If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

DCM 2015: Mentored Novices Thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 161 ✭✭JacEim

Haven't done a thing since Monday. I'm under instruction to do absolutely no running for 2 weeks - of any kind. A bit disappointed as where I'm going for the weekend has loads of lovely trails, but I can walk them sure :)

Will be swimming at the weekend so that'll be nice and easy, starting lessons then next wednesday.

I thought I'd be starving and craving every type of sugar and carb going but I haven't been at all and I'm very aware that I need to watch what I'm eating because I'm not doing any exercise.

Feeling a bit better today, just tired from being in work very early. Cannot wait for my weekend away :D

Getting out on a mountain bike on those trails is surely allowed ???

JacEim wrote: »
    Getting out on a mountain bike on those trails is surely allowed ???

Good thinking batman. The hotel have bikes and all!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,776 ✭✭✭This Fat Girl Runs

OH MY GOSH!!

I actually have time to go to the movies now!!

You guys are geniuses!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 259 ✭✭duffer247

I feel like a marathon training review is in order not just the event itself, but maybe I’ll leave this until later. Suffice to say for now, I ran every mile, training and races, on my own. Doing it on my own was to be an integral part of the challenge. But if truth be known, I'm not sure if I would have made it to the start line let alone the finish line had I not happened across the Novices thread. It sounds dramatic, but having experienced the passing of my father-in-law, handing in my notice in work and shedding tears when I thought a sciatic nerve issue would rule me out of the marathon; if fair to say that it’s not something I could have achieved alone. This is therefore an opportunity for me to share my sincere gratitude to every poster and a sense of humbleness having been part of it all.
    Oscar speech over now its race report:
    Pre-start
    I woke at 4.40am unintentionally, but feeling great although a little disappointed at being awake so early! I relaxed for the next 2 hours in bed and listened to a few non-sport podcasts. I eventually got up, showered and had a breakfast of champions! My wife got up too, which was a nice touch and just before I left, the kids came downstairs and I got extra special hugs.
    I had a minor complication the night before as I hadn’t worked out how to get into town, no buses running at that time, Luas red line would leave me with too much walking and I didn’t want to take up the lift offer from my wife. I decided I would taxi it in. I walked down to the Crumlin road, I’d like to say here that I had some Hollywood moment where I looked up and down the road and psyched myself up but alas the moment was lost on me! I did see a few coaches full of Asics blue bags and gave them a wave, a few cyclists with similar tribal markings also shared their luck with me. Nice touch. I got money from the ATM and sensed a car pulling up behind me. It was a taxi, he smiled and waved me in. He said “a guy at an ATM in running gear can only be getting money out for a taxi!” another nice touch.
    I went through the motions of bag drop, toilet break etc. and marvelled at the ingenuity of my fellow athletes adorned in all types of disposable outerwear, black bags who would have thought? I did a light warm up but seemed alone in this, saw a lot of stretching going on which I thought was a little risky in the cold atmosphere. Up into Wave 3 and sought out the yellow balloons with 4.30 on, I noticed the red balloon and clapper ahead of the boards group. I wasnt able to match their faces to their boards tags, but noticed Pauls & Carol thanks to their t-shirts. I should have said hello and introduced myself, but I shied away and feel bad now, sorry! There didn’t seem to be too much hanging around and we were off.

Miles Splits
    1-3 10.09, 09.51, 10.13
    The start was a bit surreal, I’m used to people darting forward and zig-zagging, but I didn’t notice much of that, it was all very cool, bit congested and took a lot longer to get a bit space than you would find at other shorter races. I really enjoyed watching runners fling their hoodies to the side – would make a great image. I had been looking forward to running through the streets of Dublin but didn’t really get a feel for it until we got to Stoneybatter, some really good support there. When I saw the Water station I was surprised at how quickly the first few miles went, helped myself to a bottle.

4-6 09.48, 10.03, 10.07
    Into the park, I stopped for a call of nature here as did many others. There must have been a member of the Zoo keeping staff running as a few staff came out to cheer them on, which was nice. It was nice to run through the park and quite a bit of support too. Miles fell away.

7-9 10.21, 09.50, 09.56
    Coming out at Castleknock I was really taken aback by the levels of support, lots of cheering and music, I’ll never get bored of Springsteen’s Born to Run! Turning onto College Park road I recalled how I had trained on this route previously and having to ask a taxi if I was going the right way. Not now though, huge support at this slight incline. After that it was nice to have a downhill and relaxed the hands and arms a bit. The 4.30 group seemed quite settled at this point and I had a chat with the woman beside me who was also a 1st timer. Back into the park and I was just behind the Novices 4.30 guys, I was really impressed by their running, they looked so effortless as they discussed their plans for McGrattans later that day.

