Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

DCM 2015: Mentored Novices Thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,386 ✭✭✭diego_b

Mrs Mc wrote: »
    If you foam roll the calves and spend a good 15 mins stretching before the LSR I have found that helps my Achilles. I also put tiger balm on my calves before LSR think it has the same effect as the hot water bottle on the calf that Kennyg mentions. I've an inflamed Achilles which is related to tightness in my calf so regular sports massage and physio dry needling usually sorts it out.

Thanks for that, will give it a go.
    It doesn't feel too bad today but know it's not quite right at the moment.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 139 ✭✭BIRDCAGE1

On sale in Lidl at the moment - I got mine in Aldi a few years ago, they're a great little belt, with a pouch for your keys/gels etc.

Thanks, I'll check it out this afternoon

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 723 ✭✭✭Pink11

Anyone have a flipbelt? I'm going to order one but not sure what size to order? My actual size or a size down so it's snug?

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 21,254 Mod ✭✭✭✭Dub13

Lidi have them strap on arm bands for your arms and leg's in stock now, only a fiver very handy for the darker nights and mornings coming in.

Dub13 wrote: »
    Lidi have them strap on arm bands for your arms and leg's in stock now, only a fiver very handy for the darker nights and mornings coming in.

Thanks but I've tried all those and I was hoping to just have one thing to put everything in to. I'm looking ridiculous on long runs with all my different holders haha and it's getting uncomfortable.

The flipbelt looks amazing and I'd be able to fit everything I need to carry in to just one band.

Look at the reviews on youtube of real runners trying it out. No one had anything bad to say. It's just the sizing I can't decide on!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 137 ✭✭FeenaM

Pink11 wrote: »
    Anyone have a flipbelt? I'm going to order one but not sure what size to order? My actual size or a size down so it's snug?

I have one. Think it's small and I'm a 10 but I wear it on hips so depends where you want to wear it. Definitely better smaller than too big.

Just to add that I found it quite uncomfortable to carry water so never really use it. Would be ok for phone a gels though.

FeenaM wrote: »
    I have one. Think it's small and I'm a 10 but I wear it on hips so depends where you want to wear it. Definitely better smaller than too big.

Just to add that I found it quite uncomfortable to carry water so never really use it. Would be ok for phone a gels though.

Thanks I'll go for the smaller size so to be sure.

Yeah, I don't think they recommend for water. Can imagine that being too much . Will carry water in my hand. I can get everything else in and love how headphones can come up the back rather than the sides from the arm holders.

---
    Edit:

I found a coupon online for 10% off. It's 'FB10'. When you buy it here: www.flipbelt.com So it worked out at 33dollars including shipping.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 259 ✭✭duffer247

Hi All
    I've just come across this thread today, I have to say I'm very impressed with work on both sides i.e. the running and mentoring. I've been working a marathon plan on myasics website but have felt recently that its been light on mileage. For example there is only 1 * 20 mile (4th Oct) and 1 * 17.5 (27th Sept) in it, I started to look around other plans which brought me here.
    I'm in a bit of a quandary as to whether to stick with this plan or change to something fulfilling in mileage terms without damaging myself in the process.
    I'm doing the FD10 this weekend so that might give me some feedback too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,386 ✭✭✭diego_b

Best of luck to everyone running the Frank Duffy 10 Miler tomorrow, looking forward to enviously reading your race reports over the weekend!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,272 ✭✭✭Dubgal72

duffer247 wrote: »
    Hi All
    I've just come across this thread today, I have to say I'm very impressed with work on both sides i.e. the running and mentoring. I've been working a marathon plan on myasics website but have felt recently that its been light on mileage. For example there is only 1 * 20 mile (4th Oct) and 1 * 17.5 (27th Sept) in it, I started to look around other plans which brought me here.
    I'm in a bit of a quandary as to whether to stick with this plan or change to something fulfilling in mileage terms without damaging myself in the process.
    I'm doing the FD10 this weekend so that might give me some feedback too.

