Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

DCM 2015: Mentored Novices Thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,119 ✭✭✭Mrs Mc

denis b wrote: »
    Dont worry.... you will be looking for the 25 minute pacer by the time we get through all this!!!

Now that would be a nice end to the running year Denis ! Well done on LSR today.

Toulouse wrote: »
    Did my 15 mile LSR this morning. Came home to Laois to do it. I know I said I wouldn't but my Dublin lifeline is away this weekend and the last time I went running on my own in SCD I got very lost. Over dinner last night my Mum asked how far I had to run. I said '15 miles' and my Dad just raised his head, raised an eyebrow and said 'Ballyroan?'. 'Yes' I said, 'Ballyroan'.

Got up at 7 for the usual big bowl of porridge, chia and banana. Walked the dogs and then had a cuppa. Also had a couple of pints of water.

Left the house just before 9.30am. I was feeling a little apprehensive for some reason, perhaps it was the thoughts of running to Ballyroan! :) I had set my pace to 11:35 but took a couple of miles to even get anywhere near that.

It was fairly uneventful, no cows and only one dog who wasn't that angry. I had one pit-stop at 5.5 miles (too much water this morning!!). God was it tough going though. I didn't stash or carry any water and I only had one gel on me. I did bring a tenner for emergencies but I didn't really get thirsty until 13 miles and the only shop was back at 10 miles. I got really hungry at 8.5 miles so I took the gel and then after that all I could think about was food. I was surprised as I ate all around me last night and had a good breakfast.

Splits were:
    12:15
    11:51
    11:43
    11:29
    11:30
    10:57
    11:28
    11:32
    11:28
    11:46
    11:34
    11:31
    11:15
    11:18
    10:52

which gives 15 miles at a 11:30min/mi average. Pretty happy with the consistency, I wasn't paying that much attention to the watch after the first couple of miles as in my mind it was just about getting it done. At about 13 miles I felt that if I stopped I wouldn't get going again. Didn't quite make it to Ballyroan, reckon it was about another mile down the road.

Calf is fine but I have a blister on the top of my second toe on my right foot. I know there's been a lot of talk about blisters but if someone could give me the TL;DR version that would be great. Burst or don't burst, that is the question.

Came home and baked a cake :D which I am going to murder later.

Nice going C enjoy that cake :) splits are nice and steady hopefully mine will go as well tomorrow.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,413 ✭✭✭Toulouse

Mrs Mc wrote: »
    Nice going C enjoy that cake :) splits are nice and steady hopefully mine will go as well tomorrow.

Have no doubts at all that it will, looking forward to the report! :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,461 ✭✭✭Clearlier

TheBazman wrote: »
    Did the Tullamore Half Marathon today as I wanted to do a half in August rather than the SSE in Sept. It was a real lesson for me. My pb was 1.41 on a tough course on the Aran Islands and given that Tullamore is fairly flat I had hoped to get a little inside that.

However...the heat was unbelievable. I've never felt so exhausted even from around half way. Talking to a few at the end and it seemed as if everyone struggled. Even quite a few people out on the road stopped stretching, walking etc.

I finished at 1.42.50 so almost 2 minutes outside my pb, but being honest the way I felt towards the end I'm actually happy with that. I was on target until around 12 or 13k but really struggled after that. It's funny that all you need is to pick up the pace by around 10 seconds/km but it just wasnt possible - the tank was empty.

So anyway - to the learnings for the DCM. The calculator would suggest that my marathon time is around 3.35. Ignore this! I have myself down to target 4 hours but in the back of my head I'm thinking that if I have a good day I could get close to 3.45...Ignore this!. My approach is normally to go out a little fast to build up a buffer for when I tire near the end. Ignore this!

If I am targeting 4 hours, then I need to genuinely pace myself for this. I do not want to be in agony and having to walk in the second half because I went out too fast. The other thing is that if the day is warm (like last year I guess) then stick another 15mins on to my target time. The heat will take that much out of you.

