Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Help Keep Boards Alive. Support us by going ad free today. See here: https://subscriptions.boards.ie/

Animal rights group forcefully take dog off homeless man

Didn't a group of animal rights activists set 'free' thousands of mink a few years ago, causing untold damage to the local ecosystem?

Just a few months ago in Dublin retards 'liberated' lobsters from a tank in a restaurant and set them free in Clontarf Bay where they promptly died.

You don't need to go as far as France to find idiots like that. There's no shortage of them here and they don't have a brain cell between them.

In case you think I was joking

Growing up, we used to always call travelers/scumbags/knackers "minks". When I first saw the headline, "100s of minks set free", my first thought was as if we didn't have enough of them already.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 55 ✭✭Haznat

Remarkable the empathy being shown for the homeless guy and indeed his companion, when in reality most people don't give a crap about either - it's all about the context of course, which is the old keyboard warriors queuing up to air their whimsical opinions.

As both a vegan and a carer of two rescue animals I completely disagree with the actions of the crazy animal rights group who took the animal from their human companion (remember in reality both of them are homeless), but I also disagree with the misguided and inappropriate generalisations about animal rights activists - those clowns who took the dog have no comprehension of the damage they have done against animal rights because it completely shifts the attention away from the bigger issues of animal cruelty and allows people who really don't give too much of a toss about such rights the opportunity to "moralise" and feel good about themselves and their attitude towards such cruelty.

So you agree with the vast majority of the posters in this thread but feel you are in a position to judge everyone else's motives because you are a vegan and have a couple of rescues. This is the problem with animal rights movements and rescues in general. All squabbling amongst themselves and trying to one up each other and the world. Speaking as a decade long but lapsed vegetarian with several rescue animals.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,315 ✭✭✭✭Frank Bullitt

Fcukin hell, how could any morally decent person do this to someone. He is homeless for gods sake!

I hope the police get involved and lock these pricks up, he assaulted the homeless man in that video!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,906 ✭✭✭Streetwalker

Who cares it's just a bloody dog.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,452 ✭✭✭✭The_Valeyard

Who cares it's just a bloody dog.

It's owner

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,017 ✭✭✭johnny osbourne

A ridge of high pressure is slowly building over Ireland as a westerly airflow gradually stabilizes.

West to southwest force 5 to 6, moderating force 4 to 5 later tonight and tomorrow morning, and veering south to southwest later tomorrow.

Westerly force 4 to 5, moderating force 3 or 4 tomorrow and backing southwesterly, backing south to southwest by this time tomorrow.

Showers dying out

Generally good.

Light to moderate southerly winds will develop tomorrow night and during Saturday in anticyclonic conditions.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,553 ✭✭✭Tarzana2

Scumbags, they should've left the man and his dog in peace.

Eh, I don't know. It should be left to the police but I have a certain cynicism about how well treated pets of homeless people are. Are they using them to tug on people's heart strings? Are they well looked after? Some are, but some are not, I would imagine.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,766 ✭✭✭Bongalongherb

Terrorists those nut-cases are. Terrorising a homeless guy and his pet dog. I know what I would have done, but I won't say it here. Psychopaths, especially that blonde haired woman. The amount of hatred towards homeless folk that they cannot even have a pet dog companion without being assaulted and robbed.

The people 'if you can call them that' putting the dog and owner under undue stress just shows you what you're dealing with, with the amount of head-cases going around these days.

Yeah that homeless guy in Dublin city putting his life at risk to save his pet rabbit from the liffey just shows you how attached a person can be for their furry friends. I wonder did those nut-cases keep running after the homeless guy and take the dog in the end ?. Had to slow it down there on the video, one person grabbed the dog and ran up the street while the homeless guy was crying chasing them. They probably won't give a sh!t if the homeless guy kills himself after the loss of losing his pet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,410 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

Tarzana2 wrote: »
    Eh, I don't know. It should be left to the police but I have a certain cynicism about how well treated pets of homeless people are. Are they using them to tug on people's heart strings? Are they well looked after? Some are, but some are not, I would imagine.

Your powers of deduction are amazing :pac:

You could even say the same thing about animals kept by people who live in houses

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,539 ✭✭✭✭end of the road

conorhal wrote: »
    Remember the monkey that took a selfie? PETA do, and they are suing a struggling wildlife photographer on it's behalf!

http://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/article-3245807/PETA-sues-nature-photographer-hopes-giving-MONKEY-copyright-ownership-selfie.html

A macaque monkey who took now-famous selfie photographs should be declared the copyright owner of the photos, rather than the nature photographer who positioned the camera, animal-rights activists contend in a novel lawsuit filed on Tuesday.

The suit was filed in federal court in San Francisco by People for the Ethical Treatment of Animals.

It seeks a court order allowing PETA to administer all proceeds from the photos for the benefit of the monkey, which it identified as six-year-old Naruto, and other crested macaques living in a reserve on the Indonesian island of Sulawesi.
    you can be sure peta couldn't care a less about the animal, but are simply looking for a quick buck. sooner this bunch of vermin are crushed the better

I'm very highly educated. I know words, i have the best words, nobody has better words then me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 667 ✭✭✭OneOfThem

A homeless person with a littlest hobo companion is a very nice thing.

But there are lads begging around dublin city centre that have a brand new different puppy every four or five weeks. I think that was Gongoozler's point. In these cases it's a prop to them, not a loyal lifelong 'me and you against the world Scrappy' friend. What happened to the puppy from last month? Where'd you get this puppy? Any chance of him making an appearance in October? If not, where'd he go?