10-12 09.54, 10.41, 10.14
    I have some not so good history of training around St. Laurences road, Sarsfield Avenue onto Inchicore road and true to form the few hills here surfaced some tightness in the back of my left leg. I was a bit ahead of the pace group so I could comfortably slow down but it was the first negative thing to happen after a solid 10 miles. Some humour was provided by a group of what looked like body builders, they were full of motivation for each other and plenty of supplements!! Also the Oggie oggie oggie chants under the bridge! There was some super support at Kilmainham especially at the foot of the hill, one supporter was pointing and telling runners how great they were, and how they have this! I couldn’t help but smile and soak it all in.

13-15 10.11, 10.36, 10.28
    Crumlin road was wet, windy and miserable but I used the straight line to do a checkpoint, feet were only now feeling a bit of impact –check, calves and knees all good –check, some tightness at back of left leg on hills –hmm check, energy levels good -check, water, gels & jellies all working well –check. It thought ahead and pictured 2 hills that I would have to be careful on – Milltown and Roebuck. After passing halfway the next milestone would be mile 16 where my wife and kids will be and miles 17 & 18 will be very familiar and should have some friendly faces. Pre-race I had identified the 15-20 mile zone to be the hardest so support here would be crucial.

16-18 10.24, 10.07, 10.17
    Kimmage Road West and I meet the family, it was a great moment almost spoiled tripping over the curb trying to see them. I was finding a lot of runners falling back, slowing or walking at this point, I was feeling great. My wife was amazed how light on my feet I was, a quick photo a few extra gels and a kiss or 3 and I’m off again. It was a great buzz to be running the marathon in my area, where I had trained alone so much. Some great signs too “Worst Parade ever!” made me chuckle.

19-21 10.02, 10.16, 10.10
    The boost I was feeling in the previous 3 miles was wearing off now, and mentally I allowed myself for the first time to think about finishing the race, what I would have to do to get there and I started to notice the mile markers for the first time. That old saying of the marathon being a 20 mile warm up followed by a 10k race was coming true. Milltown hill, careful, yep through okay, didn’t look up at the support for the first time. What’s next Clonskeagh? That has to be a long drag, and it was although support again was superb, good few people walking, stretching etc. so this is Heartbreak hill? Supporters were close, really close, like a mountain stage in the Tour de France. I wanted to say Heartbreak Hill my ass! But thought it would be foolhardy. Lot of people at first aid, blisters, cramp etc.

22-24 10.16, 10.15, 10.06
    Okay, Foster Avenue? That means I’m running downhill and then into town and I’m done!? Woman with sign that read; “touch here for power”, I smiled and she said “you know you want to”, so over I went and tapped the power button. Jesus, this is going really well, quick body check, feeling the impact on my feet and think I need to take advantage of all energy sources now. Girl beside me offers around nurofen! Turn onto Stillorgan road was hoping I might recognise someone, but no, intense support again. A well-dressed woman had her arm out cheering us, it was like she was at football match or something – remarkable support. We’re very tight on the single lane on the dual carriageway, I’m not liking this at all, still with the 4.30’s but it seems the pace has gone up a notch or maybe it’s because we’ve been squeezed into a narrow channel. Up the exit ramp at UCD and across the bridge and OWH! A jet of pain down the back of the left leg, like someone heated up the blood in my artery. Immediate slow down. Check the watch, it’s 23. something miles. Another 3m can I make it? What do I have to do? No way I’m stopping to stretch I might not start again. Start praying to the running gods, fingers are pressed against each other, deep breaths, it’s like some kind of yoga running, can I do this for 30 minutes? Nuteley lane gives some relief. Yellow balloons are still well in sight.

25-26.2 10.39, 10.52, 03.54
    Merrion road, okay this is a straight road into town. Something has changed though. For the first time I’m not in a group, it’s thinned out. Don’t look behind you. Leg is still brooding. Nobody is at the same pace. Walkers everywhere, some runners passing me; bast**ds! Don’t aggravate your leg now. How long is this going to take? Check watch, maybe I’m okay for 4.30. Where are the balloons? Is that them? “Keep going, you’re nearly there”, why are they saying that to me? Crowds are staring to thicken now, I am meant to be with a bunch, I wanted to be looking at runners beside me and say “fair play”, shaking hands, patting on backs. Instead there’s zombies everywhere, at least I’m passing them out. The 4.30 pacers must have banked a few minutes, my watch is looking really healthy. Oh no, did my watch auto-pause when I went for that whizz? “Half a mile, lads”, okay just coast in, you’ll be grand. Sign for 800 metres, my pace picks up, Gardaí either side of me, what’s going on? They’re making room for an ambulance, oh jasus. I thought back to the ½ marathon. Everything is surreal. Head up, smile, oooh green carpet this is it … what do I do? I thought about this so much, subtle fist in air and over the line. Stop watch and save. Keep jogging, leg will spasm if I stop. Steward asks me if I’m going on to do another! Collected medal and spotted one of the 4.30 pacers, “thank you”, simple and meaningful.

Spotted the wife and kids behind the fence like refugees! Big smiles all around. Feeling greatness.

