Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

DCM 2015: Mentored Novices Thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 541 ✭✭✭smashiner

Windorah wrote: »
    Speaking of new runners... I bought a new pair yesterday on the advice if my physio as I am having knee pain (nothing new there!) I went for brisk walk last night and all feels good. Should I go for my long run this weekend in my new runners or break them in with a few shorter runs this week and wear the old runners for the LSR?

I would wear the new ones, as they might be better to cure your knee problem rather than running with runners that are maybe not right for you, just make sure and wear a decent pair of running socks that are on the thicker side (prevents chaffing) and I have used a bit of vaseline on the heel and toes on each foot to help any potential abrasions.
    Also make sure that you don't have them too loose on your feet as this may cause blisters as your foot will move around too much.........best of luck ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,272 ✭✭✭Dubgal72

Speaking of new runners... I bought a new pair yesterday on the advice if my physio as I am having knee pain (nothing new there!) I went for brisk walk last night and all feels good. Should I go for my long run this weekend in my new runners or break them in with a few shorter runs this week and wear the old runners for the LSR?

Ummm I'm going to go with break them in first....what exactly did the physio say was causing the knee pain? You only bought the runners yesterday and - imo - unless they are a new version of your old ones, your feet need to get used to them gradually.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,371 ✭✭✭Phoebas

Dubgal72 wrote: »
    Ummm I'm going to go with break them in first....what exactly did the physio say was causing the knee pain? You only bought the runners yesterday and - imo - unless they are a new version of your old ones, your feet need to get used to them gradually.

I'd tend to go along with this.
    I've got a similar conundrum. My physio has recommended orthotics for me, but I'd be very wary of doing a long run using them right off the bat. I'll be gradually introducing them.

Your old runners didn't suddenly become dangerous just because they aren't quite right for you, but you'll only get a good feel for the new ones by gradually using them. If you ran 18/20 miles this weekend in them and felt your knee (or other) pain, how would you know if it was the runners or the run!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,415 ✭✭✭Singer

Firedance wrote: »
    +1 to this, that is exactly the area where my foot pain was last year and it was down to my runners, hopefully if that is the case for you and you get back into your previous runners asap, the pain won't hang around, if it does, go straight to a physio.

Exact same here - I had pain there with new runners coming up to March, kept running on it and ended up hurting my foot a lot. I couldn't run for a few weeks. Ditched the runners and haven't looked back once I recovered. In my case I think the runners were too tight.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 723 ✭✭✭Pink11

ZV Yoda wrote: »
    On the outside sole of my left foot. Fine when I'm sitting down, but gets aggravated when I walk. Not excruciatingly painful, but enough to cause a slight limp when I catch it the wrong way.

4qKPwFz.jpgVYPAlJ1.jpg

I had pain here too about two months ago. Took almost a week off and it was fine. I hope it'll be the same for you. I think it was because I didn't have my shoe tied tight enough on my LSR. Not sure though but I think I was straining myself as my shoes weren't secure perhaps? Was just relieved it went away on it's own after some rest so didn't analyse it. I did lots of gym work that work and laid off the runs.

Did my 18mile LSR today. Planned on doing 20miles but miscalculated the route - annoying! And once I was back home, mentally as silly as it sounds I just couldn't face doing one more 2 mile loop. I thought I had 20 done and was gutted to see my watch said different when I got back. Chuffed to bits though considering I'm not feeling the best atm. Went really well - I'm so relieved. I forgot my lead to connect Garmin so can't post my split times but will do next week.

Good luck to everyone on their LSR this weekend. And to those of ye off to EP have fun.... ye lucky ducks!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,413 ✭✭✭Toulouse

H'okay! 16 mile pre-Picnic LSR report!

Had the alarm set for 6am so I could get up and get my porridge but I didn't sleep well last night, think I'm a leeeeeetle bit excited, so got up at 5am, had brekkie and went back to bed until 7am.

Left the house just after 8am. Spilts are as follows

12:21
    11:53
    11:35
    11:52
    11:51
    11:54
    11:45
    11:23
    10:57
    11:06
    11:08
    11:46
    11:19
    11:11
    10:43

which gives 16 miles at 11:28min/mi.

I felt a lot less shook after this one than last weeks 15 miler. I had to make a pit-stop at about 5 miles again this week, I only had a pint of water at 5am and a coffee at 7am but perhaps I'm drinking too much before the LSRs. I brought 1 Isogel and some Jelly Babies. I had a plan that I would do two 8 mile loops so I could stop by my house for water but in the end I didn't actually feel the need to drink anything during the run so I ran an alternative route instead. I took the gel at 8 miles and then from 10 miles on I took a Jelly Baby at every mile mark. This strategy seemed to work, my split times sped up and I felt fine after 16 miles, I could probably have gone to 20.

