Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Liverpool FC News/Gossip/Rumours Summer '15

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,715 ✭✭✭✭SlickRic

Never play Milner and Hendo on their own in the engine room again.

Can made the difference 2nd half.

The team that ended the game needs to start against Bournemouth.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,442 ✭✭✭✭jesus_thats_gre

Pretty poor performance but will gladly take a dirty win in the opening game of the season.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,673 ✭✭✭Pepp1989

Three in midfield is a must. Looked so much better. 4-3-3 from now on please!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,560 ✭✭✭✭martyos121

And we go ahead of United in the sweetest way possible....

Alphabetical order :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,473 ✭✭✭✭Super-Rush

We'll suffer against better sides if the manager decides to not go with a DM.

A win is a win though and i thought Milner, Clyne and Gomez played very well.

Lallana and Ibe were poor, as was Coutinho apart from the goal obviously.

A bit of support for Benteke wouldn't go astray.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,738 ✭✭✭Fowler87

Could be a huge 3 points. Thank **** we have the magician. Lots of improvement needed to find the right formation. Can in the 3 was a good move by BR.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,381 ✭✭✭✭Allyall

Wasn't great to watch, It'll be interesting what Carragheer has to say.

I liked Benteke, maybe because I'm not used to seeing someone up there running towards the ball :pac:. He made a few (not enough) good attempts at getting the ball.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,044 ✭✭✭✭Utopia Parkway

Thank buggery for that. Needed a win there given all the tough away games coming up for the next 2 months.

Benteke did well but looked isolated for long periods. Need to get bodies around him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,258 ✭✭✭✭klose

Coutinho with his big bollocks there

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,970 ✭✭✭✭Osmosis Jones

Would be happy to see a diamond with Benteke alongside Firmino and Coutinho in behind.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,365 ✭✭✭✭super_furry

In fairness not many teams will go to Stoke and look like a good side this season. Think that will look a better result the longer the season goes on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,911 ✭✭✭✭whatawaster

SlickRic wrote: »
    Never play Milner and Hendo on their own in the engine room again.

Can made the difference 2nd half.

The team that ended the game needs to start against Bournemouth.

Don't think you can make those judgements based on today. The whole team needs to press better. I'd start Lucas or Can against Bournemouth personally but wouldn't write off this partnership yet

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,993 ✭✭✭Potential Underachiever

I'm loving it! A scrappy win at Stoke is just how I like it! We didn't play well but we were solid and came on to them towards the end, deserved win imo.

It's never going to be sexy football this early in the season, pretty much no one has played well this weekend, result is king.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,740 ✭✭✭✭MD1990

Lovren played very well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,911 ✭✭✭✭whatawaster

Pretty poor performance but will gladly take a dirty win in the opening game of the season.

This is the long and short of it. I think we will expect better against Bournemouth for sure

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,993 ✭✭✭Potential Underachiever

MD1990 wrote: »
    Lovren played very well.

Yes, I was meant to mention that alright, he was very good today.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,363 ✭✭✭JohnDaniels

Merlin to the rescue. Take the three points, move on and hope we improve. Great result.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,723 ✭✭✭MightyMandarin

****e performance but a lot of positives.

Gomez looked solid and certainly not out of his depth. Even if Moreno takes his place, we've got a very good 2nd choice LB available.

Can's introduction just spiked the team into action, he has to start from now on.

Firmino looked dangerous with the ball, but most importantly he actually chases down defenders. Hopefully when he starts, Benteke will copy him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,073 ✭✭✭MarkY91

LOL at the lovren lynch mob all week.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,372 ✭✭✭✭Mr Alan

****e performance. Good result. Result more important obviously & hopefully performances will improve.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,740 ✭✭✭✭MD1990

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,066 ✭✭✭Washington Irving

jKx1Inq.png

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,337 ✭✭✭✭monkey9

That's a win. That's a performance. That was bloody brilliant.

Credit to Rodgers, he has no qualms about starting young players. Bloody loving it!!

monkey9 wrote: »
    That's a win. That's a shîte performance. That was bloody brilliant.

Credit to Rodgers, he has no qualms about starting young players. Bloody loving it!!

FYP. Performance doesn't matter this early in the season though, so I don't even mind.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,970 ✭✭✭✭Osmosis Jones

Gomez with his first 90 minutes, first clean sheet and first assist.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,775 ✭✭✭✭Gbear

Clean sheet, hard work, giving the Stoke lads a bit of a kicking, a win, no injuries or suspensions.

All I wanted with a special goal to boot.

Grand.

Lovren and Skrtel were mostly grand. Just a couple of poor back-passes. Lovren was good in the air.

Benteke was winning a lot and linked well any time it was asked of him.
    Not quite on the same wavelength as the rest of the team yet though. Hopefully they should start to sync up after a few weeks more training and games.

Gomez had a few bits of naive play but absolutely looks like a brilliant player in the making. Good physically, looks excellent on the ball.

Ibe did well first half, less so the second - looked like Muniesa figured him out a bit. Still, so long as he keeps doing his job properly he's doing well.

Clyne was solid. No complaints. All I want from a full back.

Hendo was better second half. Milner was grand. Not quite enough initiative on the ball between the two of them, but they put in a shift and did little wrong.
    It looked slightly confused when Can went in there as well - a bit too congested. Hopefully over the course of a full game Can will push on a bit more.

Coutinho's passing was a bit off, but he looked plenty sharp with the ball at his feet. The bit where he ran through their defence, slightly fortuitously, should've lead to another goal - hopefully as we settle, Benteke and the runners from midfield will sort themselves out a bit quicker.

Lallana was the only slightly sour point. Just didn't have much of an impact on or off the ball. He's a hard worker but maybe just too wishy-washy for such a robust team.

Can and Firmino certainly tried to get involved when they came on - no dicking around and straight into the action.

Plenty of positives. Looking forward to see how we gel. Nice to get this miserable load of **** of a fixture out of the way successfully.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,628 ✭✭✭Augme

Poor performance but I don't think any of the other top teams have played well either so to get the 3 points is brilliant.

Linda will be over the moon with that clean sheet. She might get John to fork out for Neymar or Robben now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,715 ✭✭✭✭SlickRic

Gomez and Clyne were big pluses today.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,247 ✭✭✭✭BoJack Horseman

MD1990 wrote: »
    Clyne was excellent

indeed he was.
    As well as being hungry for overlaps and forward running.