So in once sense while today was a struggle - I think it will genuinely benefit me by helping me to be a lot more realistic for the DCM.

This is a rare occasion that I can actually comment on a race where I took part ☺. I'm wondering if you were following the 1:40 pacers? I ran mine as 3 steady and 10 @ marathon pace effort which meant that I watched the 1:40 pacers pull away for the first few miles and then went past them between miles 5 and 6. The first half of the race was a good deal harder IMO but they seemed to be a little ahead of time and I was pretty surprised to hear them encouraging everyone to pick up the pace for the hills.

I'm a big advocate of maintaining effort rather than pace up hills. Maintaining pace up a hill is just asking for trouble as the effort required is going to really hurt. You're far better off slowing down and maintaining your effort up a hill and also maintaining effort and increasing pace when going downhill.

Don't be too sure about your final race pace yet. There's a lot of training and resting to go yet and plenty of time to get fitter yet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,462 ✭✭✭TheBazman

Clearlier wrote: »
    This is a rare occasion that I can actually comment on a race where I took part ☺. I'm wondering if you were following the 1:40 pacers? I ran mine as 3 steady and 10 @ marathon pace effort which meant that I watched the 1:40 pacers pull away for the first few miles and then went past them between miles 5 and 6. The first half of the race was a good deal harder IMO but they seemed to be a little ahead of time and I was pretty surprised to hear them encouraging everyone to pick up the pace for the hills.

I'm a big advocate of maintaining effort rather than pace up hills. Maintaining pace up a hill is just asking for trouble as the effort required is going to really hurt. You're far better off slowing down and maintaining your effort up a hill and also maintaining effort and increasing pace when going downhill.

Don't be too sure about your final race pace yet. There's a lot of training and resting to go yet and plenty of time to get fitter yet.

I was ahead of the 1.40 pacers until around 12k when they went past but I couldn't keep up. At that stage I was still on for 1.40 finish so they were definitely well ahead. I heard the pacer saying they were doing 2 miles a little slower at that stage so they could have a strong finish. I can only presume that they came in around the 1.39/1.40 mark but to me they seemed a good bit ahead of that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,415 ✭✭✭Singer

annapr wrote: »
    I see you're really taking the 'slow down' message to heart... :eek:

I'm surprised I haven't been given up on already :)

In all seriousness though, this pace was technically within "Easy" per Vdot of my last race. Running is the easy part, figuring out what speed to do it at is tough :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,355 ✭✭✭Bungy Girl

nop98 wrote: »
    I have no idea what I'm talking about, obviously, but I once saw a documentary about elite athletes, and it was stated that the amount of lactic acids in their body after a particular hard work-out would kill a small horse.

Was that 'The Price of Gold' the one about Swedish elite athletes ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,272 ✭✭✭Dubgal72

Hi guys, I'm back :)
    Thank you to everyone who has jumped in this week with wisdom, encouragement, experience...and *rolled sleeves* :D:D :pac:
    Thanks especially to aquinn, annapr, firedance, Bungy Girl and laura _ac3. You were in super hands, Novices, with these guys as well of course with the usual suspects ( Clearlier, MS, NE, FBOT, meno and Murph).
    Actually, listing all this expertise has me asking if I really need to come back?!?!
    The honest answer, for me, is yes. I missed you guys and tbh at this stage I am emotionally invested in each and every one of you so yup, for better or for worse, I'm back.
    I'm going to spend this evening reading the last week and catching up properly. I'm feeling so happy to be back and mentally refreshed that, at the time of typing, I am even feeling like granting an amnesty for any - let's call them - 'unauthorised slip-ups'. We'll see ;)

Anyway, the main thing is that you are all keeping the main thing the main thing. And that you are all in one piece, even though your legs might beg to differ after today's lsr... :eek:

Happy Saturday Novices; I hope you are getting to put your feet up and enjoy whatever takes your fancy tonight, you've earned it!

