Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

BQ or Bust!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,297 ✭✭✭SamforMayo

Tough day. Onwards and upwards!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,447 ✭✭✭FBOT01

tang1 wrote: »
    Good workout if nothing else D, something in the Northside water this morning obviously.

Maybe we better reconsider paying our water charges, Gents :)
    SamforMayo wrote: »
    Tough day. Onwards and upwards!

+1 to that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,796 ✭✭✭✭Murph_D

Sun 28 Jun

Recovery 40 mins.

Found ourselves in Deep South County Dublin this morning which was an opportunity for a couple of circuits of Kilbogget Park, including a lap of the National Beer Mile Stadium, where it was nice to follow in the footsteps of legends and soak up the historic, if Moosehead-sodden, atmosphere.

30-Day challenge (Day 17). This week’s stretches are definitely getting old.

Reflecting more on yesterday’s disappointing race, I discovered that the VDOT was actually exactly the same (44.6) as the two last half marathons (1:41:00 on the nose), performances I was happy enough with at the time, and quite recent too. So not that bad. But then I noticed that I ran the last mile of the Cork Marathon faster than the last mile of yesterday’s effort, which is certainly not what it says in the manual (unless it’s a marathon manual).

Then again, maybe I need to get out more.

WTD: 24 mi (39 km)
    MTD: 109 (175)
    YTD: 903 (1,469)

Mon 29 Jun

Day 1 of the Pfitzinger & Latter HM plan.

Rest. I love a plan that starts with a rest day. Gave the 30 day challenge a miss too.

Tue 30 Jun

General Aerobic 10k @ 5:41 (6.2 mi @ 9:09) inc. 6x100 strides

So the first outing of the new plan, with a load of new terminology to get used to. These GA runs are supposed to be easy, from 70-81% of Max HR. Didn't bother with the HRM tonight, just took it nice and handy until the strides, which I did on the grass at the wooden bridge. Lost count and ended up doing an extra set. No harm done, I guess, although it occurred to me on the way back that I should still be in recovery mode. That's how forgettable Saturday's race really was.

30 Day Challenge (Day 18) before bed.

June mileage: 115 (185km)

Wed 1 Jul

Endurance 13k @ 5:25 (8.1 mi @ 8:43) Avg HR 160 (77%)

These runs are supposed to be done 25-33% slower than 10k pace, or in the range of 74-84% of Max HR. I reckon that translates for me to 5:22-5:57 per km (8:38-9:35/mile) at 156-169 bpm (my RHR is 60, max HR 190). Dug out the HRM and strapped it on. Was pleased to see that despite the muggy evening my HR seemed in control. Given that I averaged this run out at the faster end of the range I would have expected the HR to have averaged closer to 170 than the 160 I registered but I was keeping an eye on it throughout the run and it definitely seemed to be responding well to changes of pace etc. so I'm going to take it as reasonably accurate. Don't know a lot about HR running but I'm pleased to see a relatively low HR for this run, which felt tough enough in the heat. Two years ago I was registering much slower runs at similar HR.

Bad choice of route tonight. Decided to head across the river to Ballsbridge but had no idea there was an AC/DC gig on at Lansdowne and found myself surrounded by throngs of Dad rockers and Grandad rockers even more ancient than meself. Making quite the mess too. Beer cans and burger boxes all over the gaff. We wouldn't stand for it in D3 or around Croker I'll tell you. :pac:

Gave the 30 Day Challenge another miss as it's moving to a new phase and I don't know the stretches yet, and I couldn't be ar$ed. :rolleyes: Will complete it though, I promise. Just not in 30 (or even 35) days.

WTD: 14 mi (23 km)
    MTD: 8 (13)
    YTD: 917 (1,492)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,915 ✭✭✭✭menoscemo

Are you running the % HR's to HRR (heart rate reserve, i.e. Maximum minus Resting) or just a % HR Max?

The reason I am asking is if it's % Max HR then 74-84% is 140-159, not 156-169. Resting heart rate doesn't come into %MaxHR calculations.
    I have a similar Max HR to you and if I was running at 169 I'd be going at close to my Half Marathon pace; certainly not 25% slower than 10k pace. 160bpm is approximately marathon effort for me....

Ah yes, well spotted meno, thanks. I had calculated based on HRR, not MHR. :o

I'd calculated 74-84% of HRR instead of MHR. The correct HRR range is 65-78%, or 143-161 bpm. I still ran in this range, but at the top end, not the bottom.

