Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

DCM 2015: Mentored Novices Thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 111 ✭✭Emsy 1

Thanks for the great advice clearier and dubgal. I can't wait to do a run without the garmin I find I'm constantly checking it or thinking about checking it especially on my lsr. So much so I get a pain in my shoulder. Will be leaving it home tomorrow.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 232 ✭✭PJD

Phoebas wrote: »
    I've been thinking about doing some of my short runs as a run-commute, but I'd need to carry some stuff with me.

Anyone got any recommendations for a backpack that wouldn't be too annoying to run with?

Phoebas. I run commute regularly- train in and run home. First things first. Tavel light. Leave as much kit in work as possible. Even pick it up the following day. Don't start carrying files home etc! I have a couple of backpacks and I hate to say this but you pay for what you get. I know we are all being financially sensible but I would recommend a branded product. I have a Deuter speedlite which is really comfy for about 20 mins then the padded shoulders annoy me. I am currently using a brand called inov-8. Very light and I use dry bags inside if the weather looks wet. Mine is a racepac 16 which means 16 litres. You shouldn't need it to be any bigger. In fact that could be too big as I tend to carry too much! I absolutely love it! Check out the brand on wiggle or sports shoes websites. Nice thin straps that flex and don't dig in. It also compresses and contours to your body. I would buy the same again although OMM kit also gets good reviews. Let us know how the run commute goes. Great way to get the exercise done and dusted.

Actually if they are just short runs a cheap bag would suffice.... Dry bags inside are great for keeping kit wallet and phones etc dry.... Or a plastic bag if you are just trying the idea out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 329 ✭✭donglen

Dubgal72 wrote: »
    No idea, I'll ask himself later :). It was a detective one, it was going really well until the usual 'asking you to suspend your disbelief went too far'. Left hanging at the end but not enough to make me rush straight to ep2. Watch this space :)

Deadly - on the headphones free, not on the niggle :( If you don't mind me saying, I think we are generally far more body aware without headphones so you could have picked up on that niggle earlier than Monday without headphones.
    I know this is hard for you guys, but you will be better runners in the long run if you practice running 'free' now.
    Let us know how you get on in physio won't you?

Good news from the Physio, just very tight hamstring/glute. He gave it a fierce going over so has hopefully flushed out the sore spots.
    He's advised not to run on it for a few days to give it time to settle. So assuming all is well, I'll do 4 miles on Thursday. Should I still proceed to the planned 9 mile LSR on Saturday (HHN1). Or should I just do another 4/5 miler?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,522 ✭✭✭neilthefunkeone

So an over indulgent weekend due to a wedding down he country and a birthday saw me doing no LSR.. So tonight I made up for the missed 13 miles.

Wasnt sure about heading out after a 10 hour day in work but managed it nicely..

Any suggestions how to take the week with the Fingal 10k this weekend? As per plan?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,272 ✭✭✭Dubgal72

smiley70 wrote: »
    hi hope i am not too late joining in. I have been following thread since beginning and also last year. I ran DCM last year but to be honest i felt i was a bit out of my depth so this year i really want to give it a good shot . It was fantastic the crowd and atmosphere amazing. I have been jogging/running for past four years started off training for 5k and took it from there. I can run without walk breaks. I run four days a week and cross train one day a week. Presently i am following hal higdon novice 2 for marathon training and all good so far.

5k 24min
    10k 55min
    10mile 1hr 35min Ballycotton 10 2014
    Half 2.10 have completed 5 over last 3 years.
    DCM 2014 5hrs 11min.

Loved the first 15miles of marathon last year but then just kind of faded and tried to keep with 4.40 pacers but lost them and then around 19miles lost the 5hour pacers but i had no real expectations and my god the feeling crossing that line is the best ever . The second i finished i remember thinking i am def doing this again next year ! So bring it on. I would love to finish under 5 hours this year that is my goal . So thats it look forward to next couple of months and safe training everyone.