Yay, welcome back Boss, missed you too!! :D

Welcome back DG we missed you but we were well looked after :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,355 ✭✭✭Bungy Girl

Toulouse wrote: »

Calf is fine but I have a blister on the top of my second toe on my right foot. I know there's been a lot of talk about blisters but if someone could give me the TL;DR version that would be great. Burst or don't burst, that is the question.

This post should help

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 111 ✭✭Emsy 1

Welcome back DG nice to have you back.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,776 ✭✭✭This Fat Girl Runs

Welcome back DG! Hope you enjoyed the break :D Lots of good reading for you. Some ups, some downs and a lot of learning from each other. Page turning stuff! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,585 ✭✭✭nop98

Bungy Girl wrote: »
    Was that 'The Price of Gold' the one about Swedish elite athletes ?

Yes! Compelling stuff, I must say.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,102 ✭✭✭Sunny Disposition

First time poster after a bit of lurking!
    15 mile lsr today, did it in a little over two hours, average of about 8:24 per mile. Somehow I found it hard to take it as easy as I planned, expected to go a bit over 9 mins per mile. On the plus side I did slow down after going way too fast at the start, 7:20 for first mile. Feeling pretty weary tonight, that's the furthest I've ever run. Getting pretty excited about DCM now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 407 ✭✭coolhandspan

Hi Sunny, Did a 16 miler this evening. i felt like death warmed up. brought my regular partner a cocker spaniel, was afraid he would find the 16 too much, he dragged me most of the way lol.. did 9min 30 miles... sore enough now all over. I LOVE MARATHON TRAINING.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,781 ✭✭✭eyeball kid

Oh ****, the boss is back. Leg it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,324 ✭✭✭chrislad

Just looked over my splits again - that sick tummy really messed me up! I was going so well until midway through mile 15.

1 11:11 /mi 11:08 /mi -1 ft
    2 11:11 /mi 11:21 /mi -24 ft
    3 11:00 /mi 11:07 /mi -18 ft
    4 11:14 /mi 11:37 /mi -48 ft
    5 11:05 /mi 10:52 /mi 23 ft
    6 11:38 /mi 11:41 /mi -12 ft
    7 11:10 /mi 11:16 /mi -16 ft
    8 11:31 /mi 11:30 /mi -1 ft
    9 11:27 /mi 11:21 /mi 8 ft
    10 11:06 /mi 10:44 /mi 39 ft
    11 10:56 /mi 11:23 /mi -54 ft
    12 10:55 /mi 10:49 /mi -1 ft
    13 11:21 /mi 11:13 /mi 10 ft
    14 11:26 /mi 11:05 /mi 36 ft
    15 11:42 /mi 11:33 /mi 16 ft
    16 11:55 /mi 12:17 /mi -43 ft
    17 12:36 /mi 11:48 /mi 70 ft
    18 13:19 /mi 12:58 /mi 30 ft
    19 12:21 /mi 12:26 /mi -15 ft

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,630 ✭✭✭frash

Last run of the holidays done this morning with a 17m LSR out to Mizen Head Lighthouse.

Average pace was 11:50 which is PMP +90.

Last mile was a killer but I think that was the hills early on that wiped me out.

More wild blackberries snacked on en-route.

37m done this week which is the most so far.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 107 ✭✭Peter D61

What is your athletics background? Have you run before? What other sports have you taken part in and at what level?
    I did a couple of 10k in the early 80s.nothing since.

Have you raced before? If so what are your PBs? (Date and distance please!)
    03/08/15 10k 57:26. 22/08/15 10mile 1:33:56

Do you still need to take walk breaks in your training ? (No problem if you do)
    On long training runs I run a mile ,then walk 2 mins. Haven't needed too do it on races.

How much training do you currently do incl cross training? Distances, cross training - whatever you think is relevant to your current fitness level.
    30 miles last week

How many days a week do you run only?
    5 days
    What do you want to achieve? Dream finishing time and realistic finishing time? Or just complete it in no specified time?
    I'll be happy to finish it.4:30 would be the dream.

