Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

DCM 2015: Mentored Novices Thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,199 ✭✭✭denis b

Garmin acting up but finished my early morning 20 mile LSR in 3.17.00 (6.08/km ish). Not sure if you were ahead of me phoebas as I ran the coast from Clontarf-Sutton Cross, Portmarnock Leisure Centre, Malahide Castle and back through Kinsealy to The Casino in Marino. Had a purple Race Series Tshirt on.

Run went very well. Would think that this am was a perfect marathon day - cool and not too bright and only a breeze from the north which would cut across the course. Will continue to rehabilitate the achilles. Just need to mind them and they work just fine. Back of upper legs felt heavyish at about 27km but didnt cause any problems. Anybody else find that there is a tendency to pick up the pace towards the end of these LSR's (maybe the last 6 km or so).

Post LSR nutrition treatment really improving and I feel that really helps recovery. This weeks LSR should really contribute to our next HM..... here's hoping!!!!

Best of luck to anybody else still to go out this weekend. Enjoy the journey.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,776 ✭✭✭This Fat Girl Runs

denis b wrote:
    Best of luck to anybody else still to go out this weekend. Enjoy the journey.

Off for a 15 miler in the morning myself. Going to try a new route so I surely will enjoy it! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,921 ✭✭✭Kennyg71

Bit of man flu thurs & Friday, so glad of rest day & couple
    Lemsip yesterday. Was going to leave run today, but got
    Ancy so Lemsip & sleep must work.

So out for 4 miles run to make sure in good order for tomorrow
    Ran nice steady pace, faster than I thought would be, all felt
    Comfortable.

Splits
    Up the Dubs, just settling to watch match after good stretching
    Sesion

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,781 ✭✭✭eyeball kid

nop98 wrote: »
    Mile splits (darn it, I have been assimilated

come on nop, you know they're wrong with their old world imperial measurements!

Well done on the run. Sounds like it went well.

How did you get on at the lake's Dubgal? Did that race a couple of years ago and really enjoyed it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8 smiley70

Mrs Mc wrote: »
    Ok getting nervous pains in my tummy now as the LSR posts start coming through well done Frash ! Im not out till tomorrow currently mapping my route.

Ah you will be fine . I am just back from 18mile. Not as nice as last week really missed the company. So glad to get it done 11.24 mile average. Best of luck tomorrow.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 139 ✭✭BIRDCAGE1

So, got my LSR done this morning. My schedule was 14/16 miles and I was aiming for 16 miles but only managed 15.41 with an avg pace of 10.54/mile. I really wasn't feeling it this morning. I did my 1 mile easy, 1 steady, 1 easy yesterday afternoon and I reckon I did the steady mile too fast at 9.20mins, so the legs where still feeling it this morning.
    Anyway I set off on my usual route planned around Swords, but after a half mile decided to do something completely different [if I was going to fail today, I was going to do it in properly] and headed towards Malahide Estuary and then onto Portmarnack - it turned out to be a really nice change for me and it helped to take my mind away from the negative thoughts going through my head. Everything was going well until the last 3 miles or so, where I really started to struggle to, I ploughed on as much as I could but at to stop short of the 16 mile mark.

Positives:
    I ran a new distance record by 1.41 miles
    I managed to successfully use Gels on this run without any adverse effects
    I'm quickly developing a new respect for the 26.2 mile distance

Negatives:
    Didn't complete my desired distance.
    I think I'm still running a little too fast. I reckon I should be + 11mins in training, but I'm still struggling with this one.
    My post LSR Routine still needs a lot of work. I do lots of stretches, and sometimes foam roll. I would love to hear what other folks are doing as a post LSR routine.

...sorry for the longish post, good luck to everyone that still needs to run this weekend.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 80 ✭✭skittles11

Havnt posted here at all this year but this thread was a huge help to me in my first marathon last year. Going again this year and trying to focus on my 2 main problems from last year. Firstly, my LSR's were too fast which is tougher to correct than I thought it would be but I'm getting there now. And the other is hydration both in training and during the marathon itself. With that in mind I'm on here to ask if anyone knows what drinks aside from water will be available along the route? Also, which gels will be at the gel stations? Brought my own gels last year but took one from the gel station shortly before Milltown resulting in an almost instant stitch. I cant be sure but I think it was one of the ones you need to take water with. Then again it could just have been a coincidence.
    Thanks in advance and good luck to all first timers, soak up the crowd and enjoy the day, there's nothing like it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 907 ✭✭✭JMSE

Hi all, did my first LSR since 9th August today, I know I know, thats why I dont post much. Anyway I've still been doin lots of running, 8 to 11 mile runs are getting fairly regular now. Not following a plan although I do have David Carries plan hanging on the bathroom rad that I like to look at now and again. Did 11 last Sat, 11 Mon, 5 Weds, 8 Thurs and today got up at 0530 and did 18miles. So am getting the 4 sessions in per week, no injuries, no niggles. I foamroll before, and immediately after I finish, mainly on the calfs, a little on the hams and glutes, and then stretch the lot.