Distance 26.2 miles, Time 04.30.21 [04.29.23 on watch :)]

Pink11 wrote: »
    Oh my god. I started writing and I couldn't stop. I'm so sorry for the length of this.

Great report Pink, very honest and echoed some of my own experiences on the day

frash wrote: »
    Joining a running club doesn't really suit my weekly schedule as from what I see they're mainly early evenings (around 7) and weekends around 9 - 10.

I generally run lunchtimes or after 9pm. Weekends I'd be up & out before 8am.

Might check out a park run though - closest to me is Cabinteely I think - could swing by as part of a longer run.

Frash, you must live near-ish to me and a couple of others, we must arrange to do the odd LSR together!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,038 ✭✭✭Neady83

duffer247 wrote: »
    Oscar speech over now its race report:

Great report Duffer and a fantastic (and well earned) result. You put into words what I wasn't quite able to, especially the last few miles where people were walking and suffering, I wanted to offer some words of encouragement or say well bloody done but I didn't have the energy to help or say anything to anyone on Monday.

I'd forgotten about the oggie oggie oggie under the bridges, the echo would make the hairs on the back of your neck standing :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 107 ✭✭Peter D61

Frash, you must live near-ish to me and a couple of others, we must arrange to do the odd LSR together!

Count me in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 10,899 ✭✭✭✭Murph_D

Very good report, duffer, and an excellent run. Pity about the autopause issue, I think it was RayCun who warned last week about leaving it on. It sounds like you were going well enough to have gone sub 4:30 but not to worry, it's an arbitrary number really. Think that was me you thanked at the end: my pleasure! Well done again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,636 ✭✭✭frash

Dun Laoghaire
    You?

I see Peter D is in already and the 3 of us would be around the same pace I think.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53 ✭✭stepster

Woman with sign that read; “touch here for power”, I smiled and she said “you know you want to”, so over I went and tapped the power button.

Yes Duffer I noticed her and touched it too! I spotted a girl with a sign saying "Smile if you're not wearing any underwear!".. Needless to say I gave her the biggest smile of the day!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,459 ✭✭✭ZV Yoda

Murph_D wrote: »
    Very good report, duffer, and an excellent run. Pity about the autopause issue, I think it was RayCun who warned last week about leaving it on. It sounds like you were going well enough to have gone sub 4:30 but not to worry, it's an arbitrary number really. Think that was me you thanked at the end: my pleasure! Well done again.

I agree with this 100%. Originally, I intended to shoot for 4:00. My HM PB this year suggested 4:00-4:15 was doable. However, on the day I completed the 20 mile lsr, I realised 26.2 miles would be unknown territory and there were lots of variables that would be outside my control on the big day. After that, my target time became far less important than actually completing the marathon.

I'm so glad I took the advice of others who said "you only get one shot at doing your first marathon, so enjoy it & soak up the atmosphere on the day". If I had one piece of advice for next year's novices, this would be it. Anybody who completes their first marathon should be very proud of the achievement, irrespective of the time. Everybody has different abilities. We're all different ages, shapes & sizes. The bottom line is that 26.2 miles is one hell of an achievement no matter who you are.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27 Rory37

So that's it.......42.195 kilometres completed. What an amazing day, deffo no "walk in the park" but finished 3mins under my target of 4hrs 12mins. Very happy with that :)

To answer the Questions Clearlier asked :

What went well with your training plan?

I followed the Boards Novice Plan and stuck to it like glue (excluding a couple of mid week runs) I found working to a plan was great and gave me no excuses. In addition this thread was a big part of the overall plan. I found last years novices thread a couple of weeks prior to last years marathon and patiently waited for the 2015 thread to start. The inspiration and advice provided right from day one was fantastic.

What would you do differently with your training?

Shouldn't have ran the Park West 10km night run so hard 4 weeks before the big day!
    Should have admitted to myself much sooner the pain in my left ankle wouldn't go away all by itself. Very nearly left the visit to the physio too late, nearly jeopardizing all the hard work. Lesson learned.

What went well about the race?

Went into the race with a very positive attitude. Really believed that all the training and preparation would get me home. With a target time of 4.12 (42x6min km) my plan was to tuck in behind the 4.00hr pacers and slowly let them get away from me by running the 6min km steady. This I hoped would allow me some time for toilet stops etc. as required meaning the 4.10 pacers would just catch up with me somewhere near the home straight. And guess what? It worked perfectly.

The first 30ish km went well. Support along the route was amazing and having my name on my top really helped me. However from Clonskeagh on was really really hard. I had family in a few different parts of the last 10km and they spurred me along. Saw Dubgal at Roebuck and gave her a big cheer and shouted "boards.ie" although she wouldn't have had a clue who I was! But it was good to see her. Every step down Nutley and on towards the finish was pure pain. On Mount St. I decided to take a quick look behind me and spotted the 4.10 pacers closing in on me so gave it one last push and bib number 11137 crossed the line @ 4.09.17 Job done!

Always thought I would shed a tear of joy crossing the finish line but truth is I didn't even have any energy left to cry! I found the last 10km very tough and it was a real challenge to keep the legs going and complete the whole thing without walking.

