Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

DCM 2015: Mentored Novices Thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,630 ✭✭✭frash

Warning - this is not going to be a long one ;)

Up at 6:15 to get the breakfast of champions into me (porridge with banana & hazelnut yoghurt mixed in if you like details). Bathroom visit (no details needed here).

Got to the start at 8am wearing the "I'm an experienced runner outfit" a.k.a. the black bin liner.

I'm going into this race with a PB of 2:02:41 so when I registered I was optimistic and put my expected time down as 1:59. This put me in corral 6 but I noticed the 2 hour pacers were in corral 7. I probably could have switched but figured I'd be ok with my trusty Garmin to keep me at 9:09 min/miles.

Mile Pace Cumulative Comment
    1 8:52.2 8:52.2 Set off knowing the 2 hour pacers were in the wave after me so would be around 30 – 45 seconds behind me. Pace slightly too fast but nothing to panic about.

2 9:01.2 17:53 Pace bang on coming down the quays even with the hills around Christchruch.
    3 8:41.5 26:35 Too fast!!
    4 9:16.9 35:52 Bit of a climb up into the grounds of the Royal Hospital but the band were class here so that got me through it.
    5 8:54.0 44:46 Nice bit of downhill here.
    6 8:53.3 53:39 More downhill – band under the flyover were really rocking it out for pre 9:30am.
    7 9:14.7 1:02:54 Running down the outside of the park now – downhill but into a wind. Pace ok.
    8 9:36.2 1:12:30 A long drag up Chesterfield. Pace drops.
    9 9:38.0 1:22:08 Drag continues. Pace the same but still too slow.
    10 9:13.7 1:31:22 Back downhill. Back on pace. Trying to do the maths to see how I'm doing - think I'm ok.
    11 9:13.6 1:40:35 Along military road – kept the pace but finding it difficult to maintain.
    12 9:38.5 1:50:14 Pace drops! Hills! 2 hour pacer catches me. He says he’s on for 1:58:30 but I know I’ve to add potentially 45 seconds to that. I need to stick with him but can’t.

13 11:07 2:01:21 2 hour pacer flies up the hill but I’m struggling. Get a pain in my glute (at least I think that’s what it’s called – top of leg meets arse cheek kinda area). Anyway I know the sub-two is gone. Maybe could have pushed for the PB but didn’t as didn’t want to make glute (or whatever it’s called) worse so just took it handy.
    14 2:43.0 2:04:04 Over the line. Garmin said 2:04:04. Official time says 2:03:57.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,970 ✭✭✭aquinn

Here I am, I've done it. I've read all posts and am finally up-to-date, so proud!

Wow 83 days to go people.

Frash/Neil welcome back lads! I thought the disturbing picture last year was Killian Byrne, don't remember Neil's thankfully.

HS I had a pukey bug last week, not pleasant at all. More bad news I'm afraid but the Spanish marathon is out the window for this year. I agree with your base don't drop out just yet and see how you get on. I see you've been passing on the thread and needle advice on the blister ;)

Mrs Mc - thanks for the sunny greeting on Sunday morning. Well done on your run.

Ladies go on the pill if you can. I had to last year as arrived at the start line of the Dublin Half in a hormonal heap and it made of a very tough experience for me. Couldn't have that happening on DCM day.

I had family at mile 6, 13 with dialorite in small bottles and it helping having that and seeing them. I followed advice and as it was my first marathon to enjoy it. I had a great day. My Sister was amazing and turned up at mile 16 with an anti-histamine and vaseline as shorts were irritating me and this was very unexpected.

I recently learnt, for those that don't know me this was completely accidental, that sea swimming is actually great for the legs, so give it a go if you can. Also and some of you have already started this but spend money on yourself with physio visits and sports therapists. Oh and foam roll, ugh.

Great idea to meet up on Saturday for those that can. This will be great for you. I found running some of the route last year helped me.

