Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

DCM 2015: Mentored Novices Thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,119 ✭✭✭Mrs Mc

Kennyg71 wrote: »
    Thanks D, no worries, I call people wrong name & get blanks on
    Names all the time, Mrs has even said she may run next year &
    Was impressd by how well everyone seemed to cope with distance.

She may catch bug yet😄

She has well got the bug G !!

Recovery run was very ouchies today, my quads feel like I would expect after a very hard squat session, if I hadn't been in the gym in a while! My hips are so stiff. I ended up in bed for the afternoon with a migraine, seems to have passed now thank god.

Read all the race reports earlier, fantastic stuff, well done to everyone - seems to have been a really successful day all round. Raging I missed the flapjacks :P

Let's hope I can walk straight again by Tuesday for my tempo run!

Any word from bazman on his tri?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,921 ✭✭✭Kennyg71

Mrs Mc wrote: »
    She has well got the bug G !!

First time I heard her even contemplating anthing over 10K
    As a race, maybe she'll make novice thread next year yet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 361 ✭✭mobfromcork

nop98 wrote: »
    It's a bit of a come-down, from 10 hard, satisfying miles with 1000s of others, to 5 miserable recovery miles all on my own in soaken wet local park. Not to mention the lack of flapjacks after! Oh well, such is the life of a DCM novice :)

Great weekend of running, folks, and thanks for all the race & LSR reports, I really enjoy reading them! Week 10 starts tomorrow, I try not to think of the 19M LSR :eek: (Friday afternoon for me, as I have visitors all weekend).

I am half jealous to be missing the DCHM, and the flapjacks and pints after. Then again, mobfromcork and I can have a pint in Cardiff on all your PBs!!

I'd enjoy that nop98. I missed the 10 mile on Saturday in Dublin and was going to do a normal LSR but about 20 seconds into it I decided to go for my own little 10 mile race around Cork. I was going to a wedding later on in the day and was a bit pushed for time so it suited me to do a quicker run as well. I didn't do a warm-up which was a bit stupid but had foam rolled a bit before I left. I headed around a route I have done a few times before and pushed it a fair bit. My PMP is around 8.00 per mile and I was keeping an eye at the garmin and I was around 7.30ish most of the time. I had no breakfast, just a glass of water before leaving.
    I know it wasn't exactly race conditions and I had no congestion at the start etc but i also drifted a bit mentally at times and had to focus again on keeping it quick-ish. Two other friends were running the 10 mile in Dublin and we're all in and around the same level so was imagining running with/against them a bit.
    I finished the 10 miles in 1:13.53 according to Strava and 10-20 seconds quicker according to Garmin.
    Average pace was 7.22 minutes per mile. I walked for 1/2 a mile afterwards to cool down a bit and then ran the 3.5 miles back to the house at a slower pace.
    I was ok for the 10 miles but not sure I could have kept up that pace for another 10 miles. I drank a good bit of water when I came home but definitely not enough before I left or during the run. I was alarmed when I went for a post-run pee!
    Body/legs felt fine this morning but didn't manage a recovery run as I had a busy day before I came back home.
    I think I might do the same in Cardiff in a few weeks. Head out on my own little half-marathon challenge as I'm missing the Dublin series half and can't find another one to suit.
    Well done on all the reports and some great times and PBs.
    Mark

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 21,254 Mod ✭✭✭✭Dub13

20 high 5 gels in lidl tomorrow for €10

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 10,854 ✭✭✭✭Murph_D

I'd enjoy that nop98. I missed the 10 mile on Saturday in Dublin and was going to do a normal LSR but about 20 seconds into it I decided to go for my own little 10 mile race around Cork. I was going to a wedding later on in the day and was a bit pushed for time so it suited me to do a quicker run as well. I didn't do a warm-up which was a bit stupid but had foam rolled a bit before I left. I headed around a route I have done a few times before and pushed it a fair bit. My PMP is around 8.00 per mile and I was keeping an eye at the garmin and I was around 7.30ish most of the time. I had no breakfast, just a glass of water before leaving.
    I know it wasn't exactly race conditions and I had no congestion at the start etc but i also drifted a bit mentally at times and had to focus again on keeping it quick-ish. Two other friends were running the 10 mile in Dublin and we're all in and around the same level so was imagining running with/against them a bit.
    I finished the 10 miles in 1:13.53 according to Strava and 10-20 seconds quicker according to Garmin.
    Average pace was 7.22 minutes per mile. I walked for 1/2 a mile afterwards to cool down a bit and then ran the 3.5 miles back to the house at a slower pace.
    I was ok for the 10 miles but not sure I could have kept up that pace for another 10 miles. I drank a good bit of water when I came home but definitely not enough before I left or during the run. I was alarmed when I went for a post-run pee!
    Body/legs felt fine this morning but didn't manage a recovery run as I had a busy day before I came back home.
    I think I might do the same in Cardiff in a few weeks. Head out on my own little half-marathon challenge as I'm missing the Dublin series half and can't find another one to suit.
    Well done on all the reports and some great times and PBs.
    Mark

