If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Its all about Time...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,747 ✭✭✭MisterDrak

Sunday 23/08 - LSR

Not much to report bar the lashing rain and the lack of lads running from the clubhouse. Headed out with a small crew, happy get anything more that 6 miles, given the residual tiredness and conditions.

Broke off from the lads at mile 4, as they hadn't run the previous day and were upping the pace. Totally soaked and ditched the short and ran in shorts only for the last 3 miles.

6.8 miles in 53mins for 7:53 avg.

https://connect.garmin.com/activity/875874240

Wreaked all day and had to go back to bed for an hour :)

Tuesday - Tempo - 25/08/2015

With meetings and calls running later and work, and an appointment at 7:30, I had little time to run after work. Opted for a tempo on the Raheny 5 course, and try to get it down in around 35 mins. Also had to do this on my own as the lads were already out and running longer...

Almost no warmup as I didn't have the time. Started out reasonably well for first 2-3 miles, then the residual fatigue from the Frank Duffy started to take over. Harder and harder to hold sub 7 pace. Finished off with 34:56 for the 5 miles and 6:59 avg.

Happy enough to get some pace work done.

https://connect.garmin.com/activity/877904700

Wednesday 26/08/2015 - Gym for light workout, stretches and core.

Thursday - 27/08/2015 - PP Easy

Just landed a big new contract in work, so celebrated by going for a lunch time run, (most others would hit the pub for a few pints or bubbles), just goes to prove that us runners are mostly mad...

Opted for the trails, rather that the roads of the park, with a large group of deer blocking the way in parts of the 40 acres. They looked unconcerned with me...

6.5 miles easy in 52mins @ 7:57 avg.

https://connect.garmin.com/activity/879159636

Saturday - 5*400 in ALSAA.

2.2 mile easy on the grass and some dynamics. Just 5*400, @ around 90sec per lap. more a turnover session that a proper track.

Sunday - LSR

Headed out with some of the faster lads, and my usual group were racing down the country and not around. Damo, B Rowe, and Will for a fast few miles from the clubhouse. Had to drop off the pace @ mile 5, as the lads were casually chatting, and I was blowing hard. Still a good laugh and banter for 9 miles in 1:06 for 7:22 avg.

https://connect.garmin.com/activity/883382201

02/09/2015 Wednesday - Easy.

Just some easy mile along the coast road and Portmarnock beach while the younger son was in the gym.
    3.6 miles in 28 minutes for 7:42 avg.

03/09/2015 - Thursday - PP

Normal lunch time run in the PP. Normally take a short Taxi back to The Morrison and walk back to the office, however possibly a sign of the times, but now all of the taxi are full at lunch :mad::mad::mad:. Decided to job back mostly to my office, dodging walkers and stopping at traffic lights, not to pleasant..

https://connect.garmin.com/activity/886646765

07/09/2015 Sunday - LSR

LSR with the Lads, given that my normal running buddy JF is crocked, im now running (trying to run) with one of the faster groups, Maria, Damo, Damien and BK. After four fast'ish miles and I got dropped, but after a mile more the lads stop and wait for me, then usher me to the front and continue the torment... Opted to drop off for last 2 miles...

https://connect.garmin.com/activity/891854311

12.05 miles in 1:27 for 7:18 avg.

08/09/2015 - Monday - Easy

Just 4.5 easy miles from the house to the pitches and back. Right leg giving some problems.

09/09/2015 - Tuesday - Steady-ish

Niggles everywhere... Opted to do this easier than normal, and just get the miles in. Also running on my own and so no massive motivation, yet a lovely day to run the Dollymount and the coast road.

https://connect.garmin.com/activity/892851355

7.1 miles in 55mins for 7:42avg.

Left leg hanging off when I got home, a few days rest is definitely called for.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,237 ✭✭✭AuldManKing

^^^

Some nice paces in there - must be feeling good. What's the race plans?

^^^

Some nice paces in there - must be feeling good. What's the race plans?

A, Long time and all that !!!

Feeling reasonably good at the moment, but paces and strength still off 2013 levels. As you can see from the log, im not following any sort of a plan, just enjoying the running with some of the club lads at the moment.

Probably to many steady type runs, and not enough track / LT sessions. Still without a definite goal race and time, the running tends to go that way...

Signed up for the Dublin half next Saturday and the Athlone 3/4 at the start of October. After that nothing else planned, bar a few Raheny club runs..

