Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Liverpool FC News/Gossip/Rumours Summer '15

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,740 ✭✭✭✭MD1990

rarnes1 wrote: »
    I dunno.

We weren't really tested yesterday in midfield.

We have a better record with Lucas in the team. It was pretty stark in contrast last time I seen it.

Time will soon tell as our run of away games is as tough as it gets.

I can see better teams cutting us up in the middle
    :confused: Strange since you thought we would get bulldozed. N'Zonzi is a huge loss for them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,914 ✭✭✭brevity

I think the game might have changed and that its harder and harder for a midfielder play DM, CM and AM.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,481 ✭✭✭Barely There

Very happy with yesterday's result. 3pts from what has been a nightmare fixture for Liverpool for the last decade or so.

Thought the performance was pretty good considering it was the opening day.
    Skittles and Lovern looked generally solid - although there was a couple of back-passes that could have done with some more pace on them!
    Clyne looked very assured and Gomez did fantastic considering his inexperience.

Milner was still closing down space like a Duracell Bunny in the last few minutes.
    Benteke did ok - kept the Stoke back 4 occupied throughout.

Fiminio? - far too early to judge, but hope springs eternal and what a strike from the pocket-magician Coutinho.

I thought Rodgers set the team up perfectly and no complaints with any of the substitutions.

Plenty of room for improvement, but I seem to remember a similar start 2 seasons ago.

Looking forward, our first 11 fixtures are extraordinarily bastardy. I would have taken 18pts from these matches with both hands prior to yesterday.
    Next up Id like to see 3pts and a good performance against Bournemouth and then carry a bit of momentum into the Arsenal match.

Re: Milner, didn't he have issue with playing as a DM at City? Thought I read that somewhere...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,911 ✭✭✭✭whatawaster

Milner is the best attacking player of the three though. I'd see him as more of a creative threat than Henderson or Can, so wouldn't make sense to have him sitting in front of the back four.

Most of the pressing, which he excels at, takes place higher up the pitch. If we want someone to screen the back 4 and spray passes around, I think we would have wasted our money on Milner.

Michael Cox on the match.

http://www.theguardian.com/football/2015/aug/09/liverpool-midfield-problem-james-milner-stoke-city

Discuses how Milner and Hendo didn't really work.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 40,059 ✭✭✭✭Harry Palmr

brevity wrote: »
    Michael Cox on the match.

http://www.theguardian.com/football/2015/aug/09/liverpool-midfield-problem-james-milner-stoke-city

Discuses how Milner and Hendo didn't really work.

As several point out BLT, the midfield was designed more to slow down Stoke than to speed up Liverpool, and that we can possibly look forward to this as de-facto for the first part of the season in the away games.

Many reckon stoke didn't test us apart from a few times they turned it on and ran through us :)

Seems that they were out stoked to an extent even when lallana was playing.

.... I really can't see both lallana & coutinho both in a starting 11.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,477 ✭✭✭✭Knex*

rarnes1 wrote: »
    Step up to a DM?

He isn't one. He's better attacking, as is Milner and Henderson.

That's 3 attack minded midfielders. Some balance is needed.

Really don't think Can is better attacking. He's more a box to box midfielder, because of his athleticism which allows him to drive forward with the ball, but he certainly needs to be sitting deeper and have the play in front of him.

His long term future is most likely at DM, tbh, but at 21 he was a long way to go.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,404 ✭✭✭✭Turtyturd

Darmian looked very good yesterday to be fair.

World of difference between looking good and being the best.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,909 ✭✭✭✭rob316

Milner is the best attacking player of the three though. I'd see him as more of a creative threat than Henderson or Can, so wouldn't make sense to have him sitting in front of the back four.

Most of the pressing, which he excels at, takes place higher up the pitch. If we want someone to screen the back 4 and spray passes around, I think we would have wasted our money on Milner.

I don't know about that, I think Henderson is very underrated in an attacking regard. 7 goals and 9 assists last season he managed taking into a horrendous season. I'd like to see Henderson getting forward much more.