What would you do differently if you could start the race again?

During the race I don’t think I would do a huge amount differently. However after the race I will never again drink a full bottle of Lucozade Sport 20 seconds after crossing the finish line. How to wreck plans to go for a few well deserved pints in McGrattans afterwards. My stomach was very sick. Second time to make this foolish mistake and I will NOT be making it again.

So what Next ?

# 1 Go out and wear my marathon finishers T-Shirt proudly everywhere I go.

Swore last Monday night I would never run a marathon again however I'm beginning to come around ;)

In the meantime I had already signed up a long time ago for the Lifestyle Night Run Nov.11th and the Clontarf Half Nov.21st. I now know this was the wrong thing to do. However I'm still going to show up for both but take it seriously slow.

After that who knows?

So whats left to say apart from a BIG THANK YOU to Dubgal and all her backroom staff for all the time you committed to us novices and all the advice you provided. You are all brill.

And of course a very special thank you and well done to TFGR. Its been said before but I'll say it again, you truly are an inspiration. Remember us all when your famous :) I for one will go to your first book signing :)

And lastly, thanks to everyone else who posted and kept us up to speed on their progress along this long and sometimes bumpy road and Never forget WE RAN A MARATHON! WE RAN A BLOODY MARATHON :):):)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,413 ✭✭✭Toulouse

Sorry about the delayed DCM 2015 report everyone! Left my laptop charger in my parents’ house and this is going to be a little too long to write up on my phone :o

You have been warned!

Pre-race: Slept very well the night before which surprised me. I’d been full of beans earlier on in the week but as the big day drew closer I was feeling grumpy and a bit tuned out. Still had marathon dreams but nothing that disturbed me. I had my gear all laid out and my bags for afterwards packed so got up at 6am for the now very traditional pre-LSR and pre-race breakfast of porridge, chia seeds and banana. Also had a cup of coffee. Didn’t drink much water, just enough to take my supplements and figured it was okay because I’d hydrated carefully in the days beforehand and I didn’t want to have to pee during. Texted PJD, Whoopsa, Mrs. Mc, TFGR and Singer to make sure everyone was up. Got dressed, played some Techno to try to improve my mood but the taxi arrived 15 mins early. I was ready so hopped in and made it to close to the bag drop shortly before 8am where I met MurphD who was wrestling with his luminous top. Had a quick chat, wished each other well and headed off. Texted PJD to let him know where I was as I was running with him and Lee Cheryl. Stood around for a bit but then decided to queue for the loo. The crowd was crazy so I went back to the bag drop, put on my gel and race belts, bin-liner to keep the rain off and then laughed. The guy adjusting himself in MurphD’s Finisherpix photo from the HM was standing right in front of me :D Handed in my bag and made my way to the loos at the start of the 3rd wave. The queues here were not so bad but still took ages. Then I headed back to the Start balloons in the 3rd wave. Couldn’t see any pacers or anyone I knew from the 4:30 group so finally twigged that the start was after the loos and made my way back again to find PJD and Lee Cheryl with the red balloons! PJD handed me a balloon and it was all I could do to blow it up, what was wrong with me?!? He took the p1ss about my lung capacity :D We were joined by TFGR, Ratracer, Stepster (I think!) and Mrs. Mc. Chatted a bit, got a slagging about being a camel (6 gels and a 330ml bottle with half a nuun tab in it :p) and then took off my bottoms as I knew they’d start to move us up soon. Met Emsy here as well! When were were in position I took off my bin-liner and fleece but left my hat and gloves on. Was feeling a bit ‘meh’ about the whole thing, nowhere near as nervous/excited as I was about the HM.

I’ll just clarify my goals here. The aim was to do sub 4:30. The plan was to go out with the pacers and push on at 20ish miles if I had it in me. I really wanted under 4:30, never have I wanted anything so much and even though that was the D goal, I knew that if I didn’t get it after all the hard work then I was going to be very disappointed. There’s no point in saying otherwise and perhaps that’s why I wasn’t as excited as I had been about previous races.

First 10k 01:03:20 @ 10:12mi/min
    Splits from this section: 10:02, 9:42, 10:04, 9:57, 10:27, 10:22

Then we were off. Bear in mind that 18 weeks ago the furthest I had ever run was 10k in 58.xx and that was in 2013, there hadn’t been a whole lot of running since! We (myself, PJD and Lee Cheryl) settled into place slightly ahead of the 4:30 pacers and it suited great because there was no congestion. I was conscious of not going out too fast so we stayed just ahead. I wasn’t familiar with this part of the course but was thrilled to run past RCSI (my alma mater). Myself and PJD had our names written in large letters on our tops and we got loads of calls. It was absolutely hilarious and very welcome! We thanked and whooped at the supporters. Then down to the river and onwards towards the Park. Lost the hat and gloves here as I warmed up. We were still maintaining our place just ahead of the pacers but we were slightly fast. I guessed that they were banking time for the drags and hills to come and was comfortable but still slightly worried that there was a very long way to go. Took my first gel at 4 miles and to my surprise it was delicious. We were chatting easily, keeping an eye on the balloons and enjoying the atmosphere. PJD had been wittering on about a bathroom break so when he started talking about a Rhino, we thought he was talking about a urinal :D Passed the zoo (loved the Rhino!) and onwards to Chesterfield. Lost PJD to the trees around here and we were well up Chesterfield before he rejoined us. I was starting to get a little concerned as we were starting to pull away from the balloons so we dropped back a little. Out into Castleknock and the support was amazing, I took great enjoyment from the crowd and PJD’s clapper was going like the clappers! Passed the 10K mats here.