Keep posting nutribullet ideas too please as I've saved down some already thanks to Pink11.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,458 ✭✭✭ZV Yoda

ZV Yoda wrote: »
    Been wondering the same thing myself. I did some online research a while back & the answers varied widely - from 200km to 1500km (and everywhere in between).

According to Strava, I've run almost 600km on my current pair (Nike Pegasus). Since I'll be running another 500km between now & DCM, I'm assuming I'll need to break in a new pair in the next few weeks.

I like the Nike Pegasus (this is my 2nd pair) and they seem to work for me. I'm tempted to just get another pair (if it ain't broke...) but then part of me thinks I should go in & have a proper gait assessment done.

I went to Amphibian King for a new pair of runners on Sun. Their gait assessment shows I'm neutral / mid sole striker (apparently that's a good thing). The sales assistant looked mildly horrified when I told him I had 600km on my current Nike Pegasus. He said I should be changing at 500km. Good job I didn't tell him I had put up over 1,000km on my previous pair of Pegasus.

I tried a few different pairs & settled on New Balance 880v5. Went out in them today for the first time. So far, so good. They feel a bit wider than the Pegasus, so may take a bit of getting used to.

Anyway, the moral of the story is to keep an eye on the mileage I'm putting up on my runners. At my (non marathon training) average mileage, I'd be lucky to get 4 months out of a pair. Given the mileage I'll be putting in between now & DCM (on the HHN1) I'll definitely need to break in another new pair before DCM.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,035 ✭✭✭HelenAnne

Mrs Mc wrote: »
    Had a whole carry on suit case of running gear !!! Hubby at one stage wanted to put the foam roller in but I drew the line at that !!!

I draw the line at the foam roller too, but I have been known to bring a tennis ball on holidays -- you can use it like a mini foam roller and it takes up next to no room in your bag!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,447 ✭✭✭FBOT01

I went to Amphibian King for a new pair of runners on Sun. Their gait assessment shows I'm neutral / mid sole striker (apparently that's a good thing). The sales assistant looked mildly horrified when I told him I had 600km on my current Nike Pegasus. He said I should be changing at 500km. Good job I didn't tell him I had put up over 1,000km on my previous pair of Pegasus.

I tried a few different pairs & settled on New Balance 880v5. Went out in them today for the first time. So far, so good. They feel a bit wider than the Pegasus, so may take a bit of getting used to.

Anyway, the moral of the story is to keep an eye on the mileage I'm putting up on my runners. At my (non marathon training) average mileage, I'd be lucky to get 4 months out of a pair. Given the mileage I'll be putting in between now & DCM (on the HHN1) I'll definitely need to break in another new pair before DCM.

There is a theory that says if you alternate between two pairs with on/off days then you should last longer. 500km seems a bit low but the guys in AK are pretty good and generally know their stuff. Did you go to Ballymount? Anyway I would generally manage to get 600/700 miles out of my GT-3000's before retiring them.........I work on the "if it isn't broken" philosophy and I think the current pairs are nos 11 AND 12 :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,776 ✭✭✭This Fat Girl Runs

Speaking of running on holidays, can I get your opinion?

I'm going to visit a friend in Sweden but have a 12 mile LSR scheduled for Sunday which I don't want to miss. What's the best way to go about it? Run it early in the morning (i.e 6am!) to get it out of the way and risk being wrecked the rest of the day? Skip it? :eek: Break it into two runs? :confused:

What would you do? Keep in mind my long runs are upwards of 2 and half to 3 hours long!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 545 ✭✭✭paulers06

Speaking of running on holidays, can I get your opinion?

I'm going to visit a friend in Sweden but have a 12 mile LSR scheduled for Sunday which I don't want to miss. What's the best way to go about it? Run it early in the morning (i.e 6am!) to get it out of the way and risk being wrecked the rest of the day? Skip it? :eek: Break it into two runs? :confused:

What would you do? Keep in mind my long runs are upwards of 2 and half to 3 hours long!

