Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Mum on the Run

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,355 ✭✭✭Bungy Girl

FBOT01 wrote: »
    Thanks. I actually tied their reformer class a couple of years ago and it didn't do it for me. Might give the mat class ago since its local and it has to better than what I am doing at the mo:)

Yeah I wasn't mad about the reformer either but some people swear by it. They have fancy mats now too with foot straps and handles but I still use the basic mat. I do be settled in my ways :rolleyes:

Thursday – REST

R&R (work, laundry, cleaning, decluttering, parenting, etc.) and some much needed foam rolling.

Friday – LSR

Loved, loved, loved this run. Begone, distance demons! Dublin Half let’s be havin ya! Plan for today was a recce of the Dublin Half route in the Phoenix Park. I decided against gels and went for my standard breakfast (porridge with berries, seeds, nuts, Alpro yoghurt, a Kelkin Revive with apple cider vinegar and a pint of hot water with lemon) with the addition of a slice of Biona rye bread toasted with some almond butter. Stuffed! I had no issues so this is what I’ll be having on Sept 19th. I parked on Furze Road and made my way to where I guess the start will be. Stashed a kids bottle of water up a tree as I’d be passing by there again around Mile 8. I’d studied the route but brought a copy just in case. The first mile is really fast so I guess a bit of holding back will be required here on the day. Bit of a drag then on the 2nd mile and after that is very flat up to and including Farmleigh. I stopped at the security hut to check directions and after a bit of discussion the lads sent me on the right route to the Tower Gate. They neglected to tell me the gate was locked though :rolleyes:. No way out other than the way I came in, so doubled back and went out the other gate just beside the entrance to Farmleigh towards Castleknock College and arrived on the other side of Tower Gate. I was about a mile behind as a result so I knew I’d have to make up some route changes on the hoof or risk finishing miles away from the car. Sharp left after Mount Sackville back into the park and took the Furze Road instead of the Ordnance Survey Road to get back on course. Retrieve the water bottle and had a few sips but wasn’t dying of thirst or anything. Skipped the minor detour off Chesterfield towards the Papal Cross, partly to catch up on myself and partly to avoid the swarms of Ironmen convening on Race HQ which has set up in the Papal Cross car park. Every so often on the run I’d hear the whirr of a disc wheel and sure enough there’d be some lad in a pointy helmet down on his tri-bars on a bike that cost more than my car. I didn’t go all the way out the main gate but cut down by the Wellington Monument and down some steep steps out to the Chapelizod Road. I was trying to get the last few miles right as per the race route so ‘that’ hill would be close to the finish. Chapelizod Road is looooong and I could feel my knees a bit on the concrete so moved into the bike lane, being alert to pointy helmets of course. Back into the park via the Chapelizod Gate and tried to relax up the hill past St. Mary’s then onto the Furze Road for the final stretch.

I ran this primarily by feel only looking at each mile split as the watch ‘pinged’ cheerfully. I was definitely running easy and felt comfortable throughout* so I was surprised and delighted to get a shiny new half PB of 1:50:27. I’d feel a lot more confident now about going with the sub 1:40 pacers in September if the conditions are good.

*last mile’s a biatch though

115 mins - 13.6 miles @ 8:26 (tarmac)
    Splits: 8:11, 8:33, 8:26, 8:25, 8:21, 8:24, 8:36, 8:25, 8:26, 8:07, 8:22, 8:22, 9:01 (5:22)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,272 ✭✭✭Dubgal72

Deadly run! Great confidence booster, you must be absolutely delighted. Scrap that, I can tell from your post :D Tis all paying off missus ;) can't wait to see what you do in September!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,009 ✭✭✭Firedance

fantastic! as dg said super confidence booster and you'll be well on for the 1.40 next month :)

Dubgal72 wrote: »
    Deadly run! Great confidence booster, you must be absolutely delighted. Scrap that, I can tell from your post :D Tis all paying off missus ;) can't wait to see what you do in September!

Really, how could you tell :D:D:D:D:D:D ? :D
    Firedance wrote: »
    fantastic! as dg said super confidence booster and you'll be well on for the 1.40 next month :)

It doesn't seem like SUCH a crazy idea now, but at the same time I think I'd need everything (wind, temp, flabs etc.) to play ball to give it a good shot. Sorry to read about your injury, hope all well soon!