I guess there's not much harm in doing this as long as you had prepared for that kind of session and as long as you recover well after it. It looks like you did that run at 10 mile race pace alright compared to your PMP so I wouldn't worry about not feeling you could keep up that pace for another 10! Ultimately though I'm not sure if race "efforts" help that much as you can never really simulate race conditions on a training run no matter what you do. My instinct would be to leave racing for races and training for training days. Good confidence booster though!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,015 ✭✭✭jake1970

Week 4 of 12. 40 miles

Tuesday: 6 miles @8:45 GA

Thursday: 11 miles @8:24 MLR

Saturday: 5 miles @9:04 REC

Sunday: 18 miles @8:55 LSR

Not an ideal week training wise, it started with an abandoned run on Monday but finished with a 18 mile run on Sunday. After Mondays injury scare i decided to take things easy till i got to the physio on Saturday, so i dropped the 10 mile LT run and only ran every 2nd day.
    The physio visit went well, he said i had a problem in my lower back, hip area that was causing the problem with my calf. After an hour of deep massage, needling and plenty of Kinesiology tape i was sent on my way. I gingerly asked the physio if it was ok to do a 18 mile run on Sunday and he told me i could but to take it easy.
    The LSR went well, the pace was at the slower end of my LSR pace, the calf was a bit tender starting out but after about 4 miles i was running freely again. This week is a recovery week with 4 runs so hopefully it will give the calf time to fully recover.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,970 ✭✭✭aquinn

Morning,

DG is taking a break this week so you've a new team in charge. This is her last post for the week, she thinks she's posting more but she isn't.

Hi everyone, yesterday was a great day with all those race reports rolling in. Everybody seemed to have a good race. You will have felt the benefits of the plan you're on - the plan that is just right for YOU ;) - and you're hopefully not suffering too much today after the PB beers :pac:

Race reports in a bit; some of you weren't racing and got on with the business of the lsr...

Toulouse and ZV Yoda you both had asked about your schedule for the EP weekend. For both, I would suggest that - if possible -
    A) you do your lsr on Thursday (you'll have done a 15 the previous weekend (Friday or saturday). If you can do this on Thursday morning, you should be able to manage a recovery run on Friday morning. As you both know, a lsr will knock your legs for the whole day and no, erecting tents etc on tired legs is not fun.
    - If you do the lsr this side of the weekend, you could consider breaking it down (incorporating the midweek lsr too) into two back-to-back days: a 6-7 on Wednesday and 13-14 on Thursday. This will simulate the fatigue of a 16 miler.
    - If you do the full 16 on Thursday, make sure it has been preceded by a rest or recovery day on the Wednesday. Toulouse, if you are doing the mlr (7 miles) on Tuesday, consider leaving it at 5 or 6 so your legs are fresh for Thursday
    Or
    B) leave it till you get back on Monday or Tuesday. This is a step back week and the weekend's long run is *only* 12 miles so it shouldn't matter too much if they are sandwiched close together.

In between, take the weekend off, totally. Welly dancing counts as cross training too y'know ;)
    And Toulouse...fwiw, get that calf seen to sooner rather than later. Remember, a rest in time saves nine and you want to be in good shape for all that lepping around you young folk do at these sort of things ;):D

Duffer, you're doing grand. Well done on the PB - and the other PBs to date - 5 mins inside target is very encouraging. My main concern would be that you are running three days per week. Four would be good, five better. It helps to spread the load more evenly, especially as the long runs ramps up. The lsr should be around 35% of your weekly total. If you can commit to extra days running, do it gradually. Ex, next week run four days and maintain for two weeks before adding another day. You could alternate an extra day after that 4/5/4/5 until your body adjusts.

Chadhogan how did the lsr go? Did your legs play ball?

TheBazman...how did DCT go???

Chrislad....thought you'd escaped?! ;) PMP +30 is a little fast. Don't forget the meno-mantra: 'you won't pay a penny if you go too slow but if you go too fast there's a danger you'll blow'....ok so I mangled that but don't forget that you all really need to focus on converting those medium twitch fibres to slow twitch ones over the next few weeks. You'll do that by running slow, not fast. These are the ones which will help prevent fatigue setting in as the race progresses.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,522 ✭✭✭neilthefunkeone

Well done all the FD finishers.. Its a great race and would loved to have been there..
    Still no running until Wednesday.. getting really annoyed now as feel i'm losing out.. and i'm at Electric picnic weekend after so my schedule is going to be all over the place.
    Anyway hopefully will be back out running this weekend..

