Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Rangers FC On Field Gossip & Rumour Thread 2017 Mod Note in OP(Updated 14/08)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,704 ✭✭✭Broxi_Bear_Eire

LiamoSail wrote: »
    I work in the North Sea. There's more Rangers fans in the North Sea than oil, though both are having a particularly bad time of things of late. Point is, I know plenty of Rangers fans, the majority of whom are good guys.

My point referred to the minority, and the general reputation as a result

No this is typical of people like you. You generalise when in reality you know nothing about anyone on here and it's on here that the thread is not someplace else.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,221 ✭✭✭bobbysands81

No this is typical of people like you. You generalise when in reality you know nothing about anyone on here...

That is an hilarious post!!!

You generalise then give out about people who generalise. You say that "this is typical of people like you" but then say that "you know nothing about anyone on here"... you've defeated your own argument twice in only two sentences!!! Brilliant!!!

Jelle1880 wrote: »
    So basically you're comparing the situation last season to that of this season despite everything having changed ?

Glad you're not an accountant.

From one of your own...

Are the new board running on fumes?

“I’ve followed this saga for a while so I’m disinclined to wait with bated breath for apocalyptic moments.”

The aforementioned comment, in response to one of my blogs, is an apposite counterpoint to Phil Mac Giolla Bhain’s assertion that a decision to mothball the Auchenhowie Sports Academy will be made prior to October 20. I question how Mr Giolla Bhain could have come to this conclusion? Are there leaks in the IT system? Is there an expert in Cloud technology collating e-mails and passing them to his desk in Donegal? Mr Mac Giolla Bhain invites the shyster board to refute his claims, but he knows that if they chose to do so they would add legitimacy to his oeuvre and confer legitimacy to his office.He would also follow up with a series of more searching questions.

Graham Wallace chose to challenge him via the Rangers-facing medium of Radio Clyde, but this turned out badly for Mr Wallace as he was compelled to arrange an emergency loan in a matter of weeks.

I posit that Mr Mac Giolla Bhain chose October 20 as it is the cut-off date for the October payroll run. Could this payroll run be in jeopardy? The £7.3m raised from ST sales is supplemented by ‘pay at the gate’ income and a proportion of the £400,000 paid by the BBC to televise the Scottish League Cup Tie against St. Johnstone. The attendance on that evening was circa 24,000. If we assume that the £4.5m loan only covered the overheads to fiscal end on June 30, the season card income would be totally expended if it costs £2.5m per month to put a team on the park. Others have calculated a lower figure, but a quick look at last year’s operational expenditure, minus the reductions in payroll (12 players now off the books) still results in a figure north of £30m.

Expenditure to date is £10m, which represents a deficit of £2.7m. All home games, with the exception of the league cup tie, have generated an additional £250.000 to £330,000. If we factor in £330,000 for four home games, a similar amount for the cup tie and the pre-season game against Burnley, a best case scenario of £1.98m could have been realized.

Match day spend revenue last season was circa £10m, which included 3 home play-off games,Scottish Cup,League Cup, and Training cup income. This is circa £400,000 per home game. If we assume £800,000 for the four league games and £400,000 for the league cup tie, the revenue will be £3.6m, with a profit margin of no more than 20%, which when added to the enhanced gate figures results in a cash position of zero. Income and expenditure are perfectly balanced.

However when we factor in VAT for the enhanced gates and match day spend, the bill on gates is £396,000 and on spend is £720,000. So any profit on F&B, which is outsourced, will on the reduced figure, after VAT,be £144,000 less than my equilibrium calculations.

So going in to October, the deficit, based on best case scenario projections, is £540,000. If we assume two home games we will generate £528,000 (after VAT) at the gate and £256,000 (after VAT) on F&B. If we deduct the deficit we arrive at an income of only £244,000 which results in the board having to find £2,256,000 to break even by month’s end.

If soft loans are not provided now, there is an obvious danger to the October payroll. Should Green prevail at The Court of Session, an onerous contract of more than £250,000 per month is not sustainable.

I welcome challenges to my calculations.
    Reply With Quote Multi-Quote This Message Quick reply to this message

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,839 ✭✭✭Jelle1880

LOL.

'One of your own', you mean 'Merlin' the bat**** insane blogger. The only person who you could have quoted that is more laughable would be Phil.

I guess we'll just have to see. I await the end of October with bated breath. Will you come on here and admit you were wrong if nothing were to happen ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,165 ✭✭✭Savage Tyrant

Did Mike Ashley ever get his Wonga Loan back or is he still waiting?