Saturday – Easy

An uninspiring up and back to the Wooden Bridge. Although I did pass the boats in the bay and it looked like a great evening for sailing. Wondered if Cap’n Aquinn was among them. Strides into the wind.
    • 5.3 miles @ 9:00 incl. 6 x 20 sec strides

Sunday – Medium Run #2 of 2 incl segment @ 2 hour pace/effort

Hadn’t done hills in a while so took this to the Bog of Frogs loop along the Howth trails this morning. Wasn’t too busy with walkers so not too much stopping and starting. Tripped up three times along the route but didn’t go splat. I think I need some very pretty new trail shoes to help with the tripping.
    • 8.3 miles @ 10:06 incl. 30 mins @ 9:23
    Splits: 11:44, 10:48, 8:57, 8:23, 10:19, 9:30, 10:02, 11:28, (2:31)

Compared with easy loop 3 weeks ago
    8.3 miles @ 10:38
    Splits: 11:45, 10:54, 8:43, 9:26, 11:25, 10:51, 10:30, 11:58, (2:45)

Happy enough with that effort the faster section averages over a minute per mile quicker which is about right I think.

TOTAL WEEKLY MILES: 50.0*

Step back week next. Only 40 miles!**

*I wasn’t running another step!
    ** Never thought this would be something I’d hear myself say

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,936 ✭✭✭annapr

Great stuff, G. You have six weeks to go to the Dublin HM... you're in great shape for it. And you seem to be thriving on the extra mileage which is great to see too.

annapr wrote: »
    Great stuff, G. You have six weeks to go to the Dublin HM... you're in great shape for it. And you seem to be thriving on the extra mileage which is great to see too.

Thanks Anna. I'm really surprised to have survived this far to be honest. I keep waiting to fall apart limb by limb :rolleyes:. Hope your LSR mojo comes back soon. Maybe a few (temporary even) tweaks to the programme might help so you're fresher for your long runs ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,968 ✭✭✭aquinn

A beautiful half run BG, well done. Sounded great. Delighted for you. 50 miles too successfully completed, fair play.

Yes I was out sailing on Sat but on a bigger boat. One of the best races we've done as perfect wind, good fun. Dreadful hangover yesterday though. Ouch.

aquinn wrote: »
    A beautiful half run BG, well done. Sounded great. Delighted for you. 50 miles too successfully completed, fair play.

Yes I was out sailing on Sat but on a bigger boat. One of the best races we've done as perfect wind, good fun. Dreadful hangover yesterday though. Ouch.

never knew sailing gives you a hangover... funny that :p

42 days since my last race.
    21 days until the next one.

There is a nice poetic balance about that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,212 ✭✭✭libelula

You'll need a gang of pacers to stop you bounding off the start line like a spring hare :D

libelula wrote: »
    You'll need a gang of pacers to stop you bounding off the start line like a spring hare :D

Ha ha, but I think I may now be cured of my Excessive Racing Syndrome.

Monday – Easy

Short on time today but needed to get something done before the physio and the inevitable enforced rest.
    • 4 miles @ 8:59 incl 6 x 20 sec strides (grass, which needs cutting DCC!!!)

Got some work done on my apparently man-size chunky calves (hey!:o), my feet and ITB. Ouchers, but all good, and nothing that can’t be explained by the increase in mileage.

Tuesday – Rest

Rest as predicted. Just means the week is backloaded more than I’d like but it’s a stepback week at least with *only* 40 miles :rolleyes:

Wednesday – S&C, Medium Run #1 of 2 with section at 1 hour pace/effort

Pilates first, then out into the fab sunshine for my tempo run. Warmed up around Clontarf and did a lap of Fairview Park before upping the pace outside Westwood for the paced section. Very busy along the promenade this evening with walkers, kids, dogs on leads, loose dogs, dumb dogs etc. so did a fair bit of weaving and dodging and there was a bit of a breeze too. Excuses, excuses. Felt tough but manageable. Turned at the wall for the last three minutes of the tempo and it was much easier with the breeze at my back. Took the most direct route home then as was starvin’ Marvin. Spal bog for dinner. Nom.
    • 7 miles @ 8:40 incl. 18 mins @ 7:23

Thursday - Easy

Had the morning off so after some faffing about at home pretending to tidy up I headed for St.Anne’s which was just fab in the sunshine. What a beautiful day! Did a lap inside the perimeter then some strides on the avenue. Treated myself to lunch in the new café at the Red Stables. Happy days.
    • 5 miles @ 8:55 incl 6 x 20 sec strides (grass/tarmac/trail)

Friday – S&C, Medium Run incl. section @ 2 hour pace/effort

Headed to Howth after Pilates to do the Fat Turkey route including a paced section in the middle which was 3:2 uphill:downhill. Enjoyed this (the downhill more so than the uphill :rolleyes:). Comparing the splits to the easy effort from 5 weeks back I think I got the effort about right. Hard to tell on a hilly route. Easy pace is faster which means, I hope, that the base training is paying off.

