Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Xbox One/360 Dashboard & Update Discussion (Retail/Beta/Preview Versions)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,340 ✭✭✭deco nate

Ok, try shouting. Nxoe voice is touchy in my experience.
    Oh believe me I was shouting at it alright😊

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,523 ✭✭✭runawaybishop

deco nate wrote: »
    Oh believe me I was shouting at it alright😊

Put on an English accent maybe. Record it so we can let you know if its any good.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,248 ✭✭✭Max Mafioso

Haven't heard of that personally. Try and update the firmware, otherwise its faulty and you should go seeka repair/ replacement from the original retailer. If you have no reciept then you can force a replacement from MS support as the controller should last longer than it has. Assuming you haven't been throwing it around previously of course.
    trixiebust wrote: »
    Have you checked if there's a controller update available Max?
    Most times, it won't notify you.

I think the charging cable is damaged because I had it in to update the firmware and the little light on it went off and thats when it stopped.
    I have tried fiddling around the wire in the controller and it did nothing, the controller is working now but the wire isnt working.
    Well the light goes on briefly and then off so its either a connection problem with the cable or with the controller.
    I dont suppose a regular Smartphone/Android Charger would do the trick in recharging it since its the same sort of connection?

I think the charging cable is damaged because I had it in to update the firmware and the little light on it went off and thats when it stopped.
    I have tried fiddling around the wire in the controller and it did nothing, the controller is working now but the wire isnt working.
    Well the light goes on briefly and then off so its either a connection problem with the cable or with the controller.
    I dont suppose a regular Smartphone/Android Charger would do the trick in recharging it since its the same sort of connection?

You can use any usb charger

Ye a that will work I have used a Samsung USB and it worked fine

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 10,785 Mod ✭✭✭✭CatInABox

New Beta App coming that will be the one stop shop for betas and previews
    Microsoft wrote:
    We’re excited to unveil a new feature in the Xbox Preview Dashboard app for New Xbox One Experience Previewers: Beta games and apps. Beta games and apps is your one stop to discover and download beta titles that are available to you as a result of your participation in the Xbox Preview Program, and check out related content such as Announcements, Known Issues, Quests, or Surveys. No more accidental deleted messages or codes to enter – getting a title is as easy as choosing the one you want, then pressing the “Redeem” button.

Today, we’re launching Beta games and apps along with the Xbox Community Calendar, an app built to help you better discover events occurring on Xbox Live. Over the next few hours, Preview members on the New Xbox One Experience will be able to find the Xbox Community Calendar app in Beta Games and Apps. Give it a spin, and let us know what you think!

FREQUENTLY ASKED QUESTIONS

Q: What is Beta games and apps?
    A: Beta games and apps is a new feature on the main page of the Xbox Preview Dashboard app. It is your one stop to discover and download beta titles that are available to you as a result of your participation in the Xbox Preview Program, and check out related content such as Announcements, Known Issues, Quests, or Surveys.

Q: What kinds of titles will be available?
    A: Beta games and apps will host beta versions of games and apps that are exclusive to Preview members. Today, we’re launching this feature alongside the Xbox Community Calendar, a new app that Preview members get to try out before anyone else. As more titles become available, they will be added to Beta games and apps.

Q: Who will be able to access Beta games and apps?
    A: Preview Program members who are on the New Xbox One Experience can access Beta games and apps from the Xbox Preview Dashboard app. For our Preview members not yet on the New Xbox One Experience, fear not! Once you update to the New Xbox One Experience, Beta games and apps will be there waiting for you!

Q: Will I still need a code to download these games or apps?
    A: No. Simply select the game or app tile from the list, and then choose Redeem, then confirm. If you’ve previously installed a title that’s available in Beta games and apps, or you are on another enrolled Preview console, Install will reinstall it.

Q: Will games or apps ever be removed from the Beta games and apps hub?
    A: Once a beta has finished for a game or app, it will be removed from the Beta games and apps hub.

Q: What should I do if I have a problem with getting titles from Beta games and apps?
    A: Let us know by using Report a problem, and we’ll take a look.

My Kinect has stopped hearing me too. Ran the calibration and that worked ok just no voice commands working at all.

Not seeing the beta games an apps tthing yet either.

My Kinect has stopped hearing me too. Ran the calibration and that worked ok just no voice commands working at all.

What build is preview on now? The bit after the 1510.

151011_2132

151011_2132

New enough build so - October 11 2015, 9:32 pm, the one from the day before was grand for voice. I don't have that build here to check though :(

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 10,785 Mod ✭✭✭✭CatInABox

It's in the bottom right on the preview app, took me ages to spot it, and thought I was going blind when I did!

EDIT: The calendar thingy is pretty good too, but can't see myself using it too much.

