Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

DCM 2015: Mentored Novices Thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,272 ✭✭✭Dubgal72

Toulouse wrote: »
    Thanks Meno, think I'm just starting to find the HH plan kinda samey when everyone else is talking about strides, tempo and PMP runs etc. so next week I'll do 1 a bit faster as you said.

Don't forget about strides too, you could alternate a tempo week with a strides week :)

spider77 wrote: »
    I am aiming to do DCM in under 4 hours having run 3hr55min in first marathon last year. I think I run too fast though but find it hard to slow down. My splits on my 6 mile lsr last weekend were

1. 8.59
    2. 9.09
    3. 9.09
    4. 9.08
    5. 9.05
    6. 9.06

Am I going too fast? What pace should I be going at? Sorry bit lost when it comes to pacing for lsr when having specific marathon time in mind.

Hi spider77, yes it looks like you might be going too fast. A 4 hour marathon gives you just under 9:10 m/mi pace but you will build endurance best by training at 45-90 seconds slower than this pace so your easy and lsr's should be 9:55 and slower.
    Clarification post re lsr paces for everyone pending :)

annapr wrote: »
    Check out https://www.mcmillanrunning.com for a calculator that gives you paces and estimated race times. You can put a target time in there and it will give you suggested training paces (a range). If your target is a 3:55 marathon, then it says your LSR's should be anywhere from 9:03-10:22... so you are at the fast end but in the range. As your runs get longer, it would be no harm to slow down a bit.

Hmmm but a 4 hour marathon = 9:10 pace. Have you got that range right Ms Metric?

Phoebas wrote: »
    I did the Clontarf HM today, so I guess a race report is due:

Mile one ("finding my feet")
    This was only my second half marathon. I did the same one last November in 1:58, so my aim for this was to beat that. I had some thoughts of doing it in 1:50, but I also knew that I wasn't able to sustain the pace required over 13 miles, so I got into position somewhere between the 1:50 and 2:00 pacers.
    I found the first mile difficult. I can normally tell pretty early on how a run is going to go, and I was already sweating and feeling the heat. I'd been maintaining distance from the 1:50 pacers and when my Garmin buzzed 8:08 I knew I wasn't going to maintain that so I decided to hold back a bit.
    8:08

Miles 2 to half way ("the way out")
    I settled into a pace that was a bit more comfortable. I more or less ran to feel (verified against my HRM reading) and had a steady run up to the return. The sun was a PITA, as was the soft sand getting on and off the beach, but otherwise uneventful.
    8:27, 8:36, 8:23, 8:32, 8:33

Miles 7 to 9 ("the way back")
    The couple of miles on the way back before the beach felt a little tougher. There was a bit of wind that I hadn't noticed on the way out that was blowing in my face now. It was a welcome relief to reach the sheltered causeway back towards the beach.
    8:36, 8:50, 8:24

Miles 10 -11 ("the beach")
    Jesus. H. Christ! The wind!
    9:09, 9:02

Miles 12 - 13.1 ("race to the finish")
    I was glad to get off that beach and with only a couple of miles to go I decided to go for it. It was a really tough couple of miles, but my legs were feeling OK, so it was only a matter of keeping my lungs filled with air and retaining the will to live.
    8:09, 7:42, 6:48

Finishing time was 1:51:30.
    I'm really happy with this, but I doubt I could have carried on for another 13.1 miles. :eek:
    Sounds like a really great race. Big congrats on the PB!! It sounds like you had DCM 2914 conditions (sun and wind) PLUS sand :eek: Well done on going by feel too...and having that bit in the tank on the last two miles.

Yes it should be hard to imagine maintaining that pace for another 13 right now but that is where the training over the next few months will take you. I'm sure you also appreciate what's in store too!

Enjoyed reading that, thanks :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,672 ✭✭✭hillsiderunner

Dubgal72 wrote: »
    You know you're getting round this if i have to meno has to carry you?! You're in good hands...and we'll be watching those park runs.... :p

I am quite light it must be said... and it would of course be great to actually "do" one of my goal races for a change :rolleyes:.