HUH, more instructions! Boards also having a fit now it seems so could be my last now too.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=lDK9QqIzhwk

You're all told to monitor illness/tightness and watch out for over-training post racing at the weekend. Learn how to establishing your heart rate rate over the course of a week and why this is important (illness flagger etc, overtraining) especially as training enters its most intense phase.

STICK TO YOUR PLANS! No additional mileage and if you are not up for it then give bodies a chance and rest is very important after racing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,457 ✭✭✭ZV Yoda

aquinn wrote: »
    Morning,

DG is taking a break this week so you've a new team in charge. This is her last post for the week, she thinks she's posting more but she isn't.

Hi everyone, yesterday was a great day with all those race reports rolling in. Everybody seemed to have a good race. You will have felt the benefits of the plan you're on - the plan that is just right for YOU ;) - and you're hopefully not suffering too much today after the PB beers :pac:

Race reports in a bit; some of you weren't racing and got on with the business of the lsr...

Toulouse and ZV Yoda you both had asked about your schedule for the EP weekend. For both, I would suggest that - if possible -
    A) you do your lsr on Thursday (you'll have done a 15 the previous weekend (Friday or saturday). If you can do this on Thursday morning, you should be able to manage a recovery run on Friday morning. As you both know, a lsr will knock your legs for the whole day and no, erecting tents etc on tired legs is not fun.
    - If you do the lsr this side of the weekend, you could consider breaking it down (incorporating the midweek lsr too) into two back-to-back days: a 6-7 on Wednesday and 13-14 on Thursday. This will simulate the fatigue of a 16 miler.
    - If you do the full 16 on Thursday, make sure it has been preceded by a rest or recovery day on the Wednesday. Toulouse, if you are doing the mlr (7 miles) on Tuesday, consider leaving it at 5 or 6 so your legs are fresh for Thursday
    Or
    B) leave it till you get back on Monday or Tuesday. This is a step back week and the weekend's long run is *only* 12 miles so it shouldn't matter too much if they are sandwiched close together.

In between, take the weekend off, totally. Welly dancing counts as cross training too y'know ;)
    And Toulouse...fwiw, get that calf seen to sooner rather than later. Remember, a rest in time saves nine and you want to be in good shape for all that lepping around you young folk do at these sort of things ;):D

Thanks for taking the time to work out those options Dubgirl (or should that be aquinn?)

"You young folk"? I wish! I may have fallen into that category when I first started going to gigs (way back in 1986), but not anymore. I'm what you'd call a more mature festival attendee :D In fact, it won't be too long before the junior Yodas will want to be attending festivals themselves.

Anyway, regarding the lsr... due to school run / work, I won't be able to do the 16 mile lsr on Thurs am. It would need to be Thurs eve/night. Would I still be OK to do a 4m recovery run on Fri am as well? That would be ideal, since I'd still manage to cover the planned 32 miles by Fri am.

I don't want to push the lsr to the following week, because I might be doing a lot of cross training to / from the bar ;) at Electric Picnic, so I'll be glad of the step back week.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,038 ✭✭✭Neady83

Hi everyone, I've been lurking on this thread on & off since it started but it's only now that I'm committing to it (thanks in no small part to Nop for the gentle nudge in this direction and to Annapr, Aquinn & CM for their advice and encouragement over on my log). Many thanks Dubgal for making this thread a roaring success with your excellent advice :) and well done to everyone who did the 10 miles at the weekend, you all smashed it :)

What is your athletics background? Have you run before? What other sports have you taken part in and at what level?

I've been climbing mountains for 7 or 8 years and running for about 3 years while all the time dabbling in other sports. This year I set my sights on adventure racing so I've been training for that since January and now that it's all done and dusted I've decided to get the marathon monkey off my back and use the fitness I've built up to hopefully get me over the line in Dublin.

Have you raced before? If so what are your PBs? (Date and distance please!)

I've done more 10km races than I can remember, plenty of 5kms and 7 or 8 half marathons.
    5km: 23:09 (Westport Point to Point, Feb 2015)
    8km: 38:04 (Streets of Galway, Aug 2015)
    10km: 47:59 (Ennis, 2013) I've come so close this year but never quite beaten it
    10 mile: 1:20:40 (Kilnaboy, April 2015)
    Half Marathon: 1:48:34 (Kinvara half, March 2015)

Do you still need to take walk breaks in your training ? (No problem if you do)

Nope

How much training do you currently do incl cross training? Distances, cross training - whatever you think is relevant to your current fitness level.