This would be my preferred line up and formation for home games atleast. If we are taking a different approach to away games.

Mig
    Clyne - Skrtel- Sakho - Gomez
    Milner
    Henderson - Can
    Firmino - Benteke - Coutinho

Coutinho and Firmino are given licence to roam though behind Benteke.
    Coutinho has to start out on the left, he was useless until Can came on, then he sparked to life and looked like the player that would win the game.

I'd go 4-1-2-2-1 away until Sturridge is ready to start.

Mignolet
    Clyne--Skitles--Lovren--Gomez
    Can
    Hendo-Milner
    Firmino--Coutinho
    Benteke

with the "DM" position switching between Can and Milner, Firmino would be a free agent to move where he sees fit. If Lucas does stay and is picked then he'd start as the DM but I'm not holding my breath.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,341 ✭✭✭Bandana boy

I would like to see us back to the diamond against Bournemouth
    This i imagine is what we play when Daniel is back , might as well get used to it

Mignolet
    Clyne--Skitles--Lovren--Gomez(not sure about him yet )
    Lucas(or give Can a game, I am far from convinced he can* play here)
    Hendo-Milner
    Coutinho
    Ings(or Origi)---Benteke

*Sic

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 61,272 ✭✭✭✭Agent Coulson

Lucas no matter what people of him is a great player to have in the squad for his experience alone not forgetting he really is the only midfield destroyer and the only player who is a true DM which will be needed in games this season.

He is also a father figure to South American players in the squad and has helped integrate and get these players settled in Liverpool which is something that is hugely important and isn't something to be treated lightly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 674 ✭✭✭GotTheTshirt

Lucas no matter what people of him is a great player to have in the squad for his experience alone not forgetting he really is the only midfield destroyer and the only player who is a true DM which will be needed in games this season.

He is also a father figure to South American players in the squad and has helped integrate and get these players settled in Liverpool which is something that is hugely important and isn't something to be treated lightly.

+1.

I was going to pretty much make the exact same points. I'd hate to see Lucas go.

Really looking forward to seeing if we open up and create chances at Anfield next week versus Bournemouth. Would love to see us go from being extremely solid away against Stoke, to a lot more fluid and creative when the opportunity is there to be so, as it would seriously boost my confidence for the season.

Be very interesting to see how Benteke fairs, and if Firmino will get more game time. Also wondering how we'll set up. Milner and Henderson on their own, seeing as its Anfield and Bournemouth (no disrespect), or Can in and allow the two lads to push on.

I still see Henderson as primarily an attacking midfielder, if I'm honest, albeit one who goes box to box and does the water carrying, as I don't think he's quite got the mental aspect down for playing as a deep playmaker, tbh. He could probably do it, in time, but I just don't think it fits right for him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,740 ✭✭✭✭MD1990

My team vs Bournemouth would be

Mignolet
    Clyne---Lovren----Sakho---Gomez
    Milner
    Henderson
    Ibe
    Coutinho
    Firmino
    Benteke

obviously Skrtel will start. Don't think we need another CM like Can for this game but I would start him vs Arsenal.
    Ibe wasn't great yesteday but we need him for this as he is our only genuine winger.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,799 ✭✭✭corwill

Totally agree with all of this, but I doubt he'll be happy with a bit part role at this stage in his career. I'd hate to see him leave (at least without a patently top-notch upgrade being signed), but he might want to for his own sake, and I couldn't fault him if he did.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,966 ✭✭✭✭Osmosis Jones

I'd be interested to see this
    Mignolet
    Clyne-Skrtel-Lovren-Gomez
    Can-Milner
    Firmino-Henderson-Coutinho
    Benteke

Would allow us to press from the front more.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,033 ✭✭✭Demosthenese

Interesting that we've all been brainwashed - kinda like the Men in Black scenario ... "Lovren, what a waste of €25million" ... *Look into the light* ... "Lovren was assured and composed, good in the tackle".

... i'd be delighted to see him in the form of 2 seasons ago. Sure why not? That gives and extra option for the Centre halves that could even see Sahko/Lovren at some stage? Who knows.