Have been out and about all day but I think I'm just wired, I'm not as zonked as normal and I am not really hungry either.

Calf is fine, could feel it for the last couple of miles but it wasn't painful if you know what I mean. Going to do 4 recovery miles in the morning.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,457 ✭✭✭ZV Yoda

Pink11 wrote: »
    I had pain here too about two months ago. Took almost a week off and it was fine. I hope it'll be the same for you. I think it was because I didn't have my shoe tied tight enough on my LSR. Not sure though but I think I was straining myself as my shoes weren't secure perhaps? Was just relieved it went away on it's own after some rest so didn't analyse it. I did lots of gym work that work and laid off the runs.

Good luck to everyone on their LSR this weekend. And to those of ye off to EP have fun.... ye lucky ducks!!

There could be something in that. AK advised me to go up a full shoe size. I wasn't convinced, but went with their suggestion. The new runners definitely felt a bit clunker on me. Maybe that's way I haven't taken to them.

Anyway, I made an executive decision to scrap the 16 mile lsr tonight. No point risking injury at this stage of the plan. Plus, I don't want to be hobbling around Stradbally all week-end.

I'll do a 4-5 mile in the morning in my old runners & see how I get on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,776 ✭✭✭This Fat Girl Runs

Just home from my 6 mile run (easy pace) which included my first 'serious' hill sprint session. The hill sprints replace my usual HIIT session that I would have normally had with my PT on a Monday. Since I'm losing that session, I'm doing the HIIT on my Thursday easy run instead.

Completed all miles and sprints and felt pretty good doing them. I didn't go all out on the sprints, wasn't supposed to, but did make an effort on them for sure. A few hiccups for this session as I took a wrong turn to get to my route so I ended up with a unintended 2 mile warm up!

I chose the Kyber Road for my hill. Splits were:

Sprint 1: 1:54.4
    Recovery 1: 2:56.8
    Sprint 2: 1:56.4
    Recovery 2: 2:50.8
    Sprint 3: 1:51.5
    Recovery 3: 2:39.3
    Sprint 4: 1:48.5
    Recovery 4: 2:43.1
    Sprint 5: 1:52.1
    Recovery: 3:09.4

Once I was finished I kept going at my recovery pace until I hit 6 miles, finished in 1:35:13. So, run done! Went straight from work again so I'm home and all in good time.

Oh, these are my Garmin splits and timed at 0.15 mile sprints. Strava is telling me my 200m PR on Kyber Road is 1:14 (with 2nd and 3rd fastest times at 1:18 and 1:19) so I might have actually overshot my distance. Hope these are ok sprints in terms of time for recovery and progression though. If I've done them wrong, be nice about telling me so please! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 541 ✭✭✭smashiner

smashiner wrote: »
    I would wear the new ones, as they might be better to cure your knee problem rather than running with runners that are maybe not right for you, just make sure and wear a decent pair of running socks that are on the thicker side (prevents chaffing) and I have used a bit of vaseline on the heel and toes on each foot to help any potential abrasions.
    Also make sure that you don't have them too loose on your feet as this may cause blisters as your foot will move around too much.........best of luck ;)

Just want to explain why I say go with wear them now. I started marathon training last Spring and I bought myself an expensive pair of Asics Gel Kayano's for €140 as they were the 'best' runners for running a marathon. After a few weeks the inside of my right knee started to really hurt and then I developed IT band problems..... :(....very painful

I then got some really good advice from a girl in Elverys and she said I needed a different type of runner as my arches were too high and I was 'underpronating' when I ran and the Kayano's were all wrong for me and more for a flat/normal arch. I bought a pair of Asics Gel Pulse 5 (half the price of Kayano's) and the problems went away overnight and I have avoided the physio for 9 months now!! Painful and expensive lesson learned about buying 'expensive' runners that may not be right for you, I now cut the grass in the Kayano's....

I reckon that 'in the name of science' Windora should wear one new runner and one old and report back her findings to us on Monday morning :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 107 ✭✭Peter D61

Three 4mile runs this week so far
    Tuesday 9:35 per mile
    Wednesday 9:35 per mile
    Thursday 9:39 per mile.