Your training well at the moment, some nice session stuff in there and plenty of pace and structure (as usual)... I see Rotterdam mentioned in there ???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,237 ✭✭✭AuldManKing

Took a sabbatical from Boards, but back with a bang now! Good to catch up (virtually).

I seen you at the 10 mile race with Lorraine (work colleague), but I was helping out so couldn't go over for a chat. Nice to see you running well again.

I'm strongly considering Rotterdam for April '16 - but Paris might also be an option.

Week starting 07/09

Niggles and pain everywhere... After the Tuesday steady run, the left leg about the knee was hanging off, the right knee also giving a sharp pain, when standing. Booked in for a physio for the Friday and stayed off running, as it would only make matters worse.

11/09/2015 - Sports Med Ireland - Pain fest with Eva... Worst ever.:mad::mad::mad:

Sunday 13/09/2015

The last few Sundays I have been roped into running with the faster groups and its no fun hanging on at the back for mile after mile. Opted to run on my todd, and do Howth hill for a bit of verity. Clubhouse to Howth Village, summit Sutton cross and back for 12.4 miles in 1:33 for 7:34 (and 500 feet of climbing)... Lovely run, and with the mixed effort levels, and the views of Dublin bay running down from summit, its one of the special loops.

https://connect.garmin.com/activity/898266584

Tuesday 15/09/2015

Steady Beach run, got out of work early and decided on the parks and beach run. Nice sunny day and a high time made for a lovely 1 hour run for 8 miles.

https://connect.garmin.com/activity/900232686

Thursday 17/09/2015 - Easy

Just easy miles around Malahide on the grass in the morning as I had the next two days off for the house move.

Saturday 19/09/2015 - Dublin Half.

Totally underestimated the amount of effort in a house move, and as a result endless trips between houses, loading the Truck and both cars. The tramping up stairs and back down again endlessly. Lastly trying to sleep in a new house left me is a slightly stressed and listless state before the race.

I decided well before the off, to just run this as a hard effort, rather that at race pace for fear of blowing up in the latter stages. Also the motivation was mostly lacking and the mind on other things house related....

Only got in a 1 mile warm-up, as we were late getting to the PP, and without brekie. Lined up at the back of wave 1 and waited the 3-4 minutes before the off in what I have say were great running conditions.

First few miles just settling in, pretty tight in the crowds running down wellington road, steady back on Chesterfield, and took on water at mile 3 as I seemed to be pretty dehydrated. Miles 1,2,3 (7:17, 7:19, 7:09). Got a big cheer out from Mrs-Drak and JF at the roundabout at the North Road before Mile 5, before the mile 5 marker and the turn on to Whites Road. Out of the park and down Tower road offered some down hill respite. Mile 4,5,6,7 (7:12, 7:07, 7:04 6:57).

Always seem to run well on Chesterfield Rd, with the combination of flat straight road, good surface and loads of support, I slightly upped the pace here and pushed ahead. Miles 8,9,10 (7:01, 6:49, 6:48). Out of the park at mile 10 and back along Chapelizod road and the traffic at a standstill. Still moving past slower runners every few minutes helped motivation. Back into the park and St Marys hill awaited. Energy levels well depleted at this stage and I really just wanted to finish up the run and get home. Last few miles 6:49, 7:22, 7:27. For a 1:33:35 finish in 7:05 avg.

https://connect.garmin.com/activity/905528559

Nice to get a medal off AMK, and a few words of encouragement and a sweaty handshake...

Sunday 20/09 - Easy.

Planned a 6 mile odd, but only mustered a 4.7 @ easy pace around St Annes on the grass. Totally empty and not a nice relaxing run , all told.

https://connect.garmin.com/activity/905528579

Sunday 27/09 - LSR

A desert of running, otherwise known as no running for a full week. Not sure if the mojo is taking a beating, or the house move has put the kibosh on it...

With the Athlone 3/4 in a week and no long runs to speak of I needed to go long, so opted for a solitary run from the clubhouse around Clontarf, Fairview, Raheny and Sutton. Stashed a bottle and a gel on the bottom of causeway road at around mile 7. Headed out at 7:50am for an Steady run pace (7:30), and lovely sunny weather to boot. Took on the water and Gel at around 8.5. Bomped into JF "driving the 20 mile marathon bus with 12 passengers" on my way back to the clubhouse...

