Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

DCM 2015: Mentored Novices Thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 791 ✭✭✭conor_mc

Well tonight was just horrific!

Took me 2 - yes 2 / hours to talk myself out the door. I knew once I put on my running gear I'd be flying but I just couldn't find the motivation to actually put on my runners. Eventually I copped on and got dressed. Was fine once I did.

For some reason I decided it was freezing out, wore running tights, a tshirt, and a light windcheater. It was not cold, in fact it's a lovely warm evening.

Where I live in surrounded by hills. No matter which direction I choose to go there will be a hill in the first km either followed by more short steep hills or a long drag. I was sweating from the get go. It took me 8 whole minutes to do my first km. I thought I'd be grand once I got over the hills and got a couple of km in. I was not. I struggled the entire way. I only had to do an easy 50 minutes. The shortest run I've done in ages! Because of my stupidly slow first km I decided to run out for 30 minutes and then all I had to do was run home. 27minutrs in and I stopped and said feck this I have to walk. I didn't walk, I just gave myself a good talking to to cop on and so I turned around and headed for home.

The whole thing was hard. All of it. My legs were barely lifting off the ground but my lungs thought I was sprinting. I was sweating buckets too!! My pace was erratic and inconsistent with an average of 7:30min/km!

Hated every single step. Was never so glad for it to be over.

Had to do 4 x 80 metre strides at the end (which were 100metres in reality). They were actually grand with the last one coming in at a pace of 3:30min/km - oh how I would love to run that fast in real life!!

It got done, but man it was horrible and ridiculously slow. I've another rest day tomorrow and then a parkrun Saturday :/

We all have bad days, but well done on going out for the first mile anyway, and then a second well done for sticking with it since you were out there anyway! ;)

It was discussed a few days back, but write off a bad run as one bad run and move on. Only if you see a trend developing of several bad/off-form runs in a row do you need to be concerned. Hopefully you'll bounce back Saturday after your rest day tomorrow.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,371 ✭✭✭Phoebas

Pink11 wrote: »
    Summary
    Time: 1:40:07
    Average pace: 9:06

(aiming for a 4 hour marathon (absolute dream time - I'm well aware the chances of me hitting this are on the floor!).

Happy enough - just spent the whole thing going to myself jeez I'll never be able to keep this pace up for 26 miles!!!

Found it hard to find my pacing tonight. I really had to rely on the garmin to guide me. Momentum was all over the place. I'm wrecked now!
    I'm in a similar position to yourself.
    I've got a 4hr dream time in mind and I did the RnR in 1:49:xx, so, on paper, a 4h marathon is possible.
    I also did Wednesday's run at a similar pace to yourself - which was a little bit faster than pmp, but while the run was comfortable enough, I have doubts about maintaining close to that pace for a full 26 miles.

I probably won't finally decide what time I'm going to aim for until the morning of the marathon itself. Weather conditions and how I'm feeling on the day - physically and mentally, or if I have any niggles on the day are all variables that will come into play, and I know that on some of my recent long runs, variations in humidity has really made a big difference in the pace that I can comfortably run at.

It took me a while to get my head around the idea that the closest us novices get to running a marathon is (depending on the plan) a run that is over 6 miles short of a marathon at a pace 30-60 seconds slower than pmp. I totally understand the logic of the cumulative effect of the training and the benefit of the taper and all that, so I'm on board with trusting the plan (to get me to the finish line), but I find it a bit of a leap into the unknown in trying to plan a pace that I can maintain.

I'd hate to be too optimistic, go for the 4h, blow up at 18 miles and end up really struggling just to finish. At the same time, I'd also hate to be too conservative and plan a 4:10 or 4:20, and at the end of it have a feeling that I could have done better. But I just don't know how to put all the numbers into the spreadsheet in my head and come up with the answer for this.
    Dubgal72 wrote: »
    Don't forget about the Half + 20 minute wiggle room tho for novices....just as a fall back. We'll be doing some dual-target talk in a few weeks where I will be tearing my hair out trying to convince the novices to keep two goals as their focus so should conditions/situation change as the day approaches, it will be quite organic to swap between the two.
    I'll definitely be tuning in for that conversation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 907 ✭✭✭JMSE

Well done everybody on all the midweek runs and even long slow runs too. Can't see how a novice marathon runner wouldn't be getting alarm bells ringing from anywhere on the lower body with the high mileage that's goin on.