I've been averaging somewhere between 9 & 16 hours of training each week this year. This has included cycling, hiking, running, circuit classes and kayaking. Since the adventure race on the August Bank holiday weekend I've cut down on the others and focused more on the running.

Looking at my running milage for the year, I've been averaging anywhere between 25 & 35 miles a week though this has gone up to 45 miles on some weeks. In the past two weeks I've done 37 and 45 miles. I do two circuit classes each week (Tue & Thurs mornings), this is mostly strength and conditioning (I credit these classes with keeping me, touch wood, injury free).

I also do interval sessions with a running club on Tuesday evenings, last week we did 1mile wu, 5x6mins (90 sec recovery), 1 miles cd.

How many days a week do you run only?

4 days

What do you want to achieve? Dream finishing time and realistic finishing time? Or just complete it in no specified time?

Dream finish time: 4 hours or just under it
    Realistic finish time: somewhere between 4 & 4:30 hours

Most of all, I want to enjoy it :)

What marathon programme are you following/intending to use?

This is where my problem lies. Because I'm coming to marathon training so late, having focused on adventure racing and cross training all year, I'm not sure which plan suits me at this time. The past two weeks have been marathon focused and they consisted of:

Week 11: 37 miles - LSR: 13 miles
    Week 10: 45 miles - LSR: 15 miles (9:38/mile)

I've signed up for the Athlone half (Week 7) and the Athlone three quarter (week 4)

I've looked at the HH plan and the Boards Novice plan and I'm unsure of which one to use from now or should I keep increasing my long runs by 1 mile each weekend?. Any suggestions or advice would be very welcome? :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,324 ✭✭✭chrislad

Morning,
    Chrislad....thought you'd escaped?! ;) PMP +30 is a little fast. Don't forget the meno-mantra: 'you won't pay a penny if you go too slow but if you go too fast there's a danger you'll blow'....ok so I mangled that but don't forget that you all really need to focus on converting those medium twitch fibres to slow twitch ones over the next few weeks. You'll do that by running slow, not fast. These are the ones which will help prevent fatigue setting in as the race progresses.

In my defense, it was only 10/14 at that pace. :)

Taken on board, just felt good to stretch the legs a a bit. Back to normal now! :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,009 ✭✭✭Firedance

Neady83 wrote: »
    Hi everyone, I've been lurking on this thread on & off since it started but it's only now that I'm committing to it (thanks in no small part to Nop for the gentle nudge in this direction and to Annapr, Aquinn & CM for their advice and encouragement over on my log). Many thanks Dubgal for making this thread a roaring success with your excellent advice :) and well done to everyone who did the 10 miles at the weekend, you all smashed it :)

What is your athletics background? Have you run before? What other sports have you taken part in and at what level?

I've been climbing mountains for 7 or 8 years and running for about 3 years while all the time dabbling in other sports. This year I set my sights on adventure racing so I've been training for that since January and now that it's all done and dusted I've decided to get the marathon monkey off my back and use the fitness I've built up to hopefully get me over the line in Dublin.

Have you raced before? If so what are your PBs? (Date and distance please!)

I've done more 10km races than I can remember, plenty of 5kms and 7 or 8 half marathons.
    5km: 23:09 (Westport Point to Point, Feb 2015)
    8km: 38:04 (Streets of Galway, Aug 2015)
    10km: 47:59 (Ennis, 2013) I've come so close this year but never quite beaten it
    10 mile: 1:20:40 (Kilnaboy, April 2015)
    Half Marathon: 1:48:34 (Kinvara half, March 2015)

Do you still need to take walk breaks in your training ? (No problem if you do)

Nope

How much training do you currently do incl cross training? Distances, cross training - whatever you think is relevant to your current fitness level.

I've been averaging somewhere between 9 & 16 hours of training each week this year. This has included cycling, hiking, running, circuit classes and kayaking. Since the adventure race on the August Bank holiday weekend I've cut down on the others and focused more on the running.

Looking at my running milage for the year, I've been averaging anywhere between 25 & 35 miles a week though this has gone up to 45 miles on some weeks. In the past two weeks I've done 37 and 45 miles. I do two circuit classes each week (Tue & Thurs mornings), this is mostly strength and conditioning (I credit these classes with keeping me, touch wood, injury free).

I also do interval sessions with a running club on Tuesday evenings, last week we did 1mile wu, 5x6mins (90 sec recovery), 1 miles cd.

How many days a week do you run only?

4 days

What do you want to achieve? Dream finishing time and realistic finishing time? Or just complete it in no specified time?