That is an hilarious post!!!

You generalise then give out about people who generalise. You say that "this is typical of people like you" but then say that "you know nothing about anyone on here"... you've defeated your own argument twice in only two sentences!!! Brilliant!!!

You think so Boaby. The guy makes it clear what he thinks of Rangers fans in this thread so saying people like you only highlights his zero knowledge. He made the attack on the people in the thread not anyone else

LOL.

'One of your own', you mean 'Merlin' the bat**** insane blogger. The only person who you could have quoted that is more laughable would be Phil.

I guess we'll just have to see. I await the end of October with bated breath. Will you come on here and admit you were wrong if nothing were to happen ?

Yup straight out of the Metlin handbook himself of one of his lackeys cobbled that together.

Nope, it's literally him, copy pasted the text in Google and that is what came up.

Funny though that we're now supposed to believe him.

LOL.

You do realise I didn't write that don't you?!

Instead of attacking the messenger (as in the blogger, not me) why don't you attack the message?

You do realise I didn't write that don't you?!

Instead of attacking the messenger (as in the blogger, not me) why don't you attack the message?

I know you didn't, you do realise that a Google search is easy to show who wrote it, right ?

The guy has been consistently proven wrong and was a mouthpiece for the previous board, why should we keep wasting energy on people like him ? Same goes for Phil and his 'Rangers have only sold 8000 season tickets' bollocks.

Oh, and I found out who came up with the amount of yellow cards argument :pac:
    It is good now that teams in the lower leagues are getting to see at first hand the atrocious officiating at matches involving Sevco FC, maybe now they won’t be so quick to call the Celtic Support “PARANOID”.

The amount of dubious penalty kicks they receive; and the amount of red cards to opposing players does not compare to any other team in Scotland; or indeed to any other team in Europe.

That being the case you would have to believe that this stems from a higher authority than the basic officials. The officials we have in Scotland can’t possibly be that bad naturally; it has to be with a specific intention that some of the decisions are made; and what specific intention would that be you might ask?

I would have to say that it is two-fold. No 1 is to get Sevco back in the SPL as soon as possible; and No 2 is to try to prevent Celtic winning another SPL Title to make five in a row.

I was at Hamilton yesterday and some of the decisions that were made were baffling to put it mildly. Steven McLean was his usual self giving fouls against Celtic at every opportunity. He booked Janko for pulling a Hamilton player back; the exact same thing happened with a Hamilton player in the second half; surprise surprise .. No yellow card shown.

Mr McLean has plenty of form where Celtic are concerned; he’ll never need to buy a drink in his life; the Sevconians will be queuing up at the bar to provide his pleasure; probably something with an Orange Mixer.

There was also some controversy over at Castle Greyskull, Peter Houston has been reported by referee John McKendrick for have the cheek to question his morals following the awarding of a free kick which Sevco scored from; i wasn’t at that particular match so couldn’t comment on the award.

But i did check the stats in a Sunday Newspaper, and they gave strange readings. Sevco 13 fouls = no yellow cards .... Falkirk 8 fouls = 4 yellow cards; now as i said i wasn’t at the game; but seems very strange indeed.

I suppose the biggest surprise on Saturday over at the Castle was that Sevco didn’t get awarded the customary penalty kick; i actually thought they had a player named Waghorn Pen; apparently that’s not the case.

The powers that be from Mr Regan down to the fourth official can do what they want; but they won’t stop us winning the league again, I’m sure they will give it their best shot; but they will fail.

Joe O'Rourke, general secretary of theCeltic Supporters Association.

Mental is an understatement.
    Still, I assume it's good to see that he thinks Rangers play at 'Castle Greyskull', home of the heroes in He-Man :D

The gift that keeps on giving.

Sky Sports Scotland ‏@ScotlandSky 3m3 minutes ago

BREAKING: @RangersFC striker Martyn Waghorn wins @spfl Championship player of the month award for September

BREAKING: @RangersFC manager @MarkWarburton9 wins @spfl Championship manager of the month award for September

Well done Waghorn and Warburton :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,014 ✭✭✭Eirebear

I see Joe's still the master of Semi Colons...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,521 ✭✭✭bobmalooka

ye are quick to refute the blogger who claims ye are in financial difficulty (perhaps rightly, I don't know) yet ignore the fact the CURRENT board can't show Rangers will continue as a going concern and have so far failed in their attempts to sort it out.