I'm going to Italy for 2 weeks in Sept and am planning to all of my runs over there. Hoping to get up early and get them out of the way before the heat but also so it's not hanging over me for the rest of the day. Flying on a Saturday which is an LSR day so going to get up early and do it in Ireland. Coming back on a Saturday too so will push the LSR to Sunday so will only have one long one to do over there.

How long are you going for? Could you pull your run forward/back a day and get it done before you leave or when you come back?

I was there myself on Saturday. I also have a neutral gait. Ended up with a pair of Saucony Ride 8's. Been wearing the Ride 7's over the last month which was a lucky pick since I never had my gait analysed before. The Ride 7's are down to €65 online since they're the old generation so might stock up on a couple of pairs and keep my shiny 8's for the big day. Better than forking out €140 a go

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,386 ✭✭✭diego_b

paulers06 wrote: »
    I was there myself on Saturday. I also have a neutral gait. Ended up with a pair of Saucony Ride 8's. Been wearing the Ride 7's over the last month which was a lucky pick since I never had my gait analysed before. The Ride 7's are down to €65 online since they're the old generation so might stock up on a couple of pairs and keep my shiny 8's for the big day. Better than forking out €140 a go

Where did you see the Ride 7's for that price for? I have been considering getting a pair of them to alongside my Breakthrus? They are similar to what I have but with a bit more cushioning.

I got mine off the lifestyle sports website. Limited sizes left though. Saw them on the Saucony Ireland website too for €65 and have a good range of sizes (for women at least). They've a lot of previous generations across the range on sale

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,776 ✭✭✭This Fat Girl Runs

I'm going to Italy for 2 weeks in Sept and am planning to all of my runs over there. Hoping to get up early and get them out of the way before the heat but also so it's not hanging over me for the rest of the day. Flying on a Saturday which is an LSR day so going to get up early and do it in Ireland. Coming back on a Saturday too so will push the LSR to Sunday so will only have one long one to do over there.

How long are you going for? Could you pull your run forward/back a day and get it done before you leave or when you come back?

I'm going from Thursday to Sunday evening so can't really push it back or it will go into next week. I'd get home to late to run it on Sunday.

I think I'll just have to get up early and do it there. We'll be doing loads of walking while I'm there so the LSR will be a challenge for sure!

I got mine off the lifestyle sports website. Limited sizes left though. Saw them on the Saucony Ireland website too for €65 and have a good range of sizes (for women at least). They've a lot of previous generations across the range on sale

Not got my size on lifestyle (70 quid for mens which is excellent) and 104 euro for the cheapest men's pair of Ride 7's off Saucony so probably would just get the newer 8's for the sake of the 30 quid, ooh to have small(er) feet!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,272 ✭✭✭Dubgal72

Hi Novices, a day late with this post but I thought the Bank Holiday was a good enough excuse :)

I have been tearing my hair out with UPC coverage lately, hopefully resolved for good later, so this week's post is short and sweet. *collective phew*

Your mission this week is to carry on running and when not running (:confused:) have a look at previous week's posts to jog your memory about the various tips we've been bombarding you with recommending.

T-17 Now is the time

T-16 slowing down to go faster

T-15

T-14 links possibly still blank :(

T-13

Happy running novices, remember...run tall :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,272 ✭✭✭Dubgal72

Novice Lsr Phoenix Park Sat 8 Aug 9:30am

Can you quote the latest version of this post, pop your name in the table and planned pace/time slot for your lsr. This may or may not work but you get the idea if it doesn't and we can start again with a more savvy new version :)

Name|12miles9/10/11m/mi|14miles 9/10/11m/mi
    Dubgal|where needed|where needed

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,522 ✭✭✭neilthefunkeone

Dubgal72 wrote: »
    Novice Lsr Phoenix Park Sat 8 Aug 9:30am

Neil... | |10m/mi

Did i break the internet?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,413 ✭✭✭Toulouse

