Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

DCM 2015: Mentored Novices Thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,272 ✭✭✭Dubgal72

This is me, right?

I've added my first fourth day this week, a 3 mile recovery run in addition to my usual 6 mile mid-week run (x 2) then my LSR on Sundays so that should be ok now. Hopefully?!

No actually. General reminder for quite a few on this :) Ye know who ye are ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 107 ✭✭Peter D61

I was, did you see a fella dragging himself around?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,776 ✭✭✭This Fat Girl Runs

I was thinking about my paces and LSR's and whatnot today and this scene from The Incredibles popped into my head. Thought I'd share...I think a lot of us can relate? :pac:

Peter D61 wrote: »
    I was, did you see an fella dragging himself around?

Ah I think I saw you so. Probably around 11:30 or shortly after? I was the one in a maroon FD t shirt from last year and black shorts. Smashiner....where's that secret handshake, c'mon now :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 107 ✭✭Peter D61

Dubgal72 wrote:
    Ah I think I saw you so. Probably around 11:30 or shortly after? I was the one in a maroon FD t shirt from last year and black shorts. Smashiner....where's that secret handshake, c'mon now

It wasn't me, I was down there at around 8.30, I'm an early riser.

Peter D61 wrote: »
    It wasn't me, I was down there at around 8.30, I'm an early riser.

Ah ok. I had my first shift at 9:30 (got called away :rolleyes: ) and went back for round 2 at 11 :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 541 ✭✭✭smashiner

Dubgal72 wrote: »
    Ah I think I saw you so. Probably around 11:30 or shortly after? I was the one in a maroon FD t shirt from last year and black shorts. Smashiner....where's that secret handshake, c'mon now :D

2 steps.....You might be sorry for asking me now :eek::eek:......will take a bit of practice !!

Maybe as way of identifying each other, we could write a letter 'B' (Boards) or 'N' (Novice) on the top right hand side of our race numbers.....hand shake can then follow.........:cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 907 ✭✭✭JMSE

7 mile steady run today, 55 mins, great day to be out on the roads, but thats 2 days in a row where drivers have crowded in too close when traffic was coming the opposite way, no excuse for that when visibility was clear in both directions [angry running for at least 20metres before I purged it with 'f**kin useless gob****es'], only thing to report would be an inside vaguely sore lower leg just above the inside ankle but its not even a minor injury

all that said, I was just thinking that I must be in the shape of my life as I've never got to a level of fitness like this ever before, yet thats aerobic fitness, I'll still be real sheepish about the way I climb up stairs and come down them and about how I get up out of a chair even, or especially climbing up and down off the truck I spend to much time climbing up and down off.... its a stiff knee kind of thing :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,371 ✭✭✭Phoebas

Just had a quick look at the mileage tracker.
    Some of you are exceeding the ideal ratio of lsr:weekly total (lsr = not more than 35% of weekly total), indeed there were one or two whose lsr was greater than the combined total of the rest of that week's runs.

Hopefully the few examples I saw on the tracker were exceptions, not rules....?!
    It's not a good idea to weight your weekly total on the lsr. Anyone I've seen do this has failed miserably and painfully come marathon day :( It's also a sure fire road to injury...We don't want that for you...

Far better to spread the load over the rest of the week, hence our gentle nagging nudging to up the number of days running to 4 minimum, five better.

I'm one of those definitely for last week. In my defence, I missed some runs at the start of the week due to my foot injury, but I didn't want to miss the long LSR.

I'm back on the reservation now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 723 ✭✭✭Pink11

Pink, just some thoughts on your lsr....well done on getting it done! :D

Remind me again, what plan are you on? No harm swapping lsr lengths around but keep an eye on the overall progression.
    These are generally done on a step-forward/step-back basis, so if you did 18 last week, 20 this week, you'd generally do a 16-18 next week.
    What sort of progression does your plan have for lsrs over the next four weeks and are you doing the half in the park?

Crap buzz about the toothache, wouldn't wish that on anyone, it reduces me to whimpering just thinking about it :( Hope it's all sorted soon!