Wednesday was supposed to be a time trial but I was afraid to go full out in case I injured myself. Too much work gone in to it at this stage, and don't want to miss any lsr.
    I've entered the Athlone 3/4, I'll use it as a 20 mile lsr that I was supposed to do on that date anyway. I think it will help me with with my pre race routines and nutrition.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,119 ✭✭✭Mrs Mc

Enjoy EP Toulouse well done on the LSR im jealous you have it done already be careful dancing in those wellies and enjoy those well earned beers ! :)

*twirls hair and looks at floor*

So, um, like, I kind of can't go to Newcastle to do the great north run next week now so um, I'm um, going to go to electric picnic instead......

*twirls hair and looks at floor*

So, um, like, I kind of can't go to Newcastle to do the great north run next week now so um, I'm um, going to go to electric picnic instead......

You n Toulouse can run together at EP in your wellies !!!

Mrs Mc wrote: »
    You n Toulouse can run together at EP in your wellies !!!

I once broke my leg at EP :o - I promise to try to not do that this time.

Just home from my 6 mile run (easy pace) which included my first 'serious' hill sprint session. The hill sprints replace my usual HIIT session that I would have normally had with my PT on a Monday. Since I'm losing that session, I'm doing the HIIT on my Thursday easy run instead.

Completed all miles and sprints and felt pretty good doing them. I didn't go all out on the sprints, wasn't supposed to, but did make an effort on them for sure. A few hiccups for this session as I took a wrong turn to get to my route so I ended up with a unintended 2 mile warm up!

I chose the Kyber Road for my hill. Splits were:

Sprint 1: 1:54.4
    Recovery 1: 2:56.8
    Sprint 2: 1:56.4
    Recovery 2: 2:50.8
    Sprint 3: 1:51.5
    Recovery 3: 2:39.3
    Sprint 4: 1:48.5
    Recovery 4: 2:43.1
    Sprint 5: 1:52.1
    Recovery: 3:09.4

Once I was finished I kept going at my recovery pace until I hit 6 miles, finished in 1:35:13. So, run done! Went straight from work again so I'm home and all in good time.

Oh, these are my Garmin splits and timed at 0.15 mile sprints. Strava is telling me my 200m PR on Kyber Road is 1:14 (with 2nd and 3rd fastest times at 1:18 and 1:19) so I might have actually overshot my distance. Hope these are ok sprints in terms of time for recovery and progression though. If I've done them wrong, be nice about telling me so please! :D
    Hi TFGR, sounds like you feel pretty chuffed with this run anyway :) Maths - as we know! - is not my strong point but it looks like your reps were around 300m?
    Hill sprints would usually be short and sweet, i.e., 8-12 seconds on a very steep gradient and practically all out so I'm guessing as these were so much longer and 'not all out' that they were more endurance intervals?
    How did you feel physically going into each rep? Recovered/fully recoveres/tired a little or tired a lot? Your splits and recoveries are fairly consistent which is a good sign: a fall off with times and/or an increase in recovery needed would suggest a misjudgement of pace.

smashiner wrote: »

I reckon that 'in the name of science' Windora should wear one new runner and one old and report back her findings to us on Monday morning :D

And you know if the other knee starts hurting...*somebody* could be in trouble :eek: :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,413 ✭✭✭Toulouse

I once broke my leg at EP :o - I promise to try to not do that this time.

Holy crap!!

/makes plan to make sure not to hurt herself if at all possible.

Now someone please tell me to stop playing with my eyeliner and to go to bed!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 111 ✭✭Emsy 1

Toulouse wrote: »
    H'okay! 16 mile pre-Picnic LSR report!

Had the alarm set for 6am so I could get up and get my porridge but I didn't sleep well last night, think I'm a leeeeeetle bit excited, so got up at 5am, had brekkie and went back to bed until 7am.

Left the house just after 8am. Spilts are as follows

12:21
    11:53
    11:35
    11:52
    11:51
    11:54
    11:45
    11:23
    10:57
    11:06
    11:08
    11:46
    11:19
    11:11

which gives 16 miles at 11:28min/mi.

I felt a lot less shook after this one than last weeks 15 miler. I had to make a pit-stop at about 5 miles again this week, I only had a pint of water at 5am and a coffee at 7am but perhaps I'm drinking too much before the LSRs. I brought 1 Isogel and some Jelly Babies. I had a plan that I would do two 8 mile loops so I could stop by my house for water but in the end I didn't actually feel the need to drink anything during the run so I ran an alternative route instead. I took the gel at 8 miles and then from 10 miles on I took a Jelly Baby at every mile mark. This strategy seemed to work, my split times sped up and I felt fine after 16 miles, I could probably have gone to 20.

Have been out and about all day but I think I'm just wired, I'm not as zonked as normal and I am not really hungry either.

Calf is fine, could feel it for the last couple of miles but it wasn't painful if you know what I mean. Going to do 4 recovery miles in the morning.