Neil... | |10m/mi
    Toulouse|11m/mi|

Nah, you're good Neil. However me doing this on an iPhone just might, here goes!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,413 ✭✭✭Toulouse

w00p, I rock!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,415 ✭✭✭Singer

Neil... | |10m/mi
    Toulouse|11m/mi|
    Singer| |9m/mi|

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,458 ✭✭✭ZV Yoda

Neil... | |10m/mi
    Toulouse|11m/mi|
    Singer| |9m/mi|
    ZV Yoda| 9m/mi ||

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,508 ✭✭✭ratracer

Best of luck to all on the group run next Saturday, I'd love to be there, if only it wasn't the other side of the country:D

Anyway, my favourite little run of the year is on next Saturday, the Streets of Galway 8k, and I'm runnning it with a group from work, so being last of the group home is not an option!! I intend following the 35 min pacer for as long as possible:eek: It's also a social night afterwards, so I will be just doing the 8k, maybe a very short cool down if possible.

So for this week (HHN1) I won't be fitting in an LSR:( My plan is to run 10km each of today (already done), tomorrow and Thursday, have a rest day Friday, race Saturday and then a 5k slow recovery on Sunday (in the late evening I'd say:p) Although there won't be an LSR, I plan on doing the remaining two 10k's at LSR pace, so at least the mileage is covered, just not quite according to plan. Next week I promise to be a good boy and do exactly what I'm told on the plan!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 111 ✭✭Emsy 1

Anyone who fancies picking me up on their private jet for Saturday's meet up is more than welcome... if not I'll be slogging the 12 miler alone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,199 ✭✭✭denis b

Neil... | |10m/mi
    Toulouse|11m/mi|
    Singer| |9m/mi|
    ZV Yoda| 9m/mi ||

|14miles 9/10/11m/mi
    Denis 10m/ml

Sorry but I cannot access the table. Could someone squeeze my figures in, please.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,522 ✭✭✭neilthefunkeone

Adding Denis

Neil... | |10m/mi
    Toulouse|11m/mi|
    Singer| |9m/mi
    ZV Yoda| 9m/mi |
    Denis ||10m/mi

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,415 ✭✭✭Singer

denis b wrote: »
    Sorry but I cannot access the table. Could someone squeeze my figures in, please.

Done!

Neil... | |10m/mi
    Toulouse|11m/mi|
    Singer| |9m/mi|
    ZV Yoda| 9m/mi ||
    Denis| | 10m/mi|

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,119 ✭✭✭Mrs Mc

Neil... | |10m/mi
    Toulouse|11m/mi|
    Singer| |9m/mi
    ZV Yoda| 9m/mi |
    Denis ||10m/mi |
    Mrs Mc||11m/mi |

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,199 ✭✭✭denis b

Singer/Neil

Merci. Post run tea/coffee on me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 232 ✭✭PJD

Ah here. What about us metric fools?? I can't find the table published earlier. I will be aiming for a 4.30 marathon with roughly a 6.30 minute km.....help! Still haven't worked out my optimum LSR.... But I will be there on Saturday!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,447 ✭✭✭FBOT01

Neil... | |10m/mi
    Toulouse|11m/mi|
    Singer| |9m/mi
    ZV Yoda| 9m/mi |
    Denis ||10m/mi |
    Mrs Mc||11m/mi |
    PJD ||10m/mi |

PJD based on your recent long run I suggest you go with the 10m/mi group......and if you keep motoring the way you are you can drop the sandbags relook at your 4:30 target closer to the big day ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 232 ✭✭PJD

Thanks FBOT. Was never good at maths! ...Or running....! Thank god I have DCM novice group to help me with both.

Wrong side of the country for me this weekend as well unfortunately, hopefully can catch the next one ye do. I might be able to make Sat 26th September for the 20 mile LSR if people are getting together up Dublin way for that.