Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Dairy Chit Chat- Please read Mod note in post #1

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,506 ✭✭✭Dawggone

Milked out wrote: »
    Anyone winter calving down south? Afraid Schmallenberg might be around, have 2 calves that cant straighten their front legs and another that seems to have a problem with hips as well. Vet will take bloods to check. Are there deficiencies that can cause similar symptoms?. Cows are going full term more or less

Do/did you have any fertility problems?
    Schmallenberg will hit fert before you see any deformities.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,433 ✭✭✭Milked out

Had issues mid to late In season when few were holding but a lot of variables could have effected that. Fert is an ongoing battle here would generally be above 10% empty after a reatively long season, too many times keeping the carry over cows a big part of it id say. Early in season was ok tho. these cows would have been 3 to 4 months in calf by start of spring breeding.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,831 ✭✭✭visatorro

stanflt wrote: »
    Not at all- did you scan yet?

yeah the two boys are sitting in a pen now, they are worn out with all the work they've done!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,282 ✭✭✭Deepsouthwest

Only going out milking now, 13/wk milking starting here today!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,797 ✭✭✭stanflt

Only going out milking now, 13/wk milking starting here today!

What kind of yield are you at now- and how much yield to you think it's safe to do it at?

Have just dipped under 14l, 4.2p&4.5f(can never get the really high fat here) on 2kgs,with 275kgs fed to date, 3.3SR, should sell around 415/kgsms/cow this yr.
    Wouldn't like to do it on cows still doing over 14l, but this is probably influenced more by lifestyle than figures(3 small kids and a wife starting to say she never sees me!)
    It was a lot easier to do 13/wk when we had quota constraints!

Have just dipped under 14l, 4.2p&4.5f(can never get the really high fat here) on 2kgs,with 275kgs fed to date, 3.3SR, should sell around 415/kgsms/cow this yr.
    Wouldn't like to do it on cows still doing over 14l, but this is probably influenced more by lifestyle than figures(3 small kids and a wife starting to say she never sees me!)

You shouldn't see a drop in yield by going 13 mil kings- is there any scc trouble associated with it??
    I think it's a brilliant labour saving device and allows for lifestyle

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,493 ✭✭✭Greengrass1

Jesus I wish I could do 13 times a wk this morning. Got to bed at 4 and up at 7

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,433 ✭✭✭Milked out

14 calved here in last 2 and a half days, 2 sets of m/f twins. Couldn't be arsed keeping herds seperate at tge minute so put em together. 2 much time turning cows in and out and then sorting calves

You shouldn't see a drop in yield by going 13 mil kings- is there any scc trouble associated with it??
    I think it's a brilliant labour saving device and allows for lifestyle

Will def see a drop in yield, if I didn't every man and his dog would be doing it. However p&f should rise, so drop in kgs/ms should be very small, I expect, and hope!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,705 ✭✭✭✭mahoney_j

Will def see a drop in yield, if I didn't every man and his dog would be doing it. However p&f should rise, so drop in kgs/ms should be very small, I expect, and hope!

Don't think you'll see much dsw ,cows will be back to normal by Wednesday am.could you of not got a relief Milker in for Sunday evenings from now till dry off??.scc and low l/p us all I'd be worried about

mahoney_j wrote: »
    Don't think you'll see much dsw ,cows will be back to normal by Wednesday am.could you of not got a relief Milker in for Sunday evenings from now till dry off??.scc and low l/p us all I'd be worried about

How are scc running for ye lads at the moment
    - I always find when cows drop below 25litres avg that scc goes down

Scc below 100 for the first time this year

19.7 ltrs 4.18 p 4.46 fat SCC 66 lactose 4.88 3.2 kg 18% nut .scc averaging somewhere around 80 for year

Not overly concerned about scc, 115 at the mo, and has been around there for a while now. Asked my usual relief milker and he was that interested in doing Sunday evenings, could've tried another lad, but felt what I'd pay for a milker would more or less equal what I'll lose in production.

Normally find that scc rises here as yields fall, normally struggle to get the bonus in November and December, but then I've been OAD for the last few Utd in nov and dec.
    Wouldn't know much about cows over 25 litres, my cows normally peak around that!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,396 ✭✭✭✭Timmaay

Have a 1st lactation cow who calved last Autumn, I was well sure she was getting pushed around to the spring, anyways she'd largely dried herself off last week, I didn't think much of it, milking over a year. Threw a set of sealers on her and let her off with the other 2 dries. Anyways fooker calved down this evening ha! Turns out the AI man wrote down the wrong number on the card, one digit out. She doesn't have much a bag at all yet, hopefully she'll come around, what would the rest of ya do with the likes of her now?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,752 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

what are culls making straight from parlour, have a lad interested in a few.

whelan2 wrote: »
    what are culls making straight from parlour, have a lad interested in a few.