I finished my 4th there around Palmerston chapelizod with a 4 to 5 miler I tried to be nippy doing, took 38 mins so I'd say 'twas 5. That makes 49 miles since this day last week, MAD. So a break now til Saturday and the lsr, where's the ice???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,585 ✭✭✭nop98

Howdy all - quick report about my feeble attempt at the 11M, 9M@PMP session.

Man, did I struggle. Somehow, I managed to convince a colleague to run with me during my visit to Seattle, WA. We went out at lunch-time in the blazing sunshine, it must have been 25/26C [not converting that to Fahrenheit, being gang-pressed into miles is enough] in the shadow, and a lot warmer in the sun without much of a breeze.

My colleague turns out to be this amazing triathlete / trail ultra-athlete. We met at the start of the Sammamish River Trail, which was, as far as I can recall, fabulous. As soon as I saw him in running gear I knew I was in trouble. I did impress DG's wrath on him if he would drag me along too fast, and despite a non-existing WU kilometre, I managed to keep y'r man from haring off too much. But the combination of the heat, humidy, tiredness from bad sleep, etc etc, made it a tough slog. I think I went about 20s per M too fast.

Positives: managed to stay on pace for the entire run, which probably meant almost 10M @PMP (bows head and anticipates punishment). I also somehow passed the conversation test, as we chatted all the way until about 15k [9+ M], when my buddy decided to 'stretch the legs' and leave me in his wake. A tough run in the bag. I met said colleague for dinner later and said I struggled, and he said he hadn't noticed at all.

Negatives: new niggles in right ankle, and a knock in confidence as this run was FAR harder than it should have been.

I am NOT running tomorrow or Saturday, folding myself in an airplane instead (as well as manic last minute shopping to compensate for absence from family) and am bricking the thought of a 15M on Sunday. Don't want to add to the fatigue convo above, but I hear you.

Splits:

1 8:48 (little to no WU, it was so warm and I was desperately being 'cool' and not suffering at all)
    2 8:51
    3 8:41
    4 8:52
    5 8:54
    6 8:43
    7 8:53
    8 8:44
    9 8:38
    10 9:22
    11 9:38

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,119 ✭✭✭Mrs Mc

Took me 2 - yes 2 / hours to talk myself out the door. I knew once I put on my running gear I'd be flying but I just couldn't find the motivation to actually put on my runners. Eventually I copped on and got dressed. Was fine once I did.

For some reason I decided it was freezing out, wore running tights, a tshirt, and a light windcheater. It was not cold, in fact it's a lovely warm evening.

Where I live in surrounded by hills. No matter which direction I choose to go there will be a hill in the first km either followed by more short steep hills or a long drag. I was sweating from the get go. It took me 8 whole minutes to do my first km. I thought I'd be grand once I got over the hills and got a couple of km in. I was not. I struggled the entire way. I only had to do an easy 50 minutes. The shortest run I've done in ages! Because of my stupidly slow first km I decided to run out for 30 minutes and then all I had to do was run home. 27minutrs in and I stopped and said feck this I have to walk. I didn't walk, I just gave myself a good talking to to cop on and so I turned around and headed for home.

The whole thing was hard. All of it. My legs were barely lifting off the ground but my lungs thought I was sprinting. I was sweating buckets too!! My pace was erratic and inconsistent with an average of 7:30min/km!

Hated every single step. Was never so glad for it to be over.

Had to do 4 x 80 metre strides at the end (which were 100metres in reality). They were actually grand with the last one coming in at a pace of 3:30min/km - oh how I would love to run that fast in real life!!

It got done, but man it was horrible and ridiculously slow. I've another rest day tomorrow and then a parkrun Saturday :/

Feel your pain :( but you got out and you did it so fair play :)

nop98 wrote: »

My colleague turns out to be this amazing triathlete / trail ultra-athlete.

I'm so sorry nop but I did laugh out loud at that one!!!

