Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

DCM 2015: Mentored Novices Thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,272 ✭✭✭Dubgal72

Pink11 wrote: »
    Personal disaster for me!

Ongoing pain in tooth got unbearable and I need a root canal. My whole head hurts! I'll try and do 7/8 miles this evening though. And again in the morning. Will probably have to break up my LSR this week and just get the mileage in, it's better than nothing. I would be too scared to do my LSR while I have this tooth ache!

Ouch Pink, I could think of nothing worse on earth - ok maybe childbirth - than pounding a pavement with the throb of toothache. Take a few days off, forget about the lsr, chalk it up and remember the TRR 'percentage of training lost' quote. Don't torture yourself, at least not in this way.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,921 ✭✭✭Kennyg71

Dubgal72 wrote: »
    Ah sure I'm sure MJ will turn a blind eye to your plagiarism ;)

I catch any of ye doing that (and I will.....) .....:mad: :mad:

Hehe love the runners organisational ocd :)
    A lsr is going to leave you pretty wrecked, work or no work. I generally factor in some horizontal-on-the-sofa-parenting on Sunday afternoons so Mrs Mc you're not alone! Can you rejig your schedule so you do it on your day off?

We should start up a weird and wonderful statistics post :)
    Keep an eye on that foot and hopefully a rest at EP will help.

Well done for getting out early. For all of you, focus on effort levels over pace if going out very early and/or 'on empty' until your body adjusts.

Funny how things are interpreted online sometimes? I love emoticons :D:D

S'ok FBOT we haven't told him yet he's not going DS again ;):D He's in early denial stage :pac:

Funny enough, faster miles feel easier, they fell effortless, compared to
    Reining in. But I just keep reminding my self of all those slow twitch lads
    Being recruited and being able to carry us through unknown last 6 miles.😅

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 139 ✭✭BIRDCAGE1

Well, I managed to make it back from my weekend away in one piece. Legs were still sore on Sunday evening arriving back into Dublin airport, after my LSR on Friday morning. I never really got a chance to rest over the weekend, lots of walking/sightseeing during the days and a bit of 'Dad dancing' on Saturday night along with a few adult beverages probably didn't help things.

I had to force myself out the door last night for a 4 mile run - one of the hardest runs to get into in a long time, but I'm glad I forced myself out. This evenings 4 miler was lot better, legs felt a lot looser. I bought some epsom salts yesterday and had a bath when I got back from my run. The pack had not instructions on the amount to use, so I put half the 1kg carton in [ is that too much, too little???, I've not idea].

My schedule for this week has me doing a 1..2..1 run later in the week. I'm assuming this means 1 mile slow, 2 fast , 1 slow ....... is this right? Its the first time its popped up in my schedule.

I also finally Actually signed up for the Marathon yesterday evening, and got my charity page up and running [first donation already in], all of a sudden this whole thing has become much more REAL. No longer is it 'can I do this' .... but more like 'I am doing this'.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,386 ✭✭✭diego_b

Clearlier wrote:
    There's also an emerging theory that taking anti-inflammatories negates the effects of training i.e. it's the presence of inflammation that leads to body adapting so if you take it away the body doesn't adapt and the training is of no benefit.

So basically you're killing/injuring yourself with junk miles and possibly getting little to no benefit with medium to long term injury issues!

Back home in Kerry today and got my first run of the week done tonight, 5 miles @9:53 min/mi. Felt great during it so hopefully bodes well for another good week. The weeks are really rattling off, I will miss the training plan when it's done so starting to think a little bit of what I will plan for after DCM. I like to have a few ideas in the back burner! What is the recovery time needed before looking at another plan be it 5/10K plan as think I would like to get some of my lazy fast twitch fibers going after the marathon.

