Arsenal Talk/Gossip/Rumours Thread 2015/16 ( Mod Note linked in OP 29/12)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,307 ✭✭✭DarraghF197

ronjo wrote: »
    Oh FFS. He missed some sitters today. Kane probably would have had a hat trick in red today.

Not too unhappy with that though. Spurs are playing well and City result was excellent.

Kane wouldn't have had the aerial ability that Giroud has. Giroud made those chances as much as he missed them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 727 ✭✭✭Muirshin Durkin

Was an important draw with city dropping points, the international break cant come quick enough, what happened Santi, it was hardly a tactical sub?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,187 ✭✭✭ronjo

Kane wouldn't have had the aerial ability that Giroud has. Giroud made those chances as much as he missed them.

You are probably right but he did bury a header against us last season.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,336 ✭✭✭Mr.Micro

We will take the point, despite the poor performance. Wengers lack of strengthening the squad always comes back to haunt us, especially when injury hits us hard.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 35,514 ✭✭✭✭efb

Oh FFS. He missed some sitters today. Kane probably would have had a hat trick in red today.

Not too unhappy with that though. Spurs are playing well and City result was excellent.

Its a very simple way to view the game

efb wrote: »
    Its a very simple way to view the game

So how would you view the chances?

He was poor today. Not just the missed chances either but his general play and his antics.
    I'd be usually on his side too.

the hold up play, pulling away defenders... oh ok...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,553 ✭✭✭Spanish Johnny

The bar one wasn't a sitter

spot on. criticise Giroud on the one that went wide but the header off the bar was not a sitter. watch it back...he does well to even get to it...he just gets to it goin backwards...if he was a yard further out it may go in and its a header on the scale of Lewandowski durin the week.

So how would you view the chances?

the one that hit the bar was made by himself, loris made a great save, one went just and i didn't see the 4th

feel free to stick it up

Pudders wrote: »
    Spurs are miles behind us and always will be.

hmmm...

the one that hit the bar was made by himself, loris made a great save, one went just and i didn't see the 4th

feel free to stick it up

Jaysus I can't be dealing with that technical stuff. I would call it as bar one not easy but well capable of scoring, one should score all day long, lloris should have been allowed save and last one pretty difficult he skied over.

wenger even said after Giroud was raging for missing them all

Jaysus I can't be dealing with that technical stuff. I would call it as bar one not easy but well capable of scoring, one should score all day long, lloris should have been allowed save and last one pretty difficult he skied over.

wenger even said after Giroud was raging for missing them all

which two were the sitters, I believe one was the header to the bar initally..., lloris made a great save by waiting in fairness to him.

He's hardly going to be delighted with not scoring, is he???

which two were the sitters, I believe one was the header to the bar initally..., lloris made a great save by waiting in fairness to him.

Second and third and think he should have scored the first.

Poor Mesut!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,462 ✭✭✭✭WoollyRedHat

The way to win the league will be the interchanging of Giroud and Walcott throughout the season, with the introduction of Welbeck into the fold come January adding another dimension to our attack.

Agreed
    We certainly have one of the best plan B options in Europe. Just need them both fit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,758 ✭✭✭RedemptionZ

Agreed
    We certainly have one of the best plan B options in Europe. Just need them both fit.

In Europe? Welbeck isn't exactly a superstar.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,783 ✭✭✭emergingstar

Alli gave the ball away more than any other player, no chances created, fewest tackles won of any midfielder.

MOTM apparently.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,343 ✭✭✭Bobby Baccala

Agreed

Dunno about that now

In Europe? Welbeck isn't exactly a superstar.

Not talking about Welbeck.

Start Giroud or Walcott and when you make a change with 30 mins to go, defenders have a totally new type of attack formation to deal with

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,216 ✭✭✭Looper007

The only positive to take from that match is we didn't lose to 'em and we're still picking up points even when we're playing bad. I think the injury crisis caught up with us for sure, poor Carzola looked out on his feet even in the first ten minutes. The last 15 minutes were good and Giroud missed a few good chances.

At least City drew so they aren't ahead of us. The international break is blessing and we need to get back a few of those injured lads. Ramsey, Ox and Walcott should be back. Ozil gets a rest too which a blessing.

We seriously need to give Alexis a rest, he's been dodgy the last three games.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 55,778 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

Away to WBA on 21st Nov.@ 3.00 pm.
    Time to get players back in the meantime.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,732 ✭✭✭Arne_Saknussem

Looper007 wrote: »
    The only positive to take from that match is we didn't lose to 'em and we're still picking up points even when we're playing bad. I think the injury crisis caught up with us for sure, poor Carzola looked out on his feet even in the first ten minutes. The last 15 minutes were good and Giroud missed a few good chances.

At least City drew so they aren't ahead of us. The international break is blessing and we need to get back a few of those injured lads. Ramsey, Ox and Walcott should be back. Ozil gets a rest too which a blessing.

We seriously need to give Alexis a rest, he's been dodgy the last three games.

Was unwell before the game apparently and threw up at half time so was taken off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 55,778 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

Was unwell before the game apparently and threw up at half time so was taken off.

Had to be something wrong with him. He had a dire first-half and that's not like him.

Surely wouldn't have started if Ramsey, Wilshere or Mozart were fit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,779 ✭✭✭✭Ol' Donie

Away to WBA on 21st Nov.@ 3.00 pm.
    Time to get players back in the meantime.

If we have Rambo & Bellerin back for that...well it's on again.

Weird game today, we were outplayed for lots of it, but still could have won by a couple.

Giroud would have had a few on any other day, just didn't happen for him today.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,783 ✭✭✭emergingstar

4 very winnable games before city

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,307 ✭✭✭DarraghF197

4 very winnable games before city

A winnable City game followed by another two or three winnable games. :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,828 ✭✭✭gosplan

Ol' Donie wrote: »
    If we have Rambo & Bellerin back for that...well it's on again.

Weird game today, we were outplayed for lots of it, but still could have won by a couple.

Giroud would have had a few on any other day, just didn't happen for him today.

In fairness to Giroud, he's been fairly clinical over the last month and has come on and totally changed a couple of games.

Nice little run to take us into the break.

What is it since Chelsea. w5 d1, some good wins too. Utd, Everton, Leicester, Swans. A little injury crisis has cost us 2 points but hopefully that's it now.

Next 4 go West Brom, Norwich, Sunderland, Villa which is a huge opportunity to gain another 12 points before we play City.

Maybe after those games, I'll start to believe.

I would totally have started to believe we could win it if we had got 3 points today.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,629 ✭✭✭wonga77

We were very slow to get into the game today, played at the same slow tempo with no urgency a bit like we did against Munich. Some on here said that our players were holding themselves back for today but on todays evidence thats a no.
    A point is a good result and one almost every gunner would have taken at the 70 minute mark as it was them who looked more likely to score

If Santi was anything less than 100% then why did he start, either he hid the fact he was feeling unwell or else the management took a chance on him, either way an extremely risky/stupid thing to do

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 727 ✭✭✭Muirshin Durkin

Someone needs to tell our defenders to stop that offside trap ****e as well