In fairness he was probably the right person to have as he understand all the muscle twitchy science :P

ratracer wrote: »
    I didn't get to run today :( When I got up this morning I had serious pain on my heel when I walked ( is this a symptom of PF??) I decided not to run, but throughout the day I did a good bit of stretching, tennis balling etc and it doesn't feel too bad now. Could feel a dose of cold/flu coming on too, have dosed up with hot lemsky, about to hit the cot and very hopeful I will get the LSR done in the morning, cos I have a family celebration tomorrow night, so Saturday could be a write off!!!

Chemist advised taking echinacea tablets I was feeling a cold coming on started taking them and it didn't ....she advised me to continue taking them coming up to October and gave me multivits too. So far so good.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,742 ✭✭✭ultraman1

https://ilovetorun.org/marathon-training-weight-gain-b-1555.html

Article on weight gain during marathon training,,may be bs as havent read it as life is too short to interupt my morning fry up

Mrs Mc wrote: »
    Feel your pain :( but you got out and you did it so fair play :)

It's bloody frustrating isn't it? Particularly when you know you are well well able for the distance. Sure we did it and that's all that the legs care about :)

I was particularly annoyed because Wednesday night I was itching to go out and was told not to! Typical sure :)

On the tiredness. I had a terrible night's sleep. I was awake later than usual, woke soon after to go to the loo :rolleyes: and then was awake for over an hour because the next door neighbours were having a loud party at 4 in the morning. On a bloody school night. I was so close to going in and saying "DON'T YOU KNOW I'M TRAINING FOR A MARATHON" >.< I eventually dozed back off around 4.30 and my alarm went off at 5.55. If anyone needs me I'll be asleep under my desk.

It's bloody frustrating isn't it? Particularly when you know you are well well able for the distance. Sure we did it and that's all that the legs care about :)

I was particularly annoyed because Wednesday night I was itching to go out and was told not to! Typical sure :)

On the tiredness. I had a terrible night's sleep. I was awake later than usual, woke soon after to go to the loo :rolleyes: and then was awake for over an hour because the next door neighbours were having a loud party at 4 in the morning. On a bloody school night. I was so close to going in and saying "DON'T YOU KNOW I'M TRAINING FOR A MARATHON" >.< I eventually dozed back off around 4.30 and my alarm went off at 5.55. If anyone needs me I'll be asleep under my desk.

Bed early tonight :) im off for 18 miles shortly hopefully Wednesday's disaster doesn't repeat itself !

Mrs Mc wrote: »
    Bed early tonight :) im off for 18 miles shortly hopefully Wednesday's disaster doesn't repeat itself !

It won't, you'll be buzzing once you're back. Beautiful morning for it (in Dublin only :P). Best of luck :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,630 ✭✭✭frash

I was told by my club captain last year that if you can do 10 miles at PMP a few weeks out, you're in good shape for the actual date.

Wouldn't we all be able to do 10 miles at PMP or faster a few weeks out?
    Anyone who raced the FD 10m or is racing the upcoming HM will be going faster than PMP.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,272 ✭✭✭Dubgal72

ratracer wrote: »
    I didn't get to run today :( When I got up this morning I had serious pain on my heel when I walked ( is this a symptom of PF??) I decided not to run, but throughout the day I did a good bit of stretching, tennis balling etc and it doesn't feel too bad now. Could feel a dose of cold/flu coming on too, have dosed up with hot lemsky, about to hit the cot and very hopeful I will get the LSR done in the morning, cos I have a family celebration tomorrow night, so Saturday could be a write off!!!

Hi ratracer, hope this is not too late for you. Don't be afraid to pull back if a) that cold is winning and b) the heel pain doesn't ease off during the run. No harm having it seen to, it can likely be managed now with plenty of proper calf stretching etc but a physio will be best placed to assess and advise. Enjoy the celebration, happy Friday :D

frash wrote: »
    Wouldn't we all be able to do 10 miles at PMP or faster a few weeks out?
    Anyone who raced the FD 10m or is racing the upcoming HM will be going faster than PMP.

Race and training situation are slightly different. 10 miles comfortably at PMP - in training - for a novice is good going. I probably should clarify: it's not a test which says you are now able to complete your distance at your desired pace, just a good sign that all is going well :)

Jake and Neady, I see you guys are racing this weekend. Best of luck! Looking forward to reading those race reports. Anyone else doing this?

Have a look at this too (my OCD, you will succumb :D ), you may find it useful.