14.8 miles in 1:50:50 for 7:29 avg. Grand...

https://connect.garmin.com/activity/912340763

Later got news from the berlin lads that Mick C had run 2:15:32 to finish 29th... Good lad I can start saving for my Rio Ticket :) :cool::cool::cool:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,121 ✭✭✭tang1

Ah you'll be grand in Athlone, rolling route till last two miles where the pain will kick in:p:p

tang1 wrote: »
    Ah you'll be grand in Athlone, rolling route till last two miles where the pain will kick in:p:p

Id say the pain will be kicking in well before 17miles, Im as stiff as a poker today... Say hello if you see the Raheny vest on Sunday, I don't think to many of the lads are doing it...

MisterDrak wrote: »
    Id say the pain will be kicking in well before 17miles, Im as stiff as a poker today... Say hello if you see the Raheny vest on Sunday, I don't think to many of the lads are doing it...

Will do, i'll be just before ten miles at a crossroads giving support.

Sunday 04/10/2015

Missed the Athlone 3/4 due to family stuff, just to much pressure to get down, run and get back in time. Anyway probably just as well really as the body let me down badly on the local Sunday run with the lads. 13.4 miles @ steady ish pace with JF, and the girls. Got dropped around Fairview Park with the body just not responding to any impetus.

Anyway happy to have got in 13.4 miles, with a Gel and Water @ mile 8ish.
    https://connect.garmin.com/dashboard?cid=337808

Thursday 08/10/2015 - PP

Short lunch time run before the board meeting, in some cracking weather at 16c. Just easy paced for 6 mile @ 7:47avg.

https://connect.garmin.com/activity/921842631

Thinking I didn't see you Sunday alright.

tang1 wrote: »
    Thinking I didn't see you Sunday alright.

T,

Was in two mind about the race until early Sunday morning, but just to much other stuff... Anyway as a mark of respect I duly removed the shirt on the Raheny run for the last few miles :)

Some great photos from the race, I definitely give it a go next year...

11/10/2015 - Sunday LSR

Got down to the club late, just in time to see the groups disappear into the distance. Got the Garmin signal almost immediately and set off in hot lukewarm pursuit. Caught the first group after a mile and exchanged a few works with Johnny (the pack horse ) F. Caught the second group about 5 minutes later, again exchanged some brief words.

No chance in catching JF and Maria, as there were out front, running 22m at steady pace. Opted to run the shorted loop and head for home. Finished up with 8 miles at an easy 8:00m/m in 1:04

https://connect.garmin.com/activity/928307005

15/10/2015 - Tempo Thursday.

With the lack of target races, and the on-going House issues, the run volume is diminishing. Reviewed some of my run logs from 2012 by way of motivation and decided on a Tempo on the Raheny 5 loop, to gauge where the pace was.

2.2 mile warm-up, followed by a 3 minute rest. 5 mile tempo, with following splits:-
    6:46,
    6:40,
    6:30,
    6:34,
    6:41
    and a 1.2 mile cool down.

https://connect.garmin.com/activity/929090836

8 odd miles in total, with the 5 miler @ 6:38 avg in 33:12.. Happy out...

Saturday 17/10 - Parkrun St Annes.

With the temporary accommodation in Portmarnock, not to far from Raheny, I decided upon St Annes Parkrun, as opposed to the new Fr Collins Park run, which I might do next week instead.
    Great autumn day for a short run, with temps around 12c and strong sun. About 280 down for the run, and settled into the pack 7-8 rows from the front, and off immediately. Settled into a steady run, and nice to run "relatively" fast again. Negotiated the few bents and twists of the park before getting back onto the main avenue, first mile in 6:22. Continued holding my position, and reeled in a few others, and onto the second lap, Mile 2 6:33. Last mile and the 20 minute pacer and a small fragmenting group just ahead. Pushed the pace on the avenue with the last mile in 6:25, sprinted to the line and over in 19:58 for 22nd place and 6:24avg.

Grand for a Saturday morning and first sub 20 5K for 2015... Happy with that.
    https://connect.garmin.com/activity/932062993

Sunday LSR - 18/10

8.5 miles mostly on my own, and the fast lads were off at 7:00 pace, so let them at it. just over an Hour running on the mostly standard loop for 1 hour.

https://connect.garmin.com/activity/932063006

ALSAA Track Series - 1 Miler (20/Oct)

Never having run track race before, was not sure what to expect. Registered, and got in a short 1.5 mile warm-up on a wet, windy and dark track, with Dave L (DL), one of the Raheny lads, I ran with some years ago.