Your overall pace wasn't necessarily too fast although if that was the average, it probably indicates that you were going below 9:45 pace at times. Try pull the average back to >10m/mi and keep the effort even throughout (i.e., NO sprinting up hills of any description :pac: ). No harm to have a pace check every 5k/3 miles.

Any progress on getting out for a lsr in the morning?

Thanks for the reply. I appreciate it.

I've been kind of flip flopping between the Hal and Boards plan on the google doc to be honest and trying to follow it as best as I can. I have an unusual schedule in that LSRs normally have to be after work as my weekends are busy and I have to travel.

Yeah I'm doing the half - so do you recommend for next weeks LSR I do it next Monday (14th) (aim for 16/18 miles) - would this be too near the half on the 19th?

Thanks for the reply on food. I've gotten so much conflicted information to be honest and I'm finding it hard to decide what's best. I was convinced into investing in protein powder back in July from a nutritionist and it has been good for me but I've always been a fan of natural too.

My pace definitely needs more consistency. Thanks for the tips. You must be sick of repeating yourself to me!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 653 ✭✭✭skittles8710

What's your guys' (novices, advisers, lurkers etc) recovery routine? What protein do you take for recovery and your protein meal after a run?

I'm just curious and asking for conversation sake, not looking for someone to tell me what to do for recovery! ;)

I see the latesr Runners World mag out this week has a nutrition special, be interesting to see what recommendations they give. I've been eating takeaway crap the last few weeks..can't wait to get back on track with some nutritious meals !!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,447 ✭✭✭FBOT01

Kennyg71 wrote: »
    6 miles & 8 x 400 on to do list for today
    Just no time to fit all in. So did 6.5 progressive
    Run instead. Left house 06.20 darkish, but mild
    Enough. Rest week prety easy before weekend
    Will get out at 5.30 in morning to get 8 easy miles
    And give plenty of time, to keep rest of week in
    Balance.

Thought medium - hard session good replacement,
    not to sure, but not to many runs off plan so far.

Splits 9.15, 8.43, 8.24, 7.54, 7.23,
    Cool down 1.5 miles 9.54 & 05.09

Hi G the 6 miles is the total mileage for the day including the 8x400 and the 90sec recovery jogs so shouldn't have taken any longer than the 6.5 progressive run unless you were trying to fit in 6 miles plus 8x400?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,508 ✭✭✭ratracer

Last week I ran four consecutive days, Tues to Fri, which consisted of 6.5km, 13km, 6.5km and LSR 26km.

I was working Saturday, and the All Ireland Final cost me two days training Sunday to watch the match and Monday to reflect on what might have been:( (plus suffer hangover). Today I was still feeling crap, but after spending lunchtime reading this thread, I was back at it today, and now the 6.4km for today is done. It will be another 4 day running bender this week, although I will try add a short run on Sunday too just to get in the 5th day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,970 ✭✭✭aquinn

smashiner wrote:
    2 steps.....You might be sorry for asking me now ......will take a bit of practice !!

This isn't going to happen S. Will point you in direction of Novices. Singer did a map last time that worked.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,119 ✭✭✭Mrs Mc

5 miles done with 7 * 400m intervals. Legs a bit tired after lsr on Sunday but soon loosened out after first mile warm up. Headed up to St Anne's and used the benches on the avenue as my markers. Lovely evening this evening, first time have had to wear long sleeves, winter is coming :(

frash wrote: »
    Haven't had too many 3 in a row weeks
    Generally I'll go Mon,Wed,Thur or Mon,Tues,Thurs with the LSR on the Sat.