By now ye will be resting up in advance of tomorrow's exertions. Early bed for all you racers tonight but first, a quick checklist:

Tonight
    - Number pinned on vest/t shirt, if no number yet, make sure you know of arrangements for pick up
    - Make sure you know where the start and finish are and bag drop off.
    - Racing gear laid out and warm up gear
    - Toenails trimmed?! (Not too short either...)
    - Change of clothes for after (no hanging around in damp running gear!)
    - baggage label (if using) attached to bag
    - pace band made if using
    - garmin or similar charged (*stifles yawn*)
    - race strategy committed to memory/final familiarisation with route
    - sunscreen left out to apply in am
    - water and recovery drink and snack packed
    - breakfast prepped
    - have your 'getting to venue plan' nailed (allowing plenty of time!). Find out where loo facilities are (in case no bushes ;) )
    - set your alarm

...now you can go to bed

Tomorrow
    - get up
    - get to the startline in plenty of time to get yourself orientated, queue for loo (or just find a bush), drop your bag and warm up.
    - warm up: ease back on the warm up if the temperature is already rising, reduce intensity (should be v easy anyway) and duration
    - deep breaths, get in the zone/focus but most importantly, stay relaxed.

And you're off....

- if you get caught by congestion at the start DO NOT WEAVE IN AND OUT to *gain* places. You will only add distance to your race, how would you feel if marshals started moving the finish line away from you as you approached it? That is what you are doing by weaving. Sit tight and wait for the crowd to thin out. It will.
    - similarly, if you get caught in the first mile, do NOT play catch up. Plan to catch up gradually
    - remind yourself of your mantra now and then, not just when the going is getting tough
    - smile and say thank you to stewards, marshals, water and gel support
    - don't forget to acknowledge that pain: focus on where it is (thighs/lungs/diaphragm etc), zone in on it, say hello then let it go. This will trick your brain into accepting it. Panicking over pain sends your brain into full battle alert. Acknowledging the pain tricks your brain into remaining a calm engine of zen

Throughout...

Breathe

Run tall

Relax

Smile

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,415 ✭✭✭Singer

nop98 wrote: »
    Howdy all - quick report about my feeble attempt at the 11M, 9M@PMP session.

Man, did I struggle.

Hi, my name is Singer and I also had a crappy run yesterday :o

I ended up pushing out the 11 miler to yesterday, but ended up doing a 9 mile commute home at PMP and couldn't wait for it to end. I had eaten not long before setting off so it was predictably a little uncomfortable at times, but I was generally feeling a bit meh as well throughout. I'm not majorly bummed as I'd done a few more miles than was on plan during the week (relatively slowly ;) ), but the rest reminder posted last night was well timed!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,038 ✭✭✭Neady83

Jake and Neady, I see you guys are racing this weekend. Best of luck! Looking forward to reading those race reports. Anyone else doing this?

Thanks for the advice Dubgal :) Looking forward to tomorrow. I've swapped the two weeks around so tomorrow will be 1 mile WU, half at PMP, 1 mile CD.

The porridge is already soaking in the fridge and ready for eating in the morning. Change of clothes is packed and ready to go, just need to get myself to the start line :) oh and do some work today ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 259 ✭✭duffer247

Oh sorry to hear that duffer, check your PMs, I sent you one a few days ago re a physio. Ikea is starting to have a lot to answer for on this thread. Perhaps we should introduce an Ikea ban from september until November?! Don't beat yourself up and no harm to book an appt with physical therapist or physio.

Yes, just picked that up this morning, thanks dg
    Took a gentle run out yesterday evening just to see if it was anything more then a 'pulse' down the back of my leg. Delighted to hear the 1 mile ping from the garmin with no ill effects. Continued to 2.5 miles and headed for home - easy does it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 259 ✭✭duffer247

Anybody else find themselves waking up to go to the toilet during the night? It's become a nightly occurrence for me recently - is it part of the increased hydration i.e. drinking more water more often? Or am I getting the hydration wrong - or am I getting paranoid about everything must be related to the plan! ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,415 ✭✭✭Singer

duffer247 wrote: »
    Anybody else find themselves waking up to go to the toilet during the night? It's become a nightly occurrence for me recently - is it part of the increased hydration i.e. drinking more water more often? Or am I getting the hydration wrong - or am I getting paranoid about everything must be related to the plan! ;)