The run was on country roads with a few miles of canal thrown in. I found that on my last mile while comin back into my village I was like a demon, couldnt tolerate the 'friction' of having others sharing the paths and roads, normal beautiful folks just stepping out of shops were in danger without knowing it (almost :D) , honestly though I dont know how anyone could do an LSR in a solely suburban area week after week, you all deserve a separate medal for that alone.

I havent tried gels or anything yet, fact that I can do 18miles before breakfast makes me wonder if on the day, I could have a good brekkie and get to 26.2 on that? Drank about 5 ounces of water (that'll make sense to anyone who did bottle feeds) from mile 12 onwards and had some left in the bottle.

So next week, maybe 18 again, or push it out a bit more.

skittles11 wrote: »
    Havnt posted here at all this year but this thread was a huge help to me in my first marathon last year. Going again this year and trying to focus on my 2 main problems from last year. Firstly, my LSR's were too fast which is tougher to correct than I thought it would be but I'm getting there now. And the other is hydration both in training and during the marathon itself. With that in mind I'm on here to ask if anyone knows what drinks aside from water will be available along the route? Also, which gels will be at the gel stations? Brought my own gels last year but took one from the gel station shortly before Milltown resulting in an almost instant stitch. I cant be sure but I think it was one of the ones you need to take water with. Then again it could just have been a coincidence.
    Thanks in advance and good luck to all first timers, soak up the crowd and enjoy the day, there's nothing like it!

The main DCM website has a Q and A section in it and I believe both of those questions are asked, if memory serves its the Hi 5 Gels and Luzacade Sport, but I haven't looked at it in a while.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,272 ✭✭✭Dubgal72

come on nop, you know they're wrong with their old world imperial measurements!

Well done on the run. Sounds like it went well.

How did you get on at the lake's Dubgal? Did that race a couple of years ago and really enjoyed it.
    Thanks EK, it's a really well organised race for sure with a super atmosphere. Got a PB on a deceptively tough enough course so happy out with that thanks :)
    skittles11 wrote: »
    ^^^ vvv thanks BC1 :)
    BIRDCAGE1 wrote: »
    The main DCM website has a Q and A section in it and I believe both of those questions are asked, if memory serves its the Hi 5 Gels and Luzacade Sport, but I haven't looked at it in a while.

Every weekend I look forward to your lsr reports. They never disappoint, thanks guys. I'm going to wait until Sunday's come in before I post. In the meantime, hope the legs and body are recovering well, well done everyone :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,781 ✭✭✭eyeball kid

Dubgal72 wrote: »
    Thanks EK, it's a really well organised race for sure with a super atmosphere. Got a PB on a deceptively tough enough course so happy out with that thanks :

Yeah, I found it really well organised. Also got a pb there. 50 mins and 07 secs. Had to walk up the hill a little bit and that stopped me getting the sub 50.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,119 ✭✭✭Mrs Mc

smiley70 wrote: »
    Ah you will be fine . I am just back from 18mile. Not as nice as last week really missed the company. So glad to get it done 11.24 mile average. Best of luck tomorrow.

Well done smiley still have that to look forward to tomorrow ;( still buzzing after visit to Croke park this eve and our victory over Mayo woh woh off to bed now

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,386 ✭✭✭diego_b

Race report for Dingle Half Marathon

Today was my final scheduled race ahead of DCM, in preparation for the race during the week I was debating how hard was I going to push it. Decided on a A goal of 1:52 (8:32min/mi....that was 28 seconds off PB from Killarney back in July) and a B goal of beating the previous PB I had set back in June (which was 1:55:40 at the Half on the Head, a similar hilly course to today's route). No C goal really but said if things were going bad I would drop to my pmp of 9:09 and use it as a mp run.
    How I decided on the pace was that I have a good 6 weeks or more training since the last race and whilst today was to be a hard course I figured that a pace a little slower than my last 10K race on the August bank holiday was achievable (I averaged 8:19min/mi that day and remember saying to my coach afterwards that whilst I don't think I could have run any quicker if he told me to do a second lap of the course I think I could hold the pace).
    I did up a pace band (you can see them here I have only used them in half marathons to date but expect I will use one on the full.
    Part of the reason I use them is that I can add dots/codes to each mile to let me know if there's a hill (up/down) and when the water stops are.

