If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Liverpool FC Team Talk/Gossip/Rumours Thread 2015/16 (*EVERYONE READ MOD POST in OP)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,009 ✭✭✭✭citytillidie

Need to be winning to make sure there is a top 4 and it does not go to a top 3 making it even harder.

Also need to as a club start climbing back up those UEFA club rankings for better seeding not that it makes as much difference now since the change in seeding.

• Subscribers Posts: 32,890 ✭✭✭✭5starpool

Nerdlingr wrote: »
    You prioritise the the europe league and you could get knocked out in the last 32/QF . Where do you go then? You're f*cked in the league. At least by prioritising the league theres the sfatey net of being able to make up any mishaps.

edit: you lose two games in the EL you're out. Could be out by losing even one.
    You do that in the league and youre still grand.

Who here said we should prioritise the Europa League? No one. Plenty saying we should treat both seriously though. We need confidence from winning. If we win tonight that confidence will help. If we lose tonight there will be even more pressure.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,381 ✭✭✭Nerdlingr

5starpool wrote: »
    Who here said we should prioritise the Europa League? No one. Plenty saying we should treat both seriously though. We need confidence from winning. If we win tonight that confidence will help. If we lose tonight there will be even more pressure.
    tok9 wrote: »
    Take a hit in Europe! Europe should be our top priority. I think Sevilla are pretty happy with how Europe is working out for them.

There ya go.

• Subscribers Posts: 32,890 ✭✭✭✭5starpool

There ya go.

Sorry, missed that post.

My point still stands though.

5starpool wrote: »
    Sorry, missed that post.

My point still stands though.

Sure it still stands and I dont disagree with it. We should be challenging on all fronts given the squad and the amount of money we've spent in the last few years.
    However, my original comment was I'd take a hit tonight if we beat Norwich on Sunday. Some posters seem to think thats the same as me saying its ok to lose or hoping rodgers gets the sack or that we shoudnt try and win the EL. (2+2=5) Its not. Its saying I think a win against Norwich is paramount.

We go out tonight with a second string team to try and win the game. If we lose so be it. But we better damn well make sure we win on Sunday then.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,000 ✭✭✭RayCon

But we better damn well make sure we win on Sunday then.

Well it worked perfectly when we waved the white flag going to Real Madrid so we could concentrate on Chelsea 4 days later ....

RayCon wrote: »
    Well it worked perfectly when we waved the white flag going to Real Madrid so we could concentrate on Chelsea 4 days later ....

Sure did! :D:D:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,861 ✭✭✭Mr.H

Of the projected starters only Coutinho, Gomez & Mignolet are regular starters this season

Sakho, Toure no competitive game time this season.

Moreno, Origi & Rossiter a small bit of competitive action this season.

Lallana coming back from injury and a Cruyff turn away from another injury.

Can and Ibe flicker in and out of form depending on the game.

Hoping that these 11 gel for the game tonight is a big call.

What are you on about

Migs
    Gomez----Toure----Sakho----Moreno
    Lallana----Can---Coutinho
    Ibe----Ings----Origi

Aside from the ones highlighted, the team has played tonnes of games together. Why would they not "gel".

People are over reacting. The side brought to France is STRONG.

Randall, Brannagan, Roister, Cleary, Firmino all there also. The youngs lads will probably be just on the bench if even named in the match squad. Roister could start ahead of Lallana with Adam coming on late on as he is just back from injury.

Tonight wont be a cake walk but we should still win with that team

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 19,012 Mod ✭✭✭✭Kimbot

Mr.H wrote: »
    What are you on about

Migs
    Gomez----Toure----Sakho----Moreno
    Lallana----Can---Coutinho
    Ibe----Ings----Origi

Aside from the ones highlighted, the team has played tonnes of games together. Why would they not "gel".

People are over reacting. The side brought to France is STRONG.

Randall, Brannagan, Roister, Cleary, Firmino all there also. The youngs lads will probably be just on the bench if even named in the match squad. Roister could start ahead of Lallana with Adam coming on late on as he is just back from injury.

Tonight wont be a cake walk but we should still win with that team

I would imagine more than anything Roister will start the game as Can cant really hold the midfield by himself yet.

I reckon it will be something like this for tonight.

Migs
    ---Gomez-Kolo-Sakho----
    Can----Ros
    Moreno
    Firmino--Cout

Ings
    Origi

Its not rocket science. We have a BIG squad and should b well capable of managing 4 competitions. In my eyes we have 2 "squads".

Squad A Should be playing all top 17 teams in the League and cups. They should also play the home games in Europe in the group stage and every game in the knockouts (unless we win the first leg by a ridiculous amount of goals (which we wont))

Migs
    Clyne---Skrtel---Sakho---Moreno
    Lucas
    Hendo----Milner
    Coutinho
    Sturridge----Benteke

Subs; Bogdan, Lovren, Gomez, Can, Lallana, Firmino, Ings

Squad B should play the bottom 3 teams in the league (teams that are def going down). They should also play all away games in the group stage of Europe and the non "BIG" games in the cups or all the games in the League cup and any "easy" fixtures in the FA cup

Bogdan
    Flanno---Toure---Lovren---Gomez
    Can
    Allen----Lallana
    Firmino
    Ings----Origi

Subs; Fulton, Skrtel, Enrique, Lucas, Coutinho, Ibe, Sturridge

Then we have; Roister, Brannagan, Sinclair, Dunn, Teixeira

The Idea of Squad B is that we give players in Squad A a rest while keeping some "strong" players on the bench just in case we need them.