That's dedication getting up at 5am good on u. Great to hear you could go to 20 (I hope I feel the same) Have a great time at the picnic it's well deserved.

Hi TFGR, sounds like you feel pretty chuffed with this run anyway :) Maths - as we know! - is not my strong point but it looks like your reps were around 300m?
    Hill sprints would usually be short and sweet, i.e., 8-12 seconds on a very steep gradient and practically all out so I'm guessing as these were so much longer and 'not all out' that they were more endurance intervals?
    How did you feel physically going into each rep? Recovered/fully recoveres/tired a little or tired a lot? Your splits and recoveries are fairly consistent which is a good sign: a fall off with times and/or an increase in recovery needed would suggest a misjudgement of pace.

Thank you! Yes, the plan is more of a build endurance one for me, rather than speedwork. So hill sprints are 200m with recovery. This week I did 5, next week will be 6 and so on. Physically I felt pretty ok considering I had a tempo run yesterday and didn't sleep great last night. First rep was hardest because I wasn't sure when to stop or if I was running too slow or too fast. Recoveries were fine, didn't feel I needed any longer than that. After I got used to the idea I felt really good with the intervals.

The reason I did 0.15 miles (300 meters..yikes! I'm no good at maths either!) is because to plan the run I input my warm up, intervals and cool down in my Garmin (pardon my French!). Because I track in miles I could only choose 0.10 miles or 0.15 miles for my intervals. I was doing this with a guy at work who uses his Garmin for this on a regular basis so he was showing me how to set it up. We thought it would be best to go a little over rather than under. Especially as I wasn't going to be running all out.

It turns out I can input the correct intervals online and then upload it to my watch. So next time I will be able to do the 200m exactly.

But all in all, I was happy enough with these, despite dreading them because I hear all the time about how much people hate them! I probably would hate them too if I were doing a steeper, faster sprint! :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,585 ✭✭✭nop98

Toulouse wrote: »
    Holy crap!!

/makes plan to make sure not to hurt herself if at all possible.

Now someone please tell me to stop playing with my eyeliner and to go to bed!!

Stop playing with your eyeliner. Go to bed. :) Enjoy EP!

Thank you! Yes, the plan is more of a build endurance one for me, rather than speedwork. So hill sprints are 200m with recovery. This week I did 5, next week will be 6 and so on. Physically I felt pretty ok considering I had a tempo run yesterday and didn't sleep great last night. First rep was hardest because I wasn't sure when to stop or if I was running too slow or too fast. Recoveries were fine, didn't feel I needed any longer than that. After I got used to the idea I felt really good with the intervals.

The reason I did 0.15 miles (300 meters..yikes! I'm no good at maths either!) is because to plan the run I input my warm up, intervals and cool down in my Garmin (pardon my French!). Because I track in miles I could only choose 0.10 miles or 0.15 miles for my intervals. I was doing this with a guy at work who uses his Garmin for this on a regular basis so he was showing me how to set it up. We thought it would be best to go a little over rather than under. Especially as I wasn't going to be running all out.

It turns out I can input the correct intervals online and then upload it to my watch. So next time I will be able to do the 200m exactly.

But all in all, I was happy enough with these, despite dreading them because I hear all the time about how much people hate them! I probably would hate them too if I were doing a steeper, faster sprint! :P

Ok but next week allow a day - or two - of recovery/easy jogs in between tempo and intervals (technically these are not sprints. Sprints are all out).

Remember the maxim, keep the hard days hard and the easy days easy....but you must always follow a hard day with an easy day.

The easy day allows your body to rest, repair and adapt = improved fitness and performance :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 791 ✭✭✭conor_mc

8 easy miles tonight, I'm a day behind the boards plan as I did my 19m lsr on Sunday. Really pleased with this run tonight. I mentioned that I had a touch of IT band pain during my last few runs, and I find this usually comes on during the slower runs due to inevitable changes in form. So tonight I concentrated on form big-time, running tall, pushing pelvis forward so as not to slouch, followed the advice here about shortening stride rather than slowing cadence (Clearlier, I think?) etc. Kept it up for the entire 8 miles at a 10:20 average, not a single mile split below 10 mins. :-) Lsr's are usually 9:40ish.

Earlier part of this week was a 2m recovery run on Monday lunchtime, with a swim training session on Monday night (very tough, calves cramping like crazy, gonna take these much easier from here on in, I think), rest Tues, 4m easy @ 9:06 avg yesterday.
    Plan for the rest of the week is for 4m easy tomorrow lunchtime, then I'm hoping to get a permission slip for a morning 20m lsr this weekend, as opposed to my usual post-watershed slot.... fingers crossed!