Hi smiley70 and welcome (back!). Last year was a toughie alright, I remember the sufferfest creeping in along mile 15 too. If you've kept up your aerobic and endurance base reasonably since last year, you'll find yourself much better placed this year. You'll have just finished a step back week on HHn2 and be looking forward to an 11 mile lsr this weekend or are you planning to race?
    Great to have you onboard and don't be afraid to chip in with all you learned from last year :)

TheBazman wrote: »
    Cheers for that. Apologies I don't contribute a huge amount to the thread but only have phone access for most of the day. Your comments make perfect sense and it's something I really need to work on....LSR pacing. In terms of the number of runs, I generally do 4 per week but some weeks I can't fit them in as I've been doing physio and core sessions as well as a couple of triathlons. Anyway appreciate the feedback. Onwards and upwards.

Hi bazman, I wasn't giving out to you what I should have said was that it was good to hear from you again :) A couple of triathlons :eek: will certainly keep you tipping along :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 438 ✭✭Omeceron

Week 4 started with a 3.11 ish easy miles.

No headphones (no longer miss them), first time purposely leaving the garmin at home. I felt naked.

Bit better. Does not hurt to point or scrunch them any more which was one of the triggers. Was pointing them in bed before getting up this morning :) and I thought they might be miraculously cured & I could get the LSR in today.
    But there is still a bit of soreness walking around, so last week's LSR is gone for good. I'll pick up this week's training tomorrow or after.
    Ah good and don't worry about the lsr, you know there's no rush, you've got all those miles under your belt already :)*

*even contemplating out loud a mile and 10k race on consecutive days are things you need to worry about :p:D
    Long run completed this weekend.
    Just over 2 hours in constant rain but at least not too hot for July!
    Am getting by with just carrying a bottle of water.
    Route was easier for second half but probably set off at too fast a pace initially as can be seen by gradual decline in pace

1 10:13.4
    2 10:29.9
    3 10:39.5
    4 10:41.7
    5 10:46.7
    6 10:45.6
    7 11:37.0
    8 11:54.0
    9 11:47.5
    10 11:52.1
    11 10:16.7
    Well done :) Yes, I think Clearlier's advice re starting off at the slower end of your range and working your way down is appropriate here ;) I find starting off to fast before I warm up properly always comes back to bite me more than starting off conservatively and working my way in to a faster pace if that makes sense?!
    Aye aye Cap'n. I just have one...concern. I have lately been finding that I'm running faster than I should and feeling good at the faster pace. So if I run without the Garmin, I'm just saying I might end up running it faster than I'm supposed to. Is that ok?!
    Arrrr me hearty :D I am officially giving you a free pass to run once a week completely by feel and GARMIN be damned :D So yes, ok. I think you will benefit hugely from tuning in to your body and trusting your analysis of your 'internal data'. For the first couple of weeks, leave it at home completely on this single run. After a couple of weeks you could try wearing it but only looking at it when you get home and compare your 'internal data' feedback with what the garmin 'tells' you. Enjoy the freeeedoooooom (said in a Mel Gibson/William Wallace roar :) )
    Emsy 1 wrote: »
    Thanks for the great advice clearier and dubgal. I can't wait to do a run without the garmin I find I'm constantly checking it or thinking about checking it especially on my lsr. So much so I get a pain in my shoulder. Will be leaving it home tomorrow.
    Prime candidate for GARMIN manumission :D Enjoy ;)
    donglen wrote: »
    Good news from the Physio, just very tight hamstring/glute. He gave it a fierce going over so has hopefully flushed out the sore spots.
    He's advised not to run on it for a few days to give it time to settle. So assuming all is well, I'll do 4 miles on Thursday. Should I still proceed to the planned 9 mile LSR on Saturday (HHN1). Or should I just do another 4/5 miler?
    Ah good and ouch :D
    Listen to your body on Thursday. If it's ok, you could do an easy three on Friday and the lsr on Saturday or Sunday if that fits?

denis b wrote: »
    I hope I haven't missed this specific question - The Fingal 10km is on this Sunday. What is the best advice with regard to training this week?
    So an over indulgent weekend due to a wedding down he country and a birthday saw me doing no LSR.. So tonight I made up for the missed 13 miles.

Wasnt sure about heading out after a 10 hour day in work but managed it nicely..

Any suggestions how to take the week with the Fingal 10k this weekend? As per plan?