What marathon programme are you following/intending to use?
    22 week programme from Irish Runner magazine.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,921 ✭✭✭Kennyg71

Mrs Mc wrote: »
    Well done to everyone hitting those LSR targets this weekend. LSR for me tomorrow but today was 1 mile slow 3 miles fast and 1 miles slow. I'd had a bad week with my calves but momentarily forgot this after hearing there was potential for a 26 min pacer at St Anne's park run today and with my pb at 26.12 this was very tempting. When I asked the hubby his thoughts about going for this he reminded me of my week and reminded me of the mantra on boards ' keep the main plan the main plan'! So for me hwhile I would have loved to have gone for it I decided my main plan was my 16 mile LSR tomorrow. So had a lovely fast run on the St Anne's park run but watching pace posture and niggles repeating the mantra even shouted out to FBOT and Bungy at the half way mark 'keeping the main plan the main plan ' !!! Kennyg and PJD were also keeping the main plan the main plan chattering like a couple of women around the course ! Enjoyed coffee with the park runners afterwards. Hopefully all goes well for LSR tomorrow. smiley70 is up visiting the big smoke this weekend so joining me for the LSR tomorrow.

Mrsmc you trying to take over from me, see I am seeing sense 25.15 today
    For park run, so definitely slooooowing

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,386 ✭✭✭diego_b

Welcome back Dubgal!

Funny how these LSRs affect me, I am wide awake now after been knackered tired earlier and all the way through to this evening. Will get to bed soon anyways, planning on doing my recovery run in the morning. Last run in London for me in this little break.

Today's run went well but it was tough at spots. It was a challenge in ways planning a route but managed well and only had to do a small little loop for the last 0.3mile or so. Started at 9:20 running from my hotel on the North side of Hyde Park doing half an anti-clockwise lap of the park. Linking to Green Park at Hyde Park corner and then doing half a clockwise lap there before running past Buckingham Palace and up the Mall. Enjoyed those segments a lot and was cruising as I turned at Trafalgar Square to run down Whitehall. Ran down past Downing St to Parliament Sq and around the block there (past Westminster Abbey and Big Ben) anti clockwise before going across Westminster bridge and onto the South Bank. Crowds were starting to build there and I needed to slow down and weave a small bit, used the toilet facilities in a McDonald's there (aside from milkshakes and the very odd Big Mac that is all they are good for). Once I got past the London Eye it all opened up along the bank and started meeting loads of runners doing their runs. It was interesting to me as there was some real flyers about, just to note as well that non of the best form runners I saw were wearing earphones. They were smooth, almost effortless machines, one lady that passed me looked a bit like Jessica Ennis (I should say the ridiculously great and lovely Jessica Ennis that she is) but obviously was not her. This lady was clad in Nike top to toe.
    I got down as far as the Tower Bridge then after a few miles and ran across...this was very cool too and then I did a full lap around the Tower of London before taking off back down the North Bank.
    North Bank was more challenging as plenty of ducking and diving around buildings for a bit to find the route but managed grand. Having to run up steps at points were challenging!
    Eventually at around 11 miles I was back down at Westminster Bridge and decided to stop for a min just to have a stretch and think about the next 7-8 miles or my route. Decided the South Bank was gonna be it but in the opposite direction to what I had ran and down towards Battersea Power Station.
    That choice proved a good one and was able to rattle off a few more miles and cross back over the Thames on the Chelsea bridge. I was getting properly into the guess the road/path to follow but managed fine. Spotted a sign saying Westminster and said I'll follow that with the idea it would bring me right back to Parliament Sq and after 3 miles or so it did. Started to retrace my route then back up Whitehall to Trafalgar and back down the Mall towards the Palace. It was around 12-12:30 now and the heat had gone up a notch and good crowds around so started to feel it with those two challenges. Had to stop at traffic lights on the Mall and that hurt...really rather stay going than stop. Ploughed on through the middle of Green Park then. But then had another two min stop at traffic lights this at Hyde Park corner and that was even tougher to get going from. I had just over 17 miles done then and knew I was gonna find it tough, said I'd plough on right up the middle of Hyde Park knowing that I should be fairly close to 19 miles when I get back to my starting point. The last mile was tough going and yet I kept going even though my pace had gone to hell and heart rate upped too. Before that point down around Hyde Park corner when I was stuck at those lights with 17 miles done I said today is all about these last two miles to come, it's just I needed to run 17 miles first to get the feeling of that into my legs and to handle the pain and slog that is to come now. I just pulled myself up and said keep going till you hear the beep on the watch. I was delighted when it came, finished in 3 hours 16mins 16secs. My longest ever run by a good 20 plus mins and 2 miles.
    Back to the hotel then I went with some slow watching for stretching and an Epsom salt bath.