Race director called for 2 race standards, +6 minutes and sub 6 minutes. I went for the +6min along with the other old lads, which numbered about 20 in total. Also some ample support for other club mates and MrsDrak dressed up like a snow-woman...

Set off and I settled into 3rd place behind DL and Grey Shorts guy (similar vintages to myself), went through the first 400 in 86 seconds, running steadily.

Different mind-set to track running. With road running you can amble along in a big group, not worried about lanes or bends. Track seems to demand far more concentration on pace, position, runners ahead and an awareness of runners behind also.

Lap 2 positions remain the same (DL, Grey Shorts, and Myself), with 800m (809m) ? completed in 3:02ish ? DL seemed to be maintain a very steady pace. I guessed that I could take him on the last lap with a well judged surge.

With 500m to go, a young guy in blue moved past all of us with a big surge, followed by another Raheny guy that I hadn't noticed until now. I now found myself in 5th. Missed the last split(1200), with the added action. Upped the pace, with 300m to go, started rapidly closing in on Grey shorts, expected him to respond, but he seemed to be at max effort. With 200m to go, was now hunting down DL. Got past him with 100m, and now in 3rd place. But insufficient distance to catch the 2 front runners.

Crossed the line in 3rd, in 5:56 for the mile, legs burning. Happy to have learned a bit, and Ran as hard as my training at present allowed. With a nice 3 weeks between each race, there is genuine time to improve with each event.

Loved the idea and the €5 is nothing for a bit of excitement these days...

Thursday 22/10 - PP Easyish...

Lovely run in the PP at lunch time. Strong sunshine and warm breeze, in some ways the perfect autumn run. Took in some trails and furry park also, probably could have run longer, and disappointed that I didn't. These type of run days don't come along to often.

6.4 mile in 50mins for 8:00 avg.
    https://connect.garmin.com/activity/934747649

Saturday 24th - FR Collins Park run - Beaten into second by Dave Byrne...

Not to many times I get to put up a heading like that, so might as well put it in bold :).

Opted for the new (4th running) of Fr Collins Park run in Donaghmede, which is not to far from the temporary house. Got down early to a relatively small crowd of people, some runners and some not. The course was a 2 loop affair, and a smaller inner loop, around the park, on a pretty flat course. The park is relatively small in size, with probably only a 300m straight, before having to turn and repeat turn and repeat.

Got in a short 1 mile warm-up before the off. Sized up the competition, with some fit looking lads, and Dave Byrne. So any thoughts about getting a first ever win went out the window... Why could he not have stayed in Malahide this week? The race Director, was going to cycle the route, as it was still unknown to most of us.

Off almost immediately, and Dave moves to the front, behind the bike, me in second, and a guy in Grey (Mr Grey) in third. The first 200m is beside the lake and run on concrete, before a sharp right turn. Already DB has opened a 20m lead and running strongly. I settle into my running and press on as much as I could for a 5k race. After a further 200m, Mr Grey passes me, running strongly but controlled. Thoughts of a third place finish are now being entertained.

Around the back of the park and another right turn, holding a steady pace I listen for an pursuit from behind, and heard nothing. The first mile comes up in 6:17, followed immediately by another turn back along the lake. Some Swans and Ducks look on from the reeds... Mr Grey had now opened up a 30m lead, with Dave B. and the Director virtually disappeared with the twists and turns.

On to the second loop (mile 1.5) and still running as hard as I could, Mr Grey seemed to be the same 30m ahead, and still no sounds from behind, so at least 3rd place seemed assured. Mile 2 completed in 6:26, although I didn't check that split. Pushed on and decided to go for it. With about 600M to go Mr Grey seemed to be coming back to me. I pushed on again, and at this stage we were passing the assembled crowds of support, so I again upped the effort. Up to Mr Greys shoulder with 300m to go, and pushed past. Put in a max effort for the last 200m, to the cheering crowds, and over the line in 2nd for 19:33 finish and a 6:18 avg.

While the title is not exactly correct, as Dave had finished in 16:55, I was delighted to win the battle for 2nd, from another similarly "talented" runner, and bag a decent sub 20.

https://connect.garmin.com/activity/938640305

Loving the new found "love" from running and the faster shorter stuff...