Dream finish time: 4 hours or just under it
    Realistic finish time: somewhere between 4 & 4:30 hours

Most of all, I want to enjoy it :)

What marathon programme are you following/intending to use?

This is where my problem lies. Because I'm coming to marathon training so late, having focused on adventure racing and cross training all year, I'm not sure which plan suits me at this time. The past two weeks have been marathon focused and they consisted of:

Week 11: 37 miles - LSR: 13 miles
    Week 10: 45 miles - LSR: 15 miles (9:38/mile)

I've signed up for the Athlone half (Week 7) and the Athlone three quarter (week 4)

I've looked at the HH plan and the Boards Novice plan and I'm unsure of which one to use from now or should I keep increasing my long runs by 1 mile each weekend?. Any suggestions or advice would be very welcome? :)

Welcome on board Neady :-) Clearlier, Meno or FBOT could advise on where or how best to step into a plan at this stage but here are the totals from the last two weeks of the boards plan
    35 miles with LSR @ 17 miles
    26 miles with 10 mile FD race
    & this week is 37 miles with 19 LSR.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,447 ✭✭✭FBOT01

ZV Yoda wrote: »
    Thanks for taking the time to work out those options Dubgirl (or should that be aquinn?)

"You young folk"? I wish! I may have fallen into that category when I first started going to gigs (way back in 1986), but not anymore. I'm what you'd call a more mature festival attendee :D In fact, it won't be too long before the junior Yodas will want to be attending festivals themselves.

Anyway, regarding the lsr... due to school run / work, I won't be able to do the 16 mile lsr on Thurs am. It would need to be Thurs eve/night. Would I still be OK to do a 4m recovery run on Fri am as well? That would be ideal, since I'd still manage to cover the planned 32 miles by Fri am.

I don't want to push the lsr to the following week, because I might be doing a lot of cross training to / from the bar ;) at Electric Picnic, so I'll be glad of the step back week.

If you do the LSR on Thursday pm and feel up to doing and few slow recovery miles on Friday am then work away. I wouldn't be sweating the mileage and getting up at stupid O'Clock to try squeeze in the recovery miles. Don't forget that rest is a very important part of recovery. Make sure you get your stretching, rolling, etc. in after the LSR so the "cross training" can be done pain free ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,457 ✭✭✭ZV Yoda

FBOT01 wrote: »
    If you do the LSR on Thursday pm and feel up to doing and few slow recovery miles on Friday am then work away. I wouldn't be sweating the mileage and getting up at stupid O'Clock to try squeeze in the recovery miles. Don't forget that rest is a very important part of recovery. Make sure you get your stretching, rolling, etc. in after the LSR so the "cross training" can be done pain free ;)

OK, thanks for that. Sounds like a plan!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,936 ✭✭✭annapr

Firedance wrote: »
    Welcome on board Neady :-) Clearlier or Meno could advise on where or how best to step into a plan at this stage but here are the totals from the last two weeks of the boards plan
    35 miles with LSR @ 17 miles
    26 miles with 10 mile FD race
    & this week is 37 miles with 19 LSR.

Welcome Neady! Good to see you here :) as discussed on your log, it looks like your main focus will be on building running endurance... I would think jumping into the boards plan, maybe with some adaptations for where you are would make sense based on your current mileage. But the real experts will no doubt offer you good advice! :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,272 ✭✭✭Dubgal72

Heehee, got past the guards :D Just flying in and out with this while boards lets me...Over and out!

DCM 2015 FD 10 race reports

The PBs seemed to be rolling in thick and fast on Saturday, well done each and every one of you. An overall impression is one of runners who are gaining in confidence, and who are increasingly self aware of your strengths and weaknesses (decreasing ). The hard work is paying off and you are reaping the rewards, as it should be!

Apologies for the late reply, I'm guessing I'm not the only one seeing this
    http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2057481888
    all day yesterday?

As aquinn has posted, I'm taking a break this week

Mrs Mc, great report thank you! No surprise on your PB, you're a model of consistency and HTFU/good mental attititude in training. Lovely to see you and Toulouse working together (and her report on your cheeriness, I'm guessing you were smiling a lot! ).

Eyeball kid, well done on the lsr but - and you know this ;) - keep slowing down. See my 'last post' above re slow twitch fibre recruitment, super important over the next few weeks.

Chops1234, well done! And running by feel (enforced but still count/...)...I approve! Your perceived effort was perfectly in sync with your splits. Hope you enjoyed the kinder bueno, fair play for saving it :)

ZV Yoda, a 12 minute PB, wow, well done....and a negative split while struggling with humidity...what can i say?! :D

TFGR thanks for deputising on Saturday, and for taking the flapjack baton!