10Km – Halfway 01:10:42 @ 10:16mi/min
    Splits from this section: 10:10, 10:06, 10:01, 10:01, 10:38, 10:11, 10:09

Took my second gel as we came back into the Park. Not sure why I did this now as I had planned to take them every 4 miles. Either way, by the time we came to the Furze Road, I was feeling back to my old self and really enjoying it. Lots of animated chatting going on, we also picked Ratracer back up here I think and I saw a familiar face in the crowd which spurred me on. Down into Chapelizod and I was on familiar ground. Saw another familiar face on the hill at St. Laurence Rd. and we got up the hill without too much trouble. I started to feel a crampy type pain in my left calf. Tried to embrace it but secretly worried about feeling it so early in the race. It dissipated after a few miles. Ultraman1 caught up with us in Kilmainham and we introduced ourselves. Got a bit of good-humoured slagging about Le Galaxie, he checked if I was feeling good and we pushed on. I had support waiting at Crumlin and I can’t really remember anything else from this section, must have taken another gel at 12 miles. Support didn’t show at Crumlin (well it did but I didn’t see it) so I just hoped everything was okay and kept running.

Halfway – 30Km 57:42 @ 10:26mi/min
    Splits from this section: 10:28, 10:32, 10:25, 10:18, 10:10

Why does it hurt so much???? I knew it would, I thought I had prepared for it but after passing the halfway mark at Crumlin and having already run this part of the course I knew how long was left to go and it seemed enormous. Still we ploughed on; I had support coming up at the BOI just before the turn for Terenure. My brilliant supporters were there and gave me a pack of wine gums ‘to keep me going’. Was thrilled to see them. We got a great laugh somewhere here, I think, from a girl who emerged from the Portaloo running. The weather wasn’t bothering me too much, gusty in places but I didn’t notice for the most part. Seems to me there’s a lot I didn’t notice in this section of the race other than how long the roads that led to Bushy Park went on for. The pacers danced behind us, I didn’t dare let them pass. I was happy out in front with room to run. PJD dropped back to chat to Mrs Mc but much as I wanted to I couldn’t. Mentally I had to stay in front of those pacers, physically I had to keep moving at this pace. My big toes started to hurt. That was new! Those roads went on forever and then another supporter popped up on Kimmage Rd. West. Wasn’t expecting him so was delighted. Really wanted a cup of tea here. Think UM caught up with me again somewhere here, there was talk of singing a Le Galaxie song, ‘less talk’ I shouted at him. So thanks to UM, the soundtrack to my DCM 2015 is Carmen, it went around my brain for the next however many miles were left! Finally felt like I was coming out of the fog towards the end of this section as my Garmin clocked up the miles. Wasn’t paying attention to pace, just staying in front of those balloons. Must have taken another gel at 16 miles. This was the slowest, and for me, the most boring section of the race. My right knee was also getting very sore. I knew PJD had painkillers so if it got too bad I was going to take one, I wasn’t stopping for anything (sorry DG). Thankfully it went away.

30Km – FINISH!! 01:14:42 @ 9:52mi/min
    Splits from this section: 10:09, 10:01, 10:00, 10:26, 10:38, 9:34, 9:26, 9:08 (3:29 for the final 0.39 of a mile)

