Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Liverpool FC Team Talk/Gossip/Rumours Thread 2015/16 (*EVERYONE READ MOD POST in OP)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,843 ✭✭✭brevity

Take this with the condiment of your choice

Sriracha!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,747 ✭✭✭TheCitizen

THFC wrote: »
    Liverpool were top dogs in the eighties, no one gives a shít. Yer as much "also-rans" as Spurs. 2 title challenges in 20 odd years doesn't change that.

I'm not a Liverpool fan, I'm a Celtic fan actually, was reading a bit of the thread here and spotted you having a go at a Liverpool fan who was saying Liverpool are in danger of becoming as irrelevant as Spurs. He was right to use Spurs as a marker of mediocrity and irrelevancy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,746 ✭✭✭BullBlackNova

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,784 ✭✭✭✭murpho999

CPpkmWBXAAAWiWx.jpg

From last night, is this right or wrong, celebrating a penalties victory against a League 2 team?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,622 ✭✭✭✭Vicxas

Football 365
    Liverpool fans will each have their own opinion on the exact moment they knew Roy Hodgson was doomed at Anfield, but the England manager’s pre-match assessment of League Two Northampton Town may be a popular answer.

“They’ll be a formidable challenge,” Hodgson said, and Liverpool promptly tumbled out. Wednesday marked five years and a single day since that night. The mood was far less mutinous, but the result almost identical. Almost. If Napoleon had his Waterloo and Roy had his Northampton, Brendan may have just avoided his Carlisle. The lingering sensation is that it will be a temporary stay of execution.

This was the third time since that wretched night that Liverpool have faced lower league opposition at Anfield. Notts County forced extra-time, and Middlesbrough forced penalties. For so long it looked as if Carlisle might go one step further, only to be denied at the last by Adam Bogdan and some rotten penalty-taking.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,348 ✭✭✭✭ricero

murpho999 wrote: »
    CPpkmWBXAAAWiWx.jpg

From last night, is this right or wrong, celebrating a penalties victory against a League 2 team?

i say they were more delighted for Bogdan. cant slate them for that

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,769 ✭✭✭Talisman

Augeo wrote: »
    I'd be of the view that 30pts after 17 games isn't harsh a target, didn't happen last year but needs to happen this year.
    It has only happened once in the three previous seasons. Liverpool currently have 8 points after 6 games, in order to meet your 30 point target we have to average 2 points per game for the next 11 games.

Aston Villa (H)
    Everton (A)
    Tottenham (A)
    Southampton (A)
    Chelsea (A)
    Crystal Palace (H)
    Man City (A)
    Swansea (H)
    Newcastle (A)
    West Brom (H)
    Watford (A)

I'm not saying it's impossible, but given the rudderless nature of the team at the moment it doesn't seem likely.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 40,061 ✭✭✭✭Harry Palmr

CPpkmWBXAAAWiWx.jpg

Guys like Moreno and Can want to win and they are young enough not to have been beaten down by life! So I do not have any issues with that excitement. Also the tension would have been mighty.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,347 ✭✭✭✭Grayditch

CPpkmWBXAAAWiWx.jpg

They're practicing for whenever we get a significant win.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 61,272 ✭✭✭✭Agent Coulson

Talisman wrote: »
    It has only happened once in the three previous seasons. Liverpool currently have 8 points after 6 games, in order to meet your 30 point target we have to average 2 points per game for the next 11 games.

Aston Villa (H)
    Everton (A)
    Tottenham (A)
    Southampton (A)
    Chelsea (A)
    Crystal Palace (H)
    Man City (A)
    Swansea (H)
    Newcastle (A)
    West Brom (H)
    Watford (A)

I'm not saying it's impossible, but given the rudderless nature of the team at the moment it doesn't seem likely.

The form we are in right now the only game that looks winnable right now is Newcastle away we might get something from the Villa and Watford games.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,381 ✭✭✭Nerdlingr

CPpkmWBXAAAWiWx.jpg

I thought it was embarrassing to be honest.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,983 ✭✭✭✭NukaCola

Talisman wrote: »

Its possible if you get a better manager in. I dont see any other way unless a complete turn around is performed by everyone and it seems unlikely.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,333 ✭✭✭bad2dabone

Turtyturd wrote: »
    Hardly a marker, the likes of Arsenal and Aston Villa have one.

Ha haaaaa classic mate, that's definitely one for the Twitter account!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,124 ✭✭✭Colemania

CPpkmWBXAAAWiWx.jpg

Only thing wrong with that picture is the haircut from the Carlisle guy! Jesus christ!

Nerdlingr wrote: »
    I thought it was embarrassing to be honest.

I'd never give any stick to players celebrating a win. Its not like they celebrated like it was Istanbul. And I would take it more celebrating with the GK who was excellent for the peno's. I know it was a L2 team but they weren't milking it either. Through to the next round. Still in with a chance providing we change manager.

bad2dabone wrote: »
    Ha haaaaa classic mate, that's definitely one for the Twitter account!

