Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Argos Chat Thread #1

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,728 ✭✭✭brightkane

CH3OH wrote: »
    BLANCHARDSTOWN. ONLY

They are giving out leaflets offering 20% off all toys excludes video consoles and games
    Toysrus have just reopened

You need the leaflet and says applies to all other offers

Where were they handing them out ? Going to head down now !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,864 ✭✭✭CH3OH

brightkane wrote: »
    Where were they handing them out ? Going to head down now !

Outside newlook

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,728 ✭✭✭brightkane

CH3OH wrote: »
    Outside newlook

They were gone so I asked in store. Got 20% off no problems and it runs til the 20th!

Cheers for the heads up

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 885 ✭✭✭kendragon

Arciphel wrote: »
    Explains why all the toys have gone up 20-30% in the last few weeks!

Glad I'm not the only one who had noticed that. Tesco is the same way, toys are quite a bit more expensive than the likes of Smyths. I'm guessing they're laying the groundwork for the pre-c-word sales that are undoubtedly on the way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,344 ✭✭✭witnessmenow

Noticed on HUKD that there was some costumes reduced in Argos, I'm sure they are fairly awful but would surely hold up for one evening!

Link to Argos Costumes sorted from price lowest

Some links to the individual ones:

Flapper Costume - Size 12-14. (€7.99)

28-9140806SPA80UC1406324M.jpg

Looks pretty decent, has very good reviews. Can be ordered in all stores that its not in stock in.

Full Body Stretch 2nd Skin Costume. (€13.99)

25-9050776MMA77UC1116071M.jpg

AAAWWWW YISSSS, a mother-flippin morph suit. Reviews are pretty poor but who can resist! Good stock everywhere.

Sailor Girl Costume - Size 12-14. (€10.99)

28-9140765SPA80UC1406314M.jpg

Doesn't look too bad, reviews are only ok tough. In stock in most places

Boba Fett Costume - Chest Size 38-42 inches. (€13.99)

28-9140679UC1406320M.jpg

Looks ok, reviews are decentish too.

A couple of others that I wont put pictures up for as they are border-line NSFW

Miss Spider Girl Costume - Size 8-10. (€13.99) - Looks poor and reviews are worse :eek:

Ghostbuster Costume - Size 10-12. (€18.99) - More like Ghost-BUSTY! AM-I-RITE? :pac: (I'll get my coat)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,006 ✭✭✭_Tombstone_

Me-ow

Noticed on HUKD that there was some costumes reduced in Argos, I'm sure they are fairly awful but would surely hold up for one evening!

Link to Argos Costumes sorted from price lowest

Some links to the individual ones:

Flapper Costume - Size 12-14. (€7.99)

28-9140806SPA80UC1406324M.jpg

Looks pretty decent, has very good reviews. Can be ordered in all stores that its not in stock in.

Full Body Stretch 2nd Skin Costume. (€13.99)

25-9050776MMA77UC1116071M.jpg

AAAWWWW YISSSS, a mother-flippin morph suit. Reviews are pretty poor but who can resist! Good stock everywhere.

Sailor Girl Costume - Size 12-14. (€10.99)

28-9140765SPA80UC1406314M.jpg

Doesn't look too bad, reviews are only ok tough. In stock in most places

Boba Fett Costume - Chest Size 38-42 inches. (€13.99)

28-9140679UC1406320M.jpg

Looks ok, reviews are decentish too.

A couple of others that I wont put pictures up for as they are border-line NSFW

Miss Spider Girl Costume - Size 8-10. (€13.99) - Looks poor and reviews are worse :eek:

Ghostbuster Costume - Size 10-12. (€18.99) - More like Ghost-BUSTY! AM-I-RITE? :pac: (I'll get my coat)

Your running commentary on each of the products made me laugh out loud (esp the morph suit one) :D:D:D Like!

EDIT: Also description on the Spider Girl one:
    Daughter of Peter Parker, best known as Spider-Man, Spider Girl has quickly made a name for herself in the Marvel world as a great heroine. Make an entrance to any party dressed as the one and only Little Miss May Parker. )

..............yes, you will certainly make an entrance..... :O

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,344 ✭✭✭witnessmenow

I'm not going to lie, I had great chuckle to myself when I thought of the Ghostbusters one!

I actually went for the black spider man one, If I can get some form of a webshooter I would have great craic for the night.

