Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

DCM 2015: Mentored Novices Thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,272 ✭✭✭Dubgal72

Mrs Mc wrote: »
    Well had a sh*te run tonight. 8 miles easy on the plan. Dropped the youngest to GAA training and left my car at the club heading out the clontarf road. First few miles went grand nice and steady legs loosed out by 2/3 miles. Lovely evening passing a few Raheny shamrocks out doing their training saying our hellos on the waypast. From mile 4 on the calves started to tighten and the Achilles started to hurt. As I pushed through I thought about LSR brought forward to Friday and didn't want to jeopardise that. Also remembered DG posting about the % of 3 missed miles v's the overall miles. Stopped and stretched at 5 miles and started again. Decided to listen to the body and pack it in at that stage. Rang the hubby to come get me. Not sure if it's a combination of increased miles and tiredness but really feeling it this week as do a lot others it seems or whether I'm missing my running buddies as I haven't had to do too many long miles on my own recently as I found tonight tough. Anyway home now had food just finished stretching and going to get to bed early tonight. Rest day tomorrow.
    Sounds like a good call, chalk it up and move on. Also see NE's post above. Now get to bed early (*runs off to practice what she preaches*)
    Night :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,915 ✭✭✭✭menoscemo

Dubgal72 wrote: »
    It's not a good idea to weight your weekly total on the lsr. Anyone I've seen do this has failed miserably and painfully come marathon day :( It's also a sure fire road to injury...We don't want that for you...

Far better to spread the load over the rest of the week, hence our gentle nagging nudging to up the number of days running to 4 minimum, five better.
    smashiner wrote: »
    IMO with only 5 weeks of heavy training left, the shorter runs should be a prepp for the LSR's at this stage and skipping the odd small run will do no harm so long as the LSR goes well at the weekend.......best of luck.

*cough* You are completely contradicting the Boss Lady here Smashy * Cough* :eek:

FWIW, My opinion is that yes we do all have some bad runs but several bad short/midweek runs in a row can be an indicator of pushing the body too hard on weekend Long runs. If it's taking all week to recover from a long run then you are probably running them too fast. It mightn't have felt too fast a few weeks ago but now the mileage has increased these things will be magnified.

Just a general reminder to keep the pace down; we did warn yee :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 541 ✭✭✭smashiner

menoscemo wrote: »
    *cough* You are completely contradicting the Boss Lady here Smashy * Cough* :eek:

FWIW, My opinion is that yes we do all have some bad runs but several bad short/midweek runs in a row can be an indicator of pushing the body too hard on weekend Long runs. If it's taking all week to recover from a long run then you are probably running them too fast. It mightn't have felt too fast a few weeks ago but now the mileage has increased these things will be magnified.

Just a general reminder to keep the pace down; we did warn yee :p

No offence intended Boss....please don't banish me to the moon....it is lonely up there :eek:
    Just felt that skipping an odd short run due to tiredness/fatigue/niggle is not a bad thing at this stage in lieu of a good quality LSR........gonna back away slowly.....back away slowly :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,386 ✭✭✭diego_b

Headed out for the 1m w/u 9m pace 1m c/d around half 5 this evening and was very happy with. Warmup mile was a small bit faster than planned, also my heart rate monitor gave up the ghost for some reason so was proper running on feel there afterwards. Splits as follows:

9:47
    9:35
    9:25
    9:29
    9:23
    9:29 (turned in the start of this mile so lost a few seconds)
    9:26
    9:28
    10:41

Really loved the splits on that run and I was running comfortable throughout, generally these runs I do them down nearer to 9min/mi but given the race last weekend and listening to what Dubgal advised earlier I would see if I could stay around 9:30min/mi.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,009 ✭✭✭Firedance

smashiner wrote: »
    No offence intended Boss....please don't banish me to the moon....it is lonely up there :eek:
    Just felt that skipping an odd short run due to tiredness/fatigue/niggle is not a bad thing at this stage in lieu of a good quality LSR........gonna back away slowly.....back away slowly :D

:D sounds about right Smash!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 723 ✭✭✭Pink11

Well, thank god I did my LSR on Monday....

