Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Cork GAA Discussion Thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11 Jkambogsierre8

TTM what was team I am assuming looney, Beausang, Smyth all played did McCarthy play I would have no faith in management there what with talent they have had last two years and did not get out of group stages. Same last year lads played out of positions players who should have played like Beausang from Midleton omitted from last game they played and Denny from Dungourney who never played in any match. Let's hope they can turn it round time will tell as its been the same story being repeated I even remember two years ago they dropped Eoghan Kieary from Killeagh who was a cork minor at the time. So much talent sorry to see it being wasted
    Beausang was not at the pace v hammies last year Denny only good from place balls maybe? Dwane has wasted a lot of talent but there has to be responsibility on the players too

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11 hotd1

seems like midleton roco and colemans are corks best chance this year. more so the first two mentioned but colemans have a solid team and put it well up to thurles in first group game. could be a potential surprise package

Beausang was not at the pace v hammies last year Denny only good from place balls maybe? Dwane has wasted a lot of talent but there has to be responsibility on the players too
    was watching that game last year. midleton played some outstanding hurling in first half but as hammies upped the intensity in second half midleton failed. if midleton want to go all the way this year they will need to be willing to battle and grind out a result.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 107 ✭✭It makes sense

Maybe but management never looked outside the box and tried players even in the O' Callaghan cup and challenge matches example being Broderick and Denny played for cork u17 team last together in midfield year in Mallow in drawn game when cork red played cork whites both were excellent. Both scored from play and you would have thought the school would have tried them out as a midfield pair I do not think their were even given a chance. This is not they fault I would suggest, Denny I understand has made fresher 1st team in UCC so I would suggest there is more to him than taking frees. Broderick outstanding at midfield for the fr O' Neills intermediate and u21 team this year playing midfield. Two years running they have not qualified in lat years final match v neagh I think they needed to win we're losing the match had five players on the bench who had played with Cork, beausang, denny, O' Gorman, Moynihan and One other no subs were brought on landers who was not fit to last 10mins yet alone sixty stayed on for whole match they lost do not see how players were to blame. I am East cork and hate to see talent wasted look what Donal og achieved with Colemans with less talent in one year of hard work compared to Midleton CBS

Fair point but you'd think with the calibre of club that the Midleton players come from you'd think that they'd be a shoe in to be contenders. When you look at the development squads there are hoards of Midleton CBS players but they don't seem to make the transition from Dean Ryan to Harty.
    Compare that to hammies who are picking from one senior club and average premier intermediate clubs they're punching seriously above their weight yet they managed to win their group last year in doing so beating Midleton the dean Ryan winners of that age group.
    It's actually astonishing how this can happen

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 107 ✭✭It makes sense

Fair point but you'd think with the calibre of club that the Midleton players come from you'd think that they'd be a shoe in to be contenders. When you look at the development squads there are hoards of Midleton CBS players but they don't seem to make the transition from Dean Ryan to Harty.
    Compare that to hammies who are picking from one senior club and average premier intermediate clubs they're punching seriously above their weight yet they managed to win their group last year in doing so beating Midleton the dean Ryan winners of that age group.

That's my point Midleton have a huge pick say compared to hammies last year but hammies won and qualified Midleton did not hurling will get you so far but heart desire also players as they get older see through poor management and tactics Midleton last few years have not created competition for places same team played generally no dependant on form in some cases past reputation this creates problems as players guaranteed spot without fear. Again I hope Midleton can learn players are there definetly.

very good point. i think this is down to one factor and one alone and this is the arrogance of midleton. newcestown and valley rovers are the two main clubs feeding hammies and as we saw in this years intermediate final newcestown are strong but valley rovers are only average. on the other hand midleton have the pick of many strong clubs such as midleton carrigtohill killeagh fr o neills etc. should midleton get their heads in the right pace they would be a serious outfit. hopefully this can happen

That's my point Midleton have a huge pick say compared to hammies last year but hammies won and qualified Midleton did not hurling will get you so far but heart desire also players as they get older see through poor management and tactics Midleton last few years have not created competition for places same team played generally no dependant on form in some cases past reputation this creates problems as players guaranteed spot without fear. Again I hope Midleton can learn players are there definetly.

