Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Web Summit quits Dublin

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,664 ✭✭✭sid waddell

Web Summit Lisbon 2016 - Preliminary programme of events

Tuesday November 8th:
    CEO of Web Summit, Paddy Cosgrave, runs to the summit of Mount Bull**** and lights the flame for the ceremonial burning of the bridge across Lisbon harbour to open the event. This flame will burn for the duration of the event.

Former Portuguese dictator Antonio Salazar pops up from the grave (in a new browser window) to speak about how strong leadership is essential in the world of start-up web enterprises.

Wednesday November 9th:
    CEO of Web Summit, and leader of the tech universe, Paddy Cosgrave, debates with Cristiano Ronaldo on how to develop the ego as part of a successful strategy for personal brand development.

A spokesman for the low-cost canned ham, Spam, speaks with Paddy about how nuisance e-mails being branded with the same name as the product he represents unexpectedly led to a boom in the canned ham world.

Thursday November 10th:
    CEO of Web Summit, leader of the tech universe, and "the man who made the wireless microphone the must have fashion accessory of 2016", Paddy Cosgrave, debates with Paris St. Germain manager Jose Mourinho about how making a fool of yourself in public can, counterintuitively, improve your marketability in the business world.

Former EU Commission President Jose Manuel Barroso agrees with Paddy that the Irish Government are a shower of amateur, incompetent *****.

Closing ceremony: Paddy's ego is ceremonially massaged and paraded through the streets of Lisbon, pending the Portuguese government widening the streets of the city in time.

Angel investors run to the summit of Mount Bull**** (which is expected to be considerably higher than at the start of the event) and ascend into heaven. with all bowing at their feet.

The flames of the burning bridge are extinguished to signal the end of the Summit.

Lunch available on all days from €30, extra olives (single) €1 each.

Low cost accommodation available at a special rate, starting from just €400 euro per night (per person).

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 6,310 Mod ✭✭✭✭mzungu

Tarzana2 wrote: »
    Then he should have just done the LLS spot.

Aye. When you look at it though, he had managed to weave such a complex concoction of BS stories over the past few weeks, there was no way the LLS would have been anything other than a disaster of epic proportions. From a PR perspective, cancelling it was his most prudent move so far.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,296 ✭✭✭✭Foxtrol

Muahahaha wrote: »
    So Paddy fecks off to sunny Lisbon with his $60m company and his model fiancee. I doubt he cares too much for all the haters on here :pac:

The funny thing is he cares so much about what people think of him, that’s why he acted like a spoilt child trying to throw dirt at the government and succeeded in just getting it all over himself. As soon as he wasn’t getting 100% approval from the media he threw a tantrum and refused to talk to them.

He’s done well for himself in a quite morally bankrupt way but his massive ego needs for himself to be seen as some sort of messiah of Ireland.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,771 ✭✭✭✭Muahahaha

Tarzana2 wrote: »
    Then he should have just done the LLS spot.

The guy is rich beyond most peoples wildest dreams and he isn't yet 35 years of age. He doesn't need the LLS

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,452 ✭✭✭✭The_Valeyard

Isn't he on the Late Late show tonight?

Be interesting to see how he acts or reacts to questions by the Twig.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 6,310 Mod ✭✭✭✭mzungu

The guy is rich beyond most peoples wildest dreams and he isn't yet 30 years of age. He doesn't need the LLS

I thought he was 32?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,793 ✭✭✭Red Kev

mzungu wrote: »
    Aye. When you look at it though, he had managed to weave such a complex concoction of BS stories over the past few weeks, there was no way the LLS would have been anything other than a disaster of epic proportions. From a PR perspective, cancelling it was his most prudent move so far.

If he was any good, he'd go on the LLS and run rings around Tubridy, probably the most useless interviewer in the history of RTE.

Tubridy has come out in support of Cosgrave, so he would probably have gotten an easy ride anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,328 ✭✭✭Blut2

I'd like to hear you admit that the Web Summit is based on exploitation in order to make personal profits for the organisers.

Exploitation of start-ups.
    Exploitation of speakers.
    Exploitation of volunteers.
    Exploitation of food vendors.
    Exploitation of the venue.
    Exploitation of public money.

Exploitation of everybody, really.

Exploitation of their paid staff too. I've known a number of people who have worked for them. A combination of low wages, and long hours, resulted in a few of these people working out that they were effectively on less than minimum wage on an hourly basis. All of these people were well qualified graduates, too, for context.

Paddy had a very well timed company concept - and went about expanding it very well. Hes a smart, and mostly very competent, guy.

Unfortunately he's also made a habit of burning bridges absolutely everywhere. I'd say this has as much to do with Web Summit moving to Lisbon as any other factor.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,771 ✭✭✭✭Muahahaha

I thought he was 32?

corrected. Pretty impressive to have a $60m company at the age of 32. No doubt he also gets great opportunities to invest in start ups going places too so I'd imagine he is worth a fair bit more than just his own company.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,458 ✭✭✭✭gandalf

Isn't he on the Late Late show tonight?

Be interesting to see how he acts or reacts to questions by the Twig.

Naw he has decided not to attend now!

corrected. Pretty impressive to have a $60m company at the age of 32. No doubt he also gets great opportunities to invest in start ups going places too so I'd imagine he is worth a fair bit more than just his own company.