Sunday 25/10 - Sunday LSR.

Absolutely nobody down at the club as the Marathon was on the next day. Set out at 7:45am (the hour went back the previous night), for a lovely 9 mile @ Steady pace. Sun and a light breeze and the sea at high tide. Nice run for 9 miles in 1:08 for 7:38.

https://connect.garmin.com/activity/938640315

Monday 26/10 - Monday - LSR.

Just 8 miles around Dublin as the roads were closed as part of the marathon. 8 odd miles in 1 hour. After walked up to Mount street to watch the finished from 2:30 to 3:30.

https://connect.garmin.com/activity/938640367

Thursday 29/10 - Lunch Time PP run

Again lovely autumn weather for running, opted for the usual PP lunch time run. Stuck to mostly trails for a change of scene. Ran through a heard of dear close to the now closed off football grounds. They don't seem to take much notice of a runner, luckily as the antlers on the 2-3 year old could do serious damage...

Ground nice and soft underfoot but not muddy. Opted for the furry park and around the back of the ordnance survey building for more verity. Finished up with 7.46 mile in 58 mins for 7:46 avg. Fab run.

https://connect.garmin.com/activity/945118426

Saturday 31/10 - Fr Collins Park run.

Down for a second go at the new FR Collins park run, after my 2nd last week, hopes were high for another top finish. Got in a 1 mile warm-up, and lined up at the start after the race Directors directions. Into 3rd place, with the race Director, and a young lad in first and second. After half a mile, got passed by a guy in a blue Tri T-Shirt. Held on to his shoulder for the first mile through in 6:23. Got past Tri guy with a mile (mile 2 in 6:19) to go and upped the pace slightly to ensure I stayed in 3rd. Last mile in 6:14, and finished off the run with a 19:35 and 3rd place for a 6:18avg.

https://connect.garmin.com/activity/945118456

Sunday 01/11 - Sunday LSR - Easy Run.

The drive down to the clubhouse was almost impossible with the density of the fog. Visibility only 8-10M ahead. Thankfully there was almost no traffic at that hour. Ran from the clubhouse, coast road, and out to Sutton, with a red sun rising out of the Irish sea. Temps only around 6c and thankful for the 2 long sleeve tops.

Up Howth hill on Carrickbrack road, and the dense fog lifted as I got higher. With nothing but clear blue skies after 250feet, and a warm ish14c. Turned and headed back down into the fog and cold. 10miles in 1:18 for 7:47 ish.

Nice run. https://connect.garmin.com/activity/945118474

Long time no update :(:(:(, down to the fact that work is really busy and I have moved house, and as much as I love running, life does get in the way sometimes.

03/11/2015 - 4*1 (Planned)

Tried for an interval session of 4*1 mile with 90sec off, but a horrible and sharp pain in the right Achilles put pay to it. instead jogged around for 5.8 miles in 45 minutes.

08/11/2015 - Sunday Easy

Just easy miles with the lads, pain mostly gone from the Achilles. bit of banter, bit of slagging. Life is good.

14/11/2015 - Easy run, in more way that one...

First run from the new house. For the last 6-7 years I have been driving down from the old house to Raheny to either run with the lads, or take advantage of the coast road / Howth / St Annes / etc, then drive back again.

This morning, just out the front door and ran... Ran the clubs Joe Noonan Xmas route, which hopefully I will be doing on Dec 20th. Great to then get back and not have to drive home... :p

15/11/2015 LSR.

10 miles, unfortunately house calibrations put pay to an early Sunday run and any pace miles. 10miles in 1:18 for 8:10 avg.

17/11/2015 Windy Run.

Day off waiting for Sky, deliveries, painters etc. Big storm out and stupidly decided for a run. The sea front was fab, with the wind behind, and holding 6:50 was a "breeze". However turning into the gale force was murder, struggled on for 5.6 miles in 36 minutes, for 7:48. Empty after.

21/11/2015 - Clontarf Half

Having done this race several times in the past, in both its summer and winter incarnations, I knew what to expect. Flat as a pancake, out and back course, with a 1.6 mile beach section to be traversed twice, with a soft on and off piece. The remainder of the course offered good (if narrow) road / path surfaces.