Lee Cheryl’s family were waiting just before the bridge in Miltown so we were on high alert for them. I knew there were two more hills to go and finally we were out of the monotony of house-lined roads so things were getting interesting again. I knew that Firedance was supposed to be at 20.5 so were kept an eye out and sure enough there she was! PJD had me briefed to warn him before we got to where Dubgal was at 22 miles. Lee Cheryl saw her family and I think her delight spurred us all on up the hill at Miltown, that and PJDs cries of ‘up that hill’ as we flew up it. One more hill to go. Around here I was sick of the water with the nuun tab so ditched that and took a little bottle of plain water from one of the stations. It tasted so clean! It was very cold however so I took a couple of little sips and dumped the bottle. Took my last gel at 20 miles. I could have taken another at 24 miles but reasoned with myself that by the time it hit my stomach I would be home so no point. We approached ‘Heartbreak Hill’. No sign of Dubgal (I think you had gone at this stage?) There was one guy in front of it telling us that there was a hill up ahead. ‘What hill?’ I joked but clearly my sarcasm was lost on him and he made it his business to point it out to me. Muppet. We flew up it again to PJDs cries of ‘up that hill!’. No more hills! It got pretty congested around here as we were squeezed into one lane and I lost PJD and Lee Cheryl. I could see them behind me but it was just too crowded. Down Fosters Avenue and out onto the Stillorgan dualler. I managed to reconnect with them only to lose them again further on. Just before the UCD flyover UM shouted up to me.’ Still with us Toulouse?’ ’I’m still here Ultraman’ I roared back and then something in me clicked and I started to speed up. I met FBOT at the top of the flyover, roared at him and legged it on. It felt good to be striding out and I felt great. I was running like I was being chased at this stage, I kept an eye out for the balloons behind me, feeling like everytime I turned around they might be right behind me. I did one final check as I rounded the corner at the Merrion Shopping Centre and could no longer see them so made a conscious decision to stop checking, I wasn't going back. Checked my watch only to notice that the battery was about to die, nooooooooooooo, had to htfu now just to get there before my watch died! Was flying past people since UCD, couldn’t believe how many were walking, Zombies everywhere! Firedance gave me a shout out at the RDS and once she saw it was me she went bananas! I thought she may have had the wrong person, as I didn’t think she knew who I was, but then I copped who she was and screamed ‘Firedance’ as I ran past. ‘Novice’ she screamed after me (I think) :)
    After the 25 mile marker I was still racing, but then they started playing Keep on Movin’ by Five. I mean, seriously, play some bloody upbeat music here next year, a nice bit of Techno or something, not songs that make me cry. I started to melt down but then I couldn’t breathe so had to tell myself to cop the f*ck on and keep going. Concentrating really hard on my breathing at this stage as the familiar end of race pins and needles in my face and body are present. Over the bridge at the Old Schoolhouse, where I had been left waiting a few weeks back, not today I told myself, not waiting for anyone today! Ran straight on in, saw the finish line and grabbed the guy who was walking beside me. ‘Ruuuun’ I shouted, ‘it’s just up there!!’ and he took off. I laughed and crossed the line smiling and then very quickly pressed save on my watch, phew!

Garmin result : 26.4 miles @ 10:06min/mi avg. in 04:26:33
    Official result: 26:2 miles @ 10:10min/mi avg. in 04:26:26

According to the stats I passed 1337 people in the last 12km. I know that I didn’t pass them all physically as some would have started in the wrong waves and would have finished before me with longer times but that number is significant to a former online gamer like me and some other nerds may recognise it too. I certainly felt ‘1337’ for the last 3 miles.

Met a guy from work who was stewarding and got a hug. Didn’t get an XS t-shirt as they were all gone by the time I got in so was a bit disappointed with that as the small is too big on me but at least I got one. Met back up with PJD and Lee Cheryl but managed to lose them yet again so went to get my bag where I met Mrs. Mc. Must have looked miserable as I got two hugs! Think I was just a little shell-shocked but thanks Mrs. Mc, you never fail to amaze me, you have the most fantastic attitude at all times.

The walk to collect my bag went on forever and at that stage I just needed to get into a shower. Headed to Flye Fit where I met Singer coming out. Managed to blag a free shower thanks to the very nice boy on the door and sat down in the blissfully empty massive changing room to eat my banana, drink my MooJu and ring my Mum. Got, showered, changed and headed to meet the gang in McGrattans.

What I did right:
    I followed the training plan to the letter. Made every session. Went out with the pacers as planned and kept enough in the tank for a negative split second half. Tried to enjoy it all as much as I could and for the most part I did. Thanked and whooped nearly every supporter who called my name. Didn’t walk, not once, and to be honest I really didn’t want to. Following this thread was also another thing I did right. Having seen another couple of friends train for DCM 2015 with different groups I have no doubt that I was given the best advice, even if it wasn’t always what I wanted to hear!

What I would do differently:
    I don’t know if there is anything. I had to do it once to know what I am capable of. The Hal Higdon plan bored me to tears and I didn’t feel challenged by it nor did I think there were enough long runs on it toward the end but it got me to the start and finish line and for a runner with very little base training I think this was probably the best plan for me. Next time I’ll just finish faster to get my t-shirt!!

What’s next:
    Have signed up for the Jingle Bells 5k and plan to tip over to Raheny to the park-run there so I can bring my time way down. I’ll keep running, I loved every second of the preparation so I think I have the bug. Plan to do the beer mile in July too and I will definitely do some more halfs and possibly another marathon next year.

Big thanks so all the supporters, pacers and organisers, it was an amazing day, one I’ll never forget. Thanks as always to Dubgal, her helpers and all of you who popped up in several places on the course. Finally to my fellow ex-novices. I couldn’t have hoped to do this with a nicer bunch, you will always hold a special place in my heart.