Can you list some of these successes? From what I can see all his other ventures were massive failures.

gandalf wrote: »

I think the correct term is that he's taken his ball and gone home because he's too cowardly to come face to face with the interviewing pitbull that is 'Tubs'...

Red Kev wrote: »
    If he was any good, he'd go on the LLS and run rings around Tubridy, probably the most useless interviewer in the history of RTE.

Tubridy has come out in support of Cosgrave, so he would probably have gotten an easy ride anyway.

I agree, Tubridy would have been by far the easiest to deal with. After the week it has been, i'm sure PC didn't want to potentially add more fuel to the fire.

I wonder who Tubbs will have on as a replacement. Eamo Dunphy hasn't been on it a few weeks, I reckon they will get him in for a rant about the hospitals, Irish football team etc...that should kill 20 minutes or so.

Foxtrol wrote: »
    I think the correct term is that he's taken his ball and gone home because he's too cowardly to come face to face with the interviewing pitbull that is 'Tubs'...

LOL a toothless interviewing pitbull with a hugging fetish you mean :P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 965 ✭✭✭Thelomen Toblackai

Can you list some of these successes? From what I can see all his other ventures were massive failures.

Well ya know what they say in Silicon Valley, fail fast and fail often....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 972 ✭✭✭WarZ

gandalf wrote: »

Understandable considering the witch hunt being waged against him. Appearing on LLS will only play into the hands of those who want to damage the WS. Tubridy would undoubtedly set out to destroy Cosgrave. Him appearing at WS was a ruse a sheep in wolves clothing attempt by Tubridy. Cosgrave didn't fall for it.

Look at you gleefully commenting on him not attending. This guy has accomplished more than you ever will in your lifetime in 4 years. He has had more of an impact on the global stage than you ever will. He is a self made multi millionaire at 32. So what if he doesn't turn up on LLS I doubt he cares and why should he, LLS is a joke. And he doesn't need to cater to the likes of you.

He's moving on to bigger and better things most likely and leaving the begrudgers behind

LOL "destroyed by Tubridy"!!! ROLFOL Brilliant, just brilliant! I have to admit this thread has provided a good few laughs :D

It takes a lot of balls to create a global event like he has done. hes not going on LLS because it will be awful PR he is being smart.

Also if your going to call individuals cowards then how about you post your full name and stand behind your comments?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,375 ✭✭✭✭kunst nugget

WarZ wrote: »
    Look at you gleefully commenting on him not attending. This guy has accomplished more than you ever will in your lifetime in 4 years. He has had more of an impact on the global stage than you ever will. He is a self made multi millionaire at 32.

So, does it matter what way he makes his money or is it just important that he's a millionaire?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,461 ✭✭✭✭darkpagandeath

This gave me a good laugh, What next he's the Irish Mark Zuckerberg.....

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 789 ✭✭✭Ctrl Alt Delete

Also if your going to call individuals cowards then how about you post your full name and stand behind your comments?

Gladly after you go first :p:p

Understandable considering the witch hunt being waged against him. Appearing on LLS will only play into the hands of those who want to damage the WS. Tubridy would undoubtedly set out to destroy Cosgrave. Him appearing at WS was a ruse a sheep in wolves clothing attempt by Tubridy. Cosgrave didn't fall for it.

Look at you gleefully commenting on him not attending. This guy has accomplished more than you ever will in your lifetime in 4 years. He has had more of an impact on the global stage than you ever will. He is a self made multi millionaire at 32. So what if he doesn't turn up on LLS I doubt he cares and why should he, LLS is a joke. And he doesn't need to cater to the likes of you.

He's moving on to bigger and better things most likely and leaving the begrudgers behind

TLDNR. Stopped at Witch hunt.... Remind us again who blamed the Government on not being able to run their own event ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,664 ✭✭✭sid waddell

So, does it matter what way he makes his money or is it just important that he's a millionaire?

He's rich, therefore he is.

This gave me a good laugh, What next he's the Irish Mark Zuckerberg.....

Very few Irish have made as much money as he has in the IT industry. €65 million evaluation and that is likely to grow massively over the next few years. He must be in a small number of Irish who've profited that amount from the industry.

If the company survives. He may be gotten rid of before that.

Gladly after you go first :p:p

Why would I? I'm not going around calling people cowards. If you want to call a named individual a coward then post your full name and stand by the comment or retract it.

Again, everything over the last few weeks has shown that he deeply does care of what people think of him. Saying over and over again that he’s made money so doesn’t care is ignoring every bit of evidence out there.

The guy is the classic case of someone who lives of the approval of others and cant hack it when anyone has the gall to be negative towards him and turns into a petulant child.

Look he’s made a lot of money by ripping off others and he needs to grow up and own that fact as otherwise he’s going to damage himself like we’ve seen time and again the last few weeks.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,553 ✭✭✭Tarzana2

The point is it shows that he does indeed give a sh1t what people think of him. That's why he realised the emails in the first place. He wanted to justify moving to Lisbon and feverishly want to bring people onside. When in reality, people were OK with the Lisbon until he realised the emails.

Why would I? I'm not going around calling people cowards. If you want to call a named individual a coward then post your full name and stand by the comment or retract it.

:pac::pac::pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,358 ✭✭✭✭ted1

He is an event organiser, he is not in the IT industry