If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

DCM 2015: Mentored Novices Thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,119 ✭✭✭Mrs Mc

Glad your little fella is ok Nop. Very cool having a cast going to school. :)no homework !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,585 ✭✭✭nop98

JMSE wrote: »
    Btw also, eh, you didnt happen to notice you ran by the National Maternity Hospital as you took your last few steps of DCM??? :D
    Dubgal72 wrote: »
    Haha what are the odds, nop no3 in 2016?? :D

*spits out coffee* not a chance!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,009 ✭✭✭Firedance

nop98 wrote: »
    *spits out coffee* not a chance!

Glad hes ok too nop

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,324 ✭✭✭chrislad

Glad to hear the lil fella is okay nop. Nurses are my favourite people.

Btw also, eh, you didnt happen to notice you ran by the National Maternity Hospital as you took your last few steps of DCM??? :D

The last few steps of DCM? Like anyone remembers that! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,038 ✭✭✭Neady83

Glad to hear your little fella is ok Nop :) The poor wee lad.

So slings are not cool anymore. I hope that it's still cool to get everyone to sign the cast and hold onto it as a momento :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,373 ✭✭✭Phoebas

I was thinking of popping in for an epidural.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,388 ✭✭✭diego_b

The itab insert arrived for my medal today, nice to have the time on the medal now as well.
    May have worn my medal for half an hour earlier but cannot confirm that.

@Whoops
    Also I really like the new key ring I got recently, pretty much as much as the medal actually!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,373 ✭✭✭Phoebas

diego_b wrote: »

@Whoops
    Also I really like the new key ring I got recently, pretty much as much as the medal actually!

+1 to that. A really lovely gesture.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 161 ✭✭JacEim

No posts here in 12 hours, what's going on, where is everybody!!
    Don't tell me ye have lives now.... :)

4M yesterday in 36 mins.

Would really like to go for a slow 8-9 miles this weekend. advisable?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,324 ✭✭✭chrislad

I'm heading out for about 8 in a few minutes. I did 5 on Wednesday and felt fine so a slow 8 and a slow 3 tomorrow will close off my week.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,016 ✭✭✭jake1970

JacEim wrote: »
    No posts here in 12 hours, what's going on, where is everybody!!
    Don't tell me ye have lives now.... :)

4M yesterday in 36 mins.

Would really like to go for a slow 8-9 miles this weekend. advisable?

As long as you it keep nice and slow it shouldn't be a problem, maybe just do the 8 miles though.

All my runs so far have been done at recovery pace. The plan next week will be to speed up a little with some general aerobic runs and some strides and i will will do i long run of 10 miles at the weekend.

I see a lot of talk about swimming and cycling here lately :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,272 ✭✭✭Dubgal72

Yes, +1 to Jake although an increase to 10k at first might be preferable. Like Jake says, keep the effort and pace at recovery/slower end of easy.

And I know, people seem to having a life. As long as it's not a Dark Side kinda life.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,462 ✭✭✭TheBazman

At the start of this year I hadn't even thought of doing the marathon - I wanted to do 1 triathlon. In the end I did 3 triathlons (sprint) and the marathon.

Now for next year I want to do another marathon, a few half marathons, and a couple of standard/olympic triathlons.

So I wanted to post to say that there is loads of room to be a triathlete and a runner.

However......while all of that is still the aim, I just need to find enough time in my week to
    - run c.3 times per week
    - swim a couple of times per week
    - long cycle at the weekend
    - couple of days core/strengthening work
    - one day weight work
    - lots of sleep
    - work
    - family time

There are 10 days in a week aren't there? :-)

Today is the first day that I almost feel back to normal. Up to park run in St Annes today and ran with one of the girls who wanted to get somewhere in the 30 min space. I was busy keeping her motivated and keeping her on pace that I didn't notice any niggles and really enjoyed the run. Got her in at 30.26 and she was chuffed with herself got a big kick out of it myself. Aquinn, firedance and Bungygirl were there as spies for DG to make sure none of us novices were racing. KennyG kept a nice easy pace too I can report no racing for us today we are still under orders ! Nice catch up for coffee afterwards .... Finally feel im getting back to normal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,776 ✭✭✭This Fat Girl Runs

Went for another short recovery run today. Was very hard to keep it slow but I just remembered about the phone battery analogy! Also kept thinking about the Jingle Bells 5k and how I'll be able to run as fast as I want then! Got drenched on my run today too, but somehow I didn't mind. It was just such a great feeling to be back out!

Also, sport massage on Thursday went really well. Legs are in surprisingly good shape, no trouble spots, a few knots here and there. My back, neck and shoulders are in worse shape, and after 26 years of chronic pain and tension I and my therapist think now is a good time to start working on it since my legs don't need as much attention. It's not going to be pretty but it'll be worth it in the end right? Right?!

Volunteered alongside nop at the local parkrun this morning. Almost lost one person as they didn't see the righ turn sign and ran right by me but I go him so it's grand. I hassled some non parkrun runners if they weren't turning right.

And then left my spot before the last person had passed.

I don't think I'm allowed volunteer again. I suck.