Tolouse, I'm sitting here with the BIGGEST grin on my face. I love your 30km-finish report. Absolutely brilliant!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 107 ✭✭Peter D61

Cleariers Questions

I used the Carrie 22 week plan, schedule 1 for beginners. I only started running at the start of this plan, 25th may. I stuck to it with 2 exceptions, I did the bay 10k (my local race) and the athlone 3/4 instead of an 18/20m lsr. The plan successfully built my runs up gradually without and huge steps in distance and built my confidence.

Ideally I should have started earlier and built up more core strength, and lost a few more kilos. I did the athlone 3/4 to give myself more race day experience, this was probably a mistake as it was too close to the big one.

The first half went really well, second half I struggled with pain in my hip, but I finished despite it. I felt I got my hydration and nutrition right. Overall I don't think it could have gone much better in the circumstances.

A guy offered me a pain killer at bushey park, which I refused. I would stick a pain killer in my belt.

Reading about PJD shouting get up that hill made me remember three women on Dublin bikes at the bottom of the mile 10 hill singing "It's just a hill get over it, it's just a hill get over it" I could hear them before I got to the hill. As I was half way up it, one of them sang "it's just a hill" and then stopped as she was cycling up and went "f*ck, that is a hill".

And Toulouse - don't you tell me you're really interested in the beer mile for "running" ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,413 ✭✭✭Toulouse

And Toulouse - don't you tell me you're really interested in the beer mile for "running" ;)

You're right, damn it, caught out!

It's really the puking! :p

Toulouse, reading your report has me breathless! Very exciting race you had! Love it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27 Rory37

Just thought of another sign I saw that made me smile.......

CHUCK NORRIS NEVER RAN A MARATHON

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 280 ✭✭aoboa

The girls in Clonskeagh with:
    'Smile if you have pee'd a little'.

Not many signs out by the time I passed through but I do remember a colourful:

You run better than the government!

Loved that!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,466 ✭✭✭fletch

Motivational Sign made me smile

ZV Yoda wrote: »
    I'm so glad I took the advice of others who said "you only get one shot at doing your first marathon, so enjoy it & soak up the atmosphere on the day". If I had one piece of advice for next year's novices, this would be it. Anybody who completes their first marathon should be very proud of the achievement, irrespective of the time.

Yes I think Pink and I had a chat after the half marathon about how you only ever have one first marathon, and taking memories was what it was all about

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,936 ✭✭✭annapr

Tolouse, I'm sitting here with the BIGGEST grin on my face. I love your 30km-finish report. Absolutely brilliant!

+1 I'm chuckling too at Toulouse spotting the guy who 'adusted himself' on camera... if only he knew :pac: :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,119 ✭✭✭Mrs Mc

Toulouse loved reading your report you did actually look like you were going to cry at the baggage area hence the 2nd hug !!! It's the mammy in me and I was just so chuffed you did so well. An seriously impressed with those splits in your last few miles serious kudos to you don't know how you did it. Another great race to sign up to is the raheny 5 mile in jan great day out and great goodie bags ! Always marks the start of the running season for me. Well done again :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,119 ✭✭✭Mrs Mc

annapr wrote: »
    +1 I'm chuckling too at Toulouse spotting the guy who 'adusted himself' on camera... if only he knew :pac: :pac:

Yes he is famous !!! We will always know him as that now :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,199 ✭✭✭denis b

Have really enjoyed the race reports, to the point that I am only getting my own homework done now. I joined this thread to complete a long held ambition (a 34 year one) to run a complete marathon in under 4 hrs. Life and other interests interrupted things and I got around to running again in my early fifties. Last year I tried my luck in Belfast but had to walk/run from the 18 mile mark.This year I tried the Belfast Marathon again but over trained and failed to finish. Lessons learnt - I looked for help and guidance and was directed to this thread. I hit gold.

The training plan went very well and I got all my long runs in - one or two were really tiring and but I had put all my trust in the plan. Aimed for 3:55 which was HMx2 plus 20 mins with another 5 mins to spare. The two days prior to the marathon were Lemslip fueled to keep a chill at bay.

Race Day: Felt great and lined up behind the 4hr pacer group clad in my black bin liner with pre-cut holes for arms and head. Was very excited and a little anxious that cramps I had experience the last 2 days in my calves would flare. resolved to run within myself over the first few hills to the park.

Start To Castleknock:
    Nice and steady and remained patient waiting for things to thin out a little as the race went on. Felt pretty warm entering the PP and checked around to see if it was just me!!! Averaged about 5.36/km over this 5 km section which was bang on and could see the 4hr group. Decided to move up and matched them just as we hit Chesterfield. Bowled over by the support and particularly the Drogheda and District Running Club with their own Fan Zone. Great effort.

Pushed on now feeling good and enjoying the bit of extra space for more relaxed running ahead of the paced group. I knew that I would have to pace my own race today but looked around to take in other similarly paced runners.

I had picked up the pace through the park and averaged 5.28 to Myos from the zoo. Masssive support here was very welcome and helped relax me trying to pick out the odd face. An older US runner ahead of me was high fiving and taking pics of the crowds saying it was a great way to see Dublin.

