Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Help Keep Boards Alive. Support us by going ad free today. See here: https://subscriptions.boards.ie/

All Stations To Bray on the DART?

124»

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,917 ✭✭✭GM228

lxflyer wrote: »
    Well you clearly did get in contact with IE to check if you're saying IE said none bypassed Shankill - that's what I am saying is a tad disturbing. How else would you know?

There's a limit to what I would consider normal behaviour.

Due to the suggestions by others that drivers deliberately bypass stations (which I'm sure you'll agree is a serious allegation and one which personally I really doubt happens) I asked IE to look at this thread and put it to bed and also asked about that service, I fail to see why anyone would have an issue with that-is it such a bad thing to hear their side of the story?

During discussions like this I personally think it is a benefit to have an input from IE or an employee of IE which Boards lacks. Same goes for DB, BE or any organisation.

Many organisations have reps on Boards such as Eircom (or rather Eir as they are now) and I think it's great to hear their side. It's not taking sides or saying one person is right or wrong, but rather it's another insight and makes the discussion all that more interesting.

GM228

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 18,940 ✭✭✭✭LXFlyer

GM228 wrote: »
    Due to the suggestions by others that drivers deliberately bypass stations (which I'm sure you'll agree is a serious allegation and one which personally I really doubt happens) I asked IE to look at this thread and put it to bed and also asked about that service, I fail to see why anyone would have an issue with that-is it such a bad thing to hear their side of the story?

During discussions like this I personally think it is a benefit to have an input from IE or an employee of IE which Boards lacks. Same goes for DB, BE or any organisation.

Many organisations have reps on Boards such as Eircom (or rather Eir as they are now) and I think it's great to hear their side.

But perhaps that's just me.

GM228

I just think it's taking things a bit far to be frank.

There are better ways of spending your time.

If the companies were bothered they would have an official account.

Simply asking the OP the time of the train was sufficient to explain it - the timetable makes it pretty obvious.

I just think it's taking things a bit far to be frank.

There are better ways of spending your time.

I appreciate your view on it, but it took all of about 20 seconds to ask them so didn't take up any time. But their reply adds interest to the discussion, don't you agree?

And again I'll clarify it's nothing to do with winning any arguement as I actually have no arguement with if it happened or not, based on any of my postings in this thread I'm sure you can see that.

GM228

Another thing I'd say is peolle all too often make complaints or see things that need to be brought to the attention of the relevant organisation that sometimes never gets past Boards.

GM228

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 18,940 ✭✭✭✭LXFlyer

Another thing I'd say is peolle all too often make complaints or see things that need to be brought to the attention of the relevant organisation that sometimes never gets past Boards.

GM228

I would certainly agree with that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 611 ✭✭✭MGWR

As posted above this only happens if services are operating with significant delays and in order to get the schedule back on time the controllers will make a decision mid-journey to alter the service pattern. Otherwise the trains would not be on schedule for the rest of the day.

The same happens when there is disruption to Dublin Bus - sometimes that is the only way that they can get the service back on track.
    It is an old, bad habit that ought to have been excised decades ago. Modernisation could have fixed that to a degree, but there is an entrenched bad culture in evidence.

Although, the concept of request stops (aka "flag stops" or "whistle stops") is not an outdated one IMO especially for slower-average-speed local trains; but I suspect that IE would not be bothered to spend to install flagging mechanisms, given their reluctance to spend on other infrastructure needs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,011 ✭✭✭carrolls

I appreciate your view on it, but it took all of about 20 seconds to ask them so didn't take up any time. But their reply adds interest to the discussion, don't you agree?

And again I'll clarify it's nothing to do with winning any arguement as I actually have no arguement with if it happened or not, based on any of my postings in this thread I'm sure you can see that.

GM228

Really? :rolleyes:

GM228 what you have done in the whole thread is called hyperbole.
    Deflecting an issue based on trying to make the OP look bad.

carrolls wrote: »

What have I exaggerated or deflected exactly in the whole thread?

