Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Running in the Real World

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,936 ✭✭✭annapr

Thursday, 27: 14 miles easy
    14.1 miles @ 10:27/mi; 22.6 km @ 6:29/km

Packed the kids off to school, then headed out on a beautiful morning. Into town, down the north quays to the East Link, admiring the river in the sunshine... they lifted the bridge just as I was going to cross. Nothing for it but to wait and enjoy the views. All the way to Merrion Gates, then on the way back diverted out to the South Wall through the nature reserve.

Once again, reminded of how lucky we are to have such great places to run in Dublin, the bay looked beautiful, everything was sparkling in the sunshine, the purple heather on Howth, kite surfers adding colour. Everyone I passed seemed to be in a great mood. I didn't go all the way to the lighthouse, my legs were wrecked from the uneven stone surface (I guess they weren't thinking of leisure runners when they put them in 300 years ago). Back over the East Link, East Wall Road, through Fairview Park and home.

For the first half, I felt great, very energetic and enjoyed it immensely. Towards the end, I was definitely feeling the legs and the last 2k were tough, but manageable. I got home with 15 minutes to spare before rushing to pick up the Senior Infant.

So, 14 miles/22.5k, followed by 2k walk and 2 hours standing in the playground with gangs of happy schoolkids.... probably not the best recovery for very tired legs (mine, not theirs).

I don't normally listen to music when I run, but inspired by Tom Joad's log and TbL's ire...and in honour of the 40th anniversary of Born to Run, I listened to two even older Bruce albums...Darkness on the Edge of Town and The Wild, the Innocent and the E Street Shuffle... loved it!

Some day we'll look back on this and it will all seem funny :)

belcarra wrote: »
    Don't you mean when??;)

R was disappointed for sure but could see many positives for next year with an extra 12 months of experience in the team.
    Very difficult to see a clear favourite for Ulster next year with Donegal and Monaghan (I'm assuming) losing a few to retirements and Tyrone and Fermanagh likely to be better than this year.
    Sean Cavanagh was very disappointing last weekend and if he and Harte were up to their usual standard it would have been right down to the wire.

Anyways, Maigh Eo Abú!

yes when, but not this year :)

Yeah Donegal's glory days are over I think. Tyrone had the beating of kerry on Sunday, pity they couldn't score. oh well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,355 ✭✭✭Bungy Girl

annapr wrote: »
    the 40th anniversary of Born to Run

Really ? :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,779 ✭✭✭✭Murph_D

I didn't buy my copy till about 1980. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,119 ✭✭✭Mrs Mc

Thursday, 27: 14 miles easy
    14.1 miles @ 10:27/mi; 22.6 km @ 6:29/km

Packed the kids off to school, then headed out on a beautiful morning. Into town, down the north quays to the East Link, admiring the river in the sunshine... they lifted the bridge just as I was going to cross. Nothing for it but to wait and enjoy the views. All the way to Merrion Gates, then on the way back diverted out to the South Wall through the nature reserve.

Once again, reminded of how lucky we are to have such great places to run in Dublin, the bay looked beautiful, everything was sparkling in the sunshine, the purple heather on Howth, kite surfers adding colour. Everyone I passed seemed to be in a great mood. I didn't go all the way to the lighthouse, my legs were wrecked from the uneven stone surface (I guess they weren't thinking of leisure runners when they put them in 300 years ago). Back over the East Link, East Wall Road, through Fairview Park and home.

For the first half, I felt great, very energetic and enjoyed it immensely. Towards the end, I was definitely feeling the legs and the last 2k were tough, but manageable. I got home with 15 minutes to spare before rushing to pick up the Senior Infant.

So, 14 miles/22.5k, followed by 2k walk and 2 hours standing in the playground with gangs of happy schoolkids.... probably not the best recovery for very tired legs (mine, not theirs).

I don't normally listen to music when I run, but inspired by Tom Joad's log and TbL's ire...and in honour of the 40th anniversary of Born to Run, I listened to two even older Bruce albums...Darkness on the Edge of Town and The Wild, the Innocent and the E Street Shuffle... loved it!