Hi duffer247 and welcome :) there are a few questions at the end of the first post on this thread that will help us to help you. If you could also include your long run progression over the last six weeks and the projected progression over the next six, that would help too.
    We've had a few discissions lately over 'plan confidence'. It's quite normal for doubts to start creeping in at this stage, especially when you see all the other plans being discussed. We'll all get to the startline on the 26th but we will have taken approximately 15000 different paths to get there. I would say your plan is most likely fine for you but we can have a look, no problem at all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,119 ✭✭✭Mrs Mc

Thanks I'll go for the smaller size so to be sure.

Yeah, I don't think they recommend for water. Can imagine that being too much . Will carry water in my hand. I can get everything else in and love how headphones can come up the back rather than the sides from the arm holders.

---
    Edit:

I found a coupon online for 10% off. It's 'FB10'. When you buy it here: www.flipbelt.com So it worked out at 33dollars including shipping.

Headphones !!! Did pink11 mention headphones ...... Oh oh you're in trouble now .... Edit post quick before DG sees it !!!

What is your athletics background? Have you run before? What other sports have you taken part in and at what level?
    Spent the last 3 years getting back into running, I've done a fair few 5k, 5m and 10k's over that period. I do a bit cycling too, last year I cycled from Malin to Mizen
    Have you raced before? If so what are your PBs? (Date and distance please!)
    Yes as above, 52min for 10k / 39min for 5m / 22m for 5k (I'll edit with actual dates)
    Do you still need to take walk breaks in your training ? (No problem if you do)
    No walking breaks but haven't run any great distance (yet!)
    How much training do you currently do incl cross training? Distances, cross training - whatever you think is relevant to your current fitness level.
    I cycle to work about 3 times a week (12k a day)
    How many days a week do you run only?
    3 days running a week
    What do you want to achieve? Dream finishing time and realistic finishing time? Or just complete it in no specified time?
    4.15 but probably 4.30
    What marathon programme are you following/intending to use?
    Myasics.com

I have no idea why but I'm starting to get all panic'y about the 10 miler in the morning, a lot more than the first two races.

Since I've only just started running at a slower pace in the last week, should I continue with this slower pace for the race in the morning or do a faster pace [10min/mile] that I've been running up to now. I'm kinda thinking of doing the slower pace and just use the race as another training session.

Dubgal72 wrote: »
    Hi duffer247 and welcome :) there are a few questions at the end of the first post on this thread that will help us to help you. If you could also include your long run progression over the last six weeks and the projected progression over the next six, that would help too.
    We've had a few discissions lately over 'plan confidence'. It's quite normal for doubts to start creeping in at this stage, especially when you see all the other plans being discussed. We'll all get to the startline on the 26th but we will have taken approximately 15000 different paths to get there. I would say your plan is most likely fine for you but we can have a look, no problem at all.

@Dubgal
    Last six weeks long run (most recent first):
    10m
    8m
    5.5m
    4m (hill run)
    6.5m
    5m

Projected long run next 6 weeks:
    12.5m
    7.5m
    15m
    7.5m
    17.5m
    20m

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,781 ✭✭✭eyeball kid

diego_b wrote: »
    Best of luck to everyone running the Frank Duffy 10 Miler tomorrow, looking forward to enviously reading your race reports over the weekend!

Just want to second this. Had a look at the weather just now and it looks like it should be ok for it. Have fun!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,585 ✭✭✭nop98

BIRDCAGE1 wrote: »
    I have no idea why but I'm starting to get all panic'y about the 10 miler in the morning, a lot more than the first two races.

Since I've only just started running at a slower pace in the last week, should I continue with this slower pace for the race in the morning or do a faster pace [10min/mile] that I've been running up to now. I'm kinda thinking of doing the slower pace and just use the race as another training session.

Hi Birdcage1,

There's been some healthy debate about running races as training runs. Some folks are disciplined enough to stick to their planned (slower) pace, some aren't. Personally, I think a race as big and as well organized as tomorrow's deserves a good lash :)

Joking aside, from what I've read, most of the Novices who are running tomorrow are going to race it. We have a permission slip from Dubgal to do so, which is rare! The boards.ie and HNN1 plans that we're following have a mini-taper and recovery built in for this race, and the DCHM in September.