Preparation last night included the now regular routine of getting all the bits and pieces ready for the morning. As I was driving to the race, about an hour from I packed spares of most things. The OCD type behaviour kicks in sometimes, my current idea is needing spare laces!! Anyways got to bed about half 10 and sleep so so....again to be expected. I get excited like a child before Christmas with these things.

This morning, was up at 6:15 and got on my gear after putting on sun cream and body glide on the necessary areas. Missed putting body glide under my arm and as I was wearing a singlet I would pay for that later with chaffing.
    Had a normal breakfast and was on the road about 7:10. Parked up in Dingle around an hour later. Conditions were looking very favourable in being nice and bright but not especially warm I felt. Heading down to the Marina to meet some club colleagues and did a warm up 0.9 of a mile with one of them. Nice and handy and feeling pretty good. Last minute dash to the jacks as always and then into the starting pens.

Quite a large number at this race, I think around 1800 starting mixture of half and full starting together. We would all run together out to Dun Chaoin before the halves would split off the to finish near Kruger and the full would continue on the complete the Slea Head route.

Mile 1
    Took me about a minute from the starting horn to get to the start line, I started nice and handy for the first few hundred meters and let the crowd break up a bit. It was quite tight and I didn't want to be wasting effort weaving. First hill was in the first mile but checking my HRM and pace and felt good. Tip away. The watch beeped at 8:28 so happy days I was right into my pace with a few secs to spare.

Mile 2
    Was running within a good crowd at this point and things were quite jovial. Mile 2 was pretty flat that I can remember and we were well out the town then and well settled into the race. Split was 8:26 so still all good

Mile 3
    This as I'd noted on my pace band was going to be a steady climb for a mile and a half. Was feeling fine and kept an eye on my HRM to make sure I wasn't overdoing it on the hills. Expected to slow slightly with these but could gain it back as there were some downhills to come. Breathing was really good so far into the race. Split was 8:29, thought that was possibly a bit fast but que sera.

Mile 4
    Still climbing, not that noticeable but just your effort levels would go up. About half way through this mile it opened up a bit and there was a slight downhill which was nice. Got chatting with a couple there for about half a mile and that blew that mile away to be honest. Split was 8:26.

Mile 5
    Still enjoying the general decline (guessing opposite of incline!) and was really motoring now. Starting thinking a bit about the PB and would I be good for it. Guessed if I could maintain the same effort and keep banking a few second would secure me for the bad hill at the end to come. Split was 8:21.

Mile 6
    Bit of a climb here again, can't really remember this one but still things were going well. Took my one gel for the race about halfway through the race. I was taking a clif shot block every 3 miles or so as well. This is my current plan for DCM as well, seems to work okay for me and I keep the tank topped up before it empties. Split 8:33, first one above my target split of 8:32 but unconcerned as had a few seconds banked.

Mile 7
    Starting to feel a little bit umcomfortable at this point and I had noted that the tongue on my left shoe had moved downwards and putting pressure on the top of my foot. It wasn't bad but I debated for a few mins what to do....never had runner issues before mid race but said look stop for a sec. Pull the tongue up and see how it goes, was concerned I would have to relace back up. Anyhoo pulling the tongue seemed to sort it so we trucked on. Split was 8:38, figured at least 5-10 secs lost slowing down and starting back up after messing with the shoe.

Mile 8.
    We again were on the upward curve now and I was starting to feel it tough, can't really remember what my thoughts were on the run this time but I do remember saying to myself run tall and checked for tension in my shoulders and arms. I also was saying run smart to myself at times to keep things in check on the pace front. However when I saw the split time of 8:54 I was thinking feck, am I starting to blow up here. Checked my pace band for my overall target time for the race and I was still on the money. Decided to try speed up slightly and then check things at the 10 mile marker.