There is only *one* parkrun on my schedule now, and the germ of one or two one more if speed sessions get missed [*halo icon*]

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,936 ✭✭✭annapr

Hmmm but a 4 hour marathon = 9:10 pace. Have you got that range right Ms Metric?

Not that I would ever argue with you, DG... but it ain't me, it's McMillan... I put in a target of 3:55 because OP had run a 3:55 marathon before... that's 8:58 pace.. so the suggested LSR range is something like 9-10:xx mins/MILE (McMillan default is miles). I know the rule of thumb here is up to a minute slower than Marathon pace, so the lower end of the range is probably too fast.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,009 ✭✭✭Firedance

Aha! Talk about making an entrance ;) You know you're getting round this if i have to meno has to carry you?! You're in good hands...and we'll be watching those park runs.... :p

deadly! a new improved pacing service :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,672 ✭✭✭hillsiderunner

Aha! Talk about making an entrance ;) You know you're getting round this if i have to meno has to carry you?! You're in good hands...and we'll be watching those park runs.... :p
    Firedance wrote: »
    deadly! a new improved pacing service :pac:

Sure what do we need to be doing these long runs for at all ;) ....

Maybe we need to remember this "offer" did not come from the beast of burden himself; this might not have been what he intended in helping DG on the Novices thread.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,915 ✭✭✭✭menoscemo

Not that I would ever argue with you, DG... but it ain't me, it's McMillan... I put in a target of 3:55 because OP had run a 3:55 marathon before... that's 8:58 pace.. so the suggested LSR range is something like 9-10:xx mins/MILE (McMillan default is miles). I know the rule of thumb here is up to a minute slower than Marathon pace, so the lower end of the range is probably too fast.

McMillan should be ignored when it comes to easy pace. Vdot is much more accurate....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 653 ✭✭✭skittles8710

menoscemo wrote: »
    McMillan should be ignored when it comes to easy pace. Vdot is much more accurate....

Thanks meno wasn't aware of vdot. That's very handy to take note of. My easy pace lsr yesterday was just 6 seconds quicker than recommended happy out with that ! :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,119 ✭✭✭Mrs Mc

PJD wrote: »
    Dg... Just a quick note to say I was fully prepared today for the Clontarf half marathon! You would have been proud! Food, clothes, race numbers (!), arrival time and warmup all perfect. Have to note the massive benefit of running with a pacer. I was with the 2 hour pacer. His name was Matt and he was awesome! He chatted away and his splits matched my pace band (as recommended!) perfectly. I even managed a wee stretch during the home straight allowing me and my training partner to come in ahead of schedule. His pacing and management were amazing and recommended if you have the option. It made my day less stressful and I felt much more in tune with the run.

Great running P I hear the conditions were pretty awful out there today.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44 betty swollox

Hi Betty, your target of 3:45 gives you roundabout 8:40 PMP so it looks like your lsr was nearly spot on. Slow down 'the pace run' slightly for now though. Don't stress too much about slower pace on the lsr, there will be days when you will welcome the slower end of the spectrum, trust me :) Just one observation; always better to start slow and warm into the run. Baby steps to start with: this is where you wake up your body gradually and 'fix' your form; posture, breathing, shoulders, cadence, turnover etc so the pace should be at the slower end of your range. Build into the run naturally.
    Starting off too fast, even only slightly, uses up more energy and puts you in a deficit straight away so save the pace for later in the run when it happens naturally.

Thanks Dubgal sound advice as usual..

Sorry to be annoying again but it appears that WK3 in the excel tracker has forgotten to add my name across again. It all looks a bit messed up to be honest. Can someone take a look at this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,585 ✭✭✭nop98

Thanks Dubgal sound advice as usual..

Sorry to be annoying again but it appears that WK3 in the excel tracker has forgotten to add my name across again. It all looks a bit messed up to be honest. Can someone take a look at this.