Much of the argument in this thread has actually been between ourselves and comments/accusations you have made, not the OP.

GM228

• Closed Accounts Posts: 730 ✭✭✭Wild Garlic

OP has done a good job of that all by himself

Which part of the event that he described do you still have an issue with?

Why would he even post it if it didn't happen?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 730 ✭✭✭Wild Garlic

Which part of the event that he described do you still have an issue with?

Why would he even post it if it didn't happen?

All of it.
    I don't know.

All of it.
    I don't know.

1509-3-the-moron-test-2.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,273 ✭✭✭✭Losty Dublin

In the early 90's when driver shortages were at their worst, a Limerick based driver was rostered to work a train from Heuston to Limerick. As he was pulling out of Thurles the in cab phone rang, angrily enquiring why he hadn't stopped at any stations en route.

Only then did it dawn on him that he wasn't hauling a train of Guinness kegs out of Heuston as he had usually done for the last 20 years :D

What have I exaggerated or deflected exactly in the whole thread?

Much of the argument in this thread has actually been between ourselves and comments/accusations you have made, not the OP.

GM228

You didn't answer that yet?

Show me where I exaggerated something or deflected from the issue? There is uncertainty in this thread and when anyone starts by suggeating that it happens more often than not or 1 in 5 DARTs skip stations which IS BS then it's hard to believe anything else they say.

However not once did I say it didn't happen or did I exaggerated anything or try to make the OP look bad, I actually encouraged the OP to report it.

If anyone is hyberboling I'd suggest it is yourself, mis-quoting charters and making accusations such as:-
    Call people liars if you want. When Biffo says there was no announcement, I believe him.
    Regardless of whether it was announced or not, skipping stations is disallowed in the passengers charter,unless engineering works are being carried out at the bypassed station. And even then it has to be pre-announced.

Delays outside our control
    We cannot accept claims for delays that are outside our control. These include those caused by:
    pre-advertised timetable alterations due to engineering works;
    •security alerts;
    •industrial action taken without notice;
    •extreme weather conditions;
    •vandalism; or
    •other activities carried out by people who do not work for us.

or
    So basically they are breaking the law by bypassing dart stations ad hoc.
    Good to know.
    It is so obvious that this is wrong. The driver acting as God denying people access to their designated station.

or
    Good point.
    No point in making any valid arguments here. The IE insiders have the place sown up. its like an ITGWU convention here.:)
    What's going on here is the drivers need an extra 5 or 6 minutes for a sandwich, coffee and a fag in Bray before the next journey.

I'm still trying to figure out if the above comment is an argument from the 1st class debating team on "why trains didn't stop", or an extract from a critics review of the next episode of Thomas The Tank Engine! Joking aside that's a very silly exaggerated comment to make, if someone really believed that I can't understand why they would even want to or trust travelling by rail!

You have exaggerated what drivers do and suggeated IE insiders have the place sewn up-if that ain't an exaggeration I really don't know what is?

You have misquoted the charter and twice have suggested an issue between myself and the OP when in both circumstances I havn't done either.

You accused me of calling the OP a liar regarding the discussion of the PA, which I didn't, the whole issue arose when I stated I doubted the PA was always off in these circumstances and my post wasn't even in reply to the OPs post:-
    So can I ask how many times your DART has bypassed stations as you imply it happens often, and I doubt very much the PA is always broken or a driver won't announce it!

I have never been on a bus, train or tram where when stops/routes change that an announcement hasn't been made or at least attempted, sometimes yes the PA is muddled but at least an attempt is made.

GM228

How is that suggesting the OP is a liar, you still have not answered that properly!

Nobody can say for 100% certainty that a PA is off or an announcement isn't made (unless a driver actually admits that when confronted) because it is possible the announcement was actually made and that either the PA was broke OR it wasn't heard. I've seen it too often that a person is adament that an announcement isn't made when infact it was.

