Wedding on match day

• 08-09-2015 09:49PM
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3

Hi everyone,

This is extremely trivial but we're getting such conflicting advice off everyone I thought I'd chance my arm with the good folk of boards!

I've recently got engaged (hooray!) and the planning has already got started! I'm from Cork originally but living in Wales now and the wedding's hopefully going to be in Wales. We were thinking of Saturday March 18th 2017 which would be perfect as it'd give all the Irish guests a chance to travel over without having to take a day off.

Unfortunately it's also the final day of the 6 Nations (when all three matches are on) and we're scared people's attention will be distracted by checking phones every couple of minutes. I know it sounds so trivial but I want the day to be perfect for my fiancée and I don't want her getting disappointed by seeing people fly off to catch the final ten minutes.

Any thoughts on whether it'd just be easier picking another date or do ye think most people could control themselves?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 850 ✭✭✭Cakerbaker

You could pick a venue with no TVs? I was at a wedding one time with a big rugby match on. A lot of people left the dining room after ordering to go back to the bar, had to be sent for when their starters arrived, they left to go back to the bar to watch the match between each course until the match was over. It was a bit of a disaster to be honest. It was one thing I was conscious of when arranging mine.

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,685 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

If a lot of your guests are rugby fans, tbh I'd change the date.

If you've got people on the invite list who are really into rugby, they might even decline the invite.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,919 ✭✭✭dori_dormer

I think it very much depends on if your guests are big sports fans. I've been to 2 weddings on match days. It was only football though, and not a final of anything. A lot of the men left the reception to go to the lounge in the hotel to watch the match. Some even choosin to skip the meal! Then they simply stayed in the bar instead of returning for the dancing. Was a disaster in my eyes. And also incredibly rude.

The place I had my wedding was a separate building to the hotel, so no one would have been able to leave and hole up in the bar but I could imagine some 'genius' getting an iPad or laptop from their room and streaming it anyway.

If it was me I wouldn't do it!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 505 ✭✭✭Koptain Liverpool

Bad idea to have it on the same day as any major sporting event. Like it or not a lot of people will prioritise the match over your wedding meal. Just pick another date.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 505 ✭✭✭Koptain Liverpool

Unfortunately it's also the final day of the 6 Nations (when all three matches are on) and we're scared people's attention will be distracted by checking phones every couple of minutes. I know it sounds so trivial but I want the day to be perfect for my fiancée and I don't want her getting disappointed by seeing people fly off to catch the final ten minutes.

There will be no checking phones or nipping out for the last ten minutes - a lot of people will skip off to watch the whole game regardless of the meal etc

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,685 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

There will be no checking phones or nipping out for the last ten minutes - a lot of people will skip off to watch the whole game regardless of the meal etc

If they are fans they may well spend the entire day watching all of the matches.

I've already got that day blocked out as 6N final day and for the past few years, it's all about the rugby.

Especially if it's close like it was this year, or Ireland are potential winners.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,847 ✭✭✭desbrook

Peoples need to keep up with sport has no limits anymore unfortunately. I've been to cemetery sundays where people have brought radios to listen to GAA matches while the priest is blessing the grave !! I like sport as much as anyone but frankly I'm appalled by the rudeness that's become commonplace.
    No tv's won't solve it . Smartphones and tablets mean some bright spark will get a stream just to be important. Sadly I'd say change the date .
    Hope you enjoy your day whenever you chose it to be x

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 15,922 ✭✭✭✭Dial Hard

Change the date or be prepared to accept the fact you may lose a large proportion of the guests for a large proportion of the day. Picking a venue with no TVs will make absolutely no difference as people will just break out their phones/tablets/whatever.

A cousin of mine got married the same day as an Ireland-England 6N match years ago and the reception room was pretty much empty for the duration of the game.

Wales is an even bigger rugby country than Ireland so you're looking at a double-whammy there too.

You'll get a lot of people here saying that it's YOUR day so YOUR guests should fall in with that, but the reality is, people will slink off to watch the matches. I'd go with another weekend, preferably when the 6N is completely done.