Will see what I can do though. Thanks for highlighting it.
    Would something like this work: 3 days run, rest, 2 days run, rest?
    aquinn wrote: »
    Register on the RSA website and they'll send them to you. Actually not sure if flashy as I got them in Lidl/Aldi before.
    They had bike lights last night in Lidl so you could attach that to yourself?

http://www.lidl.ie/en/Offers.htm?action=showDetail&id=29537

RSA will send you a hi-vis anyway.
    Thanks A, RSA received my order for family visibility stuff today :D
    [QUOTE=JMSE;96929371]7 mile steady run today, 55 mins, great day to be out on the roads, but thats 2 days in a row where drivers have crowded in too close when traffic was coming the opposite way, no excuse for that when visibility was clear in both directions [angry running for at least 20metres before I purged it with 'f**kin useless gob****es'], only thing to report would be an inside vaguely sore lower leg just above the inside ankle but its not even a minor injury

all that said, I was just thinking that I must be in the shape of my life as I've never got to a level of fitness like this ever before, yet thats aerobic fitness, I'll still be real sheepish about the way I climb up stairs and come down them and about how I get up out of a chair even, or especially climbing up and down off the truck I spend to much time climbing up and down off.... its a stiff knee kind of thing :D[/QUOTE]
    Hi JMSE, sorry to sound like a broken record but today's run was too fast....in fact, it was faster than what would have been a planned PMP (if you had a plan :p )
    Your target is to break 4 hours (9m/mi) and the fact that you can churn out lots of shorter runs at quicker than PMP does not mean you can churn out 26.2 at 9m/mi....I'm pretty sure I've mentioned your PB curve too? It falls off comparatively the longer the distance goes and in your case quite significantly. Your 5k and 10 mile PBs, when lined up, suggest that endurance is going to be a problem for you. Please please please, join in the boards plan, - any plan! - commit to it and slow all your paces down. It's not too late but it is the only way you are going to build the required endurance for the day :)
    You said that niggles etc caused you to drop out last year, keep an eye on that, marathon training has a nasty habit of turning niggles into deal breakers....Have you got any kind of strength and conditioning or core routine going?
    Pink11 wrote: »
    Thanks for the reply. I appreciate it.

I've been kind of flip flopping between the Hal and Boards plan on the google doc to be honest and trying to follow it as best as I can. I have an unusual schedule in that LSRs normally have to be after work as my weekends are busy and I have to travel.

Yeah I'm doing the half - so do you recommend for next weeks LSR I do it next Monday (14th) (aim for 16/18 miles) - would this be too near the half on the 19th?
    Hi Pink, I'm not sure that it's ideal to flip between plans. Each has specific purposes built into its structure and flipping will interrupt any intended progression. The good news is that it's not too late to commit to one, is that a possibility this week?
    Before I pass your lsr q over to Clearlier, what to you want from the half? Are you going to race it or.....?
    ratracer wrote: »
    Last week I ran four consecutive days, Tues to Fri, which consisted of 6.5km, 13km, 6.5km and LSR 26km.

....It will be another 4 day running bender this week, although I will try add a short run on Sunday too just to get in the 5th day.
    Yup, another candidate for a fifth day ;) Have a quick add of your weekday runs (26km) and compare that to your lsr (26km) = 50:50 ratio :eek: Not ideal.
    You want to be aiming for more like 65:35 weekday:lsr

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,921 ✭✭✭Kennyg71

FBOT01 wrote: »
    Hi G the 6 miles is the total mileage for the day including the 8x400 and the 90sec recovery jogs so shouldn't have taken any longer than the 6.5 progressive run unless you were trying to fit in 6 miles plus 8x400?

I have been doing 6 miles & 8 x400m repeats on these sessions,
    That was how I read, will make next one lot easier on next set
    Was taking about hour & half to get 6 slow then 8 x400 m. With
    Kids back to school & training with GAA, all runs are in morning
    4miles & 8x 400 doable. I am going to do Wednesday run early
    And keep balance, just 2 really early morning would be real killer.😅
    Thanks FBOT.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 791 ✭✭✭conor_mc

Is 65:35 likely though once lsr's start hitting 20m DG? Even the boards plan has 39m/wk last week incl a 20m lsr, if you opt for rest/cross instead of recovery runs.... never mind real life getting in the way. A 20-miler at 35:65 would mean a 57 mile week! 😳

Did my 3mile recovery run today following my LSR last night. Always worth a recovery run - it's amazing how it heals your body!!

