Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Cork GAA Discussion Thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,276 ✭✭✭thinkstoomuch1

My assessment for both cork and limerick teams as I'll post same post on both threads
    Better team on the night won in what was a good game
    From limerick point of

Morrisey was Sensational
    I said before cork could not mark him as simply he's senior player of immense inter county potential, pace strength and great hand and he was just unmarkabke

He was brilliant. Man of the match from limerick alongside Byrnes in he's only limerick forward to score from play and himself and free griffin kept limerick in it

He's going to be major threat against tippeary next week at under twenty one
    Should be on senior panel ahead of tobin imo who won't improve but said last year star making

The fear is he won't have good coaching at senior to develop to the next level.
    It's ironic in a way to hear kk were surprisingly destroyed at under twenty one tonight but kk like cody does is the exception to the rule in despite that loss again at under age he'll still get around four or more of that team and make them senior top class inter county hurlers

The lads I felt to watch for cork were pretty much the ones that played well
    Cork full forward Tony Murphy as in post said one watch he was outstanding and big man Christ he can move four points play and really gave ex minor finn introduction big game, finn improved but Murphy would be handful any one this level and possibly if keep up worth look senior

Byrnes was outstanding and such composure and two brilliant point from play immaculate reading and awareness and intelligent passing with real real leadership and superb frees has to get call up to senior and brennan had a fine game and limerick played sweeper again
    You see Don flynn old school but credit due he even playing sweeper but only team in limerick that doesn't and refused play one mostly is senior as joe Quaid camoige played one, minor all year, ard scoil under niall moran, doon also, and under twenty one likely next week who in superb fitness shape I heard with Cork man ross Corbett being revelation there will play one
    I heard under twenty ones are in good nick for next week and the good news is they will be under dog as tippeary are favourite over good showing the last two years and based on the minor team from three years ago with a good few senior involved.

It's great to hear limerick senior maybe will play a sweeper v Dublin
    Credit due to management
    I mentioned it again as when intermediate team plays it only team left is the senior team.

Lynch was a sub was good at times but introduced way too late in nearly the end of the ist half
    Also I said this even when he was minor he's not a forward but a much better back and should be defender

Carmody was okay I was disappointed and expected more to be honest
    He never performed to the level he can
    Donovan was okay just okay
    Griffin was poor from play taken off but good from frees

Limerick were okay against the wind just three down but role reversal minor last week in had lot wides and lost
    But Cork were excellent and were never out played and to be fair limerick will admit cork deserved it

Kilkenny are out of the equation so Cork have all ireland in their grasp now
    Huge win for Cork as meet Wexford or Galway who play leinster final next week and winners play all ireland final so Cork in all ireland final

Last year cork win five games win all Ireland this year just three games in Galway put in leinster and ulster opted out so win might be devalued but having said that dwayne deserves credit as Cork with new team did more expected

As previously said in the limerick thread lead up I have doubt over him manager but said sheehan good selector and I rate him hugely but dwayne deserves credit tonight

Limerick were huge favourite and nearly two to one but again limerick teams struggle under hype or pressure and can't do favourite, it's like they feared the win tonight
    On paper between senior and minor limerick had around five or so lads played senior or minor all ireland finals and Cork had no minor played all ireland final or senior I think
    Murray and Mike Fitzgerald started senior all ireland final for Limerick, cork had none on the panel.
    I genuinely felt limerick be too strong for Cork on paper.

It's something they have to deal with in favourite tags as limerick on paper had more potential senior with morrisey lynch Byrnes Ryan etc from minor but couldn't do it
    I wouldn't blame management in the sweeper set up but they just never got a performance from some big players
    The changes were slow though in Ryan Fitzgerald and of course English who made huge difference should came on earlier and mulchay should got time also

Cork played a sweeper and were excellent
    O tuama is a good corner back
    I said this before cork had no full back to cope with morrisey but finn was taken off but he won't face another tom morrisey in final and to be fair to finn this was always a huge ask

Murphy was good at corner back

Donovan was outstanding at centre back with monster frees vital times and outplayed carmody
    Lawrence was very good and is player under mulchay cit that has improved no end