• Registered Users, Subscribers, Registered Users 2 Posts: 47,418 ✭✭✭✭Zaph

We booked our wedding before Ireland qualified for Euro 2012, and we were sweating on the draw because if we'd been drawn in Poland's group the match would have been on right at the time of the meal. Whatever about guests wanting to see the match, I would have wanted to see it myself, so we decided in advance that had it happened all we could do is embrace it, not let it spoil the meal and make sure the hotel would be able to put some TVs in the function room. As it happened it wasn't necessary, but I've heard too many stories of half the guests missing the meal because of a sporting event. As you haven't booked anything yet, my advice would be to change the date and save yourself the potential stress of worrying whether there'll be anyone around for the meal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3 Dr Little Seal

Thanks for the replies! To be honest ye've pretty much confirmed what we thought! Think to save herself getting upset better play it safe!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,310 ✭✭✭✭the_syco

Unfortunately it's also the final day of the 6 Nations (when all three matches are on) and we're scared people's attention will be distracted by checking phones every couple of minutes.
    It'll be Ireland versus England in the Aviva Stadium, versus your wedding.

Do yourself a favour, and have the wedding the following weekend to prevent a lot of heartache!

Dial Hard wrote: »

You'll get a lot of people here saying that it's YOUR day so YOUR guests should fall in with that, but the reality is, people will slink off to watch the matches. I'd go with another weekend, preferably when the 6N is completely done.

I personally would genuinely decline the invitation rather than be so rude and slink off to watch the matches.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 33,615 ✭✭✭✭HeidiHeidi

A pal of mine got married the day we beat Italy in New York - she thought it was a disaster at first but they got a big screenand it turned into one of the most memorable weddings I've ever been at.

But you'd be competing with THREE matches. Don't even try, would be my advice.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,663 ✭✭✭Milly33

Yeah Id go with a different date too. I know it sounds very bad but people will be distracted most defiantly sounds very childish but no doubt it will happen... Suggestions like having a place with no tvs will have people trying to get the info someplace else, or you could supply a tv for people but that will take a lot of time away from yer wedding.. went to one wedding where after dinner they had a big tv placed on the stage for people to watch some sort of match, it was great for the those who wanted to watch the match and it did give the bride and groom a chance to relax which is well called for on the day but three matches ecck..

congrats and best of luck with the rest of your plans

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,800 ✭✭✭Lingua Franca

I got married on a big match day (Celtic v Rangers, Irish/Scottish wedding) and we simply timed it so that people would arrive at the venue after the service while the photographs were being taken and could watch the match in the bar instead of having tea, cakes and a small band in the recption. It seemed to go down a treat.

This is the last day of the six nations though, not one match.

For the one this year, I was ensconced in my local rugby pub at 1:30 and stayed there until well past eight, wasn't even drinking a huge amount, I had maybe four pints.

The place was packed with rugby fans who did the same.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,800 ✭✭✭Lingua Franca

If it's three time-staggered matches (I know nothing of rugby) and you don't trust the guests not to slink off or stare at their phones, changing the date might be wise then.

It is, on at 2:30, one at 5:00 and one at 8:00 in 2016, will be similar in 2017

If it ends up like this year, basically at the end of the first match, it set the standard for what had to be scored in the second, and at the end of the second it was all dependant on the third.

So e.g. for me, I'd be planning on heading out to my local to watch at 1:30, and wouldn't be expecting to leave till after ten.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,653 ✭✭✭✭amdublin

One match - fine. I'd actually organise wedding around the screening.

Three matches - no way hosay.

Play it safe as you said and arrange another date.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,928 ✭✭✭✭rainbow kirby

We got married in Limerick city and it turned out that Munster were playing at home (Pro12 semi-final) on the day of the wedding. It wasn't a big deal - a few people went to the bar and watched the second half of the match after the ceremony and we had to go out quite quickly to get our photos done around the city before the red tide from Thomond Park arrived back down from the match. I was randomly handed a Munster flag by someone when we were on the way back into the hotel as well.

6 Nations or RWC would be a different story though and I'd be trying to avoid those dates if you have many rugby fans among the guests.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,173 ✭✭✭✭seamus

Yeah, totally depends on your guests. Been to plenty of weddings when there's a buig match on. In general only a small number of people care enough about whichever sport it is, to be rude enough to skip your meal.