Nappy, great to hear from you and congrats on the 80:34, training is reaping the reward, yes?! Keep popping in. Are you doing the race series half?

BIRDCAGE, WELL DONE ON THE PB, delighted for you :) hillsiderunner might gove you some advice on blister management ;) Dean Karnazes, the ultra/endurance runner has had his share of blisters so you're in good company. I'll root out his advice another time (when I'm allowed post again... )

Singer....singer singer singer....well bloody done, fantastic shave off your PB!!ok, so you've officially graduated to the 'easy training range' of 8:50+ but.......one little caveat. The hill on Saturday knocked a lot of people and your fall off/positive split suggests to me that pacing earlier in the race needs work and/or hints at a potential lack of endurance bomb...so keep the running slow....
    And as for your "imposter syndrome" complex....
    SOLUTION: join a club :pac:
    +1 to Murph's advice re easy running this week. Your body will do all sorts of magical adaptations from racing this week while recovering. This is for you all....

Nop, over 10 mins PB?? Well done you! But was that you running in the park yesterday between 4 and 5? Spotted ;) Waaaaay too fast :mad: :)

Denis b, a guaranteed Pb but well done nevertheless! And beating McMillan by 37 secs :D And a negative split! Way to go! Great race analysis and happy to add another 'train slow to race fast' convert!

Toulouse, flapjacker extrodinaire ;) Well done on saturday. Glad to see you got away with trying something new on race morning, not usually recommended ;)
    The stickiness and humidity certainly led to adjusting expectations. Good to see you're aware of 'watch entrapment! YOU rule the watch, not the other way round.
    Re the pain thing....I'm not sure you were running through the right sort of pain. Physical/muscular/tissue pain is a different kettle of fish. Assess during a race - or training - what kind of pain it is and if it is muscular etc, you may be increasing damage by running through it. I'll dig out the pain posts...actually I'm not allowed post any more this week so if someone else.....?

Ah found them, have a look here to remind yourself about pain...

TRR pain test
    http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=96335865&postcount=1063

Should I run through pain?
    http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=96277510&postcount=1941

Racing this week: nerves, tapering pain etc post
    http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=96273615&postcount=1926

Whoopsa, you rock, well done and especially on staying in one piece. Hope the recovery goes well this week.

Kennyg, well done, 80:06, lovely! any chance of a longer report...please?!

FeenaM, deadly run, especially on finishing feeling strong. I don't agree with AMK re 1:40 tho.....IMO you're capable of 1:37-1:39 ;) But yes, start with the 1:40 pacers and you will find yourself leaving them....

Ratracer, fair play and yeah, the motivation here is great isn't it?! Well done on the attitude getting out that door.

Diego b...well done on the road not cycled ;) How's that achilles?

All of you, have a look at this:

http://www.kinetic-revolution.com/simple-glute-medius-exercise-for-runners/

And think about incorporating it into your core routine....hip strength and stability is crucial for your running efficiency and this will help.

Finally, you all should be running 4 (good) or 5 (better) days per week by now. Gym should be max once oer week by now, save the energy for running.

Finally finally.....Well done again everyone...over and out, back Saturday. Happy running Novices.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,355 ✭✭✭Bungy Girl

The PBs seemed to be rolling in thick and fast on Saturday, well done each and every one of you. An overall impression is one of runners who are gaining in confidence, and who are increasingly self aware of your strengths and weaknesses (decreasing ;) ). The hard work is paying off and you are reaping the rewards, as it should be!

Apologies for the late reply, I'm guessing I'm not the only one seeing this
    all day yesterday?

As aquinn has posted, I'm taking a break this week, but before I go.... You're in great hands btw :)

Mrs Mc, great report thank you! No surprise on your PB, you're a model of consistency and HTFU/good mental attititude in training. Lovely to see you and Toulouse working together (and her report on your cheeriness, I'm guessing you were smiling a lot :) ).

Eyeball kid, well done on the lsr but - and you know this - keep slowing down. See my 'last post' above re slow twitch fibre recruitment, super important over the next few weeks.

Chops1234, well done! And running by feel (enforced but still counts :D )...I approve! Your perceived effort was perfectly in sync with your splits. Hope you enjoyed the kinder bueno, fair play for saving it

ZV Yoda, a 12 minute PB, wow, well done....and a negative split while struggling with humidity...what can i say?! :D

TFGR thanks for deputising on Saturday, and for taking the flapjack baton :D

Nappy, great to hear from you and congrats on the 80:34, training is reaping the reward, yes?! Keep popping in. Are you doing the race series half?