Yes, me too!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 375 ✭✭Battery Kinzie

I'm not doing the DCM, but am thinking of doing the Clontarf HM in 10 weeks, and I'm a definite novice. Can I use this thread for asking advice and all, or is there somewhere else? I don't want to be clogging up this thread with posts that shouldn't be here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,447 ✭✭✭FBOT01

By now ye will be resting up in advance of tomorrow's exertions. Early bed for all you racers tonight but first, a quick checklist:

Tonight
    - Number pinned on vest/t shirt, if no number yet, make sure you know of arrangements for pick up
    - breakfast prepped
    - have your 'getting to venue plan' nailed (allowing plenty of time!). Find out where loo facilities are (in case no bushes ;) )
    - set your alarm

...now you can go to bed

Tomorrow
    - get up
    - get to the startline in plenty of time to get yourself orientated, queue for loo (or just find a bush), drop your bags, pull them back up when finished and warm up.
    - warm up: ease back on the warm up if the temperature is already rising, reduce intensity (should be v easy anyway) and duration

And you're off....

- if you get caught by congestion at the start DO NOT WEAVE IN AND OUT to *gain* places. You will only add distance to your race, how would you feel if marshals started moving the finish line away from you as you approached it? That is what you are doing by weaving. Sit tight and wait for the crowd to thin out. It will.
    - similarly, if you get caught in the first mile, do NOT play catch up. Plan to catch up gradually
    - remind yourself of your mantra now and then, not just when the going is getting tough
    - don't forget to acknowledge that pain: focus on where it is (thighs/lungs/diaphragm etc), zone in on it, say hello then let it go. This will trick your brain into accepting it. Panicking over pain sends your brain into full battle alert. Acknowledging the pain tricks your brain into remaining a calm engine of zen

Throughout...

Breathe

Run tall

Relax

Smile

FYP ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,015 ✭✭✭jake1970

Tonight
    - breakfast prepped
    - set your alarm

...now you can go to bed

Tomorrow
    - get up
    - get to the startline in plenty of time to get yourself orientated, queue for loo (or just find a bush), drop your bag and warm up.

And you're off....

Throughout...

Breathe

Run tall

Relax

Smile

Thanks for that Dubgal, i think you covered everything there:)

Best of luck Neady.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,038 ✭✭✭Neady83

jake1970 wrote: »
    Thanks for that Dubgal, i think you covered everything there:)

Best of luck Neady.

You too Jake :)

Strange question but has anyone else begun to crave any particular food? I've realised that I am addicted to avocados, a food that I was indifferent to before. Not the worst food in the world to crave but it's a weird feeling, I was thinking maybe there's something in it my body is lacking. Just me or are ye having similar cravings?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,413 ✭✭✭Toulouse

Strange question but has anyone else begun to crave any particular food? I've realised that I am addicted to avocados, a food that I was indifferent to before. Not the worst food in the world to crave but it's a weird feeling, I was thinking maybe there's something in it my body is lacking. Just me or are ye having similar cravings?

Pretty much over my strange buttercream cravings but am now addicted to the smell of Tiger Balm.

Mmmmm, tiiiiiiiger baaaaaalm.

I'm still alive, had a few days off work this week so that was nice. Ran 4 miles Monday, 8 on Tuesday and 5 on Wednesday. 12 miler in the morning and apart from a recovery 4 miles on Sunday, that's another week down.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,457 ✭✭✭ZV Yoda

8 miles done this am. No major niggles or pains. So far, so good!

I switched to my previous Nike's yesterday & will continue to use them for the next week or so. I want to figure out if the new NB runners were causing the foot pain last week.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,009 ✭✭✭Firedance

Toulouse wrote: »
    Mmmmm, tiiiiiiiger baaaaaalm.

me too :D its always good to know there are others who are just as crazy slightly odd as you are

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 541 ✭✭✭smashiner

Red&Black Jelly Babies and Chocolate milk (Moo-Ju)....not together mind you!! Also liking the Aldi Moser Roth Dark Chocolate...not before a run though..:eek:.

My friend (also doing the DCM) is eating buckets and buckets of fresh Cashew nuts as his new found craving.....each to their own.......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,386 ✭✭✭diego_b

Maybe peanut butter, I would eat it on anything now!