Ok but next week allow a day - or two - of recovery/easy jogs in between tempo and intervals (technically these are not sprints. Sprints are all out).

Remember the maxim, keep the hard days hard and the easy days easy....but you must always follow a hard day with an easy day.

The easy day allows your body to rest, repair and adapt = improved fitness and performance :)

Hmmm....my schedule is a little complicated...as follows:

Monday: Recovery run (used to be PT session)
    Tuesday: Rest (Soon to include college course)
    Wednesday: hard run
    Thursday: easy run (now with hill, used to be just easy)
    Friday: rest
    Saturday: PT with HIIT
    Sunday: LSR

Not much wriggle room to move things around...the hills are new to September and replace Monday's HIIT. Tuesdays are out now with my college course starting up. If I do hills plus easy run on Friday that's two days with HIIT followed by two days running so 4 days on with no rest, and a Tuesday and Thursday rest day seem to be too close together. My coach didn't want that for me.

Any ideas? I actually don't feel too bad today all things considered. I stretched well (always do) after last night's run so legs feel ok this morning.

Up at 6 this morning to get 5 miles easy in before work as I had a work night out last night. a lot to be said for early morning running setting you up for the day. Feel great after it. Was actually still a little dark so had to wear the high viz bib and a bit nippy so pulled the arm sleeves on as well. All went well had to detour into west wood where they very kindly let me use the loo :) am starting to map out all these useful places that have toilets I can use for LSR !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,324 ✭✭✭chrislad

I was way too tired to do the run yesterday after all the Ikea construction and emptying a house into a skip! I got up at half 6 this morning before work to get it done. It went well, with an average pace of 11:11 or so, though my last mile was faster, I maintain that I kept a good steady pace, as the last mile home is fairly downhill for a good .4 of a mile which always speeds me up!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,921 ✭✭✭Kennyg71

Mrs Mc wrote: »
    Up at 6 this morning to get 5 miles easy in before work as I had a work night out last night. a lot to be said for early morning running setting you up for the day. Feel great after it. Was actually still a little dark so had to wear the high viz bib and a bit nippy so pulled the arm sleeves on as well. All went well had to detour into west wood where they very kindly let me use the loo :) am starting to map out all these useful places that have toilets I can use for LSR !

Well done A, But have to say running train station to train station as
    pjd suggested, much better than toilet to toilet.😀

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,970 ✭✭✭aquinn

Hmmm....my schedule is a little complicated...as follows:

Monday: Recovery run (used to be PT session)
    Tuesday: Rest (Soon to include college course)
    Wednesday: hard run
    Thursday: easy run (now with hill, used to be just easy)
    Friday: rest
    Saturday: PT with HIIT
    Sunday: LSR

Not much wriggle room to move things around...the hills are new to September and replace Monday's HIIT. Tuesdays are out now with my college course starting up. If I do hills plus easy run on Friday that's two days with HIIT followed by two days running so 4 days on with no rest, and a Tuesday and Thursday rest day seem to be too close together. My coach didn't want that for me.

Any ideas? I actually don't feel too bad today all things considered. I stretched well (always do) after last night's run so legs feel ok this morning.

If it was me I'd give up the HITT as it's taking away a days running. Is this not the High Intensity training? I would have thought you'd be better out doing a run?

aquinn wrote: »
    If it was me I'd give up the HITT as it's taking away a days running. Is this not the High Intensity training? I would have thought you'd be better out doing a run?

I am. I'm doing 4 days of running now (used to be three). The hills are included in a run so I'm not losing any running time. My Saturday PT includes HIIT and S&C both.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,928 ✭✭✭✭rainbow kirby

I'd argue that a strength session focused towards running injury prevention would be a good use of that time/session.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,970 ✭✭✭aquinn

I'd argue that a strength session focused towards running injury prevention would be a good use of that time/session.

I don't know if a HITT of this kind is focused on preventing injury prevention and S&C?
    The only HITT session I've come across in the offered by Bootcamp Ireland, it's a half hour class to replace the full hour as if you do it properly its the same as a full class. I know I couldn't do Bootcamp and train as would be too wrecked so just did the runs on the plan. That's why, I'd suggest, if it is similar and not just S&C focused and can wear you out I'd suggest dropping it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,460 ✭✭✭Clearlier

aquinn wrote: »

+1 to this TFGR. Assuming that the marathon is the focus HIIT won't make you fitter to complete the marathon. The only proviso I would have regarding this is if you have concerns about your running form and the HIIT is supposed to address this. That said there are other ways to address running form.