Hi Pink, I'm not sure that it's ideal to flip between plans. Each has specific purposes built into its structure and flipping will interrupt any intended progression. The good news is that it's not too late to commit to one, is that a possibility this week?
    Before I pass your lsr q over to Clearlier, what to you want from the half? Are you going to race it or.....?

Thanks for taking the time to respond once again!

Agreed, that makes lots of sense. I'm going to commit to the boards plan!

My main goal is to stay injury free and perform my best for the big M so not looking to race the HM - something comfortable - perhaps in and around 1hr 50 ?

Ok so just to explain my rather awkward schedule. My LSRs are typically after work mid week unfortunately.

Last week it was Thursday 3rd September (18 miles)

This week was Monday 7th September (20miles)

Plan is to do next Mon the 14th Sept (16 miles) - Clearlier/Dubsgal what is your thoughts on this?

Half on Saturday 19th - don't want to get injured/over cautious and paranoid at this stage!

Want to do my LSR week beginning 21st September on Wed/Thurs (23rd/24th) as I'm going on holidays from September 25th to Oct 5th.

Need to do the 18 miler on week starting the 28th while I'm away. Bit anxious about this as I know there is never an excuse but my holiday is pretty jam packed :eek: (heading to San Fran and LA so will have some lovely scenery for my runs).

conor_mc wrote: »
    Is 65:35 likely though once lsr's start hitting 20m DG? Even the boards plan has 39m/wk last week incl a 20m lsr, if you opt for rest/cross instead of recovery runs.... never mind real life getting in the way. A 20-miler at 35:65 would mean a 57 mile week! 😳

Please forgive my dopey question but I'm seriously sleep deprived lately but can someone quickly explain what this means exactly? Give an example maybe might be easier?

I'm sure I'm one of the people who didn't do enough. I only got to run three times last week because I had murder with my tooth :pac:

Just found out I have session 2 of my root canal tomorrow - it was moved a week earlier. Delighted to get this pushed forward and I'm hoping this ends my pain once and for all and healing can begin!!!

conor_mc wrote: »

Hi conor, no it's not ideal when the lsr hits 20 but on other weeks, it is generally more balanced for lsrs >20. There are only two 20 milers on the boards plan and throughout the plan, the aim is for an overall balanced ratio. Week after week of a close to 50:50 ratio would not be recommended.

There is a footnote on the plan "If you are following a four day programme think about redistributing your mileage. Possibly add 1-2 miles on recovery days" which would help to redistribute the load throughout the week. Hope that helps :)

Clearlier (or any of the team), I'm passing Pinks query (#4220) over...TIA :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 907 ✭✭✭JMSE

Hi dg and thanks, I don't have a core training plan either....I'm thinking of changing my name to cowboy Jim probably suits my m.o. ! But there's no point subscribing to a mentoring thread and refusing the mentoring is there. "Tomorrows Run will be slower "

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,460 ✭✭✭Clearlier

Clearlier (or any of the team), I'm passing Pinks query (#4220) over...TIA :)

Pink. You'll be fine doing the LSR on Monday. Just do whatever is in the plan, there's no need to make any changes because of the half.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,630 ✭✭✭frash

Would something like this work: 3 days run, rest, 2 days run, rest?

Yeah might give that a go - thanks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,324 ✭✭✭chrislad

When should we expect the race packs for the half next week?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,630 ✭✭✭frash

chrislad wrote: »

Not meaning to worry you but I got mine around a month ago.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,355 ✭✭✭Bungy Girl

Mine just arrived this morning.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,324 ✭✭✭chrislad

frash wrote: »
    Not meaning to worry you but I got mine around a month ago.

Hmmm, I didn't think they were being sent out until the race signup closed. I'll contact them on Facebook and see what the story is.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,921 ✭✭✭Kennyg71

Hmmm, I didn't think they were being sent out until the race signup closed. I'll contact them on Facebook and see what the story is.

Got mine about month ago as well. But signed up early. If you
    Signed up for series & have same number, I know people have
    Collected on day.