That explains why it felt harder than it should have based on what I thought the HR data was telling me!

Mind you I probably should do a recalculation of my MHR/RHR as I've never measured them properly.

Thu 2 Jul

7.2k @ 6:06 (4.5 mi @ 9:49)

The plan has this as a rest/cross day but I decided to just do a little run at recovery pace. Struggled to keep this slow enough to stay under 150bpm, although I found out a few days later 155 is probably the number, based on a higher max HR than I had been working off.

Fri 3 Jul

Rest

Sat 4 Jul

Poppintree parkrun 5k @ 4:24 (3.1@7:05)

Wasn’t feeling 100 percent after a few scoops last night but decided to give parkrun a bit of a lash this morning. Headed up to Poppintree where I knew from previous experience I could reasonably expect to finish in the first 10. Hoped I might get sucked along to a PB (21:49 from last December).

Warmed up with a km around the park and straight away I could feel the heat and humidity. Lined up and we were off, and after the first 400m I was in about 16th position. A few lads were starting to flag already and I passed eight of them just keeping it steady, but by the end of the first lap I was already feeling pretty hosed. The timer called a split of 7:20 (which I think was for 1.1 miles, the first lap being slightly longer on this course). There were two guys about 20m ahead and another three just in front of them - I recognised one of them as the M60 gent I couldn’t catch the last time I was here, and he was going well again. It would be nice to catch his group and try to do a bit of drafting but I was struggling enough as it was and feared a blowup if I put on a spurt to reach them. Then again, maybe I should take more risks. :rolleyes: So once again I found myself running solo. At the end of lap two a runner ahead stepped off the course so I was now 7th, but falling behind. 14:40 was called out by the timer as the last lap commenced. A guy had fallen off the group ahead and I kept my eye on him all the way around the park. He was a good bit in front, maybe 40 or 50m but coming back slowly and I thought I might have a chance of taking him if I could keep it going. Felt like I was flagging badly myself but managed to pick it up a bit coming around the pond. No risk of being caught by anyone so nothing to lose as we hit the last 200 and my would-be victim was in my sights. Bust a gut trying and would have got him if the race director hadn’t tipped him off, and he put the skates on and just about held me off on the line. Official time 22:01.

Garmin splits (measured 3.0 mi so a good bit off) 7:07 7:24 7:26

Enjoyed that. Time was a bit disappointing but considering the heat I’ll take it, and besides I was trying to race by feel anyway. Looking at the data afterwards I seem to have underestimated my max HR, which climbed to 197 for the final spurt. Seems high and I know garmin HR isn’t the most reliable but as it wasn’t just a spike I guess I should use that as the number for now, or at least as long as I'm using the garmin HRM.

So a departure already from the plan. Swapped yesterday’s LT session (14min/4 min rec/12 min) so I could do today’s parkrun. Made up the mileage with a recovery run along the seafront and watched the end of the Clontarf HM. Some great pacing in tough hot and windy conditions by Killerz, meno, overpronator, yaboya, belcarra and the rest of the pacing team, fair play lads.

WTD: 27 mi (43 km)
    MTD: 20 (33)
    YTD: 930 (1,512)

At the Clontarf HM today I noticed, just like last year, and other years too I'm sure, that the leaders of the HM had to finish among the tail end of the 5 mile race, many of whom were walking, some in pairs on the relatively narrow seafront path.

I wasn't there when the leader finished but I hope he had a better experience than last year's winner, and indeed the runner up and the next few, who weren't noticed by the commentator amongst the throng. I can't fathom why the organiser can't start the 5 mile race say 20 mins earlier to avoid this problem. It really isn't good enough.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,759 ✭✭✭belcarra

5m mile race started 20 mins after hm so that would mean everyone starting together.
    Not sure what would actually work though.

Sun 5 Jul

Endurance 16.1k @ 5:31 (10 mi @ 8:52) Avg HR 155 (70% HRR)

Second run of this type this week, this time with the correct HR range. Kept mostly to the low end of the range, mindful of yesterday's exertions, although I picked it up to the top end of the HR range (166 bp) towards the end to see how that felt. Resumed 30 Day Challenge (Day 19). This week it's all about the resistance band.:rolleyes:

WTD: 37 mi (59 km)
    MTD: 30 (49)
    YTD: 940 (1,528)

Mon 6 Jul

Rest.

