Farming Chit Chat sticks it to six.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,621 ✭✭✭✭Buford T. Justice XIX

In case anyone is interested, Kerry FRS are holding a knapsack sprayer course in Castleisland on 10th-11th sept 10am till 4.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,433 ✭✭✭Milked out

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=IdiLwjRVarM

For those of us always complaining about the wet weather...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,292 ✭✭✭✭Nekarsulm

Any Boardsies near Bundoran may be interested in dropping into the Sunday Market behind the cinema. Chap has a stall selling army surplus type stuff, and has Haik chainsaw boots at only 60 Euro. Which I think is a bargain.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,457 ✭✭✭Kevhog1988

Nekarsulm wrote: »
    Any Boardsies near Bundoran may be interested in dropping into the Sunday Market behind the cinema. Chap has a stall selling army surplus type stuff, and has Haik chainsaw boots at only 60 Euro. Which I think is a bargain.

leather or wellington type??

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,985 Mod ✭✭✭✭blue5000

Just been in aldi, they have head torches for a tenner, and wheels for a wheel barrow or if anyone is thinking of making a trolley for meal etc.

If the seat's wet, sit on yer hat, a cool head is better than a wet ar5e.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,702 ✭✭✭✭Reggie.

What type of army surplus?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,743 ✭✭✭ganmo

blue5000 wrote: »
    Just been in aldi, they have head torches for a tenner, and wheels for a wheel barrow or if anyone is thinking of making a trolley for meal etc.

One of the tyres on the turner gave up last summer, it turned out that wheelbarrow tyres are the same

Usual mix of parkas, overalls, shirts, and then reproduction stuff. Camo hunting jackets. No hardware! The Haix boots are two types. Wellington type pull-on, longer than rigger boots, and a steel toe type with a kind of combination zipper/lace up tongue affair. He said you tighten then to the desired degree with the two sets of laces, and then thereafterthereafter you can zip them. Also the more common pattern Germany paratroopers boots.

Any irish issue gear there that you could have noticed

Reggie. wrote: »

what boots do ye have Reggie??

Hiax

Sad to say, Reggie, but I wouldn't know the difference between Irish and Dutch DPM. Nothing with a tricolour anyway. (That would be a bit rich, with the camp a mile out the road......)

Just a word of warning. Big clamp down on irish gear being sold by our self's and the garda so stay well away is my advice if your in any doubt

That's all you would need. Stopped at a checkpoint while out with the rifle, foxing, and be found wearing Irish Army uniform. Wouldn't be funny at all.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,090 ✭✭✭AP2014

Yeah that's it for ya in a nutshell. The fun will be tomorrow night

Is it a piss take Reggie? The uniform inspection and is the room clean part, unreal funny. Have these lad being watching too much american tv? Some of the fellas look like they are short a few brain cells.

Did you have to honestly go through this crap?

AP2014 wrote: »
    Is it a piss take Reggie? The uniform inspection and is the room clean part, unreal funny. Have these lad being watching too much american tv? Some of the fellas look like they are short a few brain cells.

Did you have to honestly go through this crap?

That's what it's like genuinely lads. I think many people look at the army differently now

Jaysus I don't want to offend Reggie but it seems like some of those officers watched to many american films. Those young lads deserve dignity and respect just like a young lad working in the farm yard, classroom or office.

Bloody disgusted with some of this bollox, was hoping it was for cameras only.

Jaysus I don't want to offend Reggie but it seems like some of those officers watched to many american films. Those young lads deserve dignity and respect just like a young lad working in the farm yard, classroom or office.

Bloody disgusted with some of this bollox, was hoping it was for cameras only.

AP that sort of training is essential to create a soldier. I've gone through it. Was tough but seriously character building and a "must" part of my training.

It's not just "American" carry on. Most militaries train that way it's only that American military is more televised

AP that sort of training is essential to create a soldier. I've gone through it. Was tough but seriously character building and a "must" part of my training.

It's not just "American" carry on. Most militaries train that way it's only that American military is more televised

Is there an need to abuse and humiliate people though? That last wan that answered back, what was the officer expecting that she could treat her like dirt.

Are ya in the army long Reggie? Is it a career you enjoy and will stay in?

Is there an need to abuse and humiliate people though? That last wan that answered back, what was the officer expecting that she could treat her like dirt.

Are ya in the army long Reggie? Is it a career you enjoy and will stay in?

She was an NCO not an officer. It has to be trained into recruits that you always follow orders no matter what they are. Don't forget the oath they took at the start that all soldiers take.

In 15+ years and have 5 years left to put in

She was an NCO not an officer. It has to be trained into recruits that you always follow orders no matter what they are. Don't forget the oath they took at the start that all soldiers take.

do you like it? i think id go mad with all the parading and guard duty stuff.

Fair play to ya Reggie, jaysus some of it looks like awful bollox. Ya must be dedicated to the cause anyway.

do you like it? i think id go mad with all the parading and guard duty stuff.

Makes a man out of ya lads. Now ya know why ya dont take on soldiers as they will attack first as we are trained that way

I hope trained and not brainwashed!

Ya reckon I'm brainwashed ;)

Not yourself but some of the recruits where they are treated there, not to have a brain or answer for themselves, yes. I think that training is the definition of brainwashing to be honest.

Too hard to explain here but near the end you seem section attacks that's the real army stuff there. See where the shouting comes into play now along with the stress tests (locker inspections) as in each recruit will have to lead an attack so they have to make decisions on the fly.

If your brainwashed your no good to the army as you have to make decisions at all times in a split second. Sometimes with no room for error. Let it be sending someone that way with could walk them into a minefield or will I send that mowag over that bridge and will it support its weight?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,747 ✭✭✭CloughCasey1

Ya don't deserve respect ya earn it. No I in team. One cog not in line and ****s up the whole operation. Same in sport imo. If ya don't go through hardship to get where ya need to go you will crack at first sign of a challenge.

Too hard to explain here but near the end you seem section attacks that's the real army stuff there. See where the shouting comes into play now along with the stress tests (locker inspections) as in each recruit will have to lead an attack so they have to make decisions on the fly.

If your brainwashed your no good to the army as you have to make decisions at all times in a split second. Sometimes with no room for error. Let it be sending someone that way with could walk them into a minefield or will I send that mowag over that bridge and will it support its weight?

Or should I wear these ear muffs or will I go bloody deaf :) Only pulling your leg Reggie, I see what your saving but I think it could be achieved without the shouting and abuse.

That female that was doing all the shouting is like a wan you would see in a fight in the chipper late at night. As rough as a bears arse.

Or should I wear these ear muffs or will I go bloody deaf :) Only pulling your leg Reggie, I see what your saving but I think it could be achieved without the shouting and abuse.

That female that was doing all the shouting is like a wan you would see in a fight in the chipper late at night. As rough as a bears arse.

That's the thing it couldn't. What do you think happens the minute you come into contact with the enemy? Lots of noise so if they aren't shouted at from day one they can't get used to the sudden stress of battle. You hardly think the enemy will give ya time to put on ear defenders...

I think the civilian population just got a shock of how the army really is. Everyone has this notion that the army is handy and not real. For years I've been listening to thar arguement and I know half the people saying it wouldn't last the first few weeks.