McCarthy was outstanding for Cork

Brennan had good game at under twenty one but tonight struggled but deserves another look at
    Meade was terrific in touch and movement and good player and with brennan senior potential
    O leary tried hard but he's just club Player in he won't make recall to the senior team but worked hard

Leahy was terrific in work rate and attributes winning ball and scored good points and should get senior game next year

Noel McNamara is good young player and showed up well from frees
    Very good hurlers but unlikely make senior in cork have lots forwards ahead of him but is vital to this team

Cork man match was Tony Murphy
    He at full forward idea target man can win ball
    He worth look senior next year and is better than McCarthy Moylan got loads chances so worth a look at least
    Not fast but not slow either and he has mobility and hurling and senior and intermediate club is great form this year

I mentioned Kevin o Neill was good sl from under twenty one game this lad has some thing about him that is a sign of potential and should be looked at
    Terrific ball winner and two good points and has to start the next day and was brilliant for the under twenty ones
    He is half forward ball winner that with proper coaching and more training there's another level in him possibly
    Terrific work rate

Morrisey was outstanding for Limerick but o brien Killeagh st Itas came on sub and curbed him and showed tough abrasive tenacious defending and should started full back in the all ireland final
    He has potential but tonight one game doesn't mean it's true test but be fair against morrisey as sub tough ask he done well and could start the next day and should if Galway win as Brian molloy great minor will take watching
    Credit dwayne making the change early
    Very few full back would hold morrisey
    He got one breathtaking mesmeric awesome unbelievable point worth salt any game.

Great results in yes only intermediate but considering cork hurling woes and fact this was new team and management credit due to dwayne and indeed players putting pride cork hurling tonight and majority won't be senior but Murphy meade and o Neill and Leahy should be looked at next year

We managed beat limerick at least in one grade this year and vital win
    Awful loss in truth when you look at limerick bench and team and this new cork team just one game played while limerick had two and golden opportunity win all Ireland lost for Limerick considering they were straight in to all ireland final
    Again limerick hurling looked gift horse in the mouth
    With the young lads as well it was an ideal opportunity for the future limerick hurling in Byrnes English , finn, morrisey, Ryan, Lynch to get that all ireland medal as having not got one at school and minors it would be a huge monkey off their back.

It wasn't the young lads let the team down they were fine but some more expirenced lads with senior experience and colleague experience didn't perform at all to the level there well capable of performing to

This wasn't like old team of past years this was a blend of past players in Murray Fitzgerald etc played senior all ireland final eight years ago with young good talent
    It's a bad loss when much more was expected and all ireland final the prize

Harsh yes but look there's no point saying other wise as a lot of the limerick big crowd of fans thought that tonight
    Sweet victory for Cork to win a close game
    Well take it as it was badly needed.
    But it still doesn't solve huge problem cork have in hurling just really keeps with the last ten years in all our doom and gloom it's the one consistent true shining light of cork hurling.

For the final I'd start o Neill half forward and o brien full back and Danny flynn deserves start as he's absent over holiday tonight but a very good player

Galway will be tough and so too will Wexford and seen as Cork beat both last year both want revenge
    If cork loose the final and I hope we don't and I don't do moral victory but be fair Cork management have done more than expected with this team since the start of the championship with bran new team For Limerick the chance of all Ireland at any level was lost and this team tonight has the easier run and best chance to do so of all the limerick teams left

Tonight showed limerick hurling never like or is comfortable with the favourite tags and while I thought they would beat Dublin in the senior game it's actually a game they could loose as there expected as a top four team the last two years to win and limerick don't do well when it's expected in they struggle in those type of games even proven by westmeath sunday at senior.