Would it translate to twitter though?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,785 ✭✭✭jcsoulinger

I know its been a cat bad start to the season and fans levels of tolerance are seriously depleted. But I think he should be given a bit more time to turn it around things looked a lot better against Norwich and we were unlucky not to come away with three points, having said that though I'm still not sold on the three at the back it just doesn't sit right with me.

I hoped during the summer Rodgers would be kept on but in hindsight it may have been the right time for him to go but fsg backed him, with a lot of players coming in and the backroom staff being replaced it was always going to be a dodgy start, we need more than six games to see where we are at.

• Moderators, Music Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 25,740 Mod ✭✭✭✭Boom_Bap

NukaCola wrote: »
    I'd never give any stick to players celebrating a win. Its not like they celebrated like it was Istanbul. And I would take it more celebrating with the GK who was excellent for the peno's. I know it was a L2 team but they weren't milking it either. Through to the next round. Still in with a chance providing we change manager.

After 2 hours slogging away and the peno's, I'd say they are massively happy to get the win. No harm in celebrating that at all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,333 ✭✭✭bad2dabone

Would it translate to twitter though?

Dunno, he's a wit though, he'd make it work!

This is what we've come to so, celebrating a penalty victory over a League 2 side 65 places below us. Nothing to be running and jumping on fellas about imo.

I know its been a cat bad start to the season and fans levels of tolerance are seriously depleted. But I think he should be given a bit more time to turn it around things looked a lot better against Norwich and we were unlucky not to come away with three points, having said that though I'm still not sold on the three at the back it just doesn't sit right with me.

I hoped during the summer Rodgers would be kept on but in hindsight it may have been the right time for him to go but fsg backed him, with a lot of players coming in and the backroom staff being replaced it was always going to be a dodgy start, we need more than six games to see where we are at.

The feeling I get with BR is he will turn us around, for a period of time. Whatever formation/approach he will settle on will get picked a part by a decent team and he wont change it until its too late.

I can see us going on a run and then falling apart again. I have no doubt he'd get us 5/6 every year with this approach. But he's not learning and after 3 years we have similar problems to his first season even. Players are not being utilised by his tactics, and when he gets a formation and tactics to work he cant adapt them when results go bad.

He wont get us back into the top 4 and he wont win us any trophies. But he will get us in and around par or just below. We need more, and that may be unfair but its a fact. As for who is available to take over etc is up for debate.

Nerdlingr wrote: »
    This is what we've come to so, celebrating a penalty victory over a League 2 side 65 places below us. Nothing to be running and jumping on fellas about imo.

Id liken it to a trip to the dentist, nervous and uncomfortable but when you get out there's a sense of relief.

brevity wrote: »
    Id liken it to a trip to the dentist, nervous and uncomfortable but when you get out there's a sense of relief.

:pac: What? Who would you jump on after the dentist? The assistant? Thats mad!....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,221 ✭✭✭theoneeyedman

My problem is especially over the last 6 months or so the form is brutal. A couple of weeks ago we had something like 13 points from the last 14 league games on either side of the simmer break. Since then drew with Norwich, Bordeaux and Carlisle. It's a brutal run and I can't see where the improvement is coming from under the current regime. The danger is that a rum of games comes along against bottom feeder clubs, a rum of wins happens and it's all teeth from the BROG again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,477 ✭✭✭✭Knex*

If they won in Extra Time, they wouldn't have jumped around the place at the end, I'd bet. Its because its penalties and its pretty much the equivalent of celebrating a goal in regular time, if not surpassing that.

No real issue them celebrating with Bogdan. Feck, we have far bigger issues than that.

I just thought it was embarrassing. Fellas running from the centre circle to jump on the goalkeeper. Alright lads, this isnt the f*cking european cup final - relax a bit!! Ye barely beat a League 2 side.
    Old school handshake, a pat on the back, well done and off down the dressing room for the flying tea cups/ hairdryer wouldve been more like it.

:pac: What? Who would you jump on after the dentist? The assistant? Thats mad!....

You should see my dentist's assistant, she's an absolute cracker. I'd jump on her before, during, or after if given a chance!

Knex. wrote: »
    You should see my dentist's assistant, she's an absolute cracker. I'd jump on her before, during, or after if given a chance!

But your mouth would be all numb - uncomfortably numb if you will.

Moreno, he's just a giant child :D

Pic is a little big, so I'll just link it: http://i.imgur.com/RHZNj8G

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,633 ✭✭✭✭LuckyLloyd

Knex. wrote: »
    If they won in Extra Time, they wouldn't have jumped around the place at the end, I'd bet. Its because its penalties and its pretty much the equivalent of celebrating a goal in regular time, if not surpassing that.

No real issue them celebrating with Bogdan. Feck, we have far bigger issues than that.

Yeah, don't have a problem with the celebrations which were appropriate in the circumstances.