Had session 2 of the root canal today. Was supposed to be the last 1/5 hours to finish up. However, I was 3 and a half hours on the chair with my mouth open having my teeth drilled away at! Had to keep topping up the anesthetic because it used to wear off and I could feel the pain as the roots were so inflamed from all the poking!

One of the roots was curved and dentist had to make three attempts on it... finally she decided I'll need to have it done on some specialist machine next week as it's so small they need a micro-scope. So have another session to look forward to next week.

In light of this today was a write off and possibly tomorrow but they told me that as soon as I can tolerate the thumping sensation of running again I'm ok to train - I won't do any damage. I'll be in pain for about 5 days given the intensity she said - on anti biotics and pain killers. Then back next Wednesday for another dose. I hope I can do the HM next Saturday after it. Will ask for extra strong pain relief!!

No idea how I'll sleep tonight. The pain!!

Sorry to repeat myself but please, please, please if you have a toothache get it looked at immediately! I flagged this slight ache to my dentist back in January who said a filling would suffice. Went back again 2 months later as the pain got worse, she replaced the filling but the pain persisted. Got a second opinion and by that stage I needed a root canal. Trust your gut!!

Never took much notice when people complained of tooth ache before, I'll be very quick to sympathize next time!!!

Sorry for the pointless, unrelated to running post. Just feeling sorry for myself. Bought a galaxy carmel in spar on the way home - that will help haha! Will be fine again in a few days just upset that it makes me miss out on training. As the weeks drawn closer I was getting so excited and watching myself improve and to think something as dumb as this will put a dent in my training is disappointing. Not looking for a response as said, just wanted to whinge. I feel better already!!! Sorry for the time wasting.

On tiredness:

Totally agree guys! Obviously I have other factors at the moment but I have noticed as the training increased I have felt zonked at work etc. I'm not necessarily sleeping more, I just feel tired. I guess my body is still getting used to such high mileage. I mean the 20 mile run I did on Monday was the longest I ever ran in my life in one go!

I'm so consumed with this that at work I'm thinking about my training and mentally planning ahead. I presume everyone is the same? It's such a big thing in our life right now.

I honestly don't know how those of you with kids juggle and find the time to do this. Especially with the bunk up in the mileage, fair play on finding the time to get out there and complete the runs!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 723 ✭✭✭Pink11

Cheers whoops and Denis b

All ok with the youngest he has been in and out of Crumlin since he was born in January, won't go into details. Just a precaution tonight luckily he is tucked up in bed now ready to wake the house at 5:30am.

Just reading this and had to comment.

Delighted your baby is alright and safe at home.

You and your wife are super to be out running so soon! Best wishes to you both!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 907 ✭✭✭JMSE

Sitting here just in from the night shift with an icepack on left knee and another on the right inside ankle :D, count me in for the achey brakey parts at this stage of the week too, nothin big, just I find ice is great to get the repairs underway if theres a worry. When things arent busy I get a few hours free in the middle of the night so if I've brought the runners then it'd be rude not to put them on. So off around Sandyford Stillorgan Goatstown I went, even found Roebuck Road and did the dreaded 'heartbreak hill' - its the kind of incline that would cause problems BUT its really not long enough to do that so am not gonna worry about that anymore.

I got an 11 mile 'slower' run done in the wee small hours when it was just me and the 10 foxes I counted and a few taximen but otherwise the suburban roads are like country lanes at that hour and you can run up the middle of them if you want. 13 or 14 degrees and balmy but here and there you come into pockets of really cold air for a few steps and then its gone again, weird, never felt that before. Another weird one was the sight a passing driver had of me on the back of my trailer foam rolling at 2.15am in a pair of shorts and t-shirt - I'd say that fecked his night right up just thinkin WTF ?! :)

So Dubgal I hope you approve of my slowing-it-down attempt, I aimed for ten miles at 9mins each and brought mapmyrun with me to make it happen, heres what happened:

Thats about 10% of a slow down honestly, don't be worryin about my endurance, I'll show ya !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 83 ✭✭Chops1234

Sorry whoops my username is deceptive, i'm actually the dad :) . Although my wife is training for a HM so yes she is the superhero

Wow fair play to her. And you too with such a young baby. Glad to hear the little one is ok.