Sorry guys, I knew there was something missing on the manic mega post from this morning :o

Yes, for those of you racing in the Fingal 10k (or any other race) you can do a few things (pick one ;) ):

- reduce the intensity of this week from Wednesday on (ie do the pace run at a lower intensity if on the boards plan and the easy run -> recovery pace)
    - reduce the volume of training, ie pare back a mile here or there from Wednesday on
    - carry on as normal if you feel you are generally healthy this week and your recovery rate has been good

Most of all sleep well this week ;)

Hope that helps. If I've missed anything, jump in or ask away :)

Omeceron wrote: »
    Week 4 started with a 3.11 ish easy miles.

No headphones (no longer miss them), first time purposely leaving the garmin at home. I felt naked.

Hehe you haven't seen what's coming next week ;).... Joking. Well done, I am one happy mentor :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 438 ✭✭Omeceron

Dubgal72 wrote: »
    Hehe you haven't seen what's coming next week ;).... Joking. Well done, I am one happy mentor :D

Can't wait!

Ive run in no signal areas or lost charge on runs before so wasn't a total shock to the system. I am a total slave to it though so probably no harm leaving it behind once a week.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,371 ✭✭✭Phoebas

PJD wrote: »
    Actually if they are just short runs a cheap bag would suffice.... Dry bags inside are great for keeping kit wallet and phones etc dry.... Or a plastic bag if you are just trying the idea out.

Too late! As soon as I'd posted looking for recommendations, getting a backpack became the most important thing in my life :o, so I ordered a Deuter that Laura recommended.

I have to get my money's worth now - anyone ever use one of these with a bladder on a long run?

Too late! As soon as I'd posted looking for recommendations, getting a backpack became the most important thing in my life :o, so I ordered a Deuter that Laura recommended.

I have to get my money's worth now - anyone ever use one of these with a bladder on a long run?

you will not go wrong with deuter. One of the best brands around... I have a full size deuter for hill walking and the small speedlite i referenced earlier. They are extremely well made. Now - bladders / camelbacks etc. I love them for walking and mountain biking but not running. They tend to have a large capacity which is great for a day in the hills but will be pretty heavy when full. If you want one buy a smallish one to take weight into account. But for your run commute a small bottle will do tucked into the mesh pocket of the rucksack - unless its super hot or a long run you won't need it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,182 ✭✭✭RonanP77

I know the plan only kicked off a few weeks ago but most of us had stepped up the mileage quite a bit in the weeks or months before that. I was just wondering if anyone else had noticed a change in their physical appearance?

My body shape has changed completely in the last few months, I'm starting to look like I did in my early 20s. The moobs have turned back into pecs (I'm learning to make them dance :-) ) , the abs have put in an appearance (still a good bit away from a 6 pack yet) my legs are getting bigger and my thighs especially are starting to stand out.

I'm putting it down to the increase in miles but also to starting strength and core work.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,413 ✭✭✭Toulouse

I was already doing a lot of strength and core work so no, haven't noticed any difference apart from a couple of new muscles in my lower legs which I hadn't noticed before.

Great that you're seeing the benefit so soon, it's great motivation to keep going.

Having just watched the McGregor fight I'm resisting the urge to sign up for kick-boxing until after the marathon ;p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 112 ✭✭oirishfruitie

Hey,
    So I'm following the thread. Anything else I need to do to 'sign up'.
    I have a lot of reading to do!
    Oirishfruitie

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,182 ✭✭✭RonanP77

Toulouse wrote:
    Having just watched the McGregor fight I'm resisting the urge to sign up for kick-boxing until after the marathon ;p

Keep resisting, I used to do boxing and kick-boxing years ago and it takes a lot of energy, you'd end up drained when it came to running.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,413 ✭✭✭Toulouse

Yeah, I know someone who does it and that's the only reason I'm delaying until after the marathon. I've seen the effort it takes.