Between Roco and Midleton I believe we have 2 strong contenders. A harty victory for either would be a big boost for cork Hurling. It will come down to whatever team performs on a given day. I wouldn't read much into the ASR -Midleton result, midleton rusty perhaps. They will be judged on the hammies and de la salle games given that there may be a fear factor towards hammies and de la salle being their biggest threat

anyone here go to see hammies in action today? only had twitter updates and would like to know how well their big players played

Between Roco and Midleton I believe we have 2 strong contenders. A harty victory for either would be a big boost for cork Hurling. It will come down to whatever team performs on a given day. I wouldn't read much into the ASR -Midleton result, midleton rusty perhaps. They will be judged on the hammies and de la salle games given that there may be a fear factor towards hammies and de la salle being their biggest threat
    although there will be a fear factor with hammies de la salle are without doubt midletons biggest threat. heard derek mgrath and phillip mahony are in charge there so presume they adopt a sweeper system. could potentially limit the class of midletons forwards and who knows then what could happen

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1 Smallchap

hotd1 wrote: »
    anyone here go to see hammies in action today? only had twitter updates and would like to know how well their big players played

I wasn't at the game at all now but me brother was and he says to me that young Douglas from salle is like a young bull calf with hind legs like trunks thag he has never seen a sixteen year old so big and by christ he can swing the hurl but its by no means a one man show with many others picking points off altough he says it must be noted they play a dire brand of hurling 2 sweepers he says to me it was more like tennis than hurling for spells of it pure muck. But you ask for hammies so you did well he says to me hurley the captain isnt im bad knick at all wont be far from cork you'd imagine altough was abit anonymous at spells due to the two sweepers behind him. Dinnen was proba ly the biggest trier was the one real threath latching on a high ball and shooting narrowly wide in the first half which would have made it a real muck fight but not to be. Theres whispers in thd wind that thks side will have one big performance in them and all of ye cork lads are hoping its against middleton.

Smallchap wrote: »
    I wasn't at the game at all now but me brother was and he says to me that young Douglas from salle is like a young bull calf with hind legs like trunks thag he has never seen a sixteen year old so big and by christ he can swing the hurl but its by no means a one man show with many others picking points off altough he says it must be noted they play a dire brand of hurling 2 sweepers he says to me it was more like tennis than hurling for spells of it pure muck. But you ask for hammies so you did well he says to me hurley the captain isnt im bad knick at all wont be far from cork you'd imagine altough was abit anonymous at spells due to the two sweepers behind him. Dinnen was proba ly the biggest trier was the one real threath latching on a high ball and shooting narrowly wide in the first half which would have made it a real muck fight but not to be. Theres whispers in thd wind that thks side will have one big performance in them and all of ye cork lads are hoping its against middleton.
    yes the word on the street is that young hurley from valley rovers is hurling well. as a corkman would love to see hammies doing well i think what they have achieved in the last two or three years has been nothing short of astonishing and a lot of credit is due to their coaches espacially aidan o donoghue who seems to be the main man in charge of the west cork outfit

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 35,013 CMod ✭✭✭✭ShamoBuc

Thought I came into the wrong thread with all the new posters......great to see!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 169 ✭✭Hurleratheart

Sad to hear tonight Neilis from PIARSAIGH passed away

A great great clubman and a huge loss to that club and community

RIP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,460 ✭✭✭Orizio

Dwane running through East Cork hurling like a bad dose of diarrhoea.
    Not the worst result for Midleton. Might even have a half decent side for the 1st time in yrs.