I *may* have killed my other half if he decided he was training for a marathon when the kids were that small lol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,119 ✭✭✭Mrs Mc

Pink that root canal sounds awful mind yourself actually grimacing in pain here reading your post hate the dentist would run two marathons in a row rather than have root canal ..... But will stick with the 1 for the moment !

gosh Pink that sounds awful, you poor thing! hopefully the next session will see it done and dusted and in the meantime look after yourself won't you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,015 ✭✭✭jake1970

Dubgal72 wrote: »
    Haha excellent and good point, something to keep ye lot distracted during taper time

actually am seriously thinking of calling in sick for taper time :D
    A bit of taper madness this week for HM Saturday,
    what will i be like for DCM :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,776 ✭✭✭This Fat Girl Runs

Pink, I really feel for you. Oh my gosh do I ever. I've had similar tooth troubles before and wouldn't wish it on my worst enemy! (Not that I have enemies!). I really admire you for wanting to get out and run even with the pain!

I really hope it's over soon and you can get back out without having to worry about every single jarring step. I think your determination not to let this affect your training will stand you in good stead.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,324 ✭✭✭chrislad

My race number actually arrived yesterday. I'm still pondering whether I should race it and go for sub 2 hours (like 1:59:59!) or just stick to PMP of about 2:10 - 2:15.

chrislad wrote: »
    My race number actually arrived yesterday. I'm still pondering whether I should race it and go for sub 2 hours (like 1:59:59!) or just stick to PMP of about 2:10 - 2:15.

Unless you have recently raced a half or 10 miler; there's a lot more to be gained and learned from racing it.
    What will you learn from a 13 mile run at PMP? You could do that in training.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,970 ✭✭✭aquinn

Fantastic two hour pacer for the half.

menoscemo wrote: »
    Unless you have recently raced a half or 10 miler; there's a lot more to be gained and learned from racing it.
    What will you learn from a 13 mile run at PMP? You could do that in training.

I've not done any races, excluding any parkruns, since the Great Limerick Run in May, so I may as well. I'm just very conscious of injuring myself!

Who's the 2 hour pacer then? :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,272 ✭✭✭Dubgal72

diego_b wrote: »
    Headed out for the 1m w/u 9m pace 1m c/d around half 5 this evening and was very happy with. Warmup mile was a small bit faster than planned, also my heart rate monitor gave up the ghost for some reason so was proper running on feel there afterwards. Splits as follows:

9:47
    9:35
    9:29
    9:23
    9:29 (turned in the start of this mile so lost a few seconds)
    9:28
    10:41

Really loved the splits on that run and I was running comfortable throughout, generally these runs I do them down nearer to 9min/mi but given the race last weekend and listening to what Dubgal advised earlier I would see if I could stay around 9:30min/mi.
    You sure were, am impressed! Nice going and good that you kept it comfortable after the race :) Easy easy miles and rest now until lsr ok :)
    JMSE wrote: »
    Sitting here just in from the night shift with an icepack on left knee and another on the right inside ankle :D, count me in for the achey brakey parts at this stage of the week too, nothin big, just I find ice is great to get the repairs underway if theres a worry. When things arent busy I get a few hours free in the middle of the night so if I've brought the runners then it'd be rude not to put them on. So off around Sandyford Stillorgan Goatstown I went, even found Roebuck Road and did the dreaded 'heartbreak hill' - its the kind of incline that would cause problems BUT its really not long enough to do that so am not gonna worry about that anymore.

