Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Cities you'd never return to

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 149 ✭✭koriko

Gdansk- went there in January & it was probably the cold and the fact that it got dark at 4pm- lots of poor homeless people aswel.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 324 ✭✭kurtainsider

Bonn
    Paid for a taxi to the Kunstmuseum and when I got there it was all art!!

I thought it was going to be about the nazi's.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 161 ✭✭Ubiquitous Synergy Seeker

Charleroi... Absolutely horrendous place. Didn't feel safe or comfortable at all there for the brief time I was passing through

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,379 ✭✭✭BuilderPlumber

London Belfast and Limerick.I used to find Limerick to be alright but for a small city compared to Dublin and Cork it has a very high presence of undesirables loitering around the city centre.I was on a bus eireann expressway bus that had rocks fired at it by a gang of youths right in the centre of the city at the Mallow/Henry street junction at 5pm in the evening last December.More recently i encountered a gang of youths having a massive brawl outside the Arthurs Quay shopping centre at 3pm on a Friday afternoon.There was a glass bottle fired as well that missed my head by inches.I've never seen the likes of that happen in broad daylight in any other other part of Ireland.Limerick has a lot of great qualities but the amount of thugs loitering around the city centre has really turned me off the place.

Unfortunately, I have often come across the type of incidents you describe in ALL Irish cities at some stage. Rocks fired on buses from the street or from an overlying highly (a la the Toecutter's gang did to Jim Goose in the first Mad Max) outside of cities. This is not peculiar to Limerick I can assure you of this. The worst incidents I saw in Irish cities in no particular order happening between 2007 to 2015 approx:

1. Outside Dublin: rocks and metal hurled onto buses and cars from an overlying highway/bridge similar to that scene from Mad Max.
    2. Cork bus station: a prolonged violent fight between a homeless wino type and a non-national.
    3. Limerick bus station: prolonged argument where people laid down in front of buses because of some dispute over being allowed on a bus. Result was buses delayed for an hour.
    4. Dublin: Violent fight inside and outside a pub in Templebar.
    5. Cork (near UCC): 20 or so youths smashing bottles on the ground and firing them into the air. One was shouting I am ....ing twisted over and over. I turned back the other way!
    6. Waterford: man beating a woman as they walked along a street near an estate.
    7. Dublin: man drunk out of his mind and going to the toilet on a street and cursing.
    8. Dublin, Waterford, Limerick, Cork: had an experience of Halloween or college organised so-called 'Christmas day' parties in all 4 and saw fights, rocks pelted, windows broken, taunting shouting, and other such incidents.
    9. Limerick: man roaring at the top of his voice on Davis street at 1 in the morning.
    10. Cork/Limerick bus: man and woman arguing with the man shouting and threatening to hit her before and after they get on the bus. They sit away from each other on the bus.

I have been to many other cities in the world (some lovely, some horrid) BUT I guess the scariest scenes are these 10. Shouting and roaring on city streets after pub and club closing times is rife here and not anywhere else. I always avoid being out and about at pub or club closing times in Irish cities due to incidents 4,5, 6, 7, 8 and 9 above.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 316 ✭✭Two Sheds

Barcelona - I can't quite put my finger on why I disliked the place but I did.
    Did you check your wallet? If you can't afford to lose it - leave it at home.

City of Thieves.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,378 ✭✭✭Straight Talker

Unfortunately, I have often come across the type of incidents you describe in ALL Irish cities at some stage. Rocks fired on buses from the street or from an overlying highly (a la the Toecutter's gang did to Jim Goose in the first Mad Max) outside of cities. This is not peculiar to Limerick I can assure you of this. The worst incidents I saw in Irish cities in no particular order happening between 2007 to 2015 approx:

1. Outside Dublin: rocks and metal hurled onto buses and cars from an overlying highway/bridge similar to that scene from Mad Max.
    2. Cork bus station: a prolonged violent fight between a homeless wino type and a non-national.
    3. Limerick bus station: prolonged argument where people laid down in front of buses because of some dispute over being allowed on a bus. Result was buses delayed for an hour.
    4. Dublin: Violent fight inside and outside a pub in Templebar.
    5. Cork (near UCC): 20 or so youths smashing bottles on the ground and firing them into the air. One was shouting I am ....ing twisted over and over. I turned back the other way!
    6. Waterford: man beating a woman as they walked along a street near an estate.
    7. Dublin: man drunk out of his mind and going to the toilet on a street and cursing.
    8. Dublin, Waterford, Limerick, Cork: had an experience of Halloween or college organised so-called 'Christmas day' parties in all 4 and saw fights, rocks pelted, windows broken, taunting shouting, and other such incidents.
    9. Limerick: man roaring at the top of his voice on Davis street at 1 in the morning.
    10. Cork/Limerick bus: man and woman arguing with the man shouting and threatening to hit her before and after they get on the bus. They sit away from each other on the bus.