I dunno if you are trying to troll here or something but this group won the Dean Ryan two years ago beating ASR.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 303 ✭✭Smith614

yes the word on the street is that young hurley from valley rovers is hurling well. as a corkman would love to see hammies doing well i think what they have achieved in the last two or three years has been nothing short of astonishing and a lot of credit is due to their coaches espacially aidan o donoghue who seems to be the main man in charge of the west cork outfit

Why is it "astonishing" what hammies have achieved?? They are drawing from some strong hurling clubs and TBH should be doing better.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,460 ✭✭✭Orizio

Smith614 wrote: »
    Why is it "astonishing" what hammies have achieved?? They are drawing from some strong hurling clubs and TBH should be doing better.

They are drawing from a half a dozen intermediate and junior clubs. Reality is unless you are Ard Scoil, Thurles etc then you aren't going to be competitive every year. Hell Midleton draw from a much larger group of stronger clubs and are rarely, if ever, competitive at Harty.

In saying that, really feel like Youghal and Hamilton should be down at B level.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 347 ✭✭commonsense.

ShamoBuc wrote: »
    Thought I came into the wrong thread with all the new posters......great to see!

How long will they last though. This thread has a tenancy to wear people down!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2 Fitzy23

Smith614 wrote: »

It's astonishing because they do it all on their own, receive no backing whatsoever from any quarter, are the smallest school in the Harty and have no school pitch or hall. They run around local clubs to ask for their pitches to train. They are competing against schools who draw players from different counties. Now that is astonishing, they got to Harty semi 2 years ago, topped their group last year and lost to Ard Scoil in quarter after a great battle. And u think they should be doing better. Wow ðŸ‘ðŸ¼

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,276 ✭✭✭thinkstoomuch1

Butty brendan mccarthy did play and play well and was a playing deep on occasion
    Sean o leary Hayes who have imo has potential be future centre back at senior for cork and has another two years at harty and minor should been played more central role not in the corner, Sean o connor who is good player should been half back imo not central role
    Mcdonnell who played centre back dean Ryan cup winning team is superb and in next games should be centre back
    Looney wasn't great by he's own standards but I would not fault him as at times was not played in he's best positions and should been drifting in and out of the full forward line while beausang I rate higly and donal og cusack rates him also would be better farther out the field

The posts about Hamilton are correct Hamilton have had to fight for everything they got were never born with a silver spoon in there mouth and considering ccb chairman said he'd try almangate the school with bandon years ago they have done well to stay solo
    They came from now where and while there struggling a bit as the golden crop of meade, horgan, leary mac sweeny, cahalane etc are gone they will come again
    No way do they deserve to be in the b grade

Aidan o donughe doing great work and michael cahalane ex players helping coaching also but it shouldn't be lost that Crowley gdo now with colmans done brilliant work starting the progress in Hamilton and also not just coaching the players but coaching likes of o donughe and other teachers also in good coaching

Makes sense was right with midelton it's not so much lack work or desire the players have that as winning white cups dean Ryan cup prove that the problem is there poorly coached at harty and played out of position and you will get away with it at dean Ryan to a degree against the niall moran, crowe, Paul flangan ard scoil and other schools good coaches you won't

People at times thinks it harsh to critse senior players having had numerous chances with cork yet given chance after chance after chance when imo it's not harsh on field play but to say young players some in midelton under sixteen and seventeen are to partly blame for yesterday are imo completely wrong as young players need coaching and guidance and poor coaching let them down yesterday

As for the sweeper yes it's not nice but midelton were correct to play it and it's naive and foolish in this day and age when cork were clearly exposed by not playing sweeper year after year to say midelton shouldn't played one when ard scoil always play a sweeper, doon also, Hamilton won't play one sweeper in two weeks but will play a double sweeper with eight backs and while it may look poor there quite correct as if Hamilton go fifteen v fifteen against midelton they will be destroyed
    They beat them last year playing a sweeper

Midelton were right to play a sweeper and Rochestown also that's not the problem The problem is dwayne teams like cork intermediate in all ireland finals and meelin and Carrig don't actually under him play the sweeper imo effectively
    Playing a sweeper incorrectly looks awful just like cork senior football dismal attempt playing blanket defence last year but Dublin and Donegal played blanket effective so it works
    That the difference
    This view that sweeper are ruining the game fair enough but teams have no choice to adapt as going orthodox as proven time and time and time again won't work against them

Midelton problem was the lads playing sweeper should not be in that role those playing forwards more should been sweeper and the balance of defence imo was all wrong and I don't blame the players i blame the management.