14 Aug 10Km splits: 5:20, 6:18, 4:47, 5:10, 5:35, 4:28, 4:34, 5:30, 5:07, 5:14
    10 July 10Km splits: 5:54, 6:48, 5:56, 6:07, 6:30, 5:32, 5:31, 5:54, 5:32, 5:33
    • 8 miles incl 10K Fat Turkey route, of which 25 mins @ 2 hour effort

Saturday – Easy

Nothing to report other than DCC has very kindly cut the grass in the park since Monday.
    • 5 miles @ 8:57 incl 6 x 20 sec strides (grass)

Sunday – LSR

This turned out to be one of those runs you just get through – wasn’t feeling the love for this at all and just trampled through it because I had to. My own fault – I had a big greedy breakfast and even though I left it until 5pm to head out I still felt full and bleurgh. Still not hungry even now :rolleyes:
    • 11 miles @ 9:00 (path, trail, tarmac)

TOTAL WEEKLY MILES: 40

Almost there now. 2 x 50 miles weeks to go. I was thinking now I’m an older :o and wiser :D runner after this racing hiatus I won’t be going back to racing every week. Then I compiled my wish list for the rest of the year:
    • 5/9 The Lakes 10K
    • 19/9 Dublin Half Marathon
    • 4/10 Dublin Novices XC
    • 10/10 parkrun (purely for the purposes of benchmarking)
    • 17/10 BHAA XC (2m)
    • 14/11 BHAA XC (2 or 2.5m)
    • 28/11 BHAA XC (6K)
    • 5/12 Jingle Bells 5K
    • 13/12 BHAA XC (5K)
    • 27/12 Fat Turkey 10K

which is only 3 races less than the same time frame last year. Oops! Time to cull the list again. And, actually, there’s a good chance of one or two Meet & Train XC races in there too. And a couple of time trials. Help! My names is Bungy and I am a race addict :eek:.

where did you find those BHAA dates? I couldn't see anything on the website... I think there's one M&T before Christmas and the rest in the new year? I think (I'll double check...) we're holding a 6K trail run in Carton in September sometime, hopefully doesn't clash with The Lakes :) Sorry I shouldn't be encouraging you :D

where did you find those BHAA dates? I couldn't see anything on the website... I think there's one M&T before Christmas and the rest in the new year?

There was a poster/calendar with all the dates for this year knocking around at some stage. Don't know how reliable it is now so possibly subject to change. The M&T schedule is always very last minute so not sure what to expect there!
    I think (I'll double check...) we're holding a 6K trail run in Carton in September sometime, hopefully doesn't clash with The Lakes :) Sorry I shouldn't be encouraging you :D

Oooh that sounds interesting. Is that Carton Hall ? Meant to be fab. I'm intrigued :D

Bungy Girl wrote: »
    Oooh that sounds interesting. Is that Carton Hall ? Meant to be fab. I'm intrigued :D
    Carton House in Maynooth, hopefully its going ahead, it does sound lovely!

Wait... Were those 10k splits in Km???? Woo hoo.

annapr wrote: »
    Wait... Were those 10k splits in Km???? Woo hoo.

Oh I wouldn't get too excited Anna ;) I'm not about to convert any time soon. Km for km races/recces only is the rule. I forgot to change back in time for Saturday's run and it drove me nuts!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,968 ✭✭✭aquinn

TOTAL WEEKLY MILES: 40

Almost there now. 2 x 50 miles weeks to go. I was thinking now I’m an older :o and wiser :D runner after this racing hiatus I won’t be going back to racing every week. Then I compiled my wish list for the rest of the year:
    • 5/9 The Lakes 10K
    • 19/9 Dublin Half Marathon
    • 4/10 Dublin Novices XC
    • 10/10 parkrun (purely for the purposes of benchmarking)
    • 17/10 BHAA XC (2m)
    • 14/11 BHAA XC (2 or 2.5m)
    • 28/11 BHAA XC (6K)
    • 5/12 Jingle Bells 5K
    • 13/12 BHAA XC (5K)
    • 27/12 Fat Turkey 10K

which is only 3 races less than the same time frame last year. Oops! Time to cull the list again. And, actually, there’s a good chance of one or two Meet & Train XC races in there too. And a couple of time trials. Help! My names is Bungy and I am a race addict :eek:.