I have been to many other cities in the world (some lovely, some horrid) BUT I guess the scariest scenes are these 10. Shouting and roaring on city streets after pub and club closing times is rife here and not anywhere else. I always avoid being out and about at pub or club closing times in Irish cities due to incidents 4,5, 6, 7, 8 and 9 above.

I don't hate Limerick.There are aspects of the city i really like such as the riverfront milk market and georgian architecture but the incidents that i described i have only encountered in Limerick.Cork and Dublin have their thug elements as well but for me Limerick stands out with regards to the quite high amounts of feral anti social youth's loitering around the city centre during daylight hours in comparison to other Irish cities.A few extra garda foot patrols around the city's main shopping areas would sort it out no bother.

Cork 1990 All Ireland Senior Hurling and Football Champions

• Registered Users, Subscribers, Registered Users 2 Posts: 47,376 ✭✭✭✭Zaph

Two Sheds wrote: »
    Did you check your wallet? If you can't afford to lose it - leave it at home.

City of Thieves.

You could argue that all large cities, especially ones that attract a lot of tourists, are prone to pickpockets. I've been to Barcelona several times and never had an ounce of trouble. It's just a case of being sensible, in the same way I'd be sensible about my wallet walking down O'Connell Street.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,379 ✭✭✭BuilderPlumber

I don't hate Limerick.There aspects of the city i really like such as the riverfront and georgian architecture but the incidents that i described i have only encountered in Limerick.Cork and Dublin have their thug elements as well but for me Limerick stands out with regards to the quite high amounts of feral anti social youth's loitering around the city centre in comparison to other Irish cities.A few extra garda foot patrols around the city's main shopping areas would sort it out no bother.

Exactly ... this is the problem. The bus station incidents Cork and Limerick (the fight and the blocking of the bus from starting) went on for a long time because no gardai could come for 30 minutes or so. A tougher policy on feral anti-social youths and post-nightclub thuggery and loudness needs to be adopted. I notice the increasing amount of lowlives hanging around bus stations too.

Any undesirables should be taken off the city centre streets and bus and train station areas. I have seen these major and countless minor unpleasantries (ranging from violence at the higher end to persistent in your face begging at the lower end) at places inclusive of but not limited to Heuston station, Cork bus station and Limerick bus/rail station way too many times.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,243 ✭✭✭✭Jesus Wept

can't wait for my impending trip to prague now :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,900 ✭✭✭✭bear1

Bratislava - just pure boring
    Lodz - never seen a more depressing city
    Riga - young guys seem to want to fight everyone
    Vilnius - ill say nothing more
    Charleroi - lived there for 6 months. In those 6 months I had the apartment broken into and left me with absolutely nothing, gang fights, we were followed a few times which I suppose led to the robbery, drugged up hookers everywhere during the day, ignorant people and just sweet f all to do.
    I cried the day I was able to permanently land in Dublin.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 23,266 Mod ✭✭✭✭godtabh

Budapest: the rudest people I've ever come across. Shops, restaurants, bars, spas, they hate you and don't care about letting you know.

San Francisco: Nice to look at but Jaysus the beggars.

Was in Budapest seeing friends who lived there. The people really hate foreigners.

Was in San Francisco two most recently two weeks ago. I wouldnt say there are lots of beggars just lots of homeless people. The beggars here would give them a run for their money

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,960 ✭✭✭munchkin_utd

godtabh wrote: »
    Was in Budapest seeing friends who lived there. The people really hate foreigners.
    <snip>
    was in a pub in Budapest and they didnt want to see us. Too late, closed etc etc etc.