Distance 19miles
    Avg pace 10:20min/mi
    Avg heart rate 151
    Splits
    10:49
    10:13
    10:39
    10:08
    10:46
    10:15
    9:52
    10:24
    10:39
    10:01
    10:41
    9:51
    10:25
    10:03
    10:11
    10:34
    9:58
    10:12
    10:35

Carried about 600ml of water (with high 5 zero) in it and drank all that. Would have taken more if I could. Took an ISOgel at 6.5miles and one at 13miles with 4 cliff shot bloks...one every 3-4 miles or so. Also took two sports beans I brought with me, seriously sugary things those, doubt I'd use them over something like the Cliff Shot Bloks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,386 ✭✭✭diego_b

Apologies for the nutty long post there, typing on my phone so had no idea of how long it was. Hope I don't bore the arse of ye reading it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,921 ✭✭✭Kennyg71

diego_b wrote: »
    Apologies for the nutty long post there, typing on my phone so had no idea of how long it was. Hope I don't bore the arse of ye reading it!

Nice run Diego B, careful not to have warm bath to soon after running
    can cause swelling in Mussles. Sounds like great run, nothing like change
    of seneary. Great achievement getting 19 under your belt

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,461 ✭✭✭Clearlier

TheBazman wrote: »
    I was ahead of the 1.40 pacers until around 12k when they went past but I couldn't keep up. At that stage I was still on for 1.40 finish so they were definitely well ahead. I heard the pacer saying they were doing 2 miles a little slower at that stage so they could have a strong finish. I can only presume that they came in around the 1.39/1.40 mark but to me they seemed a good bit ahead of that.

Well if the 1:40 guys were going too fast and you were ahead of them...☺

Your mission (should you choose to accept it) for your next LSR is to break the run into 3 segments with the 1st segment at PMP + 1min per km, the 2nd segment at PMP + 50s per km and the final segment at PMP + 40s per km.

It's absolutely essential at this stage that you start taking control of your pace and effort levels. In addition to the above you need to make sure that the first km of every run that you do is the slowest of that run and the 2km the second slowest.

These are good habits that will benefit your running now and beyond DCM.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,585 ✭✭✭nop98

Well done on the LSR diego_b. Particularly as you had to try and find your route!

Another great accomplishment is to be able to type such a long report on your phone. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 210 ✭✭Windorah

Kennyg71 wrote: »
    Nice run Diego B, careful not to have warm bath to soon after running
    can cause swelling in Mussles. Sounds like great run, nothing like change
    of seneary. Great achievement getting 19 under your belt

Kennyg would u recommend an ice bath instead? I often foam roll, stretch and then Epsom salt bath but am open to suggestions:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,324 ✭✭✭chrislad

Just under 2 mile recovery run done. Very tight the first mile, but felt much better on the 2nd. Never would have thought I ran 19 miles yesterday! Now a few days of rest until Tuesday evening!

Bungy Girl wrote: »
    This post should help

That's the one, thank you!

3 mile recovery done this morning. First one was very slow but was much better and looser on the second. The neighbours must think I've lost my mind.

Beautiful morning out there but very warm, best of luck to everyone with an LSR today!

Sounds awesome, I love London!