Fixed. I believe it is because folks try to sort the spreadsheet on distance... Best to refrain from that ....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,556 ✭✭✭chinguetti

PJD wrote: »
    Dg... Just a quick note to say I was fully prepared today for the Clontarf half marathon! You would have been proud! Food, clothes, race numbers (!), arrival time and warmup all perfect. Have to note the massive benefit of running with a pacer. I was with the 2 hour pacer. His name was Matt and he was awesome! He chatted away and his splits matched my pace band (as recommended!) perfectly. I even managed a wee stretch during the home straight allowing me and my training partner to come in ahead of schedule. His pacing and management were amazing and recommended if you have the option. It made my day less stressful and I felt much more in tune with the run.

Hi PJD, thanks for the lovely comments. I'm glad it went well for you & your training partner yesterday and I think I spoke to you along the way about why I had 2 watches and 2 pace bands - am I right? There's at least 2 or 3 minutes (maybe more as I'm not sure of your training) you can cut off that time if you get a nicer day, the heat, wind (it was wicked coming back on the beach) and the course. Nice to hear that you weren't fed up of my voice too:D

Nothing like preparing for a race as its takes alot of the uncertainty out of the way and you can just focus on the race. Good luck with training and whatever you're doing is working a treat.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 232 ✭✭PJD

chinguetti wrote: »
    Hi PJD, thanks for the lovely comments. I'm glad it went well for you & your training partner yesterday and I think I spoke to you along the way about why I had 2 watches and 2 pace bands - am I right? There's at least 2 or 3 minutes (maybe more as I'm not sure of your training) you can cut off that time if you get a nicer day, the heat, wind (it was wicked coming back on the beach) and the course. Nice to hear that you weren't fed up of my voice too:D

Nothing like preparing for a race as its takes alot of the uncertainty out of the way and you can just focus on the race. Good luck with training and whatever you're doing is working a treat.

Thanks chinguetti!! I was the annoying Scottish lad who kept asking questions! I really appreciate the time you took with us yesterday. Thanks again. Paul

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 111 ✭✭Emsy 1

Well done to everyone who raced over the weekend. I am away on hols for two weeks so can't upload to strava. I had an enjoyable 7 miles yesterday the change of scenary made the run feel shorter I averaged 10.06 mm. Could u just clarify on the tempo and strides....should we all be doing these I had thought this was for the boards plan should I be incorperating these into my shorter runs ? Got my new bike so off now for a cycle.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,796 ✭✭✭It wasnt me123

So had a mixed week this week. Okay at the beginning, Club on Monday, 10k race on Wednesday and then it all fell apart with work/family etc. LSR was 12 miles and I finally got out there this morning. I normally prefer a 1 loop run but not able to do that this morning, had to stay close to home, and I did 1 mile (ish) laps around my house - and I loved it. it was so easy. I just kept going around in circles, changing the direction/streets at times but basically every 12.30mins I was passing my house. Even the weather played ball, it started raining on lap 4 and cleared the footpaths for me, just me, dog walkers and mass goers out and about and it was lovely and cool. Splits were 11.27, 12.02, 11.53, 11.53, 12.34, 11.43, 12.12, 12.17, 12.37, 12.31, 12.30, 12.23. I went out too fast, again, but felt comfortable at the finish and gave the kids a laugh when I did my stretches!

Just a little thing, I've disappeared off Week 1 of the Google Docs, not a biggie, I'm on Wk2 and Wk3. Can I just add myself at the bottom of the sheet? Don't want to mess it up

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 329 ✭✭donglen

Is it just me or has all the entered info disappeared from the Google doc? It's missing the tabs for weeks 1 to 4?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 438 ✭✭Omeceron

10 miles done. Miles 1-9 were fine. Bit too fast on 3 of the miles. I found mile 10 tough and slowed right down.

A big improvement on last weeks 8 mile lsr.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 438 ✭✭Omeceron

Just a little thing, I've disappeared off Week 1 of the Google Docs, not a biggie, I'm on Wk2 and Wk3. Can I just add myself at the bottom of the sheet? Don't want to mess it up

You are still there, your line was hidden by a filter. I have removed the filter.
    donglen wrote: »
    Is it just me or has all the entered info disappeared from the Google doc? It's missing the tabs for weeks 1 to 4?