A few years ago I was 100% certain that an announcement wasn't made about something (not transport related), but my girlfriend and a few others confirmed it was-I was certain it wasn't but it obviously was, it's normal we don't pick up on announcements for any number of reasons.

And if a PA is broke or off that isn't the case always in these situations. I'm a regular DART user and often hear drivers make PA announcements when things go wrong-the auto PA system is another story but that is irrelevant in this arguement when it comes do service disruption as manual PA announcements are then required.

In my professional life I deal solely on fact, legalities, application of law and evidence and sometimes I do that outside of my professional life through force of habbit and have applied that here, that's why I asked IE about it, some may agree with that, some may not, speaking of time it took, I asked the question in a quicker time than it would take to log in here and post a thead here, and also a lot quicker than it takes to look up and copy and paste charters or EU regulations, personally I give myself a pat on the back for trying to get another perspective or some closure on the entire discussion, people who live in the Walter Mitty fairytale railway where drivers act like gods and skip stations on their own back to have a cup of tea, sandwich or fag need to hear the "other side" of the story and cop on to the realities!

What IE state and the fact that it's obvious to all (well most) that it's not a common occurrence unlike what the OP states, does raise questions, you can't deny that.

Tell me this, why would IE say it did stop if it didn't when they have never hidden the fact in the past and have always said so if they have, have apologised and explained why. Anytime this has happened the IE Twitter account goes crazy from passengers giving out about it-but not one single complaint that morning! Perhaps IE and all the passengers that morning were in cahoots with the driver and were all in a hurry for tea and fags!

Now don't get me wrong I have not and will not say it didn't happen, it's just the facts don't add up and if there is something going on with drivers then it needs to be addressed and reported which is what I encourage the OP to do!

And finally on the note that these things shouldn't happen, indeed they shouldn't, but they do, you don't need to agree with it but you have to accept it. It happens in all modes of transport (air, sea, road and rail) and it won't change no matter how much we want it to as sometimes it's a necessity! They are allowed to do it unlike what some believe and can amend or change timetables without prior notice.

I'm a rail user and have been inconvenienced in the past, I have been unhappy with it, and complained but I accept it, what choice have I got? Go by DB in future? If you think IE customer service is bad try DB!

GM228

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,695 ✭✭✭10000maniacs

Jeez GM2008, you certainly have put in a lot of effort into this thread.:)
    But your arguments trying to defend drivers bypassing stations without any warning is nothing short of bizarre.

Jeez GM2008, you certainly have put in a lot of effort into this thread.:)
    But your arguments trying to defend drivers bypassing stations without any warning is nothing short of bizarre.

What part of my argument is bizarre?

I just find it very hard to believe that a PA dosn't always be working in these situations when I have personally been on DARTs and experienced manual PA announcements on several occasions and I very much doubt a driver would just simply not tell people what is going on, do you honestly think they would?

Also note I'm not defending drivers as they don't make those decisions or have the power to do so, the rare times these things happen is decided by people above them, bar my opinion of doubt about the PA and drivers using it everything else I've stated is factual!

GM228

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,051 ✭✭✭crushproof

To be fair I was on the DART at the weekend into town and the driver was announcing the closure of the DART north of Pearse. Hadn't a clue what he saying, completely muffled. I'm sure many people know the kind of crap PA sound I'm talking about.
    Luckily these works were advertised everywhere so everyone knew. But otherwise I wouldn't have had a clue what he was saying.
    And yes, it may have been a faulty carriage but it's not the first time I've had a dodgy PA system on a DART (and yes also on a bus or airplane or whatever).

Of course it is difficult to solve this issue while in transit, and I'm sure many miss the announcement due to having earphones in or daydreaming. The lack of clarity surrounding the OPs claims is also odd, what time did this occur etc? OP - try living in the north of England for while. You'll get stuck on the flippin' train for a hour while it speeds past your station.... or it will go a complete other direction with no apology from the operator. Horrendous services over there.