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,295 ✭✭✭✭Duggy747

Christ, can't even imagine what those people are experiencing inside that theater right now.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 228 ✭✭Deep Six

Ah here, there a billion or so people who practice Islam, they are people with the same hopes and dreams as anyone. Fanatics are the problem and what drives them. That's what needs to be addressed.

We can keep walking on eggshells around Islam, designating those who are "grand" or those who are "fanatics" but it won't make any difference. Islam as a religion, with its core tenets, is not compatible with a civilised society. Never has, never will be.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 583 ✭✭✭HardenendMan

To the people of France,

I am sorry for calling you frogs. I am sorry for hating your language because I couldn't learn it in school. I am sorry for generalising and calling you all arrogant.

I am thankful for the amazing time I had when visiting your beautiful city of Paris when I was younger.

My thoughts are with you all now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,972 ✭✭✭captbarnacles

The DailyMail are leading with a restrained 'BLOODBATH IN PARIS'.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,894 ✭✭✭Jelle1880

Cahit Storm ‏@cahitstorm 2m2 minutes ago
    Shogun in Bataclan right now its not over

Presuming he meant shotgun

Kind of hoping some Japanese guy living in France has had enough of it and deciding to get it solved by himself.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 848 ✭✭✭Superhorse

Lights On wrote: »
    The millions of Muslims living a normal life like every single one of us posting in this thread would say that yes it is..

You mean the millions of Muslims who support ISIS?

ANP reports that there were also reports of shooting at the Louvre, rue de la Fontaine au roi en rue de Charenton.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,863 ✭✭✭✭padd b1975

This is as an act of war, plain and simple.

RIP to all the innocent victims.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,949 ✭✭✭Hande hoche!

The DailyMail are leading with a restrained 'BLOODBATH IN PARIS'.

Fairly apt headline.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 12,422 ✭✭✭✭AbusesToilets

It's depressing the amount of people on this thread who don't seem to get this. It plays right into these nutter's hands.

It doesn't change the central tenets of the religion that advocate for domination and violence.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,129 ✭✭✭my friend

Angels of Death were playing tonight in Le Bacalan

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 4,032 ✭✭✭Panrich

These attacks are facilitated by the liberal policies of Europe. The scumbags responsible depend on the fact that they can operate and plan in the shadow of free movement and association with their peers. Foreign funding especially from Saudi Arabia for wahabi mosques should be banned immediately. Deny these ****ers the opportunity to poison the minds of gullible young people.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 35,514 ✭✭✭✭efb

Isaiah wrote: »
    In their hearts they applaud these attacks.

You are basing that on what???

I love the irony of the people on this thread that openly blame a grouping on the whole for act of a minority

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,291 ✭✭✭✭Gatling

Superhorse wrote: »
    You mean the millions of Muslims who support ISIS?

Millions more support Manchester United

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 882 ✭✭✭moneymad

Go back under your bridge.
    Hey at least I'm genuine.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 300 ✭✭Isaiah

Our hopes and dreams don't involve dieing a martyr and meetin Allah. In Islam that is the highest thing they can achieve.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 877 ✭✭✭Magnate

Oh no.