I did meet Marthastew though :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,272 ✭✭✭Dubgal72

Wish I'd discovered this a few months ago, fascinating thread, probably one of the very best on this forum. Really recommend setting aside half an hour to read and digest.

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2056133497

It's about an 'ordinary Joe'* runner - kiwirunner on boards, don't think he posts any more - who spent a few weeks at the Kenyan high altitude training camp, Iten. Might take Eliud and James' offer up now :D

His 2:38 marathon was considered "jogging" :D :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,921 ✭✭✭Kennyg71

Really slow at park run this morning 27.30
    Some Boardies as Mrs MC said keeping
    Eye out�� following slow recovery miles as
    Advised, maybe few strides next week.
    See lots of Marathon runners hitting pb's
    In park run already, but resisting temptation��

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,413 ✭✭✭Toulouse

Hey hey!!

My foot is still not right so haven't been running since Monday even though I am itching to!

Will leave it until Monday and try again and if it still hurts then it's off to the Physio with me.

In other news, I managed to find my life so have been out having fun and have been hitting the gym too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,355 ✭✭✭Bungy Girl

Mrs Mc wrote: »
    Today is the first day that I almost feel back to normal. Up to park run in St Annes today and ran with one of the girls who wanted to get somewhere in the 30 min space. I was busy keeping her motivated and keeping her on pace that I didn't notice any niggles and really enjoyed the run. Got her in at 30.26 and she was chuffed with herself got a big kick out of it myself. Aquinn, firedance and Bungygirl were there as spies for DG to make sure none of us novices were racing. KennyG kept a nice easy pace too I can report no racing for us today we are still under orders ! Nice catch up for coffee afterwards .... Finally feel im getting back to normal.

I can vouch for the pair of them Dubgal. Very compliant novices. Especially KennyG - Mrs KennyG was miles ahead of him :pac::pac::pac:. Well done on the pacing gig MrsMc, you looked fresh as a daisy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 224 ✭✭Stevo1983

Anyone receive their finisher pixs ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 107 ✭✭Peter D61

Stevo1983 wrote:

I got mine, but I ordered them on the Wednesday after the race.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 107 ✭✭Peter D61

Stevo1983 wrote:

I got mine, but I ordered them on the Wednesday after the race.

First run this morning. 5k in absolutely torrential wind and rain. Felt really really good! Probably a little too fast, but I have absolutely no idea what pace I was running at because I ran naked :p

Brought the mutt as I knew the weather was so bad that there wouldn't be many in the park and she could run free. She was not one bit impressed with me at all and tried to get me to go home on a number of occasions :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,585 ✭✭✭nop98

First run this morning. 5k in absolutely torrential wind and rain. Felt really really good! Probably a little too fast, but I have absolutely no idea what pace I was running at because I ran naked :p

Brought the mutt as I knew the weather was so bad that there wouldn't be many in the park and she could run free. She was not one bit impressed with me at all and tried to get me to go home on a number of occasions :pac:

Well done Whoops (also for the volunteering)! I was out in the park too, early this morning, and nearly got washed away. Ran for about an hour and loved it, despite the weather. DG, what have you done to us! The 8yo summed it up when I arrived home, complete soggy: "Dad. You're nuts".

nop98 wrote: »
    Well done Whoops (also for the volunteering)! I was out in the park too, early this morning, and nearly got washed away. Ran for about an hour and loved it, despite the weather. DG, what have you done to us! The 8yo summed it up when I arrived home, complete soggy: "Dad. You're nuts".

We're all nuts Nop !!!:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,776 ✭✭✭This Fat Girl Runs

I went to the zoo this morning...who's the nut now?! Loved it though, felt like I had the place to myself there were so few people there! Spent a good three hours just wandering around, thinking things over.

It did feel very strange to walk (!) into the park when for the better part of the year I've been running in and out of it. I've run past the zoo so much, it was nice to actually get to go in!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 541 ✭✭✭smashiner

Still struggling a bit with my knee (strain), but think that it is slowly getting better. Can't wait to get running in the rain again, mad jealous of u guys running in the downpours!!

This Friday I am going to Athlone on a lads weekend away, planned way before the DCM as we wanted something to look forward to after all the hype had died down.....turns out now that the Boys in Green are playing the first leg of the playoff against Bosnia on Friday night.......plans for a nice quite weekend of recovery just went out the window.......:rolleyes:

Want to get back running the weekend after....if the hangover has cleared by then.....:eek:

The plan is to then keep things at the 10K level for the few weeks leading up to Christmas and then start the whole cycle of The Raheny 5, Spar 10, Race series etc

BTW Decent sale for Asics (€42) on MandM Direct at the moment if you want a cheap pair of runners for the smaller distances....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,388 ✭✭✭diego_b

Still in non running mode as well myself, plan is to try my first run post DCM tomorrow morning. I know it's going to be horrible but will get it done, just going to do an easy 3 miles to see where I am at. Due back to physio on Friday morning.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,461 ✭✭✭Clearlier

It has been two weeks now, if you're not injured and you haven't already got off the sofa it's time.

If this is your first run since DCM then it will feel strange, it will feel awkward and you'll wonder how you ever ran a marathon. Don't worry this feeling will pass.

Keep it easy - of course :).