Great post and dounughe is a good coach

Smallchap wrote: »
    How did sheehan play?
    I agree they will have one huge performance in them and will cause midelton problem with the sweeper as it looks like midelton can't adapt to opposing teams with it

Personally I want midelton to win as I have nothing against Hamilton and would support them most games but as cork fan that wants harty cup imo Hamilton won't win it and midelton best chance with Rochestown
    and maybe charville

Ag have the talent in two years but I would have concerns over tactics from what I saw last year

I hope Hamilton play two sweepers and it absoultey pours out of the heavens and it's close war of attrition and midelton win as winning this by ten points no benefit down the line but if they were to win against double sweeper in close game it would show signs management are learning how to get the team win close games
    Middelton will need to be tested as dls have two wins and momentum now
    Midelton can still turn there year around and qualify but it's crucial mistakes are learned

Makes sense posted a great example that colmans with limited resources beat excellent charville team minor grade final and while they played sweeper and was not nice to watch fact is colmans with effective sweeper won a game they on paper had no right to win
    At this stage I don't care how cork win a harty or minor and it can be awful hurling I'm not bothered as cork badly needs a harty and get minor munster final at this stage
    I'd rather win a poor game hurling by a point than loose a classic by a point.
    Cork minor played better hurling v limerick yet lost this year so at this stage style doesn't matter once the team wins and the style is effective

although there will be a fear factor with hammies de la salle are without doubt midletons biggest threat. heard derek mgrath and phillip mahony are in charge there so presume they adopt a sweeper system. could potentially limit the class of midletons forwards and who knows then what could happen
    Mcgrath has good record in schools and no doubt they will cause midelton problem if midelton aren't wise
    By the reports here Douglas played brilliant for them and he's by post here big target man and we'll able to hurler
    It's really then a no brainer that the only man to mark him who is brilliant under high ball is sean o leary Hayes as he's suited to him
    However i wouldn't be surprised if smith who is outstanding man marker but not suited big full forward would be put on him as on the evidence of last and this year management are not getting the match up correct
    It would be wrong to put smith on Douglas and you would make great corner back look poor
    Likes Gerry Wallis Peter dowling would do brilliant with this midelton team as coaches

In the echo last night it was said ed Forrest isn't as pr cork seeking reelection and imo hugely huge significant move with the controversy pairc this year and other controversy off the field you would wonder has he enough of it
    Very good gaa man and he's walking away
    We don't know for sure why but examiner said earlier year two board members were going resign but then changed there mind

It's also worth nothing when the ccb post cuthbhertt statement the shambles it was came out it was assumed that was Forrest as pro write it but it's worth nothing days after examiner pointed out that ger lane mentioned them statement was not work Forrest and it seems Forrest wanted imo make clear he was distancing himself from it and now after one year he's leaving he's post
    The controversial story imo with the pairc is only starting as I would think there will be more drama now Europe are involved
    Forrest done well for cork to be fair and imo have huge respect for him

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 98 ✭✭seventh7

How did sheehan play?
    I agree they will have one huge performance in them and will cause midelton problem with the sweeper as it looks like midelton can't adapt to opposing teams with it

Personally I want midelton to win as I have nothing against Hamilton and would support them most games but as cork fan that wants harty cup imo Hamilton won't win it and midelton best chance with Rochestown
    and maybe charville