I've spoken to my CF coach and we're going to come up with a running specific strengthening programme for me. I'm happy and also relieved. I didn't like the thoughts of just not going to crossfit at all for the next 4 months :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15 The Slow One

Caught a bug (other than the marathon bug) last Saturday week and was laid up for most of the week. Went out last Thursday and did 4 miles easy but my legs felt like jelly. Tried the lsr on Saturday but had to stop just after 9 miles as the stomach was feeling queasy again. Went out last night and 4 miles easy felt exactly that, much better. Wore the garmin but didn't look at it until near then end to check I was near 4 miles and was just 2 seconds per mile quicker than it should have been. Might go without it tonight.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,305 ✭✭✭slingerz

from reading this thread i think i want to give this a go in 2016

can barely manage 5k at present but i've over a year to change that!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,371 ✭✭✭Phoebas

Hey,
    So I'm following the thread. Anything else I need to do to 'sign up'.
    I have a lot of reading to do!
    Oirishfruitie

You just need to fill in the questionnaire in the OP and someone will add you to the spreadsheet.

So, if you’re on board for DCM this year or just thinking about it still, please jump in and answer the following so we can get an idea of where you are with your training currently and get the chatting underway:
      What is your athletics background? Have you run before? What other sports have you taken part in and at what level?
      Have you raced before? If so what are your PBs? (Date and distance please!)
      Do you still need to take walk breaks in your training ? (No problem if you do)
      How much training do you currently do incl cross training? Distances, cross training - whatever you think is relevant to your current fitness level.
      How many days a week do you run only?
      What do you want to achieve? Dream finishing time and realistic finishing time? Or just complete it in no specified time?
      What marathon programme are you following/intending to use?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,630 ✭✭✭frash

Rant: lunchtime meetings

There goes my planned 4 miles for today

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,508 ✭✭✭ratracer

So after the step back week last week, I was feeling particularly freshj yesterday and decided to do a pacy 5km:

Km 1 - 5.32
    Km 2 - 4.46
    KM 3 - 4.26
    Km 4 - 4.38
    Km 5 - 4.25

Total - 23 mins 56 secs!

This is as fast as I have ran a 5k for a while, but it wasn't that tough. That's it with speed for this week though, back to 6.20/km pace for the easy runs and 6.40/km for the 14k LSR.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,585 ✭✭✭nop98

You just need to fill in the questionnaire in the OP and someone will add you to the spreadsheet.

oirishfruitie: It looks like you were added to the spreadsheet but you were getting someone else's miles added to your total :) So I moved you to a separate line. You've done a 13-miler last weekend, right? If not, you can now add/correct your miles on your lines in Wk 4 and Wk 5.

And yes, do answer Dubgal's questions! :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,585 ✭✭✭nop98

@whoopsadaisydoodles: it doesn't really seem you're miles/kms are adding up correctly, either. So I fixed that too, let me know if it looks alright.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,324 ✭✭✭chrislad

Ugh, that wasn't a pleasant 3 miles. Left leg felt very tight, and I did 22 miles cycling between Monday and today, which had me a bit fatigued, as I'm not used to it. I did run without my watch, as such (had it in my pocket, as I still wanted to track the run!) - heart rate stayed steady, but pace a bit erratic due to the tight leg, but stayed at an average of 11:24 which I was aiming for.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,119 ✭✭✭Mrs Mc

Well made a bit of a mess of that tonight had interval training 5*400 metres with 120 seconds recovery. Have never used the lap button on my garmin before so wore two watches just in case ! I'm such a professional. I've Never done interval training before either so was interested how this would go. Headed for St Annes park avenue where my running mentor at home had told me the distance between the two benches on the ave was 400 metres but apparently I wasnt listening (we will agree to disagree !!) it's every 4 benches is 400 metres !!! So my interval training only worked out at 5*200 metres. Thought I had done something wrong alright as my time was too fast so I was getting all confused about my pace. So just ran fast every two benches !!!Ah well lesson learned .... Husband is always right !!! Well some of the time. Am totally stressing that I haven't completed my required miles today ... I nearly went back out again !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,776 ✭✭✭This Fat Girl Runs

I find myself getting a little paranoid in the course of my day to day life, like on my walk to work for example. It's like everything is a threat to my legs...the stairs, a wobbly cobblestone, an uneven footpath...It would be just my luck to trip and hurt myself! I never felt this way before I started training for the marathon! Anyone else feel this way or is it just me?! :P