If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Trivial things that annoy you part 479

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,867 ✭✭✭fancy pigeon

Irregardless. I die a little inside everytime I hear someone say it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,155 ✭✭✭✭Spanish Eyes

I've just seen a post where someone said "I didn't LOOSE it.......etc.

God of Almighty, but that drives me absolutely crackers.

And I hate Bank Holiday Monday nights that are like Sunday nights too. So there.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,400 ✭✭✭Medusa22

TA'd that I decided to go and play crazy golf and try archery for the first time. So, nobody thought to check if the place was open on a bank holiday and when we arrived the place was closed. On the upside, we went off to Fota instead and most of the animals were out and about, and it didn't rain!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 8,867 ✭✭✭eternal

Was walking home earlier and for some reason now my leg is completely seized up. It's like it's wooden only with pain? I tried deep heat and massage but it's staying put. I'll have to drag it after me for weeks! Peg leg features.

eternal wrote: »
    Was walking home earlier and for some reason now my leg is completely seized up. It's like it's wooden only with pain? I tried deep heat and massage but it's staying put. I'll have to drag it after me for weeks! Peg leg features.

Get roller blades.

I'm a liddle old for that now!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,572 ✭✭✭Colser

I just got a flash back..I bet Im the only one who remembers Peggys Legs (sweet bars)..I hope eisy or Srameen are around or Im going to feel really old:(

Colser wrote: »
    I just got a flash back..I bet Im the only one who remembers Peggys Legs (sweet bars)..I hope eisy or Srameen are around or Im going to feel really old:(
    I remember my dad on about them and he's in his 70s? Does that make you feel better :p

It does eternal..thank you:pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 43,891 ✭✭✭✭Hugo Stiglitz

Wanting a kick scooter. Have found one online from the US that is built like a tank, can support up to 300 lbs etc. My TA is that riding one here would get you labelled a "quare" and your head kicked in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,142 ✭✭✭✭Mam of 4

Ha I remember them too , and I think I'm older than you so you can relax now :)

https://forumofgames.com/

Late for work after being sucked into Boards posting crap about myself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,180 ✭✭✭✭One eyed Jack

I'm old enough to remember it's rude to ask a woman just how old are you... so I won't :p

But yeah, I remember peggys legs, like sticks of brown rock, and a quarter of fizz bombs or rhubarb and custard hard boils. My mother used have us tanked up on barley sugars while she kept the foxes glaciers and silvermints to herself.

I only found out why she kept them to herself a month ago, when she let slip about her being a smoker back then! Crafty oul so and so, all the years she'd been giving out to me about it and she never let on :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,300 ✭✭✭✭razorblunt

The word "bae", I've only ever seen it used online, had one of the girls in work mention it during small talk in a meeting today.
    She's 38.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,073 ✭✭✭Rubberlegs

I remember getting them at the little shop near my Granny's as a small child. Kind of a darkish red/ brown small stick of rock. They were lovely:)

73Cat wrote: »
    I remember getting them at the little shop near my Granny's as a small child. Kind of a darkish red/ brown small stick of rock. They were lovely:)
    Pull the teeth out of your head though:pac:

Eh no you're not. Cleeves Toffee is another one. And Licquorice sticks, and gobstoppers, and fizzbags, and......

You can get most of them in the Retro sweet shops now. Nostalgia. Aaaah.

I've never been in any of those sweet shops and I don't eat any sweets at all. Is that weird? Where do you find the retro shops?

Eh no you're not. Cleeves Toffee is another one. And Licquorice sticks, and gobstoppers, and fizzbags, and......

You can get most of them in the Retro sweet shops now. Nostalgia. Aaaah.

Liquorice Pipes !! So un PC now but they were delicious :D

razorblunt wrote: »
    The word "bae", I've only ever seen it used online, had one of the girls in work mention it during small talk in a meeting today.
    She' 38.

I had to google that. But I'm still not sure!

Care to give some context or translation??

It means 'before anything else', I think or 'anyone else'.

I've never been in any of those sweet shops and I don't eat any sweets at all. Is that weird? Where do you find the retro shops?

They are all over the place now. Just google Retro Irish Sweets. Enjoy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,073 ✭✭✭Rubberlegs

Pull the teeth out of your head though:pac:

I'd say they were responsible for manys the filling :)

Out walking and I just nearly tripped over a manhole cover posting the last one. That awkward kind of nearly hitting the deck , and righting yourself at the last minute. I was praying that no one saw as it's something I'd be buckled at myself!

Mam of 4 wrote: »

Ha ha. Remember any of the "sweet cigarettes"? They had a red tip. Gas isn't it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,274 ✭✭✭pavb2

When someone makes a cup of tea and a cup of coffee and they give you the tea but when you taste it it has the taint of coffee because they used a spoon to put the coffee into their cup and then stirred your cup of tea or took the tea bag out with the same spoon without cleaning it.

Mam of 4 wrote: »
    Golf Ball chewing gums,they were sold loose in a box..halfpenny each..I loved them but the taste was gone very quick..Getting very nostalgic now:pac:

Right, we need to get back to being annoyed at trivial things.

Eating sweets and breaking your teeth doesn't count.

My TA is that I now would like some Golfballs, Peggys Legs and Liqourice Pipes ,
    retro sweet shop here sells them though I think :D

I hate it when a person takes up two seats on the bus. Did they pay for two seats?

Was on a bus today, and this bloke had himself spread all over two seats. I got on and his was the only seat left. So I smiled at him and went to sit down. He DID NOT MOVE AN INCH!

God I got a bit angry, and stood there. No movement. In the end I figured the guy had issues with people being close up or something. But I was feeling a bit well,, you know yourself, and I sat on the edge of the seat, just to be a divil. And he still did not move.

Cue Spanish Eyes inching in. It was great fun. I am old enough now to get away with that!

But it annoys me so much, so whenever I see it happening, I go in for the kill.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,373 ✭✭✭selous

Bought new all singing all dancing gel insoles with money back warranty insoles, for E21.00 put them into my very comfy walking shoes and off I popped on my holls,
    Within 5 days they had fallen apart, FALLEN APART I say, in 5 days, (Bought a pair of lidl ones for E3.99 while away) looked at website on how to avail of warranty,
    return it to (address) along with PACKAGING and receipt and insoles,
    The flipping packaging was thrown away before I went on holls, But i'm gonna send them anyway. Grrr.