In realiton to the post that cork would rather minor win than this that is correct and considering cork win lot all ireland intermediate titles no munster minor even we needed break minor prove were making progress

I would argue that intermediate loss tonight more set back to limerick than if the minor lost last week in limerick minor win two munster minor and winning sunday won't add anything new it's all ireland that will and this Limerick team are unlikely to win it this year in there's just better teams there but winning an all ireland intermediate final was there for them getting to final they won tonight and would be huge physiological winning benefit winning all ireland for core bunch lads could play senior in like clare winning intermediate all ireland years ago young team it would provided contuinty from minor for morrisey lynch etc and gave limerick important opportunity to add more lads from under age between now and the final but also created a buzz around limerick hurling like minor all ireland final Last year and limerick bring huge crowds them and it is hugely important some limerick team wins all ireland soon considering lost all ireland club final, minor one best ever prepared team, school won munster but no all ireland, this was imo real opportunity to do something this year minors wouldn't have had the same chance of doing and limerick hurling needs an all Ireland badly at some level and doing so would take the pressure of their under twenty one team next year where they will be huge expectation on based on the minor performance To win one, if a break through all ireland was one at any level it eases that pressure and they only ever won one title this grade so tonight was huge game.
    Limerick radio even broad cast the game and rightly so so you can see it was a huge game as they crave the all ireland.

When cork senior football won senior all ireland it had lot under twenty one winners but lot junior all ireland winners too and that helped and limerick don't have many all ireland so intermediate had real chance to fix that.

http://www.irishexaminer.com/sport/gaa/id-love-to-manage-cork-says-tomaacutes-mulcahy-341560.html

A superb player superb captain at ever level as player owes cork nothing on field play an absolute gentle man and Cork hurling proud have him imo but no way should he be senior hurling manager as he's too old school hurling too old cork fast movement direct way for old scene club choose captain you win county and he's not ruthless be manager make bold calls and he's management record has nothing absoultey nothing to say he's up senior and God only know who he's bring in a selection team
    He's poorer version jbm tactics wise in he's view is game is too tactic orientation and back good old days free style fast ground hurling
    He's huge fan bertie troy hurling philosophy in keep ball moving and seek it there and everywhere and that's meat and drink to kk
    Any hurler from mid nineties shouldn't be involved cork senior hurling as philosophy against modern hurling possession game
    Anyone doubts me watch the glen and na Piarsaigh tonight
    The style hurling he favours will be evident

He's coaching glen under twenty one game
    Interesting dual v gardiner as coach
    On paper glen have better team with kennifck noonan dooling coughlan while yes na Piarsaigh have gunning and Lee

Worry is he wants it he'll get it as huge board fan and course glen have lot clout cork hurling at the top table and administration Donovan glen man

I like tomas and he's hero but if he gets job not what cork need
    He's done nothing as manager recently but course some media will blow up playing career when it's nothing do with management at all

Timing hugely significant here in every one knows cork loose Saturday jbm could be gone so he's getting he's ptich in earlier

The usual gave great interview etc be said
    It's absolutely non relevant in he should be judged like any candidates and record wouldn't imo even warrant an interview for the job as no record

There's nothing wrong with he's style in great watch but it won't win cork senior hurling all ireland

Many times when football was doing bad it was said to me here why I never too harsh jbm and treated him like God

No I didn't I critsed him hugely and he's problem modern game but like I said was cautious say get rid him as I feared the next management be worse

Now maybe my point is seen

Jbm we know doubts remain win all Ireland but have no doubt things can always get worse and mulchay get job I fear Cork will be worse than under jbm

All we need now is teddy mac ger Fitzgerald etc former great say mulchay should be manager

Course if he gets it jbm goes Seanie McGrath probably stay on and we'll be told it's got be for contuinty from old set up and two glen men same set up

Pat Spillane wanted job kerry football but never get it as kerry take football seriously now under twenty one

Mulchay wants senior job ccb probably say no problem

http://m.rte.ie/sport/gaa/2015/0527/704235-mulcahy-column/

There is the essence of the problem with mulchay being manager

It baffles me still in day of camoige games dean Ryan cup games senior you name it that this absoultey nonsense now I'm sorry but it's nonsense highest order you can simply beat system sweeper by going man for man and pushing up

You have to negate it by either playing the same system and then countering it with seven forwards maybes if chance there

This win your fifty fifty lark no good when you have swarm bodies across middle third cut off ball inside line