Know a lad that bought 12 2/3/4 lactation cows all empty to milk through winter for 800 each .will milk and feed well for winter and finish on grass next May.dont know wether he's mad or a genius

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,124 ✭✭✭jaymla627

Know a lad that bought 12 2/3/4 lactation cows all empty to milk through winter for 800 each .will milk and feed well for winter and finish on grass next May.dont know wether he's mad or a genius

Will definetly leave a few euros anyways, but he mustn't value his heard health to high, if I was given cull cows for free to milk on I wouldn't even consider it when you think about what diseases they might be bringing in with them

jaymla627 wrote: »
    Will definetly leave a few euros anyways, but he mustn't value his heard health to high, if I was given cull cows for free to milk on I wouldn't even consider it when you think about what diseases they might be bringing in with them

That'd be my big concern too,also will only be getting base plus solids and no winter/liquid contract ..they were all from the one herd

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,124 ✭✭✭jaymla627

That'd be my big concern too,also will only be getting base plus solids and no winter/liquid contract ..they were all from the one herd

if you had a good vaccination plan in place you might be the finest, the biggest worry would be mortelaro if your herd is free of that and you bring it in with cull cows like in his situation it will lead to some serious losses

That sounds like big money, they must be super cows. I would normally never recycle, but recycled 8 this yr(maidens and first calvers that lost foetus' due to salmonella last yr). They're absolute tanks now, have them grazing the side of a hill now that I need to graze for my SFP. Only have 4 young cows to recycle this yr, so I'm considering buying 6 or 8 v light empty jex's. Would milk them to Christmas, put in calf on may 1st, and reckon the hill should rear them til housing again nxt yr. Mad or what?

Obviously has a decent winter bonus, and not going to go over it with the extra cows either?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,752 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

Timmaay wrote: »
    Have a 1st lactation cow who calved last Autumn, I was well sure she was getting pushed around to the spring, anyways she'd largely dried herself off last week, I didn't think much of it, milking over a year. Threw a set of sealers on her and let her off with the other 2 dries. Anyways fooker calved down this evening ha! Turns out the AI man wrote down the wrong number on the card, one digit out. She doesn't have much a bag at all yet, hopefully she'll come around, what would the rest of ya do with the likes of her now?
    I always check the ai card after ai man leaves. Do you think she will come to her milk?

That sounds like big money, they must be super cows. I would normally never recycle, but recycled 8 this yr(maidens and first calvers that lost foetus' due to salmonella last yr). They're absolute tanks now, have them grazing the side of a hill now that I need to graze for my SFP. Only have 4 young cows to recycle this yr, so I'm considering buying 6 or 8 v light empty jex's. Would milk them to Christmas, put in calf on may 1st, and reckon the hill should rear them til housing again nxt yr. Mad or what?

Big hol/br fr cows .young and framey should milk well and put on good flesh with feeding .think he plans to milk them till March 1 ,dry off and then grass and a few kg meal and kill in May .would u be worried buying young empty cows like that ?,if there young and empty that would set alarm bells ringing for me .ive always hated buying in cows here as the first 2 years i took over from dad I bought about 15 of them as calved heifers .only 1 left now ,5 years later most were gone within 2 years .i was very short of replacements and trying to expand so hand was forced .

Timmaay wrote: »
    Obviously has a decent winter bonus, and not going to go over it with the extra cows either?

No winter or liquid contract Tim

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 446 ✭✭poor farmer

Thats great money for culls.I wouldnt get the colour of that for mine

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,493 ✭✭✭Greengrass1

I always check the ai card after ai man leaves. Do you think she will come to her milk?

I doubt she will tbh. Same happened us last yr. Cow only got dried 3 wks out. Gave feck all milk this yr

Don't know, got a litre of Biestings out of her for the calf tonight at least. 2bh thinking about it more, I've well enough winter calving cows, and with culls selling well if she dries up it aint the end of the world.

And yeh, not the 1st mistake he has made either, ultimately myown fault for not keeping on top of it, but I've tried before to get him to rectify it and he said its not possible to change once its gone into ICBF??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,143 ✭✭✭RightTurnClyde

Tried recycling here a few times over the years. The last attempt was last year. Carried the smallest 14 heifers of 2012 ( that were 2 yrs old in spring 2014), to Jan 2015. Thought it would be a good help for 2015 numbers. They calved down at ~31months. Balls over all, 3 too heavy-bad milkers, 2 calved down with 3 quarters and 4 not in calf after now. Last time recycling for me.
    Any non performers out the gate and if you can get good stock from a clean herd,get them in near calving or soon after calving. And have them paying the bills as soon as possible.
    Fire a few empties up on the grazing hill and off to the mart in Jan with them.?