I got an 11 mile 'slower' run done in the wee small hours when it was just me and the 10 foxes I counted and a few taximen but otherwise the suburban roads are like country lanes at that hour and you can run up the middle of them if you want. 13 or 14 degrees and balmy but here and there you come into pockets of really cold air for a few steps and then its gone again, weird, never felt that before. Another weird one was the sight a passing driver had of me on the back of my trailer foam rolling at 2.15am in a pair of shorts and t-shirt - I'd say that fecked his night right up just thinkin WTF ?! :)

So Dubgal I hope you approve of my slowing-it-down attempt, I aimed for ten miles at 9mins each and brought mapmyrun with me to make it happen, heres what happened:

Thats about 10% of a slow down honestly, don't be worryin about my endurance, I'll show ya !
    Hehe great report there of your ghost running. I'd say you tripped that driver out alright :pac: And nice going on what we'll call the PMP run ;):p Hope the niggles behave. Don't forget, the physio is your friend....
    I've not done any races, excluding any parkruns, since the Great Limerick Run in May, so I may as well. I'm just very conscious of injuring myself!

Hi chrislad, +1 to meno's advice, you've been building well, this will be a good opportunity to test it all. Don't worry about injury from racing: you have far more chance of injury from not warming up/cooling down properly, not stretching in a timely manner, building too quickly, over training, not recovering enough, not seeing to a niggle in good time or....falling off the pavement. You'll be grand :)

apart from you now chrislad :p AFAIK one of the two hour pacers is the super inspiring marthastew so you'll be in excellent hands (as will the other pace groups!)

Firedance wrote: »
    apart from you now chrislad :p AFAIK one of the two hour pacers is the super inspiring marthastew so you'll be in excellent hands (as will the other pace groups!)

Is she strong? As she may have to carry me :D

Firedance wrote: »

Marthastew + Mr Stew

Mr Stew's a big strong guy alright!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,457 ✭✭✭ZV Yoda

Well, I'm back. Electric Picnic recovery took longer than expected. It didn't help that I had to pull an all-nighter last Thurs to finish my final college assignment, followed by 3 nights of little / no sleep at the Picnic. Maybe it's time I hung up my festival boots & leave the welly dancing to the youngsters.

Anyway, on a positive note, the dodgy foot seems to have recovered. I went out for my first run in 8 days this morning. 4 easy miles. I'm back in the saddle. Will do 8 tomorrow, then a 12 mile lsr on Sun. I won't be attempting to catch up on lost miles, so I hope the layoff won't affect me too badly in advance of the HM next week.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 259 ✭✭duffer247

Glad to see I'm not alone in a difficult week so far.
    Life events, particularly my work situation, have been getting in the way. I skipped Tuesday's 4 mile reluctantly and headed out yesterday evening - after 1km warming up I felt an unmistakable twinge in my left hamstring, I found myself saying OH! out loud. I have a history with my tight hamstrings but never in running. I stopped turned around and walked home with no other twinges or concerns. I got very angry with myself as I feel it was poor judgement going out. I hadn't slept the night before, not really eaten much and was quite anxious in the lead up to a job interview that day. I had then spent most of the evening doubled over putting together an Ikea wardrobe! And then to decided to go running.
    Very frustrating altogether but a lesson learned as others have pointed out, I need to consider training as a package not in isolation that I can just decide to do at a whim.

She will chat you over the line and keep you seriously motivated don't think I've ever see her not smiling and full of chatter wish she was doing 4.30 pacer in DCM :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,742 ✭✭✭ultraman1

She will chat you over the line and keep you seriously motivated don't think I've ever see her not smiling and full of chatter wish she was doing 4.30 pacer in DCM :)
    Ur stuck with me on that one...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,677 ✭✭✭kit3

ultraman1 wrote: »

You'll know all about making chocolate cake by the time you're finished Mrs Mc ;)

ultraman1 wrote: »

Oh nice one and are you a nice encouraging pacer ???? :)

kit3 wrote: »
    You'll know all about making chocolate cake by the time you're finished Mrs Mc ;)

As long as it gets me over the line I'll talk about absolutely anything !!! Although not sure I'll be able to do much talking !! Will be in the zone :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,371 ✭✭✭Phoebas

Will be in the zone :)

The zone of pain or the zone of despair?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,921 ✭✭✭Kennyg71

Nice lisurely 6.25 miles done this evening in ST Anne's
    1.07 hrs avg 10.42. No where to rush today. Lots of
    Slow twitch harvesting done.

Relatively niggle free week. Looking forward to 18 on
    Sunday with 10 PMP miles.