BIRDCAGE, WELL DONE ON THE PB, delighted for you. hillsiderunner might give you some advice on blister management. Dean Karnazes, the ultra/endurance runner has had his share of blisters so you're in good company. I'll root out his advice another time (when I'm allowed post again ;) )

Singer....singer singer singer....well bloody done, fantastic shave off your PB!! ok, so you've officially graduated to the 'easy training range' of 8:50+ but.......one little caveat. The hill on Saturday knocked a lot of people and your fall off/positive split suggests to me that pacing earlier in the race needs work and/or hints at a potential lack of endurance bomb...so keep the running slow....
    And as for your "imposter syndrome" complex....
    SOLUTION: join a club :pac: :pac:
    +1 to Murph's advice re easy running this week. Your body will do all sorts of magical adaptations from racing this week while recovering. This is for you all....

Nop, over 10 mins PB?? Well done you! But was that you running in the park yesterday between 4 and 5? Spotted ;) Waaaaay too fast :mad: :)

Denis b, a guaranteed Pb but well done nevertheless! And beating McMillan by 37 secs :D And a negative split! Way to go :) Great race analysis and happy to add another 'train slow to race fast' convert!

Toulouse, flapjacker extrodinaire ;) Well done on saturday. Glad to see you got away with trying something new on race morning, not usually recommended.
    The stickiness and humidity certainly led to adjusting expectations. Good to see you're aware of 'watch entrapment! YOU rule the watch, not the other way round.
    Re the pain thing....I'm not sure you were running through the right sort of pain. Physical/muscular/tissue pain is a different kettle of fish. Assess during a race - or training - what kind of pain it is and if it is muscular etc, you may be increasing damage by running through it. I'll dig out the pain posts...actually I'm not allowed post any more this week so if someone else.....?

Ah found them, :p have a look here to remind yourself about pain...

TRR pain test
    here

Should I run through pain?
    here

Racing this week: nerves, tapering pain etc post
    here

Whoopsa, you rock, well done and especially on staying in one piece. Hope the recovery goes well this week.

Kennyg, well done, 80:06, lovely :) any chance of a longer report...please?!

FeenaM, deadly run, especially on finishing feeling strong. I don't agree with AMK re 1:40 tho.....IMO you're capable of 1:37-1:39 ;) But yes, start with the 1:40 pacers and you will find yourself leaving them....

Ratracer, fair play and yeah, the motivation here is great isn't it?! Well done on the attitude getting out that door :)

All of you, have a look at this

And think about incorporating it into your core routine....hip strength and stability is crucial for your running efficiency and this will help.

Finally, you all should be running 4 (good) or 5 (better) days per week by now. Gym should be max once oer week by now, save the energy for running.

Finally finally.....Well done again everyone...over and out, back Saturday. Happy running Novices :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,386 ✭✭✭diego_b

Dubgal72 wrote: »

Ta, the achilles feels fine since but both calves feeling a bit tight today (the achilles bone is connected to calf bone so no surprise)...will give them a good foam rolling later but the sports massage I have booked for tomorrow morning should help.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 10,854 ✭✭✭✭Murph_D

ZV Yoda wrote: »

I'll be trying to answer the odd question here and there during Dubgal's little break - I've been through this journey as a 2012 novice so still very familiar with these kind of questions (although i think DG has ye all spoiled with the individual attention). :pac:

You should be fine to do the recovery run on Friday morning. Many of us find we have to do things this way - just take it even easier than your normal recovery perhaps.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 91 ✭✭KingMambo26

Well done to all the novices racing on Saturday. It was great meeting some of you after the race. The flapjacks were delish by the way. Thanks Toulouse! I didn't want to take a third one out of politeness but I regret it.

A little bit late but here's my race report from the FD on Saturday:

Went out in the middle of the pack and feeling well albeit a bit slow. I later found out I had run the first 5k at about 5:27 p/km but I was running by feel so didn't notice. I managed to gate-crash "The Zone" and for the first 7/8 miles didn't notice the distance markers which made a huge difference compared to some other races I've done. In the past, the minute I noticed the markers I would start all sorts of calculations in my head and depending on the stage of the race sometimes they would be detrimental to my mental state.
    Before I noticed we were on the Cunningham Road and aiming for the final hill. I suppose once you run it enough times it loses its haunting scariness and just becomes part of the journey but I wasn't apprehensive about it. With about 1.5 miles to go started increasing the pace hoping I would have enough left in the tank. The legs at that stage were sore specially on the hamstrings and glutes.

With the finish line in sight I noticed I could still come in under 1:30 so I really went into a mad sprint that brought me in at 1:25:05.