Set off in the first group with the mostly other club runners and "young lads". Little or no wind on the out section made of steady progress. Settled into 7:00 pace for the first section. MrsDrak was stewarding at the bottom of Watermill road, give plenty of encouragement. Mile 6ish was met with Gary O Hannlon, coming the other way, with a big lead over another runner, and Ian Conroy (Raheny) in third. Took the turn at half way in around 46mins.

On the return, picked up the pace slightly and reeled in other runners. Beach section on the return and the wind mostly in the face, slowed progress to 7:30ish pace.

Over the line in 1:34:34 for position 112. Happy enough with the big lack of any session and LSR, to have got this on the day.

https://connect.garmin.com/activity/964530742

Long time no update !

23/11/2015 - Easy

Trying to find new loops from the house each day. Up Howth Road, Village, Wade Avenue, Watermill, seafront and back up Foxfield. 4.00 miles exactly, in 33mins for 8:16 avg for Easy run.

26/11/2015 - Steady.

Day off waiting for deliveries, but got out for a handy 10K early, out to offington and Sutton cross. 6.2miles in 45:57 for 7:26 avg.

28/11/2015 - Park Run - St Annes

With St Annes being the local park run, decided to drop down and give it a whirl. An odd mile warmup and settled into the second pack. Passed Johnny F, after 1/2 a mile. Pushed on as much as possible, with a strong wind into the face on "park" section. Finished with 20:20 for 6:35 avg.

29/11/2015 - Sunday LSR

Nice run with the gang, and Jenny and Mary W in particular. 9 miles in 1:08:00 for 7:40 avg.

https://connect.garmin.com/activity/970823206

November Totals:-

82 miles run
    1 Race (Clontarf Half)
    1 Park run (20:20)
    3 LSR's
    0 Sessions

Pretty poor form really, but to be expected with the house move.

December will be better :)

01/12/2015 - Tuesday Steady

Just 5.3 miles steady , in Sh1t weather, glad to get the miles in.

02, 03 December - Gym

05/12/2015 - Saturday - Stormy Run

4 miles in Storm Desmond, thankfully the Howth road offered some shelter into the driving wind. Turned onto the sea front and managed to get in a 6:10mile with virtually no effort :D:D:D.

06/12/2015 - LSR

Left the house late and expected to be running on my own for the hour. Spotted a big group on the sea front 200m ahead and duly gave chase. One of the group spotted me and "Its O'Hara behind, make the ba$tard work of it"...

Had to empty myself to finally catch them, still great banter and a good hard run up Howth hill and back with the mates (JF, Damo, Maria, Will). Love this type of running :D

09/12/2015 - Raheny Winter League - Round 2 - 2 Mile.

Missed the ALSAA track mile last night, instead opted for the club 2 miler, as part of the winter league. Big crowd down (40ish), considering the storm conditions. Got in an easy 2 miler before the off with Damo.

By 8pm the conditions had worsened to the point where the rain was almost falling parallel and blinding in its intensity. Settled into 11th after the off. Worked to stay with the lead group, but with Mick Traynor setting the pace, that was a hopeless task. After 600m up to JF's shoulder, never passed him in a race before, so was slightly apprehensive moving ahead of him. Just kept composure and tried to hold form as much as the conditions would allow.

First mile in 6:14, some scattered support at the half way point. Martin K only 50m ahead now, and worked hard to shorten the distance over the next half a mile. Up to his shoulder and moved past now into 9th place. Felt him coming back at me almost immediately, but had the bit between the teeth now and was not going to loose that place. Pushed on again at the final turn, and crossed the line in 12:35 for 9th place and another 6:14 mile.

Pleased with the run and happy to have bagged 9th place. The 12:35 for the 2 miles meant nothing, in those conditions. 10-15 seconds a mile on a calm night will bring a more respectable finish time?

https://connect.garmin.com/activity/979163043

13/12/2015 - Sunday LSR.

Bit lazy as a result of my companies Xmas party on the Friday night, 2 days recovery not enough (yes that amount of drink was consumed)... Just 8 miles from the house, up Carribrack road, down corkscrew, coast and back home.

8 odd miles in 1:03 for 7:50off avg.

15/12/2015 - Easy.

Just 5.2 easy miles, around Raheny on a blustery evening.

16/12/2015 - Winter league Round 3.

Started with a 2 mile warm-up, with Sean, and talked about what sports book to get for Xmas...