Somehow managed to mention that we were Irish (which in their minds means we are not English/ american) and suddenly they told us to sit down the back and have a complentary beer as compensation for the confusion.
    Left a couple of hours later and had no issues.

Sure same in Madrid. Pub was "closed", but when they copped we were irish they made an "exception". They also werent enforcing the smoking ban, but at least there was beer!

As for Barcelona, it simply isn't safe and you do have to watch your stuff like a hawk.
    I will definitely go back to have a proper snoop, but the 2 times Ive been there already (briefly), at least one robbery happened our group and I have a friend who was robbed at knifepoint with her boyfriend which was a scary story in itsself.

The likes of prague has problems with pickpockets, but Barcelona is another level.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,641 ✭✭✭✭ben.schlomo

was in a pub in Budapest and they didnt want to see us. Too late, closed etc etc etc.

Somehow managed to mention that we were Irish (which in their minds means we are not English/ american) and suddenly they told us to sit down the back and have a complentary beer as compensation for the confusion.
    Left a couple of hours later and had no issues.

Sure same in Madrid. Pub was "closed", but when they copped we were irish they made an "exception". They also werent enforcing the smoking ban, but at least there was beer!

As for Barcelona, it simply isn't safe and you do have to watch your stuff like a hawk.
    I will definitely go back to have a proper snoop, but the 2 times Ive been there already (briefly), at least one robbery happened our group and I have a friend who was robbed at knifepoint with her boyfriend which was a scary story in itsself.

The likes of prague has problems with pickpockets, but Barcelona is another level.
    To you maybe, ive been twice and never had any kind of issue, great city and would go back in a flash.

indeed.
    We thought there was no issue till someone broke into a supposedly secure room, and a supposedly secure locker and robbed a lads wallet with all money and cards.

next visit there was a group of us in a bar and almost always at least one in the corner we had claimed for ourselves. Obviously it was left for a minute as then 4 or 5 mobiles were suddenly missing.

And thats Barcelona. You have to be on watch and take every precaution to avoid getting robbed, and even then some fecker with a big knife can just rob you anyhow (which as I said happened to another friend on a romantic weekend, first night of it too meaning the spin was ruined)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,251 ✭✭✭Daith

Zaph wrote: »
    You could argue that all large cities, especially ones that attract a lot of tourists, are prone to pickpockets. I've been to Barcelona several times and never had an ounce of trouble. It's just a case of being sensible, in the same way I'd be sensible about my wallet walking down O'Connell Street.

Ah..I like Barcelona but I feel I'm always on edge and wary. I wouldn't think twice about my wallet walking down O'Connell St but I probably wouldn't bring a wallet out in Barcelona.

I was in Berlin last week and I never felt uncomfortable or wary. It was just a relaxing holiday.

I'd return to Barcelona though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,236 ✭✭✭✭AndyBoBandy

bear1 wrote: »

What was the issue in Vilnius? I lived there for 16 months (was assigned there with my job, to build a power station), and had the time of my life, brilliant city, great bar/club culture, cheap as chips, stunningly beautiful women, all very friendly people.

in 16 months I/we never saw 1 fight, or had hassle from anyone, ever.

maybe you just had a bad experience? were you there for a stag?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,783 ✭✭✭✭murpho999

Been to Barcelona several times, in various parts of the city at day and night and never had an issue.

I do wonder how these victims of crime look as they wander around the city? Probably with big camera around the neck and obvious iPhone and wallet in a pair of shorts that just calls steal me.

Remember, you stand out like sort thumb as a tourist and the pickpockets target easy pickings.

Take the sensible precautions as you would at home then the risk of something happens greatly diminishes the chance of anything happening to you.

Also to label a city 'unsafe' because of one or two incidents is wrong as well. Do you think that tourists don't get robbed in Ireland?

Doha - spent 8 weeks there in 2008. dirty horrible kip full of dirty horrible people.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,251 ✭✭✭Daith

murpho999 wrote: »
    I do wonder how these victims of crime look as they wander around the city? Probably with big camera around the neck and obvious iPhone and wallet in a pair of shorts that just calls steal me.

No, just white and freckles :P

Look I've traveled around South America. I understand about taking precautions and not sticking out but when someone has a knife to you they've a knife to you!

I certainly wouldn't put Dublin on par with Barcelona though but you could be rights and pickpockets etc could be on par.