Tue 7 Jul

Schedule had 11k GA with hill sprints and strides but had to skip this due to early travelling to Galway for a conference, long day and no opportunity to get out really.

Wed 8 Jul

Easy 7k @ 5:42 (4.2 mi @ 9:10)

Tight for time again so put off today's scheduled 13k till tomorrow. Got out early for a few kms along the Corrib by NUIG. Very nice place to run although I wasn't feeling great on what felt like a very muggy morning. 30-Day Challenge (Day 20).

Thu 9 Jul

Endurance 13k @ 5:34 (8.1 mi @ 8:58)

Feeling much better today on this easy run from Glasnevin through Santry, Beaumont, Marino and Whitehall. Happy enough that I can match pace to HR range so didn't worry about forgetting the HRM today. Followed with 30-Day Challenge (Day 21).

The DCU Health and Human Performance Dept. was looking for some guinea pigs to undergo an ISAK Body Composition test so I signed up and had myself measured, marked, calipered, and pinched. Interesting process and in the end it confirmed what I've known all along: I'm a skinny fecker. :pac:

WTD: 12 mi (20 km)
    MTD: 43 (69)
    YTD: 952 (1,548)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,355 ✭✭✭Bungy Girl

Murph_D wrote: »
    I'm a skinny fecker. :pac:

Not as skinny as me apparently :rolleyes: :pac::pac::pac:

That 30 Day Challenge is going well. How's the 4 minute mile coming along ?

Bungy Girl wrote: »
    Not as skinny as me apparently :rolleyes: :pac::pac::pac:

That 30 Day Challenge is going well. How's the 4 minute mile coming along ?

Ha ha, indeed.

4 minute mile's a way off. I think doing the 30-Day Challenge might be more like rebuilding a golf swing. You have to get worse before you get better. And like Tiger Woods you might just stay worse. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,672 ✭✭✭ThebitterLemon

Ya bollix, never mind that you were in Galway and didn't text me for a run but you ran near the Dangan pitches where I've been doing most of my running lately.

Was it an anti social conference you were at :)

TbL

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,936 ✭✭✭annapr

Ya bollix, never mind that you were in Galway and didn't text me for a run but you ran near the Dangan pitches where I've been doing most of my running lately.

TbL

Hate to tell you, TbL, but not everyone wants a running date with you! :pac:

annapr wrote: »
    Hate to tell you, TbL, but not everyone wants a running date with you! :pac:

Check his old texts Anna, he was positively begging me :)

You feelin left out ;)

TbL

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,044 ✭✭✭chickey2

Somehow I've only just found this this thread and am delighted to see someone is using the same plan as me and at the same stage! I'm a good bit slower but still good to follow!
    I missed my 11km run on Tuesday too if that makes you feel any better 😀

TbL

I did consider trying to arrange a date but in the end I didn't want to lead you on as there was a very high chance of not getting out at all. Didn't realise that those were the famous "pitches at Dangan" I was running past (and around to loop back) although I did think the description of the gravel path on your log sounded familiar. Ah well, missed opportunity, next time.

Heh heh. My "play hard to get" strategy seems to be working.

Sat 11 Jul

9 mi (14.5 km) inc. LT 18 min (4 min rec) LT 12 min

Down for today was 8 miles incorporating two LT intervals of 18 mins and 12 mins with 4 mins jog recovery. Saw on the internet that the Irishtown track was reopening today so jogged over to check it out. Expected there’d be quite a few people about but the carpark was empty and the place was deserted. With the track to myself I launched into the session, which required HRR of 75-88% and an expected pace of 4:29-4:35 km (7:13-7:23/mi). As I’m still trying to evaluate and get a feel for HR I decided to let that dictate the pace and set up the watch to keep me between 162-180 bpm.

First time doing this kind of session (skipped last week’s in favour of a parkrun). Imagined it would be pretty tough and it was. Figured I’d get about 10 laps into the first 18 mins and just counted them down. Comfortable enough for five laps then the watch started to beep so I had to slow a little to keep below 180. Think I lost count of the laps as the jog recovery came sooner than I was expecting, not that I was complaining. Second interval felt harder. Again I was trying to keep in the HR range so had to deliberately ease off a couple of times. I assume this is the way to do this kind of session?