Now that is everyone in our squad right now (as far as I can recall right now and barring injuries). I dont get why people have to say its either Europe or the League when we clearly have a squad that should be a match for all 4 competitions.

For example Bournemouth and Watford are probably among this years "likely to be relegated".

Bournemouth
    Gomes
    Nyom----Prodl--Cathcart--Anya
    Capoue--Behrami
    Abdi---Deeney--Jurado
    Ighalo

Watford
    Boruc
    Francis----Elphick--Cook--Smith
    Richie----Surman--O'Kane----Stanislas
    King---Wilson

No disrespect to either side (these sides are the last game each lined up) but our Squad B should be able to beat them. No matter how low an opinion some of you have on our players, our Squad B would all have a good shout of walking into either of those first teams (with probably the exception of Bogdan as I really like Boruc. Not so much Gomez but he is also in a higher bracket to Bogdan to be fair)

Bogdan
    Flanno---Toure---Lovren---Gomez
    Can
    Allen----Lallana
    Firmino
    Ings----Origi

Subs; Fulton, Skrtel, Enrique, Lucas, Coutinho, Ibe, Sturridge

jonny24ie wrote: »
    I would imagine more than anything Roister will start the game as Can cant really hold the midfield by himself yet.

Migs
    ---Gomez-Kolo-Sakho----
    Gomez----Ros
    Moreno
    Firmino--Cout

Ings
    Origi

I assume the otehr Gomez twin is fit? :D Why did you mean?

Yea I was unsure when I put down Can but all I meant is that we have a good deal of players that have frequently played together and they shouldnt have "gelling" as an excuse for under performing if that should happen.

Id like Firmino to step up tonight as he has had a few games to get use to the team and tactics and now he needs to start showing what he can do

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 61,272 ✭✭✭✭Agent Coulson

That bench of players cost £100m.

jonny24ie wrote: »

Migs
    ---Gomez-Kolo-Sakho----
    Gomez----Ros
    Moreno
    Firmino--Cout

Ings
    Origi

Fair play to gomez. Some man for one man.

That bench of players cost £100m.

I know its crazy what we have spent and on what, but its done now so no point worrying about their value. We should just focus on how best to use the "squad" and not try to fit the more expensive players into the team.

In fact People should stop this theory about Brendan not playing the "committee transfers". How many times did Sakho and Moreno play last year? Even when they made mistakes. But this year they arent playing so they are classed as "committee transfers".

Roll on 6 o clock ffs Im frustrated :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,002 ✭✭✭Potential Underachiever

I know its crazy what we have spent and on what, but its done now so no point worrying about their value. We should just focus on how best to use the "squad" and not try to fit the more expensive players into the team.

In fact People should stop this theory about Brendan not playing the "committee transfers". How many times did Sakho and Moreno play last year? Even when they made mistakes. But this year they arent playing so they are classed as "committee transfers".

Roll on 6 o clock ffs Im frustrated :D

Agreed, there's too many wannabe accountants on here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,147 ✭✭✭✭rob316

I'm looking forward to the match anyway, hope to see some players really push for a premier league starting spot. Europa League should be a good thing for a squad this size.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 19,012 Mod ✭✭✭✭Kimbot

I assume the otehr Gomez twin is fit? :D Why did you mean?

Yea I was unsure when I put down Can but all I meant is that we have a good deal of players that have frequently played together and they shouldnt have "gelling" as an excuse for under performing if that should happen.

Id like Firmino to step up tonight as he has had a few games to get use to the team and tactics and now he needs to start showing what he can do

I meant to put Can in the middle there, dam lack of sleep haha

Fair play to gomez. Some man for one man.

Its starting to turn into the Carra era again where we will all dream of a dream of gomez's :D

Sturridge expected to make the bench for the Norwich game, Rodgers will have no choice but to play 2 strikers then. I'm praying he has put his injuries behind him with this corrective hip surgery, what a player we have if he can stay fit.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,746 ✭✭✭BullBlackNova

I didn't expect him to do it, but I really, really wanted two up top.

Maybe he is going for a defensive approach in the away tie and will commit a few more forward in the home games.

Or maybe he is picking the line-up out a hat.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 587 ✭✭✭JB81

Looking forward to this now.
    Especially looking forward to seeing how Origi does, providing he starts that is.
    Really think he showed enough in the World Cup to provide us with some hope that he could be a major asset to us. May not have set the French League alight but the standard of the Lille team and their tactics I do believe hindered him

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,404 ✭✭✭✭Turtyturd

Doesn't say much for meh, if Origi is getting the nod.

FFS I wanted to see 2 up top.

The manager knows best he sees the players in training every day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,328 ✭✭✭Magico Gonzalez

Wanted to see one of Can or Leonard Rossiter on the bench, play a diamond or some variety of 4-4-2 with origi and ings up front.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,785 ✭✭✭jcsoulinger

The most worrying thing about that line up is Toure, Llori going was really shortsighted if this is what we are reduced to at the back.

Bench: Bogdan, Firmino, Ings, Brannagan, Randall, Cleary, Chirivella

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 666 ✭✭✭Speckydodge

Toure has never left us down

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 666 ✭✭✭Speckydodge

Really like to see Chirivella get some minutes, serous talent that lad