I am not sure which program you're following, but I would have a go tomorrow, if I were you. It's a super race, it seems to be OK weather, and the course is a real tester, I'm sure you know that last mile particularly is a challenge.

See Singer's post above, we're planning to meet up just after the finish-line, towards the right. Do call over and say hi!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,915 ✭✭✭✭menoscemo

It's a race so once you are not racing too often then just run it as fast as you can. You should be racing much faster than your training paces.

It's good to get some feedback about how you're fitness levels are coming on. My advice is to try not to fixate too much on the watch and just run it at a good effort that feels sustainable. If you have something left in the tank push on over the last few miles.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,009 ✭✭✭Firedance

Good luck tomorrow everyone, I hope I get to meet you at the finish, ill just follow the flapjack smell :) hydrate well today, its hot out there so pull back your pace tomorrow if you need to & take water at every opportunity during the race. Most of all enjoy!

Thanks for the advice guys, sounds like I'll be racing it so. I'm following a plan published in the Irish Runner magazine that takes into account all the Dublin races, so there is recovery etc built in.
    I will definitely try and meet up with you guys, it would be great to put a face to the names on here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,776 ✭✭✭This Fat Girl Runs

Hey everyone, about tomorrow's race. I've been talking to Dubgal and my coach and have decided, with their blessings, to bow out of this one. I'm scheduled to run it as an LSR but I'm really feeling like I wouldn't be able to hold myself back and I'd really want to race it. Given that I haven't approached this week as a racing week I'd be unprepared to race it. So I'm going to skip the race and run an LSR on Sunday instead.

So, having said that, I'm going to come to cheer you guys on and maybe meet up with you at the finish if I can find you. Would be great to put faces to screen names! Toulouse, I'll look for you at the finish!

Y'all should have no trouble spotting me. I always wear flowers in my hair (when I'm not running that is!)! :D

Hope to see you all there!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,585 ✭✭✭nop98

There's an online tracker, too: http://track.rtrt.me/e/TDL-DUFFY10M-2015

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 83 ✭✭Chops1234

I have one. Love it. It's a medium (I'd be a size 10) It fits loads and doesn't move. Got it in the Run Hub. It's great for races like tomorrow as don't need to check a bag in.

Best of luck to everyone running the 10 mile tomorrow. I've been away since last Friday and only back today. Got all my runs in but feel a stone heavier from all the food and drink lol. So dreading it at the moment!! Looking forward to hearing all the race reports tomorrow afternoon :-)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,447 ✭✭✭FBOT01

Best of luck to all those running the Frank Duffy tomorrow. Have a good one...and of course ENJOY!!

Evening guys,

By now ye will be resting up in advance of tomorrow's exertions. Early bed for all you racers tonight but first, a quick checklist:

Tonight
    - Number pinned on vest/t shirt
    - Racing gear laid out and warm up gear
    - Change of clothes for after (no hanging around in damp running gear!)
    - baggage label (if using) attached to bag
    - pace band made if using
    - garmin :rolleyes: or similar charged (*stifles yawn*)
    - race strategy committed to memory/final familiarisation with route
    - sunscreen left out to apply in am
    - water and recovery drink and snack packed
    - breakfast prepped
    - have your 'getting to venue plan' nailed (allowing plenty of time!) Note, shuttle buses will be running from Parkgate St but there may still be a walk to start.
    - set your alarm

...now you can go to bed :)

Tomorrow
    - get up ;)
    - get to the startline in plenty of time to get yourself orientated, queue for loo (or just find a bush), drop your bag and warm up.
    - warm up: ease back on the warm up if the temperature is already rising, reduce intensity (should be v easy anyway) and duration
    - deep breaths, get in the zone/focus but most importantly, stay relaxed.

And you're off....