Cork played sweeper last night and immense credit dwayne be fair playing it short possession game with mix

Kerry may not went full blanket but went defensive v Donegal and kerry allow space inside

Look at minor jack o Connor who vowrd never play sweeper but then minor manager has changed and Cork kerry minor this year he done it and kerry not great last year but the minor have best tactics system around could retain all ireland

You simply have to adapt to the modern game you face

It will change again and won't always be sweeper but while it is you got to play possession game

Christ above this orthodox styles some crave is so naive it's beyond logic how they get senior job

This talk too many stats etc jesus he'll probably do away nutrition and stats men and sure board be delighted when save money new stadium

What view have when modern stats now more more prevalent such kerry gaelic football team ist team gaa use gps in championship tracking system on players

Kerry football love hate them leaves no stone unturned
    Cork just want to keep it simple

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 169 ✭✭Hurleratheart

Any hurler from mid nineties shouldn't be involved cork senior hurling as philosophy against modern hurling possession game

On paper glen have better team with kennifck noonan dooling coughlan while yes na Piarsaigh have gunning and Lee

curios about these commentsTTM

what your comments re the Douglas Glen u21 Game ?

Huge game now saturday for the senior team

Team Cork Senior Hurling

1. Anthony Nash (Kanturk)
    2. Damien Cahalane (St. Finbarr’s)
    3. Stephen McDonnell (Glen Rovers)
    4. Brian Murphy (Bride Rovers)
    5. Aidan Walsh (Kanturk)
    6. Mark Ellis (Millstreet)
    7. Cormac Murphy (Mallow)
    8. Daniel Kearney (Sarsfields)
    9. Bill Cooper (Youghal)
    10. Conor Lehane (Midleton)
    11. Patrick Cronin (Bishopstown)
    12. Brian Lawton (Castlemartyr)
    13. Alan Cadogan (Douglas)
    14. Seamus Harnedy (St. Ita’s)
    15. Patrick Horgan (Glen Rovers)

Subs:
    16. Patrick Collins (Ballinhassig)
    17. Shane O’Neill (Bishopstown)
    18. William Kearney (Sarsfields)
    19. Killian Burke (Midleton)
    20. Aidan Ryan (Midleton)
    21. Rob O’Shea (Carrigaline)
    22. Stephen Moylan (Douglas)
    23. Paudie O’Sullivan (Cloyne)
    24. Luke O’Farrell (Midleton)
    25. Jamie Coughlan (Newtownshandrum)
    26. Darren McCarthy (Ballymartle)

Team Management: Jimmy Barry-Murphy (St. Finbarr’s) - Manager, Mark Landers (Killeagh) - Coach, Johnny Crowley (Bishopstown), Seánie McGrath (Glen Rovers).

Medical Officer: Dr. Con Murphy. Chartered Physiotherapist: Declan O’Sullivan.

Good team named

curios about these commentsTTM

what your comments re the Douglas Glen u21 Game ?
    I don't understand the question

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 417 ✭✭CORKDOUBLE

The GAA world can be funny I read Jimmy McGuinnes this week praise Cuthbert and the Cork management ....Ger Cuningham getting a blasting from a former Dublin manager that he is a naïve manager and not up to it....Tomas Mulcahy wants the Cork job someday I agree TTM great player hero of all of us but he is not the best by a longshot in the Sunday game ...would not fancy him for manager.....well done to the Intermediates last night some going to win with a new team...but that's all Cork seem to win nowdays Intermediate hurling and Junior football we have lots of players of that standard ...of last nights team I think Luke Meade and Kevin O Neill have potential and this run will help them develop ....Dan Shanahan describes the Cork u21s as poor enough in the paper today ...those Waterford boys are flying high two big games coming up for them can make or break there season.....looking at the Clare game you would have to say the JBM and co have the best team panel more or less out ....missing of course Lorcan McLoughlin, Chris Joyce ...and William Egan and Conor Sullivan ....in fact outside those players I think we have whats out there I would love / dream ! to have Colm Spillane, Darren Sweetnam , Michael Cahalane and Pa O Callaghan involved now we would have some team then ....maybe someday ....can we beat Clare on the one hand yes but I hope we wont get a tanking as it could happen these Clare fellas are very talented 2013 proved that ...please god we might get there ...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 860 ✭✭✭lim4ev