It's become 'a thing' to have a dog at your feet while you beg... Sure won't all the kids and thier Mammies with their purses stop to say hello... The dogs seem to change a lot more frequently than dogs tend to change in the hands of loving owners... :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,553 ✭✭✭Tarzana2

Your powers of deduction are amazing :pac:

You could even say the same thing about animals kept by people who live in houses

Of course you could. But when one doesn't have the resources to home oneself, it would be silly not to question whether the resources are there to support a pet. And there's no reason to be more lenient towards someone who is homeless when it comes to animal cruelty. Most people abhor animal cruelty but few seem to register any concern at homeless people having pets and I find this strange. In the wake of the story breaking about the homeless guy's bunny being thrown in the Liffey, I noticed an increase in homeless people having pets in Dublin suddenly. Worrying.

All the "Aw, but it might be his/her only friend in the world" stuff is very patronising too.
    OneOfThem wrote: »
    A homeless person with a littlest hobo companion is a very nice thing.

But there are lads begging around dublin city centre that have a brand new different puppy every four or five weeks. I think that was Gongoozler's point. In these cases it's a prop to them, not a loyal lifelong 'me and you against the world Scrappy' friend. What happened to the puppy from last month? Where'd you get this puppy? Any chance of him making an appearance in October? If not, where'd he go?

Yup.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,387 ✭✭✭eisenberg1

Surely at the very least, this a case of theft?

If it was a thing, and I say if, that the man could not look after the dog properly, there are other approaches.

Bunch of toe rags.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,047 ✭✭✭✭Discodog

Most of us that have been involved in Animal rescue & welfare hate the term "animal rights". There is a argument that animals should have rights but it has been totally hijacked by a load of extremists. These people do so much harm to animal welfare.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,667 ✭✭✭Skatedude

The dog has been returned to his owner and the Animal activist is currently in police custody.
    Doubt he will be jailed or such, and i dont think it would be warranted, but probably fine and community service but will have to wait and see.

I'm all up for helping and protecting animals and our last pets we had were all from rescue centers, but there are better ways of doing good without resorting to breaking the law and assaulting people.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,315 ✭✭✭✭Frank Bullitt

Link?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,499 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

Well that's good news if he's getting his dog back.

Those two weirdo creeps would want to take a good long look at themselves in the mirror.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 394 ✭✭Brian from Bray

Skatedude wrote: »
    The dog has been returned to his owner and the Animal activist is currently in police custody.
    Doubt he will be jailed or such, and i dont think it would be warranted, but probably fine and community service but will have to wait and see.

I'm all up for helping and protecting animals and our last pets we had were all from rescue centers, but there are better ways of doing good without resorting to breaking the law and assaulting people.

Great news.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,786 ✭✭✭wakka12

Wow talk about easy target. Why don't they go to a meat slaughter plant and set some cow frees maybe and see how that goes for them

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,576 ✭✭✭Paddy Cow

I saw this on 9gag and it said in the comments local had got the puppy and paid for vaccinations after the homeless guy's previous dog died from old age.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,667 ✭✭✭Skatedude

Gintonious wrote: »
    Link?

it's on animal nordes facebook page
    https://www.facebook.com/CauseAnimaleNord?fref=ts

and the french police facebook.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 50 ✭✭Cb9

Skatedude wrote: »

That's good to hear.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,646 ✭✭✭✭qo2cj1dsne8y4k

There's a man that wheels his belongings around the streets where I work, I see him most days. He has a dog called Mindy. Mindy sits on top of all his stuff in the trolley, being pushed around like a little princess.

He LOVES that dog. He introduces you to the dog and tells you all about her and hasn't a second thought for himself. She has more toys in that trolley than he has clothes, and she is spoilt rotten, she even has a coat for when it's chilly.

That dog is that mans best friend, and he takes better care of her than most people would. And you can tell, she's very happy and loves him to pieces.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 787 ✭✭✭folamh

How do we know that they weren't acting on a report that the man was mistreating the dog?

Some "homeless" people use animals as props for their begging.

KatW4 wrote: »
    Maybe he gets more money for having the dog but I'm sure he spends it on taking care of it and feeding it.

What makes you sure of that?

Tarzana2 wrote: »
    In the wake of the story breaking about the homeless guy's bunny being thrown in the Liffey, I noticed an increase in homeless people having pets in Dublin suddenly. Worrying.
    Same.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 832 ✭✭✭Notavirus.exe

Typically, I'd associate homelessness with unemployment. I'd associate unemployment with little or no money. I'd associate little or no money with little or no food. Maybe this guy does his best to look after his dog but you can't guarantee that every homeless person's dog is getting adequate food and water.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,093 ✭✭✭✭Tony EH

Haznat wrote: »
    Surely he could have just bought a new one with his vast wealth. I'd say it's more likely that he jumped off a ****ing bridge because he is quite fond of the bunny.

The homeless have enough issues without more judgmental high horsery from people that have no comprehension of their situation.

I can't post links yet but if you google "homeless man jumps in Liffey to save pet rabbit" you will get the story about the profiteering bunny abuser.

Why would someone throw a rabbit into a river? :(

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 832 ✭✭✭Notavirus.exe

Tony EH wrote: »
    Why would someone throw a rabbit into a river? :(

Probably more of a cat person.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,495 ✭✭✭KatW4

folamh wrote:
    What makes you sure of that?

I'm not sure, that's why I said maybe...