Ag have the talent in two years but I would have concerns over tactics from what I saw last year

I hope Hamilton play two sweepers and it absoultey pours out of the heavens and it's close war of attrition and midelton win as winning this by ten points no benefit down the line but if they were to win against double sweeper in close game it would show signs management are learning how to get the team win close games
    Midelton can still turn there year around and qualify but it's crucial mistakes are learned

Makes sense posted a great example that colmans with limited resources beat excellent charville team minor grade final and while they played sweeper and was not nice to watch fact is colmans with effective sweeper won a game they on paper had no right to win
    At this stage I don't care how cork win a harty or minor and it can be awful hurling I'm not bothered as cork badly needs a harty and get minor munster final at this stage
    Cork minor played better hurling v limerick yet lost this year so at this stage style doesn't matter once the team wins and the style is effective

Very quiet up on the Northside around the AG, lots of good challenges played. The more games all the teams get the better at this level. Rochestown have to have a great chance, experience and oodles of talent. Write off the Mon at your peril, lots of talented players a few tweaks here and there and they are not half bad.

I would agree seventh talent wise wouldn't write off ag at all at all and while sheehan and Hanafin and morrisey all young and will even be better next Year this year with the outstanding killan aherne has be cork minor and gunning and o Meara etc have players be good but myself and you had similar views last year ag tactically didn't get best out lads particularly v thurles

They should play two man full forward line with gunning inside as like Rochestown with power they utilities he's strength so well.

Gunning has been dropped in to a midfield role alongside Aherne, in recent games they have been unplayable. when they break from midfield they are a sight to see. They are as good as you will get at any level. Both have has theirfair share of knockers by the armchair experts ones too light the other kid isn't quick enough. Its all bull****, I would pay to see them play.

seventh7 wrote: »
    Gunning has been dropped in to a midfield role alongside Aherne, in recent games they have been unplayable. when they break from midfield they are a sight to see. They are as good as you will get at any level. Both have has theirfair share of knockers by the armchair experts ones too light the other kid isn't quick enough. Its all bull****, I would pay to see them play.
    There outstanding prospect and as you know I have always always rated aherne and gunning and with Ronan Harrington jeremy Saich niall o leary and Jamie and Sean o leary Hayes and Kevin Murphy Youghal with Darragh Guiney are type warriors cork minor need this year
    Aherne may lack raw pace but that does not mean he slow but he's athletic and mobile and strong and real abrasive aggressive hurler that hurls with real purpose

Gunning is small as you say but like deane tommy Walsh is big in heart and he'll mix it fight for dirty ball and young gosnell is another outstanding prospect like him for midelton
    It's great gunning is at midfield excelling but would you not feel he's better close to goal in Shane o Donnell type role?

There outstanding prospect and as you know I have always always rated aherne and gunning and with Ronan Harrington jeremy Saich niall o leary and Jamie and Sean o leary Hayes and Kevin Murphy Youghal with Darragh Guiney are type warriors cork minor need this year
    Aherne may lack raw pace but that does not mean he slow but he's athletic and mobile and strong and real abrasive aggressive hurler that hurls with real purpose

Gunning is small as you say but like deane tommy Walsh is big in heart and he'll mix it fight for dirty ball and young gosnell is another outstanding prospect like him for midelton
    It's great gunning is at midfield excelling but would you not feel he's better close to goal in Shane o Donnell type role?

Gunning is more effective when he has a few yards to launch himself, he has electric acceleration. Sheehan who is physically bigger is a clinical finisher and is better closer to goal. Aherne could hurl with senior players now and give many of them a fright. He is a real kilkenny type player hard and uncompromising.

How did sheehan play?

and maybe charville

How do you see Hammies and Midleton lining up both personnel and tactics wise? Hammies will have to adopt some sort of system to try and stop a supply of ball going in to looney and Beausang. This could be of benefit to Midleton too as they will face sweeper systems down the line given the class of their forwards.