Holy hell girl, this is you cutting back? Sure that's nuts.
    2 in Sept, and actually you are missing Sept 1st :P
    3 Oct, 2 Nov and 3 Dec?

How did you make it through last year if you had 3 additional races???

aquinn wrote: »
    Holy hell girl, this is you cutting back? Sure that's nuts.
    2 in Sept, and actually you are missing Sept 1st :P
    3 Oct, 2 Nov and 3 Dec?

How did you make it through last year if you had 3 additional races???

Ha ha, I never claimed to be smart :o. But I did survive and was on a bit of a roll so somehow got away with it.

They're actually all very short races, and in most cases took the place of a hard session during the week. Also XC is a much more forgiving surface than road so body not getting as much of a hammering.

Not sure about Sept 1st now, might save myself for the Lakes 10K on the Saturday.

Ha ha, I never claimed to be smart :o. But I did survive and was on a bit of a roll so somehow got away with it.

They're actually all very short races, and in most cases took the place of a hard session during the week. Also XC is a much more forgiving surface than road so body not getting as much of a hammering.

Not sure about Sept 1st now, might save myself for the Lakes 10K on the Saturday.

omg.....older and wiser for sure, else you banged your head?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,606 ✭✭✭RedRunner

where did you find those BHAA dates? I couldn't see anything on the website... I think there's one M&T before Christmas and the rest in the new year? I think (I'll double check...) we're holding a 6K trail run in Carton in September sometime, hopefully doesn't clash with The Lakes :) Sorry I shouldn't be encouraging you :D

FYP

bhaa_calendar_2015.png

359003.png

Monday – REST

Unscheduled but unavoidable. Murph_D’s wise words about getting the high mileage weeks off to a good start ringing in my ears. Oh well :rolleyes:. Feeling a bit weary anyway so no harm to have the day off. Friday Night Lights marathon on Netflix instead. Clear eyes, full hearts, can’t lose!

Tuesday – Double Easy

Laps of Fairview Park before work for the morning miles. Felt quite springy for these. The evening miles were a bit of a slog but it’s always the same on this particular route. I think it’s got to do with the time of day as well. I don’t run well in the evenings before dinner and this route from Griffith Park up towards DCU including a lap of ‘Albo’ is a fairly consistent drag uphill for the first couple of miles. Flew home though :).
    • 4 miles @ 8:36 incl. 6 x 20 sec strides (grass)
    • 4 miles @ 8:47 incl. 6 x 20 sec strides (hilly, path)

Wednesday – S&C, Medium Run incl segment @ 1 hour pace

Had to run to Pilates because I was late so that’s an extra mile logged :D. Substitute teacher for Pilates, so not quite the same workout as usual. Warmed up around Clontarf for a couple of miles before hitting the lap button outside Westwood for the paced section. First couple of miles felt grand, then turned at the Wooden Bridge and realised why. Last mile was tough into the wind but managed to keep pace more or less for the 22 minutes. End goal for this type of run is to build the tempo section up to one third of the total time running. Almost there so should hit that next week. Last few easy miles back on the grass along the promenade, a loop through Fairview Park then home.
    • 1 mile @ 9:12 (path)
    • 8 miles @ 8:32 (path, grass) incl. 22 mins @ 7:18

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,779 ✭✭✭✭Murph_D

Sometimes a day off is the wisest start of all! :)

Murph_D wrote: »
    Sometimes a day off is the wisest start of all! :)

Ha ha. Covering all options there. Now that's wise ;)

I just feel a bit under pressure taking Monday off knowing that I *have* to run the next 6 days. Having a day off later in the week gives you a bit of room to manoeuvre I think.

All set for Saturday ?

In reasonable shape I think. Took an extra day off yesterday. You coming out? Think I'm the designated driver this time.

Btw I see we'll have killerz pacing 1:40 in the Dublin half. We're in good hands!

In reasonable shape I think. Took an extra day off yesterday. You coming out? Think I'm the designated driver this time.

Hope to. Will know for sure tomorrow.
    Btw I see we'll have killerz pacing 1:40 in the Dublin half. We're in good hands!

Good stuff! How is he with piggybacks ? Is there a list of pacers somewhere ?

It's on the super-secret pacers sub-forum. :cool: It would usually be posted in the Race Series thread closer to the date.