Lined up with 40 odd others, with 4-5 of a similar standard to myself. Off almost immediately, and struggled to hold position for the first 200m. Worked steadily for the next 5 minutes to get into my pace group. Moved past JF, with 1 mile gone (6:13), and had MK about 20m ahead, and Paul C behind. Probably coasted somewhat on the second mile, not gaining or losing position (mile 2 6:22). Made a decisive move on MK with a mile to go, but still had the sound of PC footsteps just behind. He made his move with 1/2 mile to go, and I responded, same again 20 seconds later. Beginning to tire with 100m left PC moves decisively past and pips me to the line. Mile 3 in 6:19.

Placed 10, in 19:06 for the 3 miles in 6:18avg.

A bit of speed work over the x-mas, should see an improvement over the shorted stuff, early next year.

20/12/2015 - Joe Noonan Club Race

Done this race a few times in the past, and "enjoyed" (got through it) it each time. This year the race was a 2 lap affair, rather than the usual 5.8 mile loop, as the extensive road works, on the coast road would mean running on the paths. N.B. this is going to mess up the Raheny 5 also...

About 40 down for the race, split 15 for the 1 lap (about 2.8M) and 25 for the longer 2 lap 5.6 miler. Off from the village, and settled into the middle of the field, and found it difficult to judge pace, with some lads forging ahead as they were only running the shorter distance. Unfortunately didn't have the Garmin, so just running by feel alone.

Passed a small group of younger lads on the coast road, and then set about catching JF about 50m ahead. On the Howth Road, and closing him down steadily. Had to briefly stop and tie a lace, and lost position to the group behind as a result. Again settled into my running and reeled them in for a second time. Then again closing JF down before the half way point. The lace that I had just tied again opened. Stopped a second time and put in a double knot, but lost more time on the group and JF.

Kind of settled for my position at the stage, with about 2 miles to go, Got past the group for the third time as they were tiring. Good support along the way from the Coaches. Upped the tempo for the last 1/2 mile and finished in 37:31 for 10th place in the longer race and 6:42 avg.

Finished with a 2 mile cool-down with Damo and the winner...

25/12/2015 - Xmas Goal Mile.

Ran up to StAnnes, from the house, and took in a bit of the park by way of a warm-up for the annual Goal Charity 1 Mile. Lashing rain and a bit of wind not exactly ideal conditions for a max run effort down the avenue. Finished in a respectable 5:05, and piped a few of my running mates to boot.

Finished with a warm-down with Mick Clohisey. Stupidly I asked Mick "did you have much of a hangover after the Club Xmas party" (a few nights previously)?. Mick casually answered, that he was actually off the drink as he was heading to the Olympics next year... I swear im never going to ask a stupid question again...

26/12/2015 - Park run St Annes.

Didn't expect much, with the Xmas cheer. Ran as hard as the body would allow and finished with a 21:21 and way behind everyone else.

27/12/2015 - Sunday LSR.

just 9 odd miles with the lads, in crap conditions. Just getting the miles in.

28/12/2015 - Fat Turkey Race (Howth Hill)

Short warm-up with some of the other club lads, for about 2 miles. Then lined up in possibly the WORST EVER RUNNING CONDITIONS, for the race. The Race started on the sea front at St Fintans Church and would follow up Carrickbrack Road to the summit car park for 450feet of climbing, then back down for the same in descending. Lined up well back to afford some shelter from the elements. Started and held and easy pace, with BK (who was out for a LSR on the Monday, and decided to join in the race).

Horrendous wind coupled with the steep hill made for a slow 7:30m odd first mile. Next mile most the same. Had JF in my sights from that point onwards. Passed by the leaders near the summit on the downward leg. Conditions on the summit were actually scary. With Storm force winds constantly.

Pushed on as much as possible, and caught JF at mile 4, and preserved the small lead over him for the next 1.5 miles. Strangely the wind seemed to have changed direction and was not blowing uphill, so no real resbite for the effort.

JF caught me again with 3/4 of a mile to go on the final downhill. Tried upping the pace but the effort levels for the last 35 minutes has robbed me of any pace. Struggled on to the finish line and across the line in 44:30 for 32place and a 7:01avg for the 10K.

https://connect.garmin.com/activity/1002977207

30/01/2015 - Wednesday Easy.

More dreadful conditions on the seafront, so just opted for a short 5 miles @ easy pace.