If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Trivial things that annoy you part 479

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 71,799 ✭✭✭✭Ted_YNWA

Bought some grapes, assuming them to be seedless. Wasn't the case.

I will be spitting out seeds for the night :mad::mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 901 ✭✭✭xLisaBx

Exams.They annoy me to no end. And I've just realised that I have at least one every single week from now until Christmas.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 731 ✭✭✭chillin117

when your listening in to neighbours having sex and they finish before you have !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,637 ✭✭✭Mal-Adjusted

Cyclists on the footpath.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,541 ✭✭✭Smidge

Could have put this on the Dumb FB thread but thought it would be better appreciated here :D
    Someone on my FB liked a Julia Roberts post.
    In it, she, JR, is purportedly wearing no make up.
    She goes on about how "Women should love themselves from the inside out. The outside doesn't count, its the inside thats beautiful, hence my no make up pic. You dont need surgery/cosmetics to fix you, and if you do then you need to look for your inner beauty" yada yada la la la.

Ah here.....:mad:

No 1:
    She is wearing make up, albeit eyebrow and and mascara make up(at the very least)in the no make up shot AND its filtered to fukc.

No 2: She is JULIA ROBERTS. She was graced with good genes to begin with. Very few of us(not me though, I'm FABULOUS :P)can have that.

No 3: SHE HAS HAD PLASTIC SURGERY!!!!!!
    She has had a nose job at the VERY least. From my humble eye, she has also had botox, naso-labial fillers, eye lift. She also colours her hair(as the vast majority of women do, but don't claim natural beauty for that either).

Jesus!!!!
    Talk about a major humble brag fake!!

Women have enough to bloody contend with without this crapola and there are thousands of these fools liking it :rolleyes:
    "I love you Julia, you are such a natural beauty"

Dopes.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 35,514 ✭✭✭✭efb

Being awake now

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,318 ✭✭✭✭Menas

efb wrote: »
    Being awake now

I am TA at being awake now....so cant imagine how bad it is for you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,495 ✭✭✭KatW4

My classroom is freezing!! :(

The fact that Android phones can not natively have the home screen in landscape.
    Every app can run in landscape but the home screen forces you back to portrait (it's worse as you can see the screen actually in landscape prior to it rotating back)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 935 ✭✭✭Whitewinged

Smidge wrote: »
    Could have put this on the Dumb FB thread but thought it would be better appreciated here :D
    She goes on about how "Women should love themselves from the inside out. The outside doesn't count, its the inside thats beautiful, hence my no make up pic. You dont need surgery/cosmetics to fix you, and if you do then you need to look for your inner beauty" yada yada la la la.

No 1:
    She is wearing make up, albeit eyebrow and and mascara make up(at the very least)in the no make up shot AND its filtered to fukc.

No 2: She is JULIA ROBERTS. She was graced with good genes to begin with. Very few of us(not me though, I'm FABULOUS :P)can have that.

She has had a nose job at the VERY least. From my humble eye, she has also had botox, naso-labial fillers, eye lift. She also colours her hair(as the vast majority of women do, but don't claim natural beauty for that either).

Jesus!!!!

Women have enough to bloody contend with without this crapola and there are thousands of these fools liking it :rolleyes:

Dopes.

Not to mention the super airbrushed look she has when advertising for cosmtic brand Lancome which gave us the feckin complex in the first place :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,300 ✭✭✭✭razorblunt

One of my TAs is Julia Roberts.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,022 ✭✭✭jamesbere

Jasus H, the latest fcukwit looking for sponsorship via facebook, 'I need to raise 3 grand so I can spend a month nursing in Vietnam. Fcuk me, but how about just giving that money to hospital you're gonna 'volunteer' in instead of expecting people to pay for a months holiday in Vietnam. Fcuking tool.:mad:

Then they post about a thousand photos and none them of actually doing any volunteer work. I never give money to these, if people want to go out somewhere to volunteer or nursing etc, do it off their own back. Prefer to give money to worthy home based charities not some person looking for a free holiday

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,468 ✭✭✭✭OldNotWIse

Smidge wrote: »

No 1:

Jesus!!!!

Dopes.

I've been known to post replies to such drivel telling people to f*ck off, after I've had a few drinks. In the last year, my friend count has decreased by about 60. :P I cannot tolerate this inner beauty shíteology. It's up there with the "real women are fat" brigade.

jamesbere wrote: »
    Then they post about a thousand photos and none them of actually doing any volunteer work. I never give money to these, if people want to go out somewhere to volunteer or nursing etc, do it off their own back. Prefer to give money to worthy home based charities not some person looking for a free holiday

I know someone like this, spent the best part of her twenties off saving some kind of rare snails in Madagascar. Like, :confused: What about our own animals? Save some of them? Oh but of course, you can't boast about saving Irish cats and dogs on social networking sites. People will just think you're boring. Saving the Madagascan snails though, well that's very f*cking exotic isn't it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 369 ✭✭liam24

People who refer to euros in the singular.