It's only been a few hours, and I'm really missing voice commands. It really it a great addition to this generation, it's only when it's gone do you realise how good it is and such a time saver. I pity the people that have bought a xb1 without it :(

Is it every voice command? I had a quick play around with mine and it was working. I opened the calendar app with it once it installed.

CatInABox wrote: »
    Is it every voice command? I had a quick play around with mine and it was working. I opened the calendar app with it once it installed.

Yes everything for me, even if I just shout Xbox. Nothing happens, only started today after the update

Try switching to us locale.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 731 ✭✭✭jimbob_jones

CatInABox wrote: »
    Gah, you got in there before my sneaky edit, confusing myself with letters.

They may eventually build support for profiles per game, but at the moment it's just all or nothing.

Also, triggers can't be remapped.

Personally, I won't be using the remapping, but as I mentioned before, it's great from an accessibility point of view.

I'm just glad that I can set the right stick to invert automatically with the button mapping tool, I know it's only a minor niggle but having to set it in every fps I play was a bit annoying

He should do what I did and report it as an issue first though. Mine works if I change locale.

Edit: the dash actually runs far better when set to US but you lose TV stuff etc.

He should do what I did and report it as an issue first though. Mine works if I change locale.

I have already reported it, before I asked on here was I the only one of us that was having this problem

Report issue of course, that's what preview is for. US tends to be the most solid though so its often useful to switch there and see if the issue repros. Out of interest do native voice locales work, like the UK?

That's worked, thanks. Set it to us now working like a dream :)

Report issue of course, that's what preview is for. US tends to be the most solid though so its often useful to switch there and see if the issue repros. Out of interest do native voice locales work, like the UK?

Just tried setting it to the UK, it's working... Kinda, not really, it will go home, goto TV, all the rest isn't working for me. Set to us for best results

Haven't set my dash to UK/US in ages. The one guide tab they have and we'll likely see a veyr poor version of is cool.

On UK a lot of the stuff actually works, like who knew there was a TV show of Scream ??? Not me but it's highlighted there to be watched on youtube..... and it switched it off after 6 minutes lol

Just tried setting it to the UK, it's working... Kinda, not really, it will go home, goto TV, all the rest isn't working for me. Set to us for best results

US tends to be best, probably cos all the dev and most testing is ran outta there. After US there are top tier countries (all the ones with native voice) after that there is the likes of Ireland with PSL and after that there are countries with just English as an option and after that, well there is no after that as you aren't even listed as a locale.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,856 ✭✭✭MiskyBoyy

Where can I find the community calendar? I've found the beta games in preview dashboard app but no sign of calendar.

MiskyBoyy wrote: »
    Where can I find the community calendar? I've found the beta games in preview dashboard app but no sign of calendar.

Dito

Dito

Ok I've found the answer:

"The Community Calendar will be rolled out to Preview members (both on the New Xbox One Experience and the existing experience) over the next few days. Our members currently on the New Xbox One Experience can use the new Beta games and apps feature of the Xbox Preview Dashboard to get it. Previewers not yet on the New Xbox One Experience will receive an Xbox Live message within a few days.

Note: With this initial launch of Beta Games and Apps, some NXOE Preview Members may find the section empty; this is normal, and will be resolved over the next few hours as the rollout completes. If you find the section empty, come back in a few hours, quit the Preview Dashboard, and relaunch."

MiskyBoyy wrote: »
    Ok I've found the answer:

"The Community Calendar will be rolled out to Preview members (both on the New Xbox One Experience and the existing experience) over the next few days. Our members currently on the New Xbox One Experience can use the new Beta games and apps feature of the Xbox Preview Dashboard to get it. Previewers not yet on the New Xbox One Experience will receive an Xbox Live message within a few days.

Note: With this initial launch of Beta Games and Apps, some NXOE Preview Members may find the section empty; this is normal, and will be resolved over the next few hours as the rollout completes. If you find the section empty, come back in a few hours, quit the Preview Dashboard, and relaunch."
    Ahh, fair play to ya MiskyBoyy

Was gamestreaming Neverwinter to my partners laptop last night and someone in the group asked if I could turn down my TV or mute my mic..... eh :confused:

Seems you cna actually voice chat using the mic on the laptop, didn't know that at all.

Was gamestreaming Neverwinter to my partners laptop last night and someone in the group asked if I could turn down my TV or mute my mic..... eh :confused:

Seems you cna actually voice chat using the mic on the laptop, didn't know that at all.

Yeah, it's handy but could get you into trouble if you didn't realise, could be saying anything or up to all sorts :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,996 ✭✭✭Liamalone

lol I think totally the opposite, I think it's a needless add on. I bought without the Kinect, then bought one off ebay, used it for about a week and it's sat in a drawer did the past six months. An expensive paperweight.