I showed a week ago why this should be a concern and the silence was deafening. It seems as though the only form of discussion Rangers fans will engage in is attacking the source.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 974 ✭✭✭Intifada

Joe O'Rourke is a nutcase in fairness

But this though....
    Sky Sports Scotland ‏@ScotlandSky 3m3 minutes ago

BREAKING: @RangersFC striker Martyn Waghorn wins @spfl Championship player of the month award for September

BREAKING: @RangersFC manager @MarkWarburton9 wins @spfl Championship manager of the month award for September

Well done Waghorn and Warburton :cool:

I know we've had some breakdowns in communication in the past so I'm going to have to ask plainly: this is tongue in cheek, correct?

Intifada wrote: »
    But this though....

I know we've had some breakdowns in communication in the past so I'm going to have to ask plainly: this is tongue in cheek, correct?

Why would it be ?

http://www.dailyrecord.co.uk/sport/football/football-news/rangers-double-mark-warburton-martyn-6583541

I'm aware of the awards. I was referring to the boasting part of it. You've been playing in a 1 horse race for 4 seasons and even managed to come third in it last year.

Nothing wrong with celebrating a victory but placing this much pride in your players scoring goals against part timers seems below ra Dignified Peepil

Nobody's boasting ? I'm just posting about a Rangers player and the Rangers manager in the Rangers thread...

lol ok buddy. I thought it was just a wee joke on your part but if you're serious fair play. Congrats btw :)

Not much talk of this on here

http://www.thescottishsun.co.uk/scotsol/homepage/news/6678620/Bluedunnit.html

SIR David Murray, Walter Smith, Ally McCoist and John Greig are among a string of Rangers icons due to give evidence in the Ibrox takeover fraud case.

Former club owner Murray and the three ex-managers appear on a star-studded list of potential witnesses including chairman Dave King.

They are expected to take the stand in the event that Craig Whyte, Charles Green and five other accused should face trial.

Former Gers bigwigs Martin Bain, Alastair Johnston and John McClelland could also be asked to testify.

SFA chief exec Stewart Regan and SPFL counterpart Neil Doncaster have been contacted too.

Not much talk of this on here

http://www.thescottishsun.co.uk/scotsol/homepage/news/6678620/Bluedunnit.html

SIR David Murray, Walter Smith, Ally McCoist and John Greig are among a string of Rangers icons due to give evidence in the Ibrox takeover fraud case.

Former club owner Murray and the three ex-managers appear on a star-studded list of potential witnesses including chairman Dave King.

They are expected to take the stand in the event that Craig Whyte, Charles Green and five other accused should face trial.

Former Gers bigwigs Martin Bain, Alastair Johnston and John McClelland could also be asked to testify.

SFA chief exec Stewart Regan and SPFL counterpart Neil Doncaster have been contacted too.
    No real surprise though I strongly believe Murray should be in the Dock as a defendant

Rangers V QotS today.

Two changes Miller in for Oduwa and Ball in for Wilson who has a slight knock

12096594_1062362087115879_1761196119041301952_n.jpg?oh=a1cf284619ed10138fc4d130ca539ce6&oe=5695582E

I slept in today, are we bankrupt yet ?

QotS go one up Rangers sleeping at the corner kick

Holt makes it 1-1.

Interesting end to the game Rangers get a Penalty when Halliday is impeded in the box and Waghorn misses. A minute ir two later Waghorn scores with a header to make it 2-1. Rangers 50th goal of the season and the first from a header

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,938 ✭✭✭Coillte_Bhoy

8 penalties n the league so far :pac:

Whats yer point caller. Its not hard to grasp if you have players running into the box the majority of the time players will do rash things. I can only think of one that was soft

I'm just glad our contributions to the referee pension fund are paying off.

Not as far fetched as you'd like to think. You do realise that today's referee, Barry Cook, used to be a goalkeeper who was on the books of Rangers?

http://m.heraldscotland.com/sport/13046956.Keeping_the_peace__Barry_Cook_has_gone_from_goalkeeper_to_referee/

Not as far fetched as you'd like to think. You do realise that today's referee, Barry Cook, used to be a goalkeeper who was on the books of Rangers?

http://m.heraldscotland.com/sport/13046956.Keeping_the_peace__Barry_Cook_has_gone_from_goalkeeper_to_referee/

Oh get over yourself. If I went into your thread and started talikng about Mark McGee and how his teams lie down to Celtic I would be accused of trolling