Mile 9
    This was quite nice out around this part of the peninsula, I start thinking sometimes with these when you see cliffs, islands, the sea and that that we are running at the end of the world! This part of the course was flat and I could feel a second wind maybe coming so decided to start to push a little ahead of my 10 mile checkpoint. Split time was 8:30....we are back in business!!

Mile 10
    Much the same as mile 9 for me, this part of the course was a bit windy and even a small headwind at spots but seriously lovely and the cliff face was shading from the sun. Ran the race with sunglasses, I do most races but no real need. I was motoring at this point I felt so when I went past the mile 10 marker on the course I checked my pace band which had a target on 1:25:29. As I passed the sign I saw my watch 1:25:30....proper smiled at that. I asked myself how do I feel and my answer was one word, strong.
    I knew I had almost 30 seconds to play with then if going for my PB and said look you have to run 3.1 miles....something you have done weekly now for 2.5 years so this is an easy distance now....lets see how fast you can do it. Dropped the hammer proper. Split time was 8:13.

Mile 11
    Fairly well tipping it now and passing people at a steady rate, really enjoying myself now and started to think thank you boards plan, dubgal et all I am in proper good nick for this sort of stuff now. Split time was 7:57 (this to note is my flat out 10K speed before DCM training).

Mile 12
    I knew it was coming and there she was hill in all her glory, the hill I had heard about a few months back. Decided to ease back a small bit and make sure I wasn't blowing too hard to keep something for the last mile and change. This hill was nasty, it had dips in it and bends so really had no clue as to how long it would go really but I did know according to my research that by the end of the mile it was going to be done. The last part where we crested over the top was the worst, was hoping that was the end as I was hoping my good work would not go to waste. Split time was 8:36 so I lost very little on planned average.

Mile 13 and to the finish
    I knew this was going to be flat even with some downhill so I decided to give it everything I had to be honest. I had spotted the 3:45 pacer for the marathon so think I passed him in my final sprint to the finish. As the half and full runners were split I wished good luck to the full people nearest to me and one of them said thanks and told me I shouldn't be able to talk really now and drive on hard for the finish. I said you're right and gave it a proper flat out push from the 13 mile mark to the end. Sharp 90 degree turn so didn't see the clock till going over the line and gave it socks celebrating when I was the gross time of 1:51:40...knowing that even that was better than what I had set out to do.

Distance 13:1miles
    Time 1:50:34 (chip time from race, 1 second slower than my watch but all good)
    Avg pace 8:22min/mi
    Avg heart rate 171bpm (steady throughout but increased in the last 3 miles which I would expect as to how I ran them and the course profile)

Overall thoughts, loved the race and will do it again. There was a good few of my clubmates doing the race so that was nice to meet them before and afterwards and in general whilst people find the race hard everyone seems to enjoy it for the most part. Was happy with how my race planning worked, need to have a check on how I'm lacing my runners....had tried a lace lock in the last few weeks on LSRs and I'm not sure about it....might go back to the standard knot I use. As I said in the prep section I forgot to apply bodyglide under my arm and got a fair amount of chaffing from my singlet top....something I won't miss in future.

So my last race before DCM and I think if it had been a flat course I could have maybe broke the 1:50 mark. I am training for the 4 hour time for the big day and at least with a time like today I am proving more to myself that I might be capable of getting close to 4 hours. I am currently in two minds but obviously more training to come and I am responding well to it. Go with the 4hr pacers and risk 4:05-10 when the fatigue I have never experienced kicks in or go with the 4:15 pacers and possibly enjoy the experience more and push with a strong finish if I am capable of that. No need to answer that yet as back to training next week!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 137 ✭✭FeenaM

Just a a quick hello from Dingle. Well done everyone on the LSRs. Isn't it funny how a 10 mile run now seems short!!!

Diego, well done on your pb yesterday! Definitely not a pb course with that hill at the end! We must have crossed the finish line fairly close as I was with the 3.45 full marathon group for the last few miles and heard them say that. It was a group using it as a training run for Berlin and they had done the ultra in Dingle a few years back so they spent a few miles telling me all about it which was great because I didn't even notice the miles pass (or the pace, errrr).

Anyway, I'll admit I went a bit off plan this week and didn't quite take it easy (but didn't quite race either) but I'm the type that has to learn by doing, including mistakes and I now have a week of low but fast mileage, body feels tired and haven't progressed past 18 for lsr when I should be at 20. So that really is it now and I'm looking forward lots of easy long and short runs. Really enjoyed Dingle but I'm done with doing races that I'm not racing anymore!!