For some reason I thought it was 5 miles tonight but I now see it was meant to be 4, silly billy. Will take a mile off Thursday night I think then, going to be down mileage this week with the half marathon on Saturday anyways.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,101 ✭✭✭Sunny Disposition

Just back from a six mile run, first time running in the dark for months. Took it relatively easy, average of 8.25 a mile, which seems to be a kind of a default pace when I don't press things, always seem to go about this pace. Legs still a little bit sore from 15m lsr on Saturday and 4m recovery on Sun.

diego_b wrote: »
    Back home in Kerry today and got my first run of the week done tonight, 5 miles @9:53 min/mi. Felt great during it so hopefully bodes well for another good week. The weeks are really rattling off, I will miss the training plan when it's done so starting to think a little bit of what I will plan for after DCM. I like to have a few ideas in the back burner! What is the recovery time needed before looking at another plan be it 5/10K plan as think I would like to get some of my lazy fast twitch fibers going after the marathon.

Hi diego, good idea to be looking beyond DCM. Generally, you are advised to rest and recover one day per mile raced, so November is pretty much taken care of there :) You could start a plan in December and even race once or twice in that month just to see where you are. I read back along that you are at your prime post marathon after - I think, don't quote me - five weeks. I've a feeling we'll be seeing PBs rolling in in January and December :)

How you build depends on how you recover in November too. Some will take a complete rest, some will keep ticking over.
    We'll talk about optimal recovery plans too post-marathon in a few weeks. By *we*, I mean Clearlier, MS, FBOT et al ;) :pac:

Hi Sunny D, nice running....buuut... Have a look at this in case you missed it. (And apologies if you have replied, the occasional post gets lost if you turn your back for a few pages :) ) What you did tonight was essentially a PMP (planned marathon pace run)....but with no warm up or cool down :eek:
    Hi Sunny D, thanks for taking the time to answer these. Your HMs suggest that you're in good shape and you have a good spread of mileage across the week.

I will suggest however that your training runs are a tad fast. (*collective novice groan* :pac:)
    For your first marathon, you really want to be sure that you have enough endurance banked. Miles and miles will fill the bank but slower miles are a stronger currency in marathon training.
    I know this seems counter-intuitive but trust me, marathon training - especially your first - requires a different approach.
    It's all down to fibres....no, not that type of fibre (definitely not that kind of fibre :eek: ).
    You will have heard of fast twitch and slow twitch fibres. The speedsters have a glut of fast twitch fibres and endurance runners will have an overflow of slow twitch fibres. Slow twitch fibres, when trained to cope with miles and miles and miles in the right manner, will stave off fatigue, especially in the later stages of the marathon. Slow twitch fibres, especially for novices, thrive and multiply on many slow miles.
    You might have an idea whether you are a speedster or a diesel engine. Bearing in mind the training you have done, you can compare your Pbs on a vdot table. If they fall off, it can suggest that you need to focus on endurance.

The good news is that you have medium twitch fibres and these are fickle little devils. You can recruit them to act as slow twitch fibres by sloooowing down your training runs. Bonus!

The bad news is, training at too fast a pace will leave these medium twitch fibres as exactly that. And that is where the wheels will come off on marathon day. You will have loads of miles under your belt, but loads of slightly-too-fast miles...and a healthy contingent of non-recruited medium twitch fibres.
    These guys are no good at keeping fatigue at bay after 15 miles. They collapse and you're looking at hitting the wall a few miles later....

We recommend that your easy, recovery and lsrs (80-90% of your marathon prep) should be 45-90 seconds per mile slower than your PMP (planned marathon pace).
    A four hour marathon is around 9m/mi pace so for slow twitch recruitment to be effective, you would ideally train at 9:45-10:30 pace.
    A 3:40 marathon (not imposssible) is around 8:20 pace (0ff the top of my head) so you have been doing your lsrs at nearly PMP. Slow down to 9-10 m/mi pace and you will get that medium-to-slow twitch conversion going. You have two months to do this so all is not lost :)

What has your lsr progression been like over the last few weeks and what is the planned progression for the month of September? 15 miles at this stage is quite low, unless your plan has adopted a two day lsr strategy? By this I mean a medium long run on one day followed consecutively by a longer run.