- if you get caught by congestion at the start DO NOT WEAVE IN AND OUT to *gain* places. You will only add distance to your race, how would you feel if marshals started moving the finish line away from you as you approached it? That is what you are doing by weaving. Sit tight and wait for the crowd to thin out. It will.
    - similarly, if you get caught in the first mile, do NOT play catch up. Plan to catch up to your pace schedule by mile 5 or 6.
    - remind yourself of your mantra now and then, not just when the going is getting tough
    - don't forget to acknowledge that pain: focus on where it is (thighs/lungs/diaphragm etc), zone in on it, say hello then let it go. This will trick your brain into accepting it. Panicking over pain sends your brain into full battle alert. Acknowledging the pain tricks your brain into remaining a calm engine of zen :)
    - Nop has it right, this is a race and you have full permission to race it but know where you have to keep a bit in the tank. From Mile 8.5 you will begin to climb. Half way up, there might be an inflatable arch. This is for mile 9 do not be fooled, it is not the finish line!!). The drag will continue for another 500m, will level off slightly for a few hundred metres and then turn to the right. The finish line is now about 400m away. Empty the tank :D

Throughout...
    Breathe

Run tall

Relax

Smile

Post race
    - follow the map, sniff out the flapjacks and approach some random internet strangers with 'hi I'm {insert boards username here}' and hope to hell you've found the right flapjack group.....

Good luck and enjoy :) I can't make it tomorrow but wish you all the very very best! Looking forward to those race reports.

^^^ whoopsa, most of the above applies to you/delete as appropriate :D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,413 ✭✭✭Toulouse

Good luck everyone!!

Flapjacks are done, just hope they hold together.

Toulouse wrote: »
    Good luck everyone!!

Flapjacks are done, just hope they hold together.

Damn they look good!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 75 ✭✭ChadHogan

Hi All,

I've been lurking a lot this year, having participated last year in the thread and ultimately DNF'd in the Marathon. I was struggling with injury this year in the earlier part of the year but am finally back in action and am ready to slot into the boards plan for the last remaining weeks.

I was wondering what the advice for a weekend run would be if you can't run the FD10 tomorrow. I've been a way for a few days and had an enforced taper with just two easy runs early in the week.

the last 3 weekends I've had 3 LSRs in a row ramping 15-17-18 miles, so I am either thinking of a step back week to a 14mile LSR or running 10 miles MP as if I was available I'd have been racing tomorrow anyway.

anyway best of luck to all who are running tomorrow. It's my favourite race of the year and I am raging that I'm going to miss it.

Dubgal72 wrote: »
    ^^^ whoopsa, most of the above applies to you/delete as appropriate :D:D

Thank you, I just picked up my race pack and I'm sick with nerves. My trainer has given me a plan for it, which is ultimately to keep a fair amount in the tank during the first 10km - which is almost all very much uphill and includes the mountain and also the descent. I can then "race" the last 6km to the best of my ability, this is mostly a rolling road which I found really tough last year. Your quads are wrecked at this point. There's a steep but of downhill then before you're straight back into a long drag with a bit of a hill up to the last km where you get to run downhill to the finish.

I'm to ignore times and splits and concentrate on not injuring myself!

I'm pretty worried, it's getting so close to the big day now and after my 5 mile disaster, I'm bricking it for this, I'm panicking that if I have a bad day out tomorrow my confidence will be knocked for the big race. I know this isn't an ideal prep for the marathon but it is what it is and hopefully I won't be too disappointed (or injured!!) by the time I get to the finish. If my sciatica flares up I'm out, I won't push through actual pain, as I need to keep in my head that this isn't the endgame.

Didn't mean for that post to be so long, sorry, just getting thought out.

Best of luck in the morning everyone, you'll be home eating big dinners by the time my race starts :)

Toulouse wrote: »
    I need some guidance please!

I'm following the HHN1 plan. I normally start my week on the Monday so the week starting the 31st of August I have 4 miles on Monday, 8 on Tuesday and 4 on the Wednesday.