Off now for a few easy miles around Dingle. Enjoy your Sunday's :-)

Thanks very much and glad to hear you enjoyed the race....lovely area for sure. That 3:45 group seemed like a nice crowd for the few secs I chatted with them and I was delighted as well that when I went for a sprint finish that it was there. Ta to the guy fro giving me that last push to try that.
    I was surprised myself in ways but I think I have room for improvement and being on a plan like boards plan is getting the best out of me. Aye a few club mates and friends were laughing saying I seem to be getting PBs everytime I'm out. That is the case for the half marathon at the mo but not on stuff shorter than that since starting marathon training. Been said to me that having taken up running in my 30s that I should improve for a good few years yet...that would be nice!
    You know I was thinking the very same thing that barring a short race with my wife to run with her I don't know if I could run and not race to easily. I was thinking about the Athlone 3/4 but might leave it, it's well out of my way as well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 541 ✭✭✭smashiner

Ice Ice Baby........Ice Ice Baby.......Bungygirl, I owe you a beer after your 'bucket of cold water with ice' suggestion post LSR's for any injury niggles. I did a 25K/15.5M LSR last night and my ankle flared up afterwards......D'oh.

I put my foot in the cold water with ice cubes bobbing about and after 43 seconds of swearing, I started to get some relief and my ankle feels a lot better than I thought it would this morning........:rolleyes:

I usually do my LSR's in the morning and I really struggled yesterday evening, legs felt weary probably due to cutting the grass, hoovering the stairs (strength training) and chopping up a small bit of firewood for a neighbour.......will get back to morning LSR's next week!!

Good tip for anyone that struggles with sweat stinging their eyes is to use vaseline on the eyebrows and the sweat tends to be channeled to the side and away from the eyes.....works for me anyway.

Best of luck to anyone going out today on their LSR.....hard few weeks ahead but we are nearly there....keep grinding away it will be totally worth it on DCM day;)

Well done on the race lads, sounds like a good day all round :)

I came back from EP to go to a wedding yesterday, left wedding at 11 and drove home so was in bed nice and early. Was standing at the wedding mostly and since I rarely wear heels any more my feet and legs were screaming at me, was so glad to be home! Off out now for my long run. Was supposed to be going back to EP after that but I'm not really sure that I'm arsed :o Will decide when I'm home.

Hope everyone is having a good weekend :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,477 ✭✭✭wolfyboy555

Just back from 16mile LSR. Left the house at half 8 and finished just after 11. It was nice heading out early and having the town to myself. I have been using one gel per LSR the last few weeks with some water and I think it does help. I took it about 80mins in and felt strong for the last section of the route. I focused on trying to run a slower first half and faster second half which I think I managed to do. My overall time was 2hrs 37min at 6:03 km/min average.

Looking forward to the half marathon in two weeks time. Hoping to do about 1:55. Also it will be my first proper race scenario so it will be interesting to see how the LSR's pay off when I will be running that distance at a quicker pace. Will there be pacers at the half marathon?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 107 ✭✭Peter D61

Just back from my 16 mile lsr. It's the furthest I've ever run and I'm delighted. It was my first lsr without a little walk during it, first time using gels,and the first time with my new flipbelt.
    Mile 1 9:35
    Mile 2...9:31
    Mile 3...10:04
    Mile 4...9:38. Gel
    Mile 5 ...10:08
    Mile 6...10:20
    Mile 7...9:59
    Mile 8...9:56. Gel
    Mile 9...10.14
    Mile 10...9:56
    Mile 11...11:23. Convenience break
    Mile 12...10.37. Gel
    Mile 13...10:52
    Mile 14...9:58
    Mile 15...11.16
    Mile 16...10:42
    Total time 2:44:46
    Average per mile...10:17
    I don't know how much the gels helped, I felt tired toward the end but not too bad. The hill at loughlinstown hospital between 15 and 16 was hard work. Flip belt is comfortable and useful.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 361 ✭✭mobfromcork