Yeah that spider woman one is cat alright

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,296 ✭✭✭shamrock55

Does anyone have any idea when argos will be doing their 3 for 2 on toys, i think they did one in oct and again in dec last year, i normally get the xmas and birthday presents when they do this offer

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 59 ✭✭mackey9387

shamrock55 wrote:
    Does anyone have any idea when argos will be doing their 3 for 2 on toys, i think they did one in oct and again in dec last year, i normally get the xmas and birthday presents when they do this offer

They normally do it the end of September start of October

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 641 ✭✭✭johnf26

SanDisk Ultra microSDHC 128GB only 45e was 75e plenty of stock around.

http://www.checkargos.com/?search=%20413/1164

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 893 ✭✭✭Doodlebug

Nice! If buying for use in your phone, check compatibility as this may be too big depending on the make/model.

But I see that this will work with the HTC ONE M8, so that'll do me nicely! :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,840 ✭✭✭Doodah7

Just to say that the 128GB microsd cards are the newer, faster 80MB/s as opposed to the 45MB/s quoted on the Argos website. These cards are £52 on Amazon...

Bargain!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,603 ✭✭✭✭Basq

shamrock55 wrote: »
    HUKD are saying 25th September..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 77 ✭✭Redkilkenny

Folks, its the missus' birthday coming and I'd really like to get her one of these. Is there a kind soul in Letterkenny that would post it to Dublin with obvious reimbursement?

She might like this http://www.powercity.ie/?par=20-25-R250PG

Got one for my sister - she loves it:-)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,037 ✭✭✭BArra

tallpaul wrote: »
    Just to say that the 128GB microsd cards are the newer, faster 80MB/s as opposed to the 45MB/s quoted on the Argos website. These cards are £52 on Amazon...

Bargain!

i got one earlier and its the 45mb/s one, feeling a bit unlucky about it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,718 ✭✭✭upandcumming

She might like this http://www.powercity.ie/?par=20-25-R250PG

Got one for my sister - she loves it:-)

Damnit!
    I moved heaven and earth and managed to get a friend of a friend to get the smaller one in Letterkenny!

Ah well!

But apparently it is not a DAB radio!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,359 ✭✭✭Access

Just a quick question, do Argos offer price matching if you find the same item elsewhere cheaper? (like currys / pc worlds price promise?))

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,856 ✭✭✭MiskyBoyy

Access wrote: »
    Just a quick question, do Argos offer price matching if you find the same item elsewhere cheaper? (like currys / pc worlds price promise?))

Nope.

https://argos.custhelp.com/app/answers/detail/a_id/125/~/do-you-price-match%3F

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 32,286 Mod ✭✭✭✭The_Conductor

BArra wrote: »

Same in Liffey Valley- its the 45Mb/s one. :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 974 ✭✭✭Remouad

BArra wrote: »
    Same in Liffey Valley- its the 45Mb/s one. :(

One I picked up was the 80Mb/s one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 80 ✭✭Jayprey

Remouad wrote: »
    One I picked up was the 80Mb/s one.

Same in Galway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,460 ✭✭✭WeleaseWoderick

If anyone wants my reservation for the Sandisk 64gb USB stick for Stephen's Green it is 670310.

Won't get a chance to get in to pick it up so may as well pass it on

Infamous first light ps4 7.99e can be ordered in everywhere at time of posting.

http://www.checkargos.com/?search=307/0855

Infamous first light ps4 7.99e can be ordered in everywhere at time of posting.

http://www.checkargos.com/?search=307/0855

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 48 mot2000ie

3 for 2 on toys (not gaming consoles) starting this Wednesday in Argos stores for 1 week.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,467 ✭✭✭Tinder Surprise

SanDisk Cruzer Blade 128GB USB Flash Drive €25.99

USB 2.0 but seems a decent price.

OR

USB 3.0 Version for a few quid more....

SanDisk Ultra 128GB USB 3.0 Flash Drive €32.49.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,157 ✭✭✭✭Alanstrainor

USB 3.0 all day for that little of a difference. Very tempted! Don't really use my stick much any more, but it would be dead handy having that much storage on a stick!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,826 ✭✭✭snowgal

just ordered that cheers!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,296 ✭✭✭shamrock55

mot2000ie wrote: »
    3 for 2 on toys (not gaming consoles) starting this Wednesday in Argos stores for 1 week.

Will they be doing this again before xmas? They normally do anyway