Keep scrolling to the right and you should see them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,119 ✭✭✭Mrs Mc

After my disaterous LSR Friday Saturday was a rest day and was due to do 5 miles today. Decided to rest again today with a few niggles still around from Friday. Did some stretches tonight and loosed up the legs in the pool. Mr Mc heading out tomorrow to see where the running route will be. 30 degrees here so will have to head out early. Feeling the benefit of resting. Back into it this week. Hopefully all back to normal. Well done all at Clontarf HM I hear the wind was dreadful.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24 BobDylan

Week 2 done and dusted! 28 miles over 5 runs. Did the 10 mile lsr yesterday and struggled with pace. Slowest mile was mile 4 at 11:04 and fastest was mile 10 at 9:58. Average pace 10:22 which is too fast seeing as I am aiming for marathon pace of 10:30.So, need to work on that.
    Well done to everybody on the racing and lsr's.
    Onwards to week 3!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 723 ✭✭✭Pink11

I find any time I'm running for an hour or longer, I really need water... and I'm very good at drinking water all the time, but like Nop, I sweat a lot too (so unladylike). So I give in and wear a water belt... they're not that bad once you get used to them even if they do look goofy. Or if I'm in Dublin, I'll take a couple of euro and buy a bottle of water at a shop... which never seem to appear when you're really thirsty. it would do my head in doing laps over and over on a long run.

Just my two cents on the water thing. I'm told it's a side effect from medicine I take BUT I'm ALWAYS thirsty naturally. I drink a lot of water/fluids every day.

So naturally when running I need water. I even have to bring a little water bottle with me on a 5k!

I use the water bottles with the little holders. I guess I'm just so used to it but I do find they are really effortless to use. If anyone wants to know more about the ones I use I can link you. I find them really good. But I see them in almost every sports shop now.

I'm no expert but I honestly think it's quite dangerous not to drink water if you're doing something above 10k. I mean your muscles, your body in general needs water when you sweat a lot. You are more likely to get cramps or get injured is what my doctor once told me and I never forgot about that point.

Dubsgal - thanks for the training advice for the rest of the week.

----

Well done to all who races yesterday in the Clontarf half. Some really impressive times. You guys will fly the DCM!

I had a shocker of a day myself - very disapointing. I posted about it in the Clontarf HM thread. If you're bored to tears read about my disaster here: http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=96128112&postcount=87
    (hope I've linked it properly).

One of the many conversations I had with myself yesterday was 'what if I have a day like this the day of the marathon' - it really got my down and during the race I was telling myself how I'll have to pull out.

Now that I've had some time away and some fluids and sleep (!) I know that it's nonsense and all it means is that I've to work harder so if I DID have a bad day, I'll have enough built up in the tank to get me through.

Have to keep positive and I'm going to use yesterday's disaster as something I can learn from.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,182 ✭✭✭RonanP77

I'm not entirely sure of the distance or times on today's LSR, my Garmin says 16.3km but Strava and Runkeeper would both have measured it at 17. My pace was steady enough, although it was around the upper limit of my planned pace for a good few km's. Garmin has it all over the place but I think its all down to tree cover. I was in Deerpark forest Virginia and the canopy completely covers the path most of the way around.

I felt good but the legs were getting a little tired at the end. That was only my 2nd time crossing 10 mile so that was to be expected. No problems other than that though and things are progressing nicely.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,477 ✭✭✭wolfyboy555

What are people's plans for training when on holidays between now and the marathon? I am heading away to Turkey myself this week for just over two weeks. None of the places I will be staying in have any gyms and I can't really see myself heading out for a run in a strange city.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,009 ✭✭✭Firedance

What are people's plans for training when on holidays between now and the marathon? I am heading away to Turkey myself this week for just over two weeks. None of the places I will be staying in have any gyms and I can't really see myself heading out for a run in a strange city.
    Personally running in a strange city is great, fab way to see the place & if you go out early its peaceful too. Having said that do some googling first to see if anyone has mapoed out routes already & check with your hotel about safe areas. There's bound to be a park somewhere you could do laps of if you dont fancy the explore option :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,522 ✭✭✭neilthefunkeone

Google map the area you are in.. If there is a city there will surly be a park.. If on the coast then maybe a board walk along a beach..