TTM

I know you said Byrnes should be called up for the snr side do you think he has it to start next sat can he make a difference this yr to us?

lim4ev wrote: »
    TTM

I know you said Byrnes should be called up for the snr side do you think he has it to start next sat can he make a difference this yr to us?
    It's tough one to bring in to a side lacking confidence so young but at the same time he's bring new energy to ye
    I would have him or o grady as sweeper before mahony who is imo better wing back

I don't understand the question

i supose how you felt glen did v douglas under Mulcahy the other night?

Wasn't at it but they won obviously
    But that doesn't mean nothing in your argument he's non traditional

You surely heard him talk enough on the sunday game and in cork about he's views game know he's traditional

Do you think he would be a good manager just of interest?

Wasn't at it but they won obviously
    But that doesn't mean nothing in your argument he's non traditional

You surely heard him talk enough on the sunday game and in cork about he's views game know he's traditional

Do you think he would be a good manager just of interest?

Never said nothing he's non traditional

Taught by yOur remarks you were commenting on his 21 management style from what you seen there

I was at it taught Glen had huge hunger drive intensity and passion
    Cork need injection of it - a 70 min injection even

I would not rule him out for how he comes across on Sunday game - what he might say on TV and do on sideline could be difrent entirely -

I don't have a yes or no answer on it

Wrong to suggest hurlers from previous era can't adapt moden game - Cody a case in point

I think timing of mulcahy comments off but that could be papers spin on it

Very very surpised at comments about ger Cunningham by Humfrey kelliher
    All is not well in Dublin

Never said nothing he's non traditional

Taught by yOur remarks you were commenting on his 21 management style from what you seen there

I was at it taught Glen had huge hunger drive intensity and passion
    Cork need injection of it - a 70 min injection even

I would not rule him out for how he comes across on Sunday game - what he might say on TV and do on sideline could be difrent entirely -

I don't have a yes or no answer on it

Wrong to suggest hurlers from previous era can't adapt moden game - Cody a case in point

I think timing of mulcahy comments off but that could be papers spin on it

Very very surpised at comments about ger Cunningham by Humfrey kelliher
    All is not well in Dublin
    Ah stop now one hurling under twenty one game passion pride and hunger considering its intense rivalry I'd expect that

Does that mean the next junior game you have hunger drive and commitment they should manage cork

Hunger and drive and absoultey nothing nothing all do winning games with out tactical acumen just look at limerick hurling a classic example munster rugby hear lions but evolution game passed them by need elegant and cohesion and creativty that they blatantly ignored the last five years now paying the price

No offence but I always laugh at this utter utter nonsense we have drive intensity well win

To say you don't have a yes or no answer fair enough but imo it's straight forward in he's no record management deserves be senior management so should be ruled out

Don't belive the greatest myth that is cody just wins man man battles hunger and drive
    Yes that's part of it but Cork can't be e naive or innocent belive tactics haven't become huge part cody game since 2006 when they tactical wise destroyed cork

You want example I'll give you plenty more cody tactics
    Cody is the wrong example of past old player in truth doing modern tactics as he is the true exceptional cases

It's not that any past coach old days can't do it just mulchay is from the same core of Kenneally ger Fitzgerald Denis Walsh that are too old school

Mulchay is as proven by views time and again won't do tactics hugely
    Surely you can see as many pundits said this year cork have get new system and mulchay won't

I don't buy this media just took out context as call me paranoid maybe I am when it comes to cork managment job but this was no coindence in he just happened say he wanted cork job literally two days before cork do ot die jbm clash in loose he'll walk

Also and I said it then this talk about county champions bringing back captain wasn't just said it was make right noises before cork job free as Cork traditional still which holding them back and he playing that card will mean huge backing get the job

It's like a political candidate making noises year before a budget he'll do this and that
    Hes making he's claim early