Just back in from my 20 mile LSR. Went from Carlow up the Barrow trail towards Athy but had no-one to collect me from the other side afterwards so just went for 10 miles, turned around and ran back again.
    Did my usual big bowl of porridge with honey and some granola with a strong coffee at around 7am. Left at 10am, a bit later than normal but real life things had to be attended to before I could go on my merry way. My new runners hadn't arrived as yet so threw on a pair of my older ones and headed off. I brought a small backpack with a 750ml of water, a few gels and grabbed a packet of wine gums and a packet of fruit gums also. Did the first 8 miles and had a small drink and a gel and trotted on. At mile 14 I had another gel and out 6 wine gums into my pocket os I could have one at every mile as a treat for myself. They have definitely overtaken Haribo Starmix as my LSR sweet of choice due to their extraordinary longevity. I'm not sure they have any nutritional/energy value but it's nice to have something to break up the distance, especially when running solo.
    My pace was pretty solid throughout at 8.50 per mile. I had bit of a slow drag of a hill for the last half mile which comes at a similar distance in the DCM so I stood tall with arms swinging and didn't find it too bad. My last two miles were the fastest of the run so still had a bit of energy at the end.
    I found that when I stopped briefly to take the water and gel from my bag, it took a while to find my pace/rhythm again. I was almost a little dizzy until I got back into it and the legs were a little shaky. All in all I'm happy enough though.
    Nice to read all the different reports and how people are finding it. It's really starting to come together for everybody now and the excitement is starting to build a bit I think. Best of luck to all during the week.

Mob

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 541 ✭✭✭smashiner

Looking forward to the half marathon in two weeks time. Hoping to do about 1:55. Also it will be my first proper race scenario so it will be interesting to see how the LSR's pay off when I will be running that distance at a quicker pace. Will there be pacers at the half marathon?[/QUOTE]

Yep, (I take it that you mean the Dublin HM on the 19th) sub 1:50 and 2:00 pacers for definite. I suggest that you go out with the sub 1:50 group and let them off after a mile or so, the sub 2:00 group tends to be larger and can be a bit of a problem trying to get through so many people, people start to do crazy things like running on the grass etc.

I am aiming for a similar time myself with a few friends as prepp for the big day, best of luck WB555 ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,915 ✭✭✭✭menoscemo

Will there be pacers at the half marathon?

For the Race Series half there will be pacers for 1:30, 1:40, 1:50, 2:00, 2:10, 2:20 and 2:30

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,324 ✭✭✭chrislad

menoscemo wrote: »
    For the Race Series half there will be pacers for 1:30, 1:40, 1:50, 2:00, 2:10, 2:20 and 2:30

I'll stick with the 2:10 Pacers and see if I can pull ahead in the last mile. My pb is around 2:10:45 or so.

chrislad wrote:
    I'll stick with the 2:10 Pacers and see if I can pull ahead in the last mile. My pb is around 2:10:45 or so.

I did that race last year and it was my first half marathon. Used the pacers as an elastic and then made a sprint over the last 200 meters to be sure to finish ahead of them. I had started just ahead of them at the start so knew I needed to pass them to be sure. 1:59:39 and was delighted when I saw the 1 at the front of my time!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,776 ✭✭✭This Fat Girl Runs

I'm back from my 15 miles. Going to add my report then go back and read the race reports from Dingle.

Decided to try a new route today...started well, ended badly but not for reasons you might think. I also started earlier than usual so was up at 6.30am for breakfast, got another hour of rest and out running by 8:40am.

I hit the quays all the way to IFSC then turned up Amiens Street, ran around Fairview Park, followed the coast towards Howth until I hit 7.5 miles then turned around and headed back home...where it all fell to pieces!

Plan was to warm up a mile, run as many miles as I could at my easy pace of 14:10-14:20 then run at recovery until the last mile which I planned on walking as a cool down. It would have been nearly door-to-door. Nice, easy, breezy...right? Ha! Read on!

Mile 1: 15:26 (warm up)
    Mile 2: 14:15
    Mile 3: 14:21
    Mile 4: 14:23
    Mile 5: 14:17
    Mile 6: 14:30 (took a gel here)
    Mile 7: 14:21
    Mile 8: 14:18
    Mile 9: 14:22
    Mile 10: 14:27
    Mile 11: 14:34 (another gel)
    Mile 12: 14:48
    Mile 13: 14:43
    Mile 14: 14:38
    Mile 15: 18:58 (cool down half mile, joke walk last half mile)

So I did all right up until about mile 12. I'm quite happy with my splits and efforts for most of the run actually. I didn't feel too bad and the legs held up well.

