If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Irish state now will now accept a trans persons own declaration of their gender

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,759 ✭✭✭jobbridge4life

You could create a 3rd area a Transgender area for changing and all that. Would that not solve the problem ?

A literally 'other' transgender individuals in a physical way... I doubt it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,461 ✭✭✭✭darkpagandeath

A literally 'other' transgender individuals in a physical way... I doubt it.

But Transgender is acknowledged ? so where is the harm in using that word for a room for Transgender people to change in ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,192 ✭✭✭✭PopePalpatine

Muckracker wrote: »
    It's a mental illness. These people need help. They shouldn't have their delusions pandered to.

I'd say the same thing about bigots.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 316 ✭✭Two Sheds

The practicalities of gender change and of the associated paperwork may turn out to be complicated.
    Have health insurance and life companies been consulted? How many times can a person change his/her/his/her gender? Does a debt remain after a change if the original application specified a different gender?

And so on..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,944 ✭✭✭✭Links234

You could create a 3rd area a Transgender area for changing and all that. Would that not solve the problem ?
    Why not give us our own water fountains while you're at it?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 156 ✭✭Cuban Pete

But Transgender is acknowledged ? so where is the harm in using that word for a room for Transgender people to change in ?

Because "transgender" is not itself a gender. How would allowing transgender folk to change in the relevant changing room not be simpler?

Well obviously non-segregated changing rooms would be simpler again but I think we're a ways from that yet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,681 ✭✭✭✭P_1

Or you could be adult and realise that there is not a single iota of sexuality about using the jacks or getting changed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,274 ✭✭✭de5p0i1er

It's great to see that this country has moved on from the days were we were told our opinion by the church and are accepting people for who they are and not what some old fashioned set of rules written by people in ivory towers with no understanding of real world problems.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,895 ✭✭✭nokia69

de5p0i1er wrote: »
    It's great to see that this country has moved on from the days were we were told our opinion by the church and are accepting people for who they are and not what some old fashioned set of rules written by people in ivory towers with no understanding of real world problems.

today we are told what opinion to hold by another group in ivory towers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 316 ✭✭Two Sheds

de5p0i1er wrote: »
    'Bread and circuses'! Your govt. will give you such distractions while it connives to invent ways of nailing you to lifelong servitude or poverty.

Links234 wrote: »

P_1 wrote: »
    Or you could be adult and realise that there is not a single iota of sexuality about using the jacks or getting changed.

Name calling classy, Transgender people have no effect on my life I would not care one bit if they changed in an area I was in. Neither would I worry about a gay man beside me in a shower.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41,232 ✭✭✭✭Annasopra

Name calling classy, Transgender people have no effect on my life I would not care one bit if they changed in an area I was in. Neither would I worry about a gay man beside me in a shower.

You would swear the way some people go on that all lgbt people are sex crazed attackers waiting to pounce in changing rooms

It was so much easier to blame it on Them. It was bleakly depressing to think that They were Us. If it was Them, then nothing was anyone's fault. If it was us, what did that make Me? After all, I'm one of Us. I must be. I've certainly never thought of myself as one of Them. No one ever thinks of themselves as one of Them. We're always one of Us. It's Them that do the bad things.

Terry Pratchet

• Closed Accounts Posts: 667 ✭✭✭OneOfThem

With how prominent they've been in the news as of late, my brain auto corrected 'Irish state' to 'Islamic state' in the thread title.

Jaysus, that's a turn up for the books, I was thinking.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,430 ✭✭✭RWCNT

Name calling classy

What name calling though?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 667 ✭✭✭OneOfThem

Should just have unisex toilets and changing rooms in this day and age I reckon. Time people grew up.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,515 ✭✭✭zeffabelli

You would swear the way some people go on that all lgbt people are sex crazed attackers waiting to pounce in changing rooms

Not really and that's a bit histrionic.

My boy is hitting an age where he is too old to go into the ladies but too young to go into the gents by himself. Or relevant changing rooms.

It's not that the women would view a nine year old boy as a sex crazed attacker, but he just doesn't belong there. He should not be exposed to naked women and their daughters changing and they don't feel comfortable with males there once they hit a certain self conscious age.

It has nothing to do with sexual predation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,173 ✭✭✭✭seamus

No, because then you'd have men and women changing in the same area anyway.

The solution is to get rid of gender segregation completely. Take existing changing rooms, make one the "changing room" that's open and full of lockers as they are right now, and the other is the "changing cubicles", where you can go take up a private cubicle so your sensitivities aren't hurt and you don't accidentally see someone else naked. And anyone can choose to use either.

When the queues start forming for the cubicles, people will just start using the changing room.

seamus wrote: »

The solution is to get rid of gender segregation completely. Take existing changing rooms, make one the "changing room" that's open and full of lockers as they are right now, and the other is the "changing cubicles", where you can go take up a private cubicle so your sensitivities aren't hurt and you don't accidentally see someone else naked. And anyone can choose to use either.

When the queues start forming for the cubicles, people will just start using the changing room.

This would be offensive to the Muslim community. And to many other parts of the community.

We already have gender segregation in school and in many girls still can't wear trousers, in ours the boys are made play gaa and the girls are forbidden to.

Your vision is disconnected from the realities of life in this country and all to accommodate a teeny weeny portion of the population.

Do you really think people are ready for that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41,139 ✭✭✭✭ohnonotgmail

zeffabelli wrote: »
    This would be offensive to the Muslim community. And to many other parts of the community.

We already have gender segregation in school and in many girls still can't wear trousers, in ours the boys are made play gaa and the girls are forbidden to.

Your vision is disconnected from the realities of life in this country and all to accommodate a teeny weeny portion of the population.

whereabouts in the 1970's do you live?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,173 ✭✭✭✭seamus

This would be offensive to the Muslim community.
    Tough sh*t. Religion is a choice. Gender and sexuality are not.

We're (well supposed to be anyway) a secular republic. In a secular republic all citizens are equal regardless of their gender and superstitious sensibilities should not be pandered to

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,162 ✭✭✭strelok

eh, no. in a secular republic the government shouldn't have any official religion or any religious tests to hold office or serve

secular republic does not cover swimming pools catering to muslim clientelle

Tough sh*t. Religion is a choice. Gender and sexuality are not.

Wow such tolerance.

We're (well supposed to be anyway) a secular republic. In a secular republic all citizens are equal regardless of their gender and superstitious sensibilities should not be pandered to

This is not a secular republic. Stop kidding yourself.

What gets me about these threads is the tolerance is all one direction.

This is not a secular republic. Stop kidding yourself.

What gets me about these threads is the tolerance is all one direction.

I don't tolerate boy bands music :pac:

Wow such tolerance.

How does the shoe fit? We've had to put up with it long enough although unlike yourselves we're happy just being left alone and would rather not force our way of life on you.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 75 ✭✭Muckracker

Links234 wrote: »

Not a bad idea.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,162 ✭✭✭strelok

How does the shoe fit? We've had to put up with it long enough although unlike yourselves we're happy just being left alone and would rather not force our way of life on you.

http://sandiegofreepress.org/wp-content/uploads/2013/02/red-star-hammer-sickle.jpg