Castleknock to Walkinstown
    Had figured that this section would be a game of two halves, but not quite as I expected. The legs were behaving and I pushed on downhill as naturally as I could clocking up some time ( about 1 min 15 secs) until I hit Chapelizod and eased back to MP. Time to relax before the hills. Got to Dolphins Barn another 20 secs ahead of schedule and hit the Half Way Mark in 1:56:21. Very pleased but knew that the next section of the course would be into the wind. Ran at MP to the Roundabout and could now feel that my legs were working.

Walkinstown to Milltown
    I had run the the course from the Park through to the finish a few times so I knew what was ahead. I tired quite quickly on the Cromwellsfort Road and grabbed a caffeine Gel. I saw Paul to one side and joined up with him. I could see that he was having a hard day and we talked about just grinding the next few kms out. I pulled away at the next water station, revived by the gel, I think, and managed to keep just under MP through all this section. It was great to look down along Bushy Park and feel as though we were getting a break with the downhill, crowds and shelter from the wind. TDL has me down for a +500 place improvement on this section and it became painfully obvious that we were now in the struggle zone. This was the ultimate test of training at a slower pace. The glutes and hammers were tightening but I felt well enough and couldnt believe how fast time was slipping by in the race.

Hitting the downhill section through Orwell and into Milltown was a relief but I was anxious about saving some of the gained time and using it on the hills ahead. I hit the Milltown Hill and threw in my precounted 50 double strides. Damn, I was short of the crest but kept going with a shortened stride. What a relief to be over that.

Milltown to Heartbreak Hill
    This isn't going to sound right but I was delighted to be finally at the bottom of these hills. It was now time to do battle. If I kept going then I would win. If not, well. Had another caffeine gel and some water as I didnt want any interruptions on this section.

I checked my pace for the 3 km of hill ahead and hit the first km in 5:42. Spot on but I was working hard. Next km 5:42 again. Spotted Shane Ross roaring us on and then Ray Darcy and the Gooch. Jaysus ....they are all out for us. I'm a decent ould supporter of anybody who is doing anything but today was payback in buckets. I knew where I was and looked out for DG on the left. A STAR and all I could do in return was meekly raise my left arm and just about smile. DG roared and cheered and I felt some life slip back into the system. I still hadnt walked a step and The Hill wasnt going to stop me. Yes....up and over and last km done in 5.37mins.

My legs ached to high heaven. If I stopped then that would be it.

To The Finish
    Down Fosters Ave was agony. As soon as I topped out on The Hill my shins cramped out going downhill as the pressure balance shifted from back to front of legs. I looked around and noticed a lady lifting her knees up and throwing her heels....but not at the same time!!!. I tried it and it brought relief as we headed on downhill. 5.31/km down to Stillorgan Road but I had to really concentrate now. DON'T STOP FOR A REST. Over and over again.

I just tried to visualise the next section to RTE and run that. KM number 38 in 5.38km. Down Nutley in 5.27km and stayed in the middle of the road as I thought the camber to to the Kerb resembled a ditch at this stage. Pick a runner and keep going. Along Merrion Road slowing slightly and regained composure in front of increasing crowds at RDS. Back straightened up and stabilised the hips. This way I wouldnt just be looking down at the heels of the runner in front. Pace picked up with the crowd momentum and I went sub MP for the last 2 km.

Over the canal and there was our Arch. I scanned the LHS of Mount Street and saw my wife hugging the barriers. She roared out and the crowd around did the same. Great encouragement.

The green carpet was a great touch. I just could not believe what I did when I finished. I was ecstatic and babbled to all and sundry. It was reciprocated. Medal and Race Shirt straight on. Very proud of myself. I never gave up on the dream and now writing this, tears for the very first time. Yes, it was that important for me and its sinking in.

To one and all, DG, Mentors, Novices, Boardsies and everybody who helped and cheered....Thank You.

Will post again on the questions posed but this has been a great week in my life.

Oh... and the time was 3.54.10

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,016 ✭✭✭jake1970

I followed a 12 week P&D plan off the back of a 10 week 10k plan which i think worked very well for me. I would do the same again for another marathon training cycle. 12 weeks marathon training is just long enough for me and a 5 or 10k training cycle before adds speed work which is carried forward into the marathon training.

Not much, but going forward i think i will add core workouts to my training.

My fueling strategy, sticking with the pacers(less looking at my watch) and being able to dig deep when the going got tough.

Not a lot really, everything went to plan on the day and i hit my target.

The above questions were answered by someone who had a perfect day on Monday, im sure that someone with an expert eye could point out the mistakes in my training and my race but hopefully with more experience i will be able to spot them myself and become a better runner.
    maybe a log here might help:)

So what Next ?

First up is to recover well and to continue running of course:)
    As regards racing i might do the Jingle Bells 5k but the next goal race will probably be the Donadea 50k in February

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 916 ✭✭✭JMSE

Great achievement Denis, well done for toughing it out over the last 4