'That'll be fifty euro please'.

We put an 's' to signify plurals in English.

Some ad popped up on a site I was just on and instead of a standard "no thanks " button to clear it, I had to click one that said, "no thanks, new ideas make me feel uncomfortable". F*ck off :mad:

liam24 wrote: »

I always thought that the plural of euro was er....euro?

Edit: apparently, the European Commission adopted "euro" as the plural and this is the official plural, but the Directorate General for Translation advised using "euros" for publications intended for the general public.

I'm TA that this new information might have pushed some old, valuable information down into the muck where I can no longer access it :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,300 ✭✭✭✭razorblunt

OldNotWIse wrote: »
    I know someone like this, spent the best part of her twenties off saving some kind of rare snails in Madagascar. Like, :confused: What about our own animals? Save some of them? Oh but of course, you can't boast about saving Irish cats and dogs on social networking sites. People will just think you're boring. Saving the Madagascan snails though, well that's very f*cking exotic isn't it.
    Jasus H, the latest fcukwit looking for sponsorship via facebook, 'I need to raise 3 grand so I can spend a month nursing in Vietnam. Fcuk me, but how about just giving that money to hospital you're gonna 'volunteer' in instead of expecting people to pay for a months holiday in Vietnam. Fcuking tool.:mad:

We're not alone, I posted something similar a while ago in this thread and it was well received, people are copping onto these acts quickly nowadays. As a follow on I had someone in work complaining about lack of donations on something similar recently. He got the hump when all around the table took the "we're not paying for your glorified holiday" stance.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,180 ✭✭✭✭One eyed Jack

It's controversial -

Linguistic issues concerning the euro

Sheeps :p

chillin117 wrote: »
    OCD OCD OCD !

I like to pretend that the temperature in the car is my age. This morning I was 20.5 :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,022 ✭✭✭jamesbere

Wtf, snails. Hope she wasnt looking for donations

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 369 ✭✭liam24

I always thought that the plural of euro was er....euro?

Edit: apparently, the European Commission adopted "euro" as the plural and this is the official plural, but the Directorate General for Translation advised using "euros" for publications intended for the general public.

I'm TA that this new information might have pushed some old, valuable information down into the muck where I can no longer access it :P

Regardless of what they recommended, I don't think the guidelines devised by a bunch of eurocrats, who mainly speak English only as a second language, should lead to us tearing up the rules of English grammar!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 415 ✭✭FelineOverLord

Exactly, and I dare say that the hospital would love 3 grand to spend on things they really need instead of being lumbered with some Irish young 'wan trying to beef up her nursing CV as well as whore for likes on FB. It won't stop until people call them on it. It just annoys the hell out of me at this point.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,318 ✭✭✭✭Menas

Exactly, and I dare say that the hospital would love 3 grand to spend on things they really need instead of being lumbered with some Irish young 'wan trying to beef up her nursing CV as well as whore for likes on FB. It won't stop until people call them on it. It just annoys the hell out of me at this point.

I have to admit that this type thing did not bother me before...but I am mad as hell now!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,564 ✭✭✭✭whiskeyman

Regardless of what they recommended, I don't think the guidelines devised by a bunch of eurocrats, who mainly speak English only as a second language, should lead to us tearing up the rules of English grammar!

But don't forget the exceptions... (which the English language is full of!)

deer
    moose
    sheep
    bison
    salmon
    pike
    trout
    fish
    swine

Personally, I prefer 'Euro' :P

TA - When someone else sits on your office chair when you're away from your desk and fiddles with the settings and then you can't get comfy again :mad:

this was posted recently, but is needed again! :D
    http://www.theonion.com/article/6-day-visit-to-rural-african-village-completely-ch-35083

Perhaps, though if your gripe is the rules of English Grammar being torn up, you'll pretty much find TA's all over Ireland :P, "I was sat" being a particular bug bear of mine, as well as this new trend of using an adjective in the wrong place - "we're rewarding brave" :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,214 ✭✭✭✭jimgoose

...you'll pretty much find TA's all over Ireland :P, "I was sat" being a particular bug bear of mine...

This gets on my nerves as well. The correct form is of course "Ah wur sat"! :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 935 ✭✭✭Whitewinged

I use both. I sometimes say euros and euro. I was trying to think why i do this. I think its subconscious because it depends on whether i am thinking or associating with a single fifty note or multiple notes or coins.

This annoys me because some of it is news to me:

http://listverse.com/2011/06/07/top-10-misused-english-words/

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,678 ✭✭✭TrustedApple

Trying to sell my mothers old phone it was a flagship phone last year a Samsung S5.

Would you swap a iPhone 4 for it.

Would you swap a iPhone 4s and you pay me 50 euros.

Swap a Broken screen S3 + 50 euros.

Complete face pam to it all you need not to get angry at people and there piss takes LoL