What happened is; on my way back into town, I took a wrong turn and ended up running all the way down to the Point Village, instead of continuing on down North Strand Road/Amiens Street. You can see from the screenshot how badly this pulled me off my route and planned mileage! I knew fairly early on that I had done something wrong but I thought 'sure if I just keep running I'll hit the quays then it's straight on till home'. So I kept running....and running...and running....and getting a little concerned...

By the time I saw signs for Dublin Port, I knew I was running way out of the way so I decided I would run to the Point Village, turn in to the Luas and follow the tracks until I hit 15 miles, then take the Luas the rest of the way home. (It was clear to me then that if I had walked home from 15 miles, it would have been another 2 miles on top of the 15 and I didn't want to risk it!)

So as I said, I kept running, and running and running and finally hit 14 miles so I could slow down for my cool down. I figured I could walk to Bus Aras and take the Luas from there. Of course, I hit Connolly Station right when all the match crowds were streaming up the roads and footpaths to get to the station. So the last half mile, which I ended up spending walking to a shop for water and back, was a real joke of a distance. It was a slow crawl trying to get around the crowds and traffic.

Anyway, regardless of the wrong turn I still did the distance, and kept to my pace longer than I really thought I would so I'm still happy enough with the run. I'm not sure if I'd do this route again though. Going out was fine but coming back through town midday probably wouldn't be a very good idea.

Oh, out of curiosity I weighed myself before and after my run. Just before I left I stood on the scales (in gear but no shoes) and was 99.2kg. I took two gels and about 700mL water, no loo breaks. After my run (again in gear but no shoes) I was 97.6kg. Not sure if that means anything but it's pretty interesting. I think I'll do it again next week, see what happens.

Oh, for a laugh I turned my Garmin on while I was on the Luas. 1.1 miles in 5.37 minutes :pac: Did you know that there are some of you here who can run as fast as the Luas?!!

Anyway, that's me done. Legs feel tired but fine after stretching. Quads are a little tight but I'm going for another sport massage in two weeks and he's going to work on them then. In the meantime I will stretch and foam roll.

So now I'm just going to have a nice chill out afternoon. It's somewhat chilly in my house today so I think my duvet, my cat and my bed will be my companions for the rest of the day.

Well done on all the races and LSR's, guys! Will go back now and catch up on my reading! With a nice cup of coffee. Aahhhhhh, bliss!

menoscemo wrote: »

I just had a look at the DCM website and it says that there will only be pacers for 1:30, 1:40, 1:50 and 2hrs !!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,415 ✭✭✭Singer

Back in from 20 mile LSR. Was going to head out and back to St. Anne's via Malahide, but decided to keep going down the Malahide Road and take in a bit of the pre-All Ireland atmosphere around Croke Park, heading back up through the Swords Road. In retrospect this wasn't a great idea, the burger vans made me hungry and I had to jump out on the road a bit to dodge large packs of fans. Maybe it was some good weaving practice for the start of races :)

On mile 15 or so I hit some sort of wall, I was starving and pace dropped. I ate the gel I brought along, finished the water and felt a lot better. I still spent a lot of the time thinking about food for the rest of the run though. The ad-hoc route also wasn't great as I had a mile to make up once back in Swords, so had to think about where to run (not easy as my head was mush) and did some non-inspiring loops around some estates. At 19.8 miles a little dog started chasing and barking his head off at me, I was pretty grumpy by then and shouted at him to fsck off :)

Average pace: 8'31

Mile splits:
    8'03, 8'06, 8'16, 8'24, 8'16, 8'35, 8'22, 8'08, 7'57, 8'33, 8'35, 8'43, 8'29, 8'37, 8'43, 9'30 (hunger mile), 8'35, 8'34, 8'52, 8'46

Likely too fast, the positive split shows that (though there was a lot more uphill back to Swords).

Now to hang out at a 5 year old birthday party in a play centre, hopefully some good horizontal parenting opportunities there :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,742 ✭✭✭ultraman1

I just had a look at the DCM website and it says that there will only be pacers for 1:30, 1:40, 1:50 and 2hrs !!!
    Meno is not always right,but not usually wrong either

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,915 ✭✭✭✭menoscemo

Maybe myself and UM1 have some insider info ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,610 ✭✭✭yaboya1

run as many miles as I could at my easy pace of 14:10-14:20

Is this really your 'easy pace'?

You completed a half-marathon recently at an average pace of 14:30min/mile and from the report it didn't sound like you found that easy. This is 10-20 seconds per mile faster than that.