What was the issue in Vilnius? I lived there for 16 months (was assigned there with my job, to build a power station), and had the time of my life, brilliant city, great bar/club culture, cheap as chips, stunningly beautiful women, all very friendly people.

in 16 months I/we never saw 1 fight, or had hassle from anyone, ever.

maybe you just had a bad experience? were you there for a stag?

No stag night, just a visit for a weekend. I went in the winter so maybe that had something to do with it.
    Found it very dirty, people were quite rude, most bars recommended online had shut down and clubs weren't easy to get into.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,798 ✭✭✭snotboogie

Bratislava - just pure boring
    Lodz - never seen a more depressing city
    Riga - young guys seem to want to fight everyone
    Charleroi - lived there for 6 months. In those 6 months I had the apartment broken into and left me with absolutely nothing, gang fights, we were followed a few times which I suppose led to the robbery, drugged up hookers everywhere during the day, ignorant people and just sweet f all to do.
    I cried the day I was able to permanently land in Dublin.

Every cloud....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,798 ✭✭✭snotboogie

murpho999 wrote: »
    Been to Barcelona several times, in various parts of the city at day and night and never had an issue.

I do wonder how these victims of rape look as they wander around the city? Probably with big breasts on show in low cut tops and obvious legs and ass in a pair of shorts that just calls rape me.

Remember, you stand out like sort thumb as a tourist and the rapists target easy pickings.

Take the sensible precautions as you would at home then the risk of something happens greatly diminishes the chance of anything happening to you.

Don't teach me how to behave, teach them not to steal

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,938 ✭✭✭galljga1

Never going back to Gotham.
    It's full of mad scientists, warring crime mobs, clowns and generally strange super villains.

No stag night, just a visit for a weekend. I went in the winter so maybe that had something to do with it.
    Found it very dirty, people were quite rude, most bars recommended online had shut down and clubs weren't easy to get into.

fair enough,
    my 16 months spanned 2 winters, and although quite cold (-20 average), we still had a great time.
    we were a mixed group, Spaniards, French & Irish, and never had any issue getting in anywhere, though in fairness, when we did go to the clubs we were spending big (average by Irish standards).
    in terms of the rudeness you encountered, we never felt anything like that, in 16 months, we never had 1 situation where we felt we were rudely treated!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,300 ✭✭✭✭razorblunt

snotboogie wrote: »
    Every cloud....

It gets worse, they permanently landed in Dublin!

Another vote for Budapest here, spent a long weekend there, just hated it.

Paris for me too, nothing overly wrong I spent a year working there and I'm just sick of the place. Have to say the Parisiens get a bad rep but I found them, in the majority great to deal with. Horrible attitude to work though or maybe the better attitude, who knows.

I was pick pocketed there too, but it was my fault, got complacent at an ATM and subsequent metro ride.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,095 ✭✭✭MonkeyTennis

Zagreb.. ugh

sorry but crime IS a major problem in Barcelona
    petty crime has become not only Barcelona’s primary nuisance but a threat to its tourism industry.
    In 2009, thievery (in Barcelona) had become such a problem that TripAdvisor dubbed Barcelona the world’s biggest haven for pickpockets.
    Most people here have their own pickpocket stories. Some were robbed without realizing it until later. A friend of mine, Shayne Pavlić, had a guy come up, pretend to be wasted and try to dance with him. After the thief stumbled off, Shayne realized his phone was gone. A few months later, another hurtadora tried the same trick. This time, Shayne tried to push the man away, but the thief tripped him and stole his phone anyway.
    http://www.newsweek.com/2015/03/06/hunting-barcelonas-notorious-street-thieves-309066.html

this class of cr@p does not happen in the vast majority of other cities in Europe.

snotboogie wrote: »
    Every cloud....

Every seen a Charleroi hooker? Nothing sexy about it :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,789 ✭✭✭PowerToWait

I'm away to Barcelona on Sunday morning.

If I'd not been before and had a blast I'd be v. apprehensive reading the posts on here.

I'll take the standard preventative measures I take in other large cities and I'll have a ball.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,205 ✭✭✭✭JohnCleary

Ah FFS, i've Budapest booked for October. Anyone i've spoken to (irl) has said it's a brilliant place.

What's the problem with it?