PS hills are good, but for DCM specificity, hills are not absolutely necessary. DCM is a flat enough course. My concern would be that hills take away from the business of building, running and recovering from plain old miles in the bank :)

Have a look at these, they will explain in more detail why slower is better :)

Clearlier pacing post
    http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=96220748&postcount=1789

SLOWING DOWN MYLES SPLITZ
    http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=95875158&postcount=724

NE on going slower
    http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=95874717&postcount=721

Yaboya and slow running and speed
    http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=96268207&postcount=1913
    Just back from a six mile run, first time running in the dark for months. Took it relatively easy, average of 8.25 a mile, which seems to be a kind of a default pace when I don't press things, always seem to go about this pace. Legs still a little bit sore from 15m lsr on Saturday and 4m recovery on Sun.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,119 ✭✭✭Mrs Mc

Starting to get a bit nippy out there. Winter is coming ! Up at 6am for pilates at 7 this morning, first time I've had to put the lights on driving into work since the start of the summer. 4 miles easy this evening, had to put the sleeves on under my tshirt as it just felt a litte bit cold heading out and was lashing, but it dried up half way through my run. Legs took about a mile to loosen out but other than that felt good. Took it easy enough and enjoyed the run. Splits below

Mile 1 11.14
    Mile 2 11.32
    Mile 3 11.28
    Mile 4 11.39

My run tonight started out hard, I really struggled for the first 20 minutes, I had to stop at one point to stretch my calves. My plan said 50-60 minutes easy so I decided to just get to 25 minutes and turn around and go home. Decided I wouldn't be able for my hill sprints so just get the miles in and that be that.

Honest to god I saw this, a sign, literally :pac:

I stopped to take the pic and had a little smile and for some reason it all got easy from that point on.

1 hr 19 minutes + 6 hill sprints done :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,324 ✭✭✭chrislad

Hi diego, good idea to be looking beyond DCM. Generally, you are advised to rest and recover one day per mile raced, so November is pretty much taken care of there :) You could start a plan in December and even race once or twice in that month just to see where you are. I read back along that you are at your prime post marathon after - I think, don't quote me - five weeks. I've a feeling we'll be seeing PBs rolling in in January and December :)

How you build depends on how you recover in November too. Some will take a complete rest, some will keep ticking over.
    We'll talk about optimal recovery plans too post-marathon in a few weeks. By *we*, I mean Clearlier, MS, FBOT et al ;) :pac:

I was considering doing the MoRunning 5k (as I did the 10k last year) which is on in mid November (17th I think) - Is this way too early to be racing then? I was going to play it by ear but if it's too soon, no point in me wasting my money or the travel costs/time!

Hey FBOT, if u are on line, just thinking about this 4 mile time
    Trial, do u reckon better to do Tempo with mile w/u & 3 miles
    Tempo,mile cooldown, will be doing early, so not sure if will be
    Motivated to go flat out for 4 miles.

Thanks G

Kennyg71 wrote: »

Thanks G

Literally just asked him the same thing g haven't a clue what time trial means on the plan tomorrow he is checking the plan.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 161 ✭✭JacEim

Hi diego, good idea to be looking beyond DCM. Generally, you are advised to rest / and recover one day per mile raced, so November is pretty much taken care of there :) You could start a plan in December and even race once or twice in that month just to see where you are. I read back along that you are at your prime post marathon after - I think, don't quote me - five weeks. I've a feeling we'll be seeing PBs rolling in in January and December :)

Great minds!! I got the turbo out tonight, brought the bike in from the shed and set it up beside the treadmill. I plan to do the odd night recovery on the turbo over the next 7 weeks, and was planning to hit the turbo a lot from around a week after DCM. Considering the different muscle groups and low impact is this ok?
    Have neglected the bike this year and want to get some balance back after Oct...

Mrs Mc wrote: »
    Literally just asked him the same thing g haven't a clue what time trial means on the plan tomorrow he is checking the plan.

Aparantly going flat out, see how fast u can run, probably work
    In road race or club session, not to sure if I could motivate myself
    to race the watch, especially at 6 in the am

chrislad wrote: »
    I was considering doing the MoRunning 5k (as I did the 10k last year) which is on in mid November (17th I think) - Is this way too early to be racing then? I was going to play it by ear but if it's too soon, no point in me wasting my money or the travel costs/time!

