Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Farming Chit Chat sticks it to six.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 615 ✭✭✭Boaty

IFA security advisor, anyone have any callouts from them?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,742 ✭✭✭CloughCasey1

Rightly annoyed this evening. Spotted the young bull I bought last June with a wart on his rod a few weeks back and it's gone so big now that he can't pull in the top of his rod and I'm going to have to get a vet to remove it. Not sure if he will be any good for breeding after it. Herding today then and the old bull has pneumonia however he managed to get it. Empty, ears hanging, panting and snotty, hopefully he will be alright. Auld lad drove through them on the quad this morning and never copped him whatever he was looking at.

Have they their jobs done for this yr? How old is the older lad? Feckin mild days and cold nights.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,794 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

Boaty wrote: »
    IFA security advisor, anyone have any callouts from them?
    is there such a thing, maybe give ifa a ring

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,241 ✭✭✭✭Kovu

Got the tag numbers of the animals we've to genotype today. They've picked mostly PB's, two born this year, two born last year, their dams and a couple other four starred animals :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,651 ✭✭✭Limestone Cowboy

Have they their jobs done for this yr? How old is the older lad? Feckin mild days and cold nights.

Ya they have alright. He's 4 and a half year old. Picking grass away this morning but still a long way from right looking.

had a close one earlier on, we scan in the crush, 2 cows got in instead of 1 , went to hit the second one back and my dad went to put bar in between them , second cow came forward and i got the bar full force across my stomach. Good job I have plenty of padding, will have some bruise later

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 9,046 Mod ✭✭✭✭greysides

I've had a number of close escapes with bars in exactly the same scenario. You're lucky the bar stayed level and the end outside the crush didn't rise up or it could have been Whelan3 delivering the news!

The aim of argument, or of discussion, should not be victory, but progress. Joseph Joubert

The ultimate purpose of debate is not to produce consensus. It's to promote critical thinking.

Adam Grant

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,173 ✭✭✭✭Muckit

It's on my list of things to change. We use stakes and they a bad idea for exactly same reason. Also they inevitably get pulled out and thrown on the ground and they are a huge tripping hazard.

An anti backing type device would be much much safer.

I think it was a disgrace with the safety scheme that the minimum limit was set so high. If it was around €500, alot more farmers would have applied and bought small things like this that would have made a bigger more practical impact.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,623 ✭✭✭✭Reggie.

Muckit wrote: »
    It's on my list of things to change. We use stakes and they a bad idea for exactly same reason. Also they inevitably get pulled out and thrown on the ground and they are a huge tripping hazard.

I think it was a disgrace with the safety scheme that the minimum limit was set so high. If it was around €500, alot more farmers would have applied and bought small things like this that would have made a bigger more practical impact.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,735 ✭✭✭lakill Farm

Muckit wrote: »

I only tweeted that to simon a few months ago. Should have been more focus on items to improve safety not weighting scales

grants to get lights right on trailers, chainsaw safety gear, PTO covers, crushes etc

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,173 ✭✭✭✭Muckit

I applied and qualified for the grant but didn't draw it down in the end simply because I didn't have the money!!

If I could have put in new shed lights and bought an anti backing bar ONLY and got the 40% back l would.

I only tweeted that to simon a few months ago. Should have been more focus on items to improve safety not weighting scales

grants to get lights right on trailers, chainsaw safety gear, PTO covers, crushes etc
    Did Simon reply?

greysides wrote: »
    I've had a number of close escapes with bars in exactly the same scenario. You're lucky the bar stayed level and the end outside the crush didn't rise up or it could have been Whelan3 delivering the news!
    was only saying earlier hope none of us have to go to the lourdes hospital as there's 54 patients on trollies there today

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,633 ✭✭✭✭Buford T. Justice XIX

I just rang the local quarry, 5 miles away, to enquire about the price of lime and was quoted 25 euro a ton spread. I was a bit shocked at the price of it.

So I rang a quarry 35 miles away and was quoted 22 euro a ton spread. 30 mile draw makes lime cheaper apparently.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,748 ✭✭✭ganmo

whelan2 wrote: »
    was only saying earlier hope none of us have to go to the lourdes hospital as there's 54 patients on trollies there today
    its never nice being sick enough to skip the que in the hospital

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,893 ✭✭✭Bullocks

Did Simon reply?

Wondering the same thing myself

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,855 ✭✭✭I said

I just rang the local quarry, 5 miles away, to enquire about the price of lime and was quoted 25 euro a ton spread. I was a bit shocked at the price of it.

So I rang a quarry 35 miles away and was quoted 22 euro a ton spread. 30 mile draw makes lime cheaper apparently.

The Celtic tiger is back don't ya know,
    Quote whatever and they'll pay for it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,371 ✭✭✭MickeyShtyles

Bullocks wrote: »

He did....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,371 ✭✭✭MickeyShtyles

Bullocks wrote: »

" we weren't able to grant aid everything in first safety scheme, we had to prioritise - but will build on it for next scheme"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,559 ✭✭✭pedigree 6

Got a lorry load of lime spread on ground for reseeding never enquired about the price. I got the bill for it today and its 23 euro a ton spread. My uncle got 2 loads spread for 21 euro a ton.:rolleyes: Forgot to add different quarry though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,747 ✭✭✭Mac Taylor

Sold the three lads that I posted pictures of yesterday, happy out.
    Black lmx born first week of March weighed 355kg made €880
    Red lmx born last week of Feb weighed 395kg made €955
    White lmx born last week of Feb weighed 410kg made€1,105

Some serious weight gain on the last two!!

At least I have a few quid to pay the bills now.:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,439 ✭✭✭tanko

Mac Taylor wrote: »
    Sold the three lads that I posted pictures of yesterday, happy out.
    Black lmx born first week of March weighed 355kg made €880
    Red lmx born last week of Feb weighed 395kg made €955
    White lmx born last week of Feb weighed 410kg made€1,105

Some serious weight gain on the last two!!

At least I have a few quid to pay the bills now.:D

Good stuff, they were quality animals. Were they off your stock bull?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,747 ✭✭✭Mac Taylor

tanko wrote: »
    Good stuff, they were quality animals. Were they off your stock bull?

Tks, yeah out of the stock bull. A son of rocky. Getting awful big now, will not fit up the crush, we have to test him behind a gate with the vet in the pen:D he does a great job but is probably getting a tad too heavy for the cows, but in two minds whether to get rid of him or not.

pedigree 6 wrote: »

Got a lorry load of lime spread on ground for reseeding never enquired about the price. I got the bill for it today and its 23 euro a ton spread. My uncle got 2 loads spread for 21 euro a ton.:rolleyes: Forgot to add different quarry though.

What weight is there in a full load?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 615 ✭✭✭Boaty

is there such a thing, maybe give ifa a ring

Its a relatively new thing, one of them left the guards for it.

ganmo wrote: »
    20T here in Kerry anyway.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,559 ✭✭✭pedigree 6

Yea 20 ton in wexford. Not supposed to bring anymore than that. That's in a rigid.

20T here in Kerry anyway.

that in an artic or a 4 axle dump truck?

I'll let you know in a few weeks:)