But if you move in circles where people are big into rugby or you know for a fact that people will want to see it, then moving the date is probably best.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,179 ✭✭✭salamanca22

I would be declining an invitation to my own wedding if it was on that date :)

Pick a different date OP. It really is for the best.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,041 ✭✭✭zl1whqvjs75cdy

As an aside, if I'd invited someone to a wedding and paid 50 quid+ for their meal, and they chose to spend the day watching rugby, I'd never talk to them again. You'd have to be a class A **** to do that, and I am into my sport.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,417 ✭✭✭Tefral

I've skipped out on a meal at six nations to watch the Wales V Ireland match where we won the Grand slam, myself and nearly all the males were crammed into this small room hiding away. I dont regret any of it.

Organizing my own wedding for Feb and Ireland V France are playing, I've started the wedding at 5 so that I could watch the match! My missus wanted it on the same date as you OP but i immediately put that to bed. I knew the date of the match. The final day of the six nations last season was unreal, Id miss my own wedding to watch it to be honest.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 763 ✭✭✭Pistachios & cream

Iwas at a wedding the day of the 2014 6 nations final Ireland v France. Big rugby crowd and the couple arranged for the match to be screened during the meal with the sound turned off. Idea was we would get the first half before the couple made their entrance, Then get on with the meal. THe groom ended up being very ill so in the end the whole match was played with sound before they came in to give him time to let some medicine do its job. Great wedding.

You either embrace it or change the date.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,519 ✭✭✭Sunny Dayz

Depends on if your wedding guests are big rugby fans. My cousin got married that time of the year - don't think it was the day of the finals though. He has organised for a big screen/projector in the function room while we were having the meal, just picture, no sound. Just for the Ireland match which happened to be on at the meal time. People could watch the match, eat their meals and the speeches were held after the match when the screen was switched off. I thought it worked well.

I have been at another wedding where there was some big boxing match on that night so a lot of guests went into the bar next door to the function room to watch the boxing, got comfy where they were and didn't bother going back into the function room after the fight. I thought that was very poor form of the guests.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 587 ✭✭✭CiarraiAbu2

Could you not bring it forward a day and make a long weekend out of it, wedding of Patrick's day and the pub the following day watching the match's. Hotel might be cheaper too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,946 ✭✭✭✭Neyite

I think you either have to change the day, or embrace the fact that there is a match on and make watching it part of the day, timing your ceremony and meal around it if possible. It could end up adding wonderfully to the party atmosphere, but if you try and compete with it, or try to block viewing, I can see that badly affecting your day.

Years ago during the '94 World Cup, I was a +1 at a wedding where Ireland were playing, right during the reception after the meal. Hundreds from the wedding were crammed into the bar of the hotel while the function room held just the bride, her mother and a few geriatric relations who wanted the peace and quiet. I felt really sorry for her until I heard that her husband had warned her that would happen, begged her to allow a large screen in the wedding but she was adamant she didn't want football to feature in her special day. He was in the bar for it. And the crowd had settled in the bar by that stage so even when the band came on in the wedding, it never really recovered.

So I always vowed that if my wedding clashed with a big sports event, I'd incorporate it into the day somehow.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 33,615 ✭✭✭✭HeidiHeidi

Trouble is, this is a day with three consecutive matches, all of which could be crucial to the eventual outcome of the 6 Nations.

You can build one match in to proceedings, as my pal did.

Three, though? I wouldn't even try to compete.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,644 ✭✭✭✭lazygal

HeidiHeidi wrote: »
    Trouble is, this is a day with three consecutive matches, all of which could be crucial to the eventual outcome of the 6 Nations.

You can build one match in to proceedings, as my pal did.

Three, though? I wouldn't even try to compete.

Yeah I'd be the same. I'm not into sport at all, but my husband really loves rugby and has a lot of friends who are too, so there's no way I'd try to incorporate nine hours of rugby into a wedding. The second half of a match, maybe, but as much as I'd eyeroll the sports obsessed, I'd change the date.