Glen have huge sway cork hurling as seen by two brawls off the field with lenient punishment compared other clubs could be argued the last five years and finbarrs McCarthy glen delegate would likely back him as he backs ccb normally which of course is he right so mulchay look like is front runner now

Ten years ago was offered chance but declined
    He didn't do anything of note with glen Rovers senior team bar county semi final correct me if wrong

The glen man Lyneham be fair got them two county final

So the main point is what exactly has tomas mulchay done in management deserve cork senior elite job

Playing career has absoultey no relevance to this skill set at all

Cork hurling will go back years and years if we get the next management wrong you surely realise no room for errors now

It's tough one to bring in to a side lacking confidence so young but at the same time he's bring new energy to ye
    I would have him or o grady as sweeper before mahony who is imo better wing back

I know you won't agree with me but I think you're making too much out of this competition i'm a lunatic hurling man and honestly didn't know cork won the inter all irl last yr.I know its a stepping stone for a few to step up for the seniors and of course its great to be winning all Irelands at any level but for me beating cork in the minors last week was way more important than last night

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 417 ✭✭CORKDOUBLE

Correct me if I am wrong Jimmy Barry Murphy was appointed for two more years last October ....and when you think of the small pool of players he has had to deal with the man has done a wonderfull job..i would like for him to continue ...cant think of anyone else Donal O Grady only .

lim4ev wrote: »
    I know you won't agree with me but I think you're making too much out of this competition i'm a lunatic hurling man and honestly didn't know cork won the inter all irl last yr.I know its a stepping stone for a few to step up for the seniors and of course its great to be winning all Irelands at any level but for me beating cork in the minors last week was way more important than last night
    I totally agree with you minors way forward over intermediate success and for Cork

Just as one off the way the cookie crumbled limerick badly need all ireland success any level get momentum and confidence and huge support limerick deserves one and minors were not going won it this year but considering English Ryan Byrnes lynch finn morrisey etc would got medal huge boost going forward

Cork have intermediate all ireland so not paramount what is is even just getting all ireland series for minors as Cork Haven since development squads took effect

I totally agree with you minors way forward over intermediate success and for Cork

Just as one off the way the cookie crumbled limerick badly need all ireland success any level get momentum and confidence and huge support limerick deserves one and minors were not going won it this year but considering English Ryan Byrnes lynch finn morrisey etc would got medal huge boost going forward

Cork have intermediate all ireland so not paramount what is is even just getting all ireland series for minors as Cork Haven since development squads took effect

By the way when you mention ryan was that colin ryan and if so what way did he perform?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,371 ✭✭✭zetecescort

CORKDOUBLE wrote: »
    Correct me if I am wrong Jimmy Barry Murphy was appointed for two more years last October ....and when you think of the small pool of players he has had to deal with the man has done a wonderfull job..i would like for him to continue ...cant think of anyone else Donal O Grady only .

really? I always thought it was 1 more year given the way he delayed about continuing. As you say, he's done a fine job.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,102 ✭✭✭Stinicker

Some few politically correct liberals (who no doubt know nothing about GAA or could name any player maybe except Gooch) were phoning into Radio Kerry today trying to have the Confederate Flag banned from Killarney for the Replay.

I have never heard such nonsense in my entire life and the Rebel Flag of the US Southern Confederacy has been associated with the "Red Army" of Cork Supporters for a long long time. The Imperial Japanese Navy Flag and the Flag of Canada has also been proudly flown by Cork supporters.

I would hope that plenty Cork supporters will fly this Rebel flag in Killarney next Saturday along with their other pageantry and assorted colours as they have always done for countless games in the past.

Cork are known as the Rebel County, the county that fought the British Empire and where some of the fiercest and bloodiest of the fighting during the Irish War of Independence took place, similarly it was where the first shots of the Irish Civil War took place. Corks Red and White Colours are known as the "Blood and Bandage" and Early GAA History was soaked in politics with county games being as much as clash of Political viewpoints as about the sport itself, bitter rivalries left over from wartime were fought on the field of play instead. E.g. Kerry won the Munster Final and a subsequent pardon of Political prisoners took place and the Kerry team which started in the subsequent All-Ireland Semi-Final had 13 new players all of whom were released from Prison as part of the Civil War pardon.

Racism in America is one thing, the unique cultural aspects of Irish sport should be respected and left alone, but the liberal agenda will try to force even this non-issue.

really? I always thought it was 1 more year given the way he delayed about continuing. As you say, he's done a fine job.

He was given two years but in truth it means nothing as couninhan got two year term shouldn't got but immense credit due he walked away with year left

Pat mulchay should be involved in some capacity and Hartnett as selector be good
    If it keep board happy let McGrath there as always has been least one board man

Stinicker wrote: »
    Some few politically correct liberals (who no doubt know nothing about GAA or could name any player maybe except Gooch) were phoning into Radio Kerry today trying to have the Confederate Flag banned from Killarney for the Replay.

I have never heard such nonsense in my entire life and the Rebel Flag of the US Southern Confederacy has been associated with the "Red Army" of Cork Supporters for a long long time. The Imperial Japanese Navy Flag and the Flag of Canada has also been proudly flown by Cork supporters.

I would hope that plenty Cork supporters will fly this Rebel flag in Killarney next Saturday along with their other pageantry and assorted colours as they have always done for countless games in the past.

Cork are known as the Rebel County, the county that fought the British Empire and where some of the fiercest and bloodiest of the fighting during the Irish War of Independence took place, similarly it was where the first shots of the Irish Civil War took place. Corks Red and White Colours are known as the "Blood and Bandage" and Early GAA History was soaked in politics with county games being as much as clash of Political viewpoints as about the sport itself, bitter rivalries left over from wartime were fought on the field of play instead. E.g. Kerry won the Munster Final and a subsequent pardon of Political prisoners took place and the Kerry team which started in the subsequent All-Ireland Semi-Final had 13 new players all of whom were released from Prison as part of the Civil War pardon.

Racism in America is one thing, the unique cultural aspects of Irish sport should be respected and left alone, but the liberal agenda will try to force even this non-issue.

while any calls for a ban are just **** stirring by the media maybe it would be best to put the Confederate flags away for a while, let the controversy die down. having a load of them at Thurles or Killarney will keep the story in the papers and only encourage those who want it banned

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,704 ✭✭✭citykat

It probably is **** stirring by 'liberals' but this flag was, in photos, draped across a white supremacist, Dylan Roof, who shot 9 black people inside a church during a service in south Carolina recently. This flag has long been offensive to black people in the US also being heavily associated with slavery. It might be cherished by some in Cork but really why would you cherish something that is so offensive to so many? To black people this is on a par with the swastika for Jewish people. Will the swastika be waved by Cork supporters on Sat night? Absolutely not.

In relation to humphrey Kellher tactically questions the cunningjham coaching it's bid odd but hardly huge surprise in my take is you often have to wonder is their another agenda playing here in Kellher was fan shay boland and boland wanted that job and though he has it

Only concern is had cunningjham appointment was boland coming in in I said at time it's risk when guy wants job get snubbed and over looked is right hand man and particularly outsider and you often wonder can it work in there always be huge anti any main changes made by Dublin support if it's out side man in many want Dublin coach

I have huge respect and admiration for work kelliher done last thirty five or so years since moved Dublin and him cork man Harrington has huge input development development squads etc and he's outstanding Dublin

However with utmost respect him he never questions daly many huge defeats despite he being in job longer than cunningjham who building a panel new style
    Daly had bad defeats two-three years on but imo Dublin was rock bottom before daly came so nobody wanted job

Suddenly Dublin have based foundation due great work daly done so imo everybody wants piece cake and boland imo couldn't be given job over cunningjham when cunningjham proven record all ireland medal cork coach then coach average team beat Dublin get all ireland finals coached Ballygummrr county title that Paul flynn huge fan cunningjham and ucc huge success and Cork development squads with home boland record nothing like it

He questions rushes centre back but Cusack sunday game said he right try him centre forward and believes too old style for centre back and should be centre forward yet kelliher finds it baffling

With respect kelliher I wouldn't just me treat he's view point as gospel when he had twelve consecutive losses senior Dublin management such he got the sack
    Now irony is baffling in fella got sack critsed all ireland winning coach
    This is like tom Ryan critsim jbm from day one despite Ryan creating drama wherever he goes management such westmeath hurler refused play under him and lost three all ireland final in two as inter county one as club was part under twenty one limerick team got hammered and newtownshandrum were awful under him yet soon he wasn't shown the door they win the all ireland with the same team and panel

If all ireland winners likely o grady or loughnane or English questions cunningjham and said he's poor I'd actually listen but kelliher while superb set up blue print Dublin hurling he's management career hardly outstanding inter county

Now gone are the days when kelliher went in job no inter county experience and got Dublin job that hardly anyone wanted it to now everyone one see Dublin as great job so imo cunningjham getting it wasn't always being outside man getting it over a local going to not go down well in some quarters

Cunningjham knew going into with boland has those risks in many would not be happy but cunningjham had no choice comprises as when he refused go in limerick with Ryan and wanted Cusack with him Limerick said no and done u turn after offering him the job so if he refused to allow Dublin have man with him from board appointment he would risk loosing the job and he couldn't risk it in he never get the cork job and no other all ireland contenders with availability for the job then so he imo had to take it

Cunningjham will fully be deserves be judged after two years but unlike other he's record gives them imo that Lee way
    Be has to rebuild Dublin so he's right make changes as sticking to daly rigid system won't work
    It shows imo that some who critse him so early yet never questions daly for big looses are clearly not fans of him being manager

It won't happen but ideal world Dublin would sack him and he would be the next cork manager

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,102 ✭✭✭Stinicker

citykat wrote: »
    It probably is **** stirring by 'liberals' but this flag was, in photos, draped across a white supremacist, Dylan Roof, who shot 9 black people inside a church during a service in south Carolina recently. This flag has long been offensive to black people in the US also being heavily associated with slavery. It might be cherished by some in Cork but really why would you cherish something that is so offensive to so many? To black people this is on a par with the swastika for Jewish people. Will the swastika be waved by Cork supporters on Sat night? Absolutely not.

I don't cherish it or display, I'm from Kerry but I defend the right of every Cork supporter to display it if they choose to. There won't be five black people at any of those GAA Matches and for sure there will be no African Americans there to get offended, people fly it because it is a Rebel flag of Red and White and not because of its political connotations. The Stars and Stripes of the US can also be seen amongst Cork supporters too! Basically the problem I have with people trying to enforce their beliefs on others for something which is irrelevant here in Ireland.

Why would you defend something that is so offensive to so many? There wont be too many Jewish people at the game but there wont be any swastikas on display. We were neutral in WW II, DeValera even sympathised with Germany on the death of Hitler. Does that mean the swastika is irrelevant in Ireland? I'm all for civil liberties but there should be a limit, a line which shouldn't be crossed. Otherwise it's a free for all.

should we ban Tyrone from using the red hand of Ulster as it may offend some? should we ban the Irish tricolour because the IRA used it? where do you stop if you start banning things like this?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,384 ✭✭✭Duffy the Vampire Slayer

Do you not see the irony of waving the flag of a repressive country dedicated to the institution of slavery?

When you wave that flag, you might as well say you're ok with owning people as property.

should we ban Tyrone from using the red hand of Ulster as it may offend some? should we ban the Irish tricolour because the IRA used it? where do you stop if you start banning things like this?

Who are these flags offensive to? The red hand features on the Ulster Rugby crest. The tricolour is the official flag of the republic. Neither flag is comparable to the confederate flag. Either is certainly not a cherished symbol of white supremacists. I think if the people bringing the confederate flag to a game were aware of how offensive it is, i think they'd leave it at home. BTW this is not a dig at Cork. In fairness Cork fans bring amazing colour and support to their games. As a KK fan I'm sometimes envious of this support.

Regarding kelliher also he's own Dublin got absolutely hosed by four fourteen to fourteen points laois ten years ago so much he got sacked as manager so he's hardly manager that can proclaim authority from the top table of tactical asutness with greatest respect him