Some day we'll look back on this and it will all seem funny :)

Sounds like a great run Anna

Saturday, 29: Easy/Recovery
    3.1 mi @ 10:11/mi; 5Km @ 6:20/Km

After my glorious long run on Thursday, I had a pretty sharp pull on the inside of my knee... not bad when walking but painful when going up and down stairs. I had noticed some strain there after my last few LSR's. So took it easy yesterday and decided to test it today ahead of my planned 18 miler tomorrow.

Enjoyed this run in the sunshine on the seafront, kept the pace easy, knee felt fine throughout... but is still a bit sore when I lift it. Still, I'm going to be optimistic about the 18 miler tomorrow... it's all psychological right? :p

Then home to watch Mo Farah run a slightly faster 5k... what a finishing kick. Wow.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,386 ✭✭✭career move

Maybe try doing some clams. They always seem to help me :)http://www.bodyinsight.com/knee-exercises-hip.html

Sunday, 30th: LSR 19.71 mi @ 10:31/Mi; 31.72 KM @ 6:32/Km
    (i had the watched turned off by accident for about 500m so I am definitely claiming the full 20 miles here).

The plan was for 18 miles with a couple of segments at MP. Lined up company for this one and I was very glad I did. Aquinn and I headed off bright and early (well 9am), up the canal into the park at Ashtown, met Firedance at Castleknock Gate then back to Infirmary Road gate to send aquinn home in time for swimming/sailing. A quick pit stop at the cafe beside the zoo and off we went again.

There were lots of runners out today, lovely morning for it… we had the thrill of passing Sonia O’Sullivan out for a training run!

When we finished our loop of the park, FD was a bit short of her 8 miles so we headed down Chesterfield and around by the zoo again. I was planning to go back out Ashtown Gate but somehow completely miscalculated how far it was… it’s the next gate, no the next gate…

Eventually got there, said good luck and COYBIB to FD and headed back towards the canal, ignoring all her warnings not to do more than 18 miles :p. She had advised me to get water in the Halfway House, great suggestion, filtered water free! They were playing The River when I was in there, I took that as a good omen for the rest of the run. :)

I hardly felt like I was running the whole time I had company (such sparkling and witty company of course :)), but it got much harder now. I knew my 18 miles would be up halfway down the canal, so I kept chugging along until I hit Binns Bridge in Drumcondra… 20 miles done. Passed a few Dubs out pre-drinking up the canal.

I kept myself going by promising myself a Cornetto when I got to Drumcondra. I bought the biggest one I could find :) And walked very slowly the final mile home, enjoying my Cornetto and the Croke Park warm up atmosphere. Saw the Artane Band arriving in a wee bus.

I didn’t do the MP segments, although did try to pick up the pace on the way back on the canal. So I can’t claim a perfect on-plan week.

Feet up now to watch the match… hoping my second team can beat Mayo :)

WTD: 47.2 Mi/76Km
    MTD: 153.5 Mi/247Km
    YTD: 820 Mi/1,319 Km

Maybe try doing some clams. They always seem to help me :)http://www.bodyinsight.com/knee-exercises-hip.html

thanks CM, will try those for sure

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,009 ✭✭✭Firedance

tut tut TUT! glad you got your water :)

the air is blue here as well as my top - not sure the nerves will hold up - GOAL!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,672 ✭✭✭hillsiderunner

There were lots of runners out today, lovely morning for it… we had the thrill of passing Sonia O’Sullivan out for a training run!

*Passing* Sonia O'Sullivan!

Impressive.

Nice mileage there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,759 ✭✭✭belcarra

What did you think of the match? Poor enough quality for the most part but some finish!
    Dublin more cynical than any Northern team!

What did you think of the match? Poor enough quality for the most part but some finish!

I know, Mayo were no angels either though. But if that had been Donegal v Tyrone, we would be hearing all about how it's the death of football.... the last 10 minutes were unbelievable, but poor before that. Fair play to Mayo for coming back at the end. Dublin have had too many easy leads that they haven't had to defend. Still anybody's game next week, I think.

PS how did the Tullamore Half go for you??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,447 ✭✭✭FBOT01

Yep I felt sorry for the poor Mayo lads trying to play by the rules and having to deal with that kind of thing. I personally think that the ref should have sent another couple of Dubs off to give them a real chance after-all they have had a tough couple of seasons and it really wouldn't have been fair to see them lose again. Hopefully, all will be better at the weekend and they can get the job done. If Connelly and O'Carroll can't start, it will give them a better chance anyway.:P

FBOT01 wrote: »
    Yep I felt sorry for the poor Mayo lads trying to play by the rules and having to deal with that kind of thing. I personally think that the ref should have sent another couple of Dubs off to give them a real chance after-all they have had a tough couple of seasons and it really wouldn't have been fair to see them lose again. Hopefully, all will be better at the weekend and they can get the job done. If Connelly and O'Carroll can't start, it will give them a better chance anyway.:P

ah now, M, sure O'Carroll walked into that elbow... ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,759 ✭✭✭belcarra

FBOT01 wrote: »
    In my very best Rafa Benitez style...:rolleyes:
    FACT: Persistent Dublin fouling led to 1-8 for CO'C.
    FACT: One red card
    FACT: 2 Black cards
    FACT: McManamon double hopped for his point
    FACT: Dubs peno was outside the area
    FACT: Dublin choked again!!!:pac:
    AMAZEMENT: Somehow Philly McMahon remained on the pitch!

I have no time for off the ball tugging of jerseys which led to the incident so if you're gonna be at that craic be prepared for the fallout!:cool:
    PS how did the Tullamore Half go for you??
    I was hoping for around 1:33 but ended with 1:35:45 or something like that. It was difficult to get a rhythm as there were small inclines all over the place but nothing serious. Well, apart from the hill on the by-pass with 2km to go!
    From reading others' reports it looks like everyone suffered a bit with the heat and I know it certainly slowed me down on the second half which should have been the quicker half!
    R got a new PB of 1:56:27 but again she was hoping for sub 1:55.

Anyways, hon Mayo!!
    andyddjbjbk;jnrjkbrkjfnr.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,447 ✭✭✭FBOT01

Not sure I agree A. I think he deliberately ran into it. Probably should have been a black card but fairplay the ref gave him the benefit since they didn't try bring him back on. I just hope that the poor Mayo lads elbow isn't too sore today :D

In by very best Rafa Benitez style...:rolleyes:
    FACT: Persistent Dublin fouling led to 1-8 for CO'C.
    FACT: One red card
    FACT: 2 Black cards
    FACT: McManamon double hopped for his point
    FACT: Dubs peno was outside the area
    FACT: Dublin choked again!!!:pac:
    AMAZEMENT: Somehow Philly McMahon remained on the pitch!

I have no time for off the ball tugging of jerseys which led to the incident so if you're gonna be at that craic be prepared for the fallout!:cool:

I was hoping for around 1:33 but ended with 1:35:45 or something like that. It was difficult to get a rhythm as there were small inclines all over the place but nothing serious. Well, apart from the hill on the by-pass with 2km to go!
    From reading others' reports it looks like everyone suffered a bit with the heat and I know it certainly slowed me down on the second half which should have been the quicker half!
    R got a new PB of 1:56:27 but again she was hoping for sub 1:55.

Anyways, hon Mayo!!
    andyddjbjbk;jnrjkbrkjfnr.jpg

I have to say I agree with you re. Philly... but as I said elsewhere, at least he wasn't biting yesterday!

Well done to yourself and R on the HM, it was hot on Saturday so tough I'd say. Sounds like you're both in good shape for Berlin?

Now, how do I get that triumphant Mayo photo off my log? :pac:

Enough about the football (it was football wasn't it ;) ?) How's the body this morning after the 20 miles, Anna ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,038 ✭✭✭Neady83

I hardly felt like I was running the whole time I had company (such sparkling and witty company of course :)), but it got much harder now. I knew my 18 miles would be up halfway down the canal, so I kept chugging along until I hit Binns Bridge in Drumcondra… 20 miles done. Passed a few Dubs out pre-drinking up the canal.

Well done Anna and +1 to not feeling the distance with great company :) I kinda wish I lived in Dublin and could join ye for the long runs

Neady83 wrote: »
    Well done Anna and +1 to not feeling the distance with great company :) I kinda wish I lived in Dublin and could join ye for the long runs

It really helps so much, Neady... same as when you did the 'race' version.

Bungy Girl wrote: »
    Enough about the football (it was football wasn't it ;) ?) How's the body this morning after the 20 miles, Anna ?

Feeling ok, must be adapting or something because I'm not broken after the 20 miles :)

...the three hours waiting outside the GAA ticket office* today for replay tickets on the other hand... was not the ideal recovery :eek:

*applying for mother of the century after that...anything to avoid a nervous breakdown by the true blue in the family... :rolleyes:

did you get tickets? nothing online even though we were sent a link this morning saying they could be bought, supervalue also supposed to have tickets but none available... probably better if I don't go anyway, will need a prescription of prozac if we loose this :(

delighted your feeling good after the run, no damage done from the extra miles so :)

Firedance wrote: »
    did you get tickets? nothing online even though we were sent a link this morning saying they could be bought, supervalue also supposed to have tickets but none available... probably better if I don't go anyway, will need a prescription of prozac if we loose this :(

delighted your feeling good after the run, no damage done from the extra miles so :)

yep, got them eventually.... although I think they're on the roof or somewhere! if you hadn't told me yesterday that you only go to the hill, I could have got one for you! the banter in the Q almost made it bearable :)

yep, got them eventually.... although I think they're on the roof or somewhere! if you hadn't told me yesterday that you only go to the hill, I could have got one for you!the banter in the Q almost made it bearable :)

yeah I wasn't overly upset when I saw they were gone already, save myself a lot of grief :D

Tuesday, 1 Sept: 5 Miles Easy
    5.16 mi @ 10:02 min/mi; 8.3 Km @ 6:14/Km

Easy out and back to the wooden bridge on a nice morning, I still find it funny sometimes that 5 miles seems like a very short run these days.

Listened to This American Life podcast about the 10th anniversary of Hurricane Katrina, stories of what people went through in New Orleans and are still recovering from... Made me think how spoiled we are really, and lucky to be fretting about miles and niggles and building 'endurance'...

ok, philosophical moment for today over. :)

And this is in miles, not Km. A bit embarrassing to look at the earlier years, but at least does show I've been quite consistent since March.

It occurred to me after my LSR on Sunday that I am seeing progress since starting this marathon plan -- especially in recovery time, maybe in endurance too.

2012 2013 2014 2015
    January 23 31 45 20
    February 23 42 17 71
    March 10 13 16 110
    April 15 63 18 109
    May 24 65 26 112
    June 36 23 41 106
    July 45 48 71 140
    August 57 59 112 153
    September 34 59 119 0
    October 34 36 65 0
    November 19 25 28 0
    December 24 19 50 0
    Totals 343 483 609 820

And this is in miles, not Km. A bit embarrassing to look at the earlier years, but at least does show I've been quite consistent since March.

It occurred to me after my LSR on Sunday that I am seeing progress since starting this marathon plan -- especially in recovery time, maybe in endurance too.

Love a good table ;)

Wow, you are going to rock this marathon!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,672 ✭✭✭hillsiderunner

You had even less mileage than me in the approach to DCM 2014!!! (until I got injured 4 weeks out of course). Looking like big progress ahead I'd say :)

+ 1 to rocking the marathon, you're also gonna hit 1,000 miles before the year is out...... :)