Pace was 4:28 /km (7:11 /mi) for rep 1 dropping to 4:39 (7:29) for rep 2. Equates to 4:32 (7:18) @ 176 bp (85% HRR) over the two LT reps.

I think I’m happy enough with that as the prescribed HRR delivered a pace smack in the middle of the expected range. HR was possibly a tad high for the pace but that’s probably OK on a warm afternoon and there was a headwind to deal with on part of the track too.

Jogged home so ended up doing an extra mile.

WTD: 21 mi (35 km)
    MTD: 52 (84)
    YTD: 961 (1,563)

Sun 12 Jul

Endurance 18 km @ 5:23 (11.2 mi @ 8:40) HRR 71% (?)

If I was going by the book I would have delayed this a day after yesterday's session but I figured I can live dangerously the odd time as long as it doesn't get out of hand. :) Enjoyable run along the Clontarf and Bayside coast. Not much to report. HRR figure probably a little low as the HRM didn't seem to give proper reading for the first few kms.

30-day challenge (Day 22). Losing count. Not feeling the love.

WTD: 33 mi (53 km)
    MTD: 63 (102)
    YTD: 972 (1,581)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,969 ✭✭✭aquinn

Sun 12 Jul

Enjoyable run along the Clontarf and Bayside coast. Not much to report.

You weren't out early then and missed my rescue from Dublin Bay? The upturned boat?

aquinn wrote: »
    You weren't out early then and missed my rescue from Dublin Bay? The upturned boat?

Wasn't out till about 3 but didn't notice anything. Glad you appear to have survived. Tell us more!

Am too exhausted and bruised. Solo sailing not all it's hyped up to be. Thought I'd lost the full rig but thankfully didn't. First time ever in Dublin bay. At least my legs are ok from Sat run.

Currently sucking up to old Skipper to try to get back onboard for Sat, after I ditched him thinking I'd be amazing on my own and could race this weekend. He's replaced me, which is probably a good thing with Fingal 10km on Sunday morning, but sailing on Sunday post Fingal.

Mon 13 Jul

8.4 km @ 5:52 (5.2 mi @ 9:27)

Been reading the legendary hadd training notes and decided to incorporate a bit of the testing into my easy run. Warmed up and then ran 3x2km reps @ HR of 140, 150 and 160 bpm respectively with 90 secs standing recovery. Didn't find it easy to hold the HR at any of those rates but more or less managed it, recording average paces of 5:50 (9:25), 5:25 (8:41) and 4:57 (7:57). To be honest with my high HR I was surprised to be moving at all at 140 so that was pretty interesting. Now to figure out what it means, if anything. :pac:

Followed with 30-day challenge (Day 23). For the first time I managed a full set of balancing exercises without falling over. Result!

WTD: 5 mi (8 km)
    MTD: 68 (110)
    YTD: 977 (1,589)

Tue 14 Jul

Club session 14 km (8.7 mi) inc. 12x400 (30s)

Big turnout at the club tonight with the track finally open again after a year in limbo. Joined the interval session for 12 x 400 off 30 sec recoveries. Have never done this session before and thought the first few reps were a bit slow but I was soon feeling it. Coped well enough though - a lot of people were flagging in the heat tonight.

1:35 1:36 1:29 1:34 1:35 1:40
    1:35 1:37 1:37 1:40 1:40 1:41

Was delighted to see aquinn taking the plunge and coming along to the club. By the end of the session she knew more people than I do after a year. :) Slow jog home for a total of about 14 kms.

WTD: 14 mi (22 km)
    MTD: 77 (124)
    YTD: 996 (1,603)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 701 ✭✭✭PaulieYifter

Ran the same session solo over here in London - guessed that would be the one. Those 30 second recoveries feel like 2 seconds by the end.

Nice work Murph.

A new member too - woohoo - :)

Ran the same session solo over here in London - guessed that would be the one. Those 30 second recoveries feel like 2 seconds by the end.

Nice work Murph.

A new member too - woohoo - :)

Yes, getting ready for our Spanish trip :D

Maybe you could sail us to Spain, Aquinn, there again after last weekend...

TbL

TbL

Not if I can't make the Wooden Bridge without 3 capsizes and one rescue. Back to looking at flights.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,009 ✭✭✭Firedance

TbL
    Not if I can't make the Wooden Bridge without 3 capsizes and one rescue. Back to looking at flights.

JHC I'm not getting in a boat with her!!! off you go TBL :eek: