Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Cork GAA Discussion Thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 296 ✭✭Alf Tupper

D'Agger wrote: »
    Passion & wearing a heart on his sleeve aren't credentials that matter when it comes to punditry or analysis & far too often Brolly lets his emotions take over like a fella in the pub after a match. The panel is quickly becoming a parody, similar to their soccer coverage - RTE won't make the change because their controversy stirs up viewing numbers & has people talking about RTEs coverage - no such thing as bad press so far as their concerned

That's ironic!.

At least Brolly makes some attempt at analysis. Pat Spillane, on the other just gives his mouth full throttle while his brain remains in neutral.

Spillane still can't remove himself from the Northern teams hegemony over Kerry for years.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,385 ✭✭✭✭D'Agger

Alf Tupper wrote: »
    That's ironic!.

At least Brolly makes some attempt at analysis. Pat Spillane, on the other just gives his mouth full throttle while his brain remains in neutral.

Spillane still can't remove himself from the Northern teams hegemony over Kerry for years.
    I think the whole panel needs an overhaul tbh and you won't see me defending Spillane, I thought Whelans analysis the other night was quite good, perhaps he has more time to look at it before the late slot though

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 417 ✭✭CORKDOUBLE

http://www.eveningecho.ie/sport/another-cruel-defeat-has-left-cork-hurling-on-its-knees/

The very last part Murphy is bang on the money
    And Cork still need more money invested help outstanding work rebel og

Also cork are out of the minor football for a good few weeks now so why not appointment minor set up next year in rather wait October appointment now would mean management set up plans next year go watch players and see who's on radar and by players knowing now who manager seen games gives them encouragement play good

Kerry were fast by improving way do things saying next under twenty manager is jack and he's already put s and c plan in place under twenty one team

Minors kerry understand will wait as kerry still in minor all ireland and another outstanding success again second minor two years under jack in munster before announced he's successor

Rumours has it if true tommy griffin will be involved who good coach
    Cork have to get the minor management right as the talent is there

I have heard a little rumour that Donal O Sullivan is going to be asked again to be manager ...that's all it is a little rumour by that I mean someone told me they heard he was asked....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,276 ✭✭✭thinkstoomuch1

CORKDOUBLE wrote: »
    I have heard a little rumour that Donal O Sullivan is going to be asked again to be manager ...that's all it is a little rumour by that I mean someone told me they heard he was asked....

Wouldn't surprise me

http://m.independent.ie/sport/gaelic-games/gaelic-football/10-key-issues-that-could-decide-the-munster-final-replay-between-cork-and-kerry-31356865.html

Interesting points

Good thing from Cork is there's so much to improve also but that's the key
    Defence can and has to improve
    Scoring and link between attack and defence has to also

Three other key points have to improve i think

Cork need more better spread of players than four to score
    We still like in keys periods last year this year don't do great teams do yet in great teams when out games still manages keep score board ticking over

Ronan o gara always said hallmarks great Munster wins was they always kept the score board ticking over

We scores just one two play in the ist half of football and yet in the second half didn't score from play for twenty minutes of the final part of the game bar a goal

We are not scoring enough points in long periods from play at key moments for long spells
    If and you expect worst play kerry as only then you ready every eventually and prevention better any cure kerry stop goals then cork need greater point scoring return
    We can still get a goal but if we get one and not two we have to make up the difference points wise

Cork done a lot right in the build up last week particularly with shut mouth catches no flies in they were brilliant all credit due by saying little in building up to the game

They be fair deserve credit they learned from before
    Same approach should be said and if have to give one interview but say kerry are team beat all ireland champions die hard and it wasn't the real kerry the ist day in Kerry will be harder to beat the next day
    Say how mayo found it hard last year in the replay and Cork are building etc
    Yerra mode has to be full throttle
    Obviously closed doors you tell players belive you can win
    Sean mac was right he said Cork need to close shop again for the replay
    There's a song should be played every cork panel members between now two weeksin the less said the betterin the build up to the game
    It's you say it best when you say nothing at all by boy zone

There's no hiding place this time for either team and ist time in yonks we l won't get phoney war munster final asthe way the structure draw is with Dublin waiting who ever looses in truth looses possibly of more than a munster final
    The stakes have never been higher for both teams for championship football

Cork loose it means likely loose Dublin so another season two big games losses and it hinders true evolution and progress

Kerry loose there real danger going out early and won't go down well in kerry in least expect is strong showing defence all ireland title

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 388 ✭✭Gary Neville

TTM - Like you I'm delighted to see R Deane back in action and we need someone with his size and strength. However, he still looks a bit short of match fitness to me. He looked a little sluggish and seemed to be carrying a few extra pounds. All perfectly understandable after an ACL rupture. Cooper was injured well before Deane and still doesn't look 100 %.

I can't see Ruairi being a factor this season. What do u think ?

I was very impressed with M O Laoire for the Juniors v Limerick and a friend told me he was one of our few stand-out players v Kerry. I'd love to see him get an opportunity with Maguire out and Deane struggling.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,385 ✭✭✭✭D'Agger

TTM - Like you I'm delighted to see R Deane back in action and we need someone with his size and strength. However, he still looks a bit short of match fitness to me. He looked a little sluggish and seemed to be carrying a few extra pounds. All perfectly understandable after an ACL rupture. Cooper was injured well before Deane and still doesn't look 100 %.

I was very impressed with M O Laoire for the Juniors v Limerick and a friend told me he was one of our few stand-out players v Kerry. I'd love to see him get an opportunity with Maguire out and Deane struggling.
    O'Laoire you'd imagine might be brought in for training - would be no harm to do so if he's in good form as the junior game vs. Kerry would indicate.

Was gutted for Deane when he did his knee, was going very well - played in the inside forward line for Carberry I believe and got through an amount of ball linking play, if he can get up to speed he's a very good option to have coming off the bench but I don't see him starting

I spoke to a friend on sunday who would know O Laoire very well ...said he wont make it not quite up to it a pity if true....I would love to have Sean Kiely involved big lad worth working on ....great to see Ian Maguire there with the squad on sunday ..poor lad is gutted not to be playing ...but please god his injury will clear up and he will have his day ...as regards the replay I wonder would they use a curveball like trying Peter Kelleher for 15 minutes or so at full forward or midfield hes a huge boy game as hell ...just thinking out loud blown the surprise now of course !

To get match fit best prescription is games games games games

Gooch there's nothing wrong with he's fitness as shown v tipp
    He was fine v Cork considering kerry hadn't momentum that time

Typical kerry yerra will be he's off pace struggling etc and probably this week one kerry media will break news there's injury worry etc etc kerry still not right
    He's struggling so Cork pick same defence again

We have seen this script before
    I don't blame kerry they do what have do
    If cork belive it our fault
    They can play yerra but we don't have to buy it

Deane played club and ten minutes Sunday hardly going bring match fitness up
    He needed more time Sunday

Leary would be something new and we don't know was he up it
    He deserved chance
    Gould was at best okay but he faded and as been unfairly over years asked play half forward midfield full forward centre forward now sweeper at times he's no fault he's own jack all trades master none and player need confidence he's lacking it against kerry and they know what to expect with him
    Being dropped for clare didn't help either
    I would dropped him for clare but difference is would not restated him team for kerry

Cork dropped him then recalled him
    Kerry some pundits wanted him recalled and imo that means in truth don't fear him
    When kerry tell you you play certain player
    Bit like years ago kerry saying they feared cork playing target man
    Cork fell it hook line and sinker and duly obliged

There's going to be a lot of yerra talk now spoken in next two weeks and kerry have huge outlet in various cork media with examiner echo and southern star so don't buy all praise kerry give
    Kisssne played it beautiful with bit cork yerra earlier referee wasn't that bad and kerry kerry should had penalty and black cards etc cork deserved
    Praise kerry to the hilt

To beat them join them
    It's not like we haven't plenty lessons from them

I spoke to a friend on sunday who would know O Laoire very well ...said he wont make it not quite up to it a pity if true....I would love to have Sean Kiely involved big lad worth working on ....great to see Ian Maguire there with the squad on sunday ..poor lad is gutted not to be playing ...but please god his injury will clear up and he will have his day ...as regards the replay I wonder would they use a curveball like trying Peter Kelleher for 15 minutes or so at full forward or midfield hes a huge boy game as hell ...just thinking out loud blown the surprise now of course !
    The kerry full back line lacks pace and high ball in target man isn't the answer
    Kerry dealt with Murphy well it's wrong put Kellher deep end
    I don't think fitzmaurice or o neill reading forum so doubts if secret out playing anyone

D'Agger wrote: »
    O'Laoire you'd imagine might be brought in for training - would be no harm to do so if he's in good form as the junior game vs. Kerry would indicate.

Was gutted for Deane when he did his knee, was going very well - played in the inside forward line for Carberry I believe and got through an amount of ball linking play, if he can get up to speed he's a very good option to have coming off the bench but I don't see him starting
    I'd agree but crucial think about him he doesn't care about kerry traditional and he's won against them under age he doesn't do reputation
    There's difference between no respect and arrogance self confidence
    He's arrogance self confidence just what you want v kerry
    Hes relished any challenge he ever faced

Also cork missed a trick by not having mac Eoin bench
    Now he's better hodnrtt and he's match winner that tough as nails would be ideal kerry in kerry
    Again doesn't fear the kerry jersey
    Cork need infusion new breed no baggage kerry and Driscoll and Cronin brought that Sunday but more the better blended with experience

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,034 ✭✭✭Amprodude

History repeats itself. Are we seeing 1987 again? I hope so. If we beat Kerry in Killarney a tall order, it could be the start of good things to come. We live in hope.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,151 ✭✭✭.E_C_K_S.

I thought club fixtures dates and times were being announced last night?

http://www.irishexaminer.com/sport/gaa/corks-alan-oconnor-and-the-way-he-might-look-at-ya-341355.html

O Connor was magnificent
    But article as I expected extremely good on Cork and this must be expected
    Cork are going to get huge praise now
    Quirke ist kerry man do it
    Huge sea change from been written off to now everyone one cork players are being praised and above the radar
    That's the new challenge for Cork to react and over come this

http://www.irishtimes.com/sport/gaelic-games/gaelic-football/darragh-%C3%B3-s%C3%A9-cork-show-what-they-can-do-when-pushed-1.2276784

O Connor again getting lauded
    That's two kerry men lauding him now
    He's going to be kerry main target just like Murphy was all ireland final now Donegal targets sean Kavanagh
    Words like master class invincible it's bit earlier than I expected but still kerry yerra coming good
    O Connor was good but have no doubt he's going be targeted every single way next day and doubtful sheehan mark him
    O Connor was brilliant but he's not invincible due lack pace so typical example kerry yerra

Kerry have limited him before other games
    He destroyed kerry sub two years ago but kerry have dealt him before
    Point is he'll need support midfield next day and deane should start

I'd say when he said at end honestly no kerry cutsm cork strong position there was a smile behind he's face
    Have no doubt he's playing cork up
    That's two kerry men down but still Cinnede leen fella southern star the bomber to come I expect the plaudits be coming good now the next ten days
    He right in cork huge motivation power being written off
    That's power gone so it's why cork need new energy and tactically have be spot on next day

I expect murmurs injury in kerry camp probably breaks next week

They will be round 3 B qualifiers

So come combination of the winners of
    Armagh v Galway
    Tyrone v Meath
    Derry v Wexford
    Tipp v Louth

Draw will be made Monday morning at 8.30am.
    That's from kerry thread

Cork loose we play one these

Tipp lost key midfield but should beat louth
    Armagh wouldn't worry me slightest great over rated mcgenney
    There would be cork connection if met armagh with Julie Davis strength conditions coach with armagh

Galway if win or Tyrone or tipp possible tricky games after loosing to kerry if we do were trying get heads focused in week while one these teams particularly Galway Tyrone eye huge scalp

Must must win game for Cork

I also don't for any second buy talk loose kerry close game get all ireland quarter final loose it's qualified success in any shape or form and if that happens doesn't mean management get new term in yes some argue cork made improvement but if you loose Dublin kerry means really cork ist day was one off in of cork managment are turning corner there's no reason we can't expect beat kerry if we're that good the ist day

We can't loose kerry and Dublin and say we made progress
    Results will show other wise and for Cork senior football to change our legacy it has to be all about results

Have no doubt kerry loose this year and next year fitzmaurice be questioned in kerry
    He has won all Ireland

That's from kerry thread

Cork loose we play one these

Tipp lost key midfield but should beat louth
    Armagh wouldn't worry me slightest great over rated mcgenney
    There would be cork connection if met armagh with Julie Davis strength conditions coach with armagh

Galway if win or Tyrone or tipp possible tricky games after loosing to kerry if we do were trying get heads focused in week while one these teams particularly Galway Tyrone eye huge scalp

Must must win game for Cork

I also don't for any second buy talk loose kerry close game get all ireland quarter final loose it's qualified success in any shape or form and if that happens doesn't mean management get new term in yes some argue cork made improvement but if you loose Dublin kerry means really cork ist day was one off in of cork managment are turning corner there's no reason we can't expect beat kerry if we're that good the ist day

We can't loose kerry and Dublin and say we made progress
    Results will show other wise and for Cork senior football to change our legacy it has to be all about results

Have no doubt kerry loose this year and next year fitzmaurice be questioned in kerry
    He has won all Ireland

I don't think that's right loser Munster and loser Leinster play teams from 3A side of the draw ....that means one of the winners Kildare v. Longford or Roscommon v. Fermanagh ......that's whats up on the official gaa site.

Those Kerry boys are at it again ....Dara and Quirke saying that Alan O Connor is a bully ! refs watch out poor Kerry fellas ! but the best I heard today was that there is fighting in the Kerry camp over the return of Fitzmaurices brother in law Paul Galvin ..he returned to the panel after Kerry beat Mayo in the Leauge and since the they have not performed in any match ..yerra .

Your taking the bully out of context imo
    It's a compliment to o Connor in he bullied and took control kerry and didn't take steps back or give flying chicken in the wind regard reputation and he like a dog when left leg against tree new territory marking he ground

He complimentary o Connor but inadvertently saying moran and sheehan ye were naive timid innocent against warrior and they won't be next day

Have no doubt he's marked man and it be like bees around honey in they swarm him and that why he needs huge support with deane midfield who doesn't care kerry reputation and also on Connor burned pace conceding two scores as can't track back so he needs runner beside him help him

Kerry are in full yerra mode
    I wouldn't disrespect them for it as it's part dna but Cork don't have belive it or swallow and anchor be so gullible either

Cork intermediate hurling final live limerick ninety five Fm tonight anyone want know

I'll try make match do report later

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,371 ✭✭✭zetecescort

A former Cork player should be in the paper calling for the ref to watch for neck high tackles, diving and not to award soft frees.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 155 ✭✭HighKing33

I still thought some of Cork's attacking play was very pedestrian, carrying the ball to much. Cuthbert has huge faith in the O'Driscolls and possibly what they represent in Cork football but they are, like Deschamps, 'water carriers'. I thought Conor Dorman gave Cork something of an X factor at centre-back and was disappointed not to seem him on the XV. Also Paddy Kelly has to start.

Cuthbert knows Hurley and O'Neill thrive on the long-ball and I would love to see Cork being confident enough to go at Kerry with this tactic.

Cork team named tonight
    Will some one put it up please as I may be at intermediate game

I'd say there may be no changes but I'd be tempted start o Neill and rob o shea but hard drop Lawton after last week be fair to him in he's deep role

HighKing33 wrote: »
    I still thought some of Cork's attacking play was very pedestrian, carrying the ball to much. Cuthbert has huge faith in the O'Driscolls and possibly what they represent in Cork football but they are, like Deschamps, 'water carriers'. I thought Conor Dorman gave Cork something of an X factor at centre-back and was disappointed not to seem him on the XV. Also Paddy Kelly has to start.

Cuthbert knows Hurley and O'Neill thrive on the long-ball and I would love to see Cork being confident enough to go at Kerry with this tactic.
    That the key cork running too much
    I have lamented this all year during league and challenges matches were playing like rugby league team at times run run run and it worked patches sunday but we didn't score much ist half bar goal two points and twenty minutes second half no point play so there huge problem there

Barry driscoll was very good be fair outstanding but Cork with him Kerrigan Brian etc Kevin too many runners

Barry is going to be tested defensively next game
    I'd leave Brian there as he's better wing back than Barry and attack and defend but better kick passed distance and I'd put him to seven instead Barry and clancy hold up centre at six
    It's harsh on Barry but that half back line has change its too attack minded

Kevin I didn't rate be honest but I'd have him there as he was good in fairness now so leave him there
    I wouldn't have kerrigan or Gould starting either

Kerry will beef up the centre so Cork have to adapt again
    Cork can't be naive to say what worked sunday will work again
    You must bring something new again

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,775 ✭✭✭The White Feather

Its half time in the Intermediate Munster hurling final and Cork lead Limerick by 11 points to 8

Cork 0-20 Limerick 0-18 FT

Team Cork Senior Hurling

1. Anthony Nash (Kanturk)
    2. Damien Cahalane (St. Finbarr’s)
    3. Stephen McDonnell (Glen Rovers)
    4. Brian Murphy (Bride Rovers)
    5. Aidan Walsh (Kanturk)
    6. Mark Ellis (Millstreet)
    7. Cormac Murphy (Mallow)
    8. Daniel Kearney (Sarsfields)
    9. Bill Cooper (Youghal)
    10. Conor Lehane (Midleton)
    11. Patrick Cronin (Bishopstown)
    12. Brian Lawton (Castlemartyr)
    13. Alan Cadogan (Douglas)
    14. Seamus Harnedy (St. Ita’s)
    15. Patrick Horgan (Glen Rovers)

Subs:
    16. Patrick Collins (Ballinhassig)
    17. Shane O’Neill (Bishopstown)
    18. William Kearney (Sarsfields)
    19. Killian Burke (Midleton)
    20. Aidan Ryan (Midleton)
    21. Rob O’Shea (Carrigaline)
    22. Stephen Moylan (Douglas)
    23. Paudie O’Sullivan (Cloyne)
    24. Luke O’Farrell (Midleton)
    25. Jamie Coughlan (Newtownshandrum)
    26. Darren McCarthy (Ballymartle)

Team Management: Jimmy Barry-Murphy (St. Finbarr’s) - Manager, Mark Landers (Killeagh) - Coach, Johnny Crowley (Bishopstown), Seánie McGrath (Glen Rovers).

Medical Officer: Dr. Con Murphy. Chartered Physiotherapist: Declan O’Sullivan.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 571 ✭✭✭Figsy32

Think that's a decent team.

Ellis will have a big role as sweeper to protect the full back line and to use the ball well as the spare man.

Walsh at 5 is not ideal but he's needed there to compete with Conlon aerially who's been a big problem for us in recent years. Cormac Murphy is probably a bit light at this stage of his career to do that.

Think it has to be Harnedy and Cadogan inside because we'll need Lehane for puck outs at 10. If it's him and Harnedy inside Cronin is our only option for puckouts.

Stopping Clare from scoring goals will go a long way to winning the game. Think we've picked the right full back line in that regard. Cahalane for Honan, Murphy for McGrath and Maccie for O'Donnell. I think Clare have the advantage there but thats our best match ups. O'Neill would be fine in one of the corners but I dont think we can fit him, Maccie and B Murphy into the team without sacrificing something further out the field.

Clare are favourites but we have a punchers chance. Big start will be needed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 860 ✭✭✭lim4ev

I expect Clare to win but cork's best line is the full forward line and clare weakest is their full back line o whoever makes hay in these lines will advance I feel, clare will win for me