Learnings from the weekend:
    - I can run 10 miles with 2 sips of water
    - I can run 10 miles without gels. I tried a powerbar instead and only needed 3 or 4 bites. A good breakfast of porridge and fruit is key though.
    - Running in The Zone rocks!
    - Overall my fitness is better than it was a year ago when I did the same race. Timewise I only shaved 4 mins of my time but I was in a better state at the end of it.
    - Had I done some proper planning I would've run the first 5k slightly faster. Oh well...

Bring on the HM beers!

I'll probably be fired now, first day on the job :o

In my defence, I wasn't allowed post because there were too many smileys in the text so DG saw her chance and snuck in. But she really is on a break now so y'all are stuck with a replacement team of chancers experts until Saturday.

DG - GET OFFLINE!

We're in charge, stop showing us up.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,009 ✭✭✭Firedance

Bungy Girl wrote: »
    I'll probably be fired now, first day on the job :o

In my defence, I wasn't allowed post because there were too many smileys in the text so DG saw her chance and snuck in. But she really is on a break now so y'all are stuck with a replacement team of chancers experts until Saturday.
    DG - GET OFFLINE!

We're in charge, stop showing us up.

:D:D uh oh, is she gone? can we wreck the gaff?/ party! get stuck into the serious business of being responsible & helpful?

aquinn is in charge, stop showing us up.

FYP :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,585 ✭✭✭nop98

Bungy Girl wrote: »

:eek: that could have been me alright (wearing rain-coat and a hat, believe it or not, it's August :(), but I didn't think there was anyone else out there? Sorry if I went too fast, it was just sooo miserable.

nop98 wrote: »
    :eek: that could have been me alright (wearing rain-coat and a hat, believe it or not, it's August :(), but I didn't think there was anyone else out there? Sorry if I went too fast, it was just sooo miserable.

*Evil chuckle*. There's always someone out there....watching, timing, reporting back ;). Yis get away with nothing* !

*Although if ever there was a week to party down, this is probably it. I think DG has recruited about 10 of us and we still won't be up to scratch ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,035 ✭✭✭HelenAnne

Singer wrote: »
    Race week

Race day

Woke up at 7, hung out with the 1 year old, made a large bowl of porridge with honey and peanut butter in it. Had a cup of coffee and sipped on some water. Arrived at the Phoenix Park pointlessly early (8.40) and strolled around for a bit before getting changed into running shoes and dumped the bag. Did a brief warm-up (maybe .5k) and headed into the first wave (despite aiming for well under 80 minutes, I still get a little bit of imposter syndrome being surrounded by the club runners etc.).

Race plan: Pretty much the same as the Fingal 10k - find a comfortable enough pace, stick with it and try not to die at the end. Last year I ran this in 1:30:30, but I had to walk a bit on the hill after the 8 mile mark. Oh and smile, etc. :)

The 10 mile distance is interesting, as it's the one I've now done the most - I did last year's FD in 1:30 and the Trim AC 10m in Feb in 1:18, so it's the best benchmark I have for my progression since starting running.

1st mile: 7'01
    The start wasn't very congested, I didn't need to do much ducking and diving. The pace wasn't taxing, feeling good. Conscious of not going flat out down Chesterfield.

2nd mile: 6'53

Still ticking over, and feeling good going past the zoo.

3rd mile: 6'58

Around here I ended up running shoulder to shoulder with a female club runner for a mile or two. It's nice to go with somebody at your pace for a while. I ended up going ahead, breaking up our short term relationship. I got a compliment for having a "great smile" at the water :) (I was smiling, it wasn't sarcasm)

4th mile: 6'57

It got a small bit congested here on the path, but slowing down slightly suited me.

5th mile: 6'49

Breathing got a little uncomfortable, but just worked at it and ended up feeling grand.

6th mile: 6'49

? Only interesting part is an identical mile split.

7th mile: 6:59

Definitely feeling it now. Tummy got a little uncomfortable, but passed some wind and all was right with the world again :)

8th mile: 7:02

Effort increased out on the road, knowing the hills were coming up didn't help. Fortunately not too windy.

9th mile: 7'30

Bloody hill. I had to walk a bit on this last year. I went in fast enough on the first slope up, but then ran out of juice. Got passed out a good bit here and breathing again got a little difficult. One of the passer-outers gave me some encouragement as he sauntered on by, so I must have looked/sounded miserable :)

10th mile: 7'15

The general misery continued until the last third of a mile, everybody sped up so I followed suit. It felt good finishing up with 1:11ish on the clock. Definitely couldn't do much right after, other than be delighted to not be running :)

Target time: 1:13ish
    Actual time: 1:10:30 :)
    Really well done! Which club was the mysterious female runner from? just wondering if it could have been me ... I had a male companion in a blue top for a mile or so! (Finished a good bit behind you in the end, though, 71.14)