Farming Chit Chat sticks it to six.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 11,832 ✭✭✭✭Base price

Ah bullocks! I have foo fighters in the van and when I'm feeling sleepy on long journeys with work pull in for large tay and put on cd as loud as tolerable and rock all the way home!!

Jaysus, Bullocks, we need to get you some music to listen to..

Edit: Will suit Kovu too
    Bullocks wrote: »
    We won't be car pooling CC !
    Ye are all showing your age. Keep up with the times :D
    My favourite CD (volume turned up) on a long journey accompanied by a double espresso -

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,292 ✭✭✭✭Nekarsulm

https://youtu.be/BnULGVbhPcY

Bloody hell guys, I seem to be regressing! Came across Wanda Jackson singing with Jack White and thought it great!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,747 ✭✭✭CloughCasey1

Bullocks wrote: »
    We won't be car pooling CC !

Ara we'd be grand. Could alternate hour of foo fighters and hour of Declan Nerney or celine dion ot whatever you into! !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,893 ✭✭✭Bullocks

Ara we'd be grand. Could alternate hour of foo fighters and hour of Declan Nerney or celine dion ot whatever you into! !

Things are improving, someone else thought I was a Mick Denver fan yesterday !
    Johnny Cash, Bob Dylan and CCR would be the kinda music I like , stuff that's probably a bit old for me but not diddly idly stuff either

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 31,436 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

spent ages last night trying to remember the name of the father of sharons baby in the snapper, anyone know?

Mr Burgess?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 31,436 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

Nekarsulm wrote: »
    Mr Burgess?
    yup, its on tonight 1993 it first came out:eek:

"Was an Irish Sailor not good enough for you" ? :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,162 ✭✭✭jimmy G M

whelan2 wrote: »
    yup, its on tonight 1993 it first came out:eek:

Georgie Burgess!!

Some great lines in that film -

"Get outa the way ya dozy bollix"

"Small for a turkey, big baby though!"

have to be said in a heavy dub accent tho

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,301 ✭✭✭A cow called Daisy

20151024_222919.jpg

Am told this is Bullocks place...well, maybe the out farm:D

20151024_222919.jpg

Am told this is Bullocks place...well, maybe the out farm:D

Nah there's the same amount of acres as the sign alright but I have no blue skies at all !

Well fed up of power washing today. Thank God its done. Before and after!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 740 ✭✭✭IH784man

Well fed up of power washing today. Thank God its done. Before and after!

Ye just built a new shed didnt ye :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,171 ✭✭✭✭Muckit

How do you manage that second shed? Scrape the passage and bed the back?
    Does the straw not get pulled into the passage?

Muckit wrote: »
    How do you manage that second shed? Scrape the passage and bed the back?
    Does the straw not get pulled into the passage?

Tis the same shed. Have 6x3's on edge between girders. Only bed the back half of the bedding area and they spread it forward. F all straw came into the passage that is 4" lower than bedded area and feeding slab in front of barriers. Didn't need to empty out the back area at all last winter. Visited a good few straw sheds without the passage and all I found was a 2foot pile of mess behind the cattle. I scrape the passage once a week into a lowered dung sted at the end and pile it up at end of sted until spreading date opens again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,171 ✭✭✭✭Muckit

Very good. When you open the gates along passage they don't seem like they are long enough to hold the cattle back. How does that work?

Muckit wrote: »
    Very good. When you open the gates along passage they don't seem like they are long enough to hold the cattle back. How does that work?

Have two light 10ft gates that does the job. 30 minute job once a wk. Cattle really thrive on the straw.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 5,495 ✭✭✭bogman_bass

That's it! I'm not using any more limo straws. I'm sick of wrestling with month old calves that still havent put up horns :mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,241 ✭✭✭✭Kovu

That's it! I'm not using any more limo straws. I'm sick of wrestling with month old calves that still havent put up horns :mad:

It's annoying alright, we normally skull the few that we miss, have one this year that's only got 'snail horns' yet and she's a May calf.
    I hate the act of skulling but it leaves a lovely neat head on them as two year olds, plus they learn to not puck others while they're healing ;)

Kovu wrote: »
    It's annoying alright, we normally skull the few that we miss, have one this year that's only got 'snail horns' yet and she's a May calf.
    I hate the act of skulling but it leaves a lovely neat head on them as two year olds, plus they learn to not puck others while they're healing ;)

Bought a few weanlings that will need skulling. Does it knock them back much?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,241 ✭✭✭✭Kovu

Hahahaha LC, no I won't :P

It knocks them back a bit but that's to be expected, we wouldn't be too worried as no bulls kept here past 10 months bar PB's so never keep too close an eye on the weight of replacements that need to be skulled.

The important part is to get a vet that's confident at it and goes clean and close to the head. Plus lots of spray and ideally not in fly weather as you've a risk of maggots.

And pull out the veins.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,534 ✭✭✭Suckler

. I scrape the passage once a week into a lowered dung sted at the end and pile it up at end of sted until spreading date opens again.

Is your dungsted covered? Was told to get a roof over our's during an inspection.

Suckler wrote: »
    Is your dungsted covered? Was told to get a roof over our's during an inspection.

Nope!! It will remain like that until I'm told otherwise. Was it bord bia inspection or other?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,534 ✭✭✭Suckler

Nope!! It will remain like that until I'm told otherwise. Was it bord bia inspection or other?

Organic inspection. Not a compliance issue for them but they had mentioned that we'd need to get it covered to stop rain creating run off in to water courses.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 19,424 ✭✭✭✭_Brian

whelan2 wrote: »
    where are you heading? took eldest lad 1 hour 45 minutes to get to the zoo earlier, traffic in dublin was crazy, would normally get there in an hour max

Passed through your country Whelan, Ardee up the M1 to Newry and we were staying out in Annalong..

Nice bit of weather over the weekend and the Mournes is a stunning area..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,754 ✭✭✭✭patsy_mccabe

Ya, a real problem alright. Heifers are the slowest to grow. Did a mad one a few weeks ago. I had a rope around her neck to try and get her into the crate and she jumped up so high she was almost vertical. Lets just say I didn't fancy catching her again in a few weeks so I did her there and then. We ain't getting younger either.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,986 Mod ✭✭✭✭blue5000

One of the best decisions I ever made:p

If the seat's wet, sit on yer hat, a cool head is better than a wet ar5e.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,457 ✭✭✭Kevhog1988

Been up the wall the past few weeks. Hopefully home on thursday night :)

Home for good ? Have you work lined up ?