Last year in Spain I had a rental car and I had my gf drive me 10 miles away from our apartment and I ran back.

Just watch the heat.. Loads of water I suppose..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 301 ✭✭Chilli Con Kearney

Well done to everyone who ran the Clontarf yesterday. Pity about the wind - heard it was tough! I normally run it but couldn't this year so am heading to the (half) marathon des escargots next weekend.

Did my 10 mile a day early this week and was happy with the pace. Tried my first run without map my run and music (on phone) this week which was something different. Have invested in a garmin watch so will be interested to see how this works out in the coming weeks! Well done again to everybody for yesterday.

Emsy 1 wrote: »
    Well done to everyone who raced over the weekend. I am away on hols for two weeks so can't upload to strava. I had an enjoyable 7 miles yesterday the change of scenary made the run feel shorter I averaged 10.06 mm. Could u just clarify on the tempo and strides....should we all be doing these I had thought this was for the boards plan should I be incorperating these into my shorter runs ? Got my new bike so off now for a cycle.

Hi Emsy, enjoy your holidays (like you need telling!) and well done for bringing the runners :)
    There are no strides or tempo runs on HHN1 plan but if you don't lash them out, no harm doing some strides once a week if you feel you want a bit of variety. Do them at about 70-80% effort and always allow time in the run for a cool down period.

Well done on the lsr, you could be a hidden top track runner - enjoying all those laps :D it would be very interesting watching a track 10k that reversed at random points of the race :pac: Great to see you being pace aware, try to rein the first fast mile in, as I said to BS, baby steps, fix your form, posture, breathing etc and ease into it very slowly :) Had you recovered ok from the 10k by the weekend?
    donglen wrote: »
    Omeceron wrote: »
    10 miles done. Miles 1-9 were fine. Bit too fast on 3 of the miles. I found mile 10 tough and slowed right down.

A big improvement on last weeks 8 mile lsr.
    Well done. Yes, the last couple of miles are going to feel tough. While these runs are done at easy/comfortable pace, your legs are going to accumulate fatigue on a lsr. That's normal and means job done :)
    Omeceron wrote: »
    You are still there, your line was hidden by a filter. I have removed the filter.

Keep scrolling to the right and you should see them.
    Thanks Omeceron, Nop you have a deputy ;)
    Mrs Mc wrote: »
    After my disaterous LSR Friday Saturday was a rest day and was due to do 5 miles today. Decided to rest again today with a few niggles still around from Friday. Did some stretches tonight and loosed up the legs in the pool. Mr Mc heading out tomorrow to see where the running route will be. 30 degrees here so will have to head out early. Feeling the benefit of resting. Back into it this week. Hopefully all back to normal. Well done all at Clontarf HM I hear the wind was dreadful.
    Hi there Mrs Mc, good call on resting. Sure Mr Mc is taking good care isn't he? His rep lies on you getting to the start line in good nick :D You know yourself, stop if the pain increases or doesn't go away. If you can, plan your routes on a loop where you can easily bail if necessary.
    BobDylan wrote: »
    Week 2 done and dusted! 28 miles over 5 runs. Did the 10 mile lsr yesterday and struggled with pace. Slowest mile was mile 4 at 11:04 and fastest was mile 10 at 9:58. Average pace 10:22 which is too fast seeing as I am aiming for marathon pace of 10:30.So, need to work on that.
    Well done to everybody on the racing and lsr's.
    Onwards to week 3!
    Thanks BobDylan :) Yes, slowing down is the way to go. We'll have a definitive, all-encompassing post over the next few days to help ye all see the light :)