I'm heading to Electric Picnic on the Friday morning and I had planned to get up at stoopid o' clock to do my 16 mile LSR. I think realistically though that doing that and then having enough energy to drive to Laois, put up a tent and survive the day might be asking a bit much.

Don't get me wrong, if I have to do that then I will but is there another way that I'm just not seeing?
    ZV Yoda wrote: »
    Ha ha - I'm in the same boat! I was planning to do my 16 miles on the Fri am. I might end up doing it on the Thurs night, but realistically, I know I won't get back out for a run until the following Tues. That'd be a 4 day break, which is prob too much. So, the lesser of two evils is to go with the Fri am & hope I have the energy to stay awake on the Fri night.

There'll be plenty of walking around in Stradbally to keep the legs well exercised anyway!
    Hi Toulouse and ZV Yoda, I/we will get back to both of you tomorrow with this if that's ok? I'll have a look at your schedules and suggest some tweaking.
    If you foam roll the calves and spend a good 15 mins stretching before the LSR I have found that helps my Achilles. I also put tiger balm on my calves before LSR think it has the same effect as the hot water bottle on the calf that Kennyg mentions. I've an inflamed Achilles which is related to tightness in my calf so regular sports massage and physio dry needling usually sorts it out.
    There are a few tips for managing achilles, warming up with gentle heel drops (less intensity and quantity than a rehab session) is another tip but without knowing whether it is insertional tendinitis or otherwise I'd be reluctant to recommend anything as everyone's niggles are peculiar to themselves....Two straight days of pain usually means two days rest and if it persists longer....physio!
    Headphones !!! Did pink11 mention headphones ...... Oh oh you're in trouble now .... Edit post quick before DG sees it !!!
    Hehe I saw it, I'm just biding my time ;)
    duffer247 wrote: »
    What is your athletics background? Have you run before? What other sports have you taken part in and at what level?
    Spent the last 3 years getting back into running, I've done a fair few 5k, 5m and 10k's over that period. I do a bit cycling too, last year I cycled from Malin to Mizen
    Have you raced before? If so what are your PBs? (Date and distance please!)
    Yes as above, 52min for 10k / 39min for 5m / 22m for 5k (I'll edit with actual dates)
    Do you still need to take walk breaks in your training ? (No problem if you do)
    No walking breaks but haven't run any great distance (yet!)
    How much training do you currently do incl cross training? Distances, cross training - whatever you think is relevant to your current fitness level.
    I cycle to work about 3 times a week (12k a day)
    How many days a week do you run only?
    3 days running a week
    What do you want to achieve? Dream finishing time and realistic finishing time? Or just complete it in no specified time?
    4.15 but probably 4.30
    What marathon programme are you following/intending to use?
    Myasics.com
    Hi duffer, thanks for that. I'll get back to you tomorrow :)

I think meno gave you the right advice there, go for it!
    ChadHogan wrote: »
    Hi All,

I've been lurking a lot this year, having participated last year in the thread and ultimately DNF'd in the Marathon. I was struggling with injury this year in the earlier part of the year but am finally back in action and am ready to slot into the boards plan for the last remaining weeks.

I was wondering what the advice for a weekend run would be if you can't run the FD10 tomorrow. I've been a way for a few days and had an enforced taper with just two easy runs early in the week.

the last 3 weekends I've had 3 LSRs in a row ramping 15-17-18 miles, so I am either thinking of a step back week to a 14mile LSR or running 10 miles MP as if I was available I'd have been racing tomorrow anyway.

anyway best of luck to all who are running tomorrow. It's my favourite race of the year and I am raging that I'm going to miss it.
    Hi chad, good to see you're still in the game. I wouldn't recommend a 10 mile PMP run unless you had been building up to it in increments (4,5,6 etc) over a number of weeks. That sort of session is usually for later in the cycle. Have a step back week. Anything from 14-16 will be grand and you can always add a few recovery miles on Sunday. Keep the pace easy. This might be difficult as your legs may be fresh from the enforced taper...l