1 game in ... and we are all happy. The gunners taking a pounding on the interweb today ;)

Lucas out Lars Bender in would be okay! With sales of Lucas, Lambert, Borini, Balo and Enrique he should be just about net spend neutral.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,028 ✭✭✭xabi

Happy with the 3 points yesterday and a cracker goal, but, there's no change in Glen Johnson, he still looks like hes playing for the opposition...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,982 ✭✭✭✭Charlie19

xabi wrote: »
    Happy with the 3 points yesterday and a cracker goal, but, there's no change in Glen Johnson, he still looks like hes playing for the opposition...

He actually was yesterday.:)

MD1990 wrote: »
    My team vs Bournemouth would be

Mignolet
    Clyne---Lovren----Sakho---Gomez
    Milner
    Henderson
    Ibe
    Coutinho
    Firmino
    Benteke

obviously Skrtel will start. Don't think we need another CM like Can for this game but I would start him vs Arsenal.
    Ibe wasn't great yesteday but we need him for this as he is our only genuine winger.

Only change I'd make to that is switch Coutinho and Firmino, unless Coutinho is playing deeper and alternating with Henderson.

I find he gets marked out of it a bit too much when pushed up as a proper number 10. He gets more space and can roam from the flank, where I feel he's still at his most dangerous.

You do miss out on those quick counter attacking through balls, but even then I think he gives you more of them as a more attacking minded CM, than a pure number 10. But with Benteke up front and Ibe as a winger, and no Sturridge, then the opportunity for those passes goes down somewhat anyway.

So yeah, Coutinho out left and Firmino CAM, for me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,385 ✭✭✭✭D'Agger

Lovern, to his credit, was particularly solid yesterday, had one or two poor moments, panicking when clearing etc. - but I thought he got his head on alot of ball yesterday - to the point where if it were Sahko in his place, we'd be discussing how dominant in the air he is.

Certainly needs many, many more of those types of performances before we start shelling out the love, but was happy for him yesterday given he was flanked by an 18 year old debutant - he was clearly vocal & tbf to Gomez - he was very solid defensively. Moreno in that position bombs on moreso & leaves Lovern a bit isolated, you could see it happened yesterday on one occasion where Stoke got it to the end line, but even then I thought Lovern did okay in getting out to the man on the ball, not diving in & holding up play for as long as possible for players to get back defensively.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,832 ✭✭✭careca

Without starting WW3, I think Gomez could be found out against the better teams. I know he is very young and new to the PL but I thought his positioning yesterday was off on a few occasions and could have been costly. Hopefully I am proved wrong and he turns out to be a great player but I'll save judgement until he has about 10 games under his belt.

Overall the whole premier league was a poor show on the first weekend. No one really turned it on. Will take about 3/4 games before players get up to scratch, hopefully we will be similar.

Apparently Sean O'Driscoll has being doing a lot of 1 on 1 work with players, and Lovren is top of that list.

careca wrote: »
    Without starting WW3, I think Gomez could be found out against the better teams. I know he is very young and new to the PL but I thought his positioning yesterday was off on a few occasions and could have been costly. Hopefully I am proved wrong and he turns out to be a great player but I'll save judgement until he has about 10 games under his belt.

Overall the whole premier league was a poor show on the first weekend. No one really turned it on. Will take about 3/4 games before players get up to scratch, hopefully we will be similar.

I have no doubt that he'll have his poor moments over the course of a year, as all young players do. Its unavoidable.

I just hope he's managed right and doesn't find himself in an Insua type situation. But to be fair to Rodgers, I don't think it'll happen. Also, he seems a really level headed and kid, but also one who is up for the fight, so I'm hopeful he'll be grand.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,784 ✭✭✭redzerdrog

I really hope we see a return of the 4-4-2 diamond formation that saw us play our best football a couple of seasons ago.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,246 ✭✭✭Mumha

Above all for this, Lucas is worth keeping. Certainly there are a number who should be out the door ahead of him.