This is purely personal opinion chrislad... I think it's too early. Your body has worked very hard, let it have a little more rest.

Aparantly going flat out, see how fast u can run, probably work
    In road race or club session, not to sure if I could motivate myself
    to race the watch, especially at 6 in the am

Ouch 6am, definitely throw paces out the window and go by effort! Good luck if you htfu decide to do it :)

JacEim wrote: »
    Great minds!! I got the turbo out tonight, brought the bike in from the shed and set it up beside the treadmill. I plan to do the odd night recovery on the turbo over the next 7 weeks, and was planning to hit the turbo a lot from around a week after DCM. Considering the different muscle groups and low impact is this ok?
    Have neglected the bike this year and want to get some balance back after Oct...

No idea, sorry JacEim, can't help you there...anyone?

That makes sense, I had read something like that before as well in regards a mile per day...hard to call until the big un is done but I would hope not to take a complete rest if all was okay. I love running!!

Grand job on the recovery plans....need to get to the point of needing one first before worrying too much about it icon12.png
    There were a few races in November I had my eye on but I know they are likely too soon for anything barring looking for trouble.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 161 ✭✭JacEim

No idea, sorry JacEim, can't help you there...anyone?

Please don't send me over to the dark side on the tri boards... Who knows what they'll say :D:D

Ouch 6am, definitely throw paces out the window and go by effort! Good luck if you htfu decide to do it :)

Thanks, I have to run by about 6 jack russles, about mile into run
    So great time to start Tempo Run & see how it goes. Only pace run
    This week, as LSR is 18 with 8 PMP, so not sure if this reason for
    Time trial.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,447 ✭✭✭FBOT01

Thanks G

It means run like fock for the prescribed distance and see how long it takes you....Enjoy ;)

FBOT01 wrote: »
    It means run like fock for the prescribed distance and see how long it takes you....Enjoy ;)

Bloody marvellous don't have the specific setting on my garmin ! :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,936 ✭✭✭annapr

I love it when you get all technical on us :D

Apricaite encouragement 😊

Thanks G

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,447 ✭✭✭FBOT01

Thanks, I have to run by about 6 jack russles, about mile into run
    So great time to start Tempo Run & see how it goes. Only pace run
    This week, as LSR is 18 with 8 PMP, so not sure if this reason for
    Time trial.

I had to pass them lads a couple of weeks ago and ended up crossing the road as I was moving at a pace that I didn't want risk the little feckers getting in the way or I could have been rightly screwed. Surprised some of them haven't been killed on the road at this stage.

I would do the 1 mile wu and make the call at that stage. If you end up doing the TT make sure it is at least 3 miles otherwise skip it and go with a tempo.

Bloody marvellous don't have the specific setting on my garmin ! :)

Pretty much getting opertunity to breake your 5k time, isn't
    Faith a wonderful thing. Maybe FBOT will pace you.

I had to pass them lads a couple of weeks ago and ended up crossing the road as I was moving at a pace that I didn't want risk the little feckers getting in the way or I could have been rightly screwed. Surprised some of them haven't been killed on the road at this stage.

I would do the 1 mile wu and make the call at that stage. If you end up doing the TT make sure it is at least 3 miles otherwise skip it and go with a tempo.

Thanks, think seen one squished on road other day, so only 5 to contend with
    now, hope there awake in morning to start turbo boost 😀

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,101 ✭✭✭Sunny Disposition

Hi Sunny D, nice running....buuut... Have a look at this in case you missed it. (And apologies if you have replied, the occasional post gets lost if you turn your back for a few pages :) ) What you did tonight was essentially a PMP (planned marathon pace run)....but with no warm up or cool down :eek:

Thanks for the feedback Dubgal, know I need to slow up, will make a big effort not to go quicker than 9:30 tomorrow, actually find 8:24 pace a little frustrating, but obviously it's the way to go.
    Had planned to do a long run of 16 miles Friday, 18 the week after, 20 on Sept 18/19 and two weeks later to do the longest run of 22 miles. Do you think I should be doing supplementary long runs?