If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

DCM 2015: Mentored Novices Thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,272 ✭✭✭Dubgal72

frash wrote: »
    Any chance of putting the dates in the date column in the HHN1 plan in the same way as it is on the boards plan?

Hi, you mean in reverse/countdown order? I can't right now, won't be at a PC till later but our resident geek expert might have a look, or Adrian please if either of you are free. TIA

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,636 ✭✭✭frash

Dubgal72 wrote: »
    Hi, you mean in reverse/countdown order? I can't right now, won't be at a PC till later but our resident geek expert might have a look, or Adrian please if either of you are free. TIA

In the column titled 'ant run-app'
    There or a new column just basically showing the date of that particular week.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 16,593 Mod ✭✭✭✭adrian522

Should be updated now

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15 The Slow One

Busy weekend so it’s a late report on the 5 miler. 50.24, pb by 23 seconds

Pre-race
    Hydrated well and ate well in the days leading up to the race. Got 7.5 hours sleep the night before, woke up at 7, pulled back the curtains and went oh crap because the sun was already shining and it was supposed to get cloudy later which meant humidity as well as heat. Had usual pre-race breakfast of muesli, yoghurt and orange juice at 7.15. Got to the start area at 9.15, found some shade and stretched there, warmed up along the Furze Road, beyond the finish line and back. Took my place at the back of the second wave, to have a bit of space to myself at the start, only to realise I was actually at the front of the third wave and mobbed.

Mile 1
    Started up the middle of the road to avoid the camber at the side, turning on to North Road a few people cut across me trying to take a big chunk off the corner (seriously folks, if you’re going to sign up for a 5 mile race, run the 5 miles!). Felt comfortable along the North Road.

Mile 2
    Thinking about my form and breathing crossing from North Road to Acres Road, going comfortably. Got to Khyber Road and moved to the right-hand side as the cycle path is a bit smoother.

Mile 3
    Take it easy coming down hill and a few go ahead of me. Breathing and form feel right. Turn on to Military Road and start uphill. The best I’ve ever run Military Road, consistent pace from bottom to top, legs feel good and the rest of me isn’t feeling any great discomfort.

Mile 4
    As well as being net downhill, do the S bends have some sort of psychedelic quality? Always feel better at the end of them. Take it easy on the downhill, concentrating on my form and trying to relax as much as I can. Feels good starting the uphill on to the Glen Road until….
    Mile 5
    I’ve had stitches before in races but never anything as bad as this. Felt like I was shot on the right of my stomach. Tried to htfu but had to stop let it ease for a moment. Got going again but wasn’t any better than lsr pace. Got going a little bit more down the Furze Road but it was hard work. Got to the finish line and wretched twice, thought I was going to vomit. Wasn’t following my splits on the Garmin but I know the last mile took nearly 13 minutes.

Post-race
    Thank god the cups of water were close by. Joined in the boot camp warm-down which was good and walked down Chesterfield Avenue to get the bus from Heuston with no problems. Did a warm-down of about 2.5 miles with no stiffness or soreness. Was in a fouler over the race afterwards. Wife took me to Mad Max Fury Road to cheer me up. Film was awful but at least the race didn’t seem so bad by comparison so I cheered up unintentionally.

Positives
    - It’s a pb
    - Legs felt good during the race, after the race, that night, the next morning, no stiffness or soreness. Best they’ve ever felt after a race.
    - I know my form and breathing does lapse from time-to-time but it still improved significantly in the last 2 weeks thanks to our guru DG72.
    - Ran Military Road well and comfortably.

Negatives
    - The stitch. I’ve read up a bit this morning and orange juice in the morning might not be helping, so will stick to water in future. Will try a few things out pre-lsr in the coming weeks and see what works. Might need to get up earlier to have breakfast earlier. Any other suggestions will be gratefully received.
    - Not being in the right position at the start, my own fault, not going to blame signs.
    - Might need to get more sleep midweek.
    - No flapjack.

Wasn’t going to do the 10k in Swords initially but signed up for it now. Working down in Limerick this week so looking forward to the change of scenery and getting a few miles done along the Shannon.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,119 ✭✭✭Mrs Mc

RonanP77 wrote: »
    I have an appointment with my physio next Monday night to have a look at my calf/achilles. Better be safe than sorry in these situations. She said to keep running between now and then unless it gets bad and to make sure I stretch plenty and go on the foam roller.

Having Achilles trouble myself related to calf have exercises from physio but I also started doing these stretches http://www.hartmann-international.com/articles/5/hope-on-a-rope.aspx and finding them very good.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,182 ✭✭✭RonanP77

Mrs Mc wrote:
    Having Achilles trouble myself related to calf have exercises from physio but I also started doing these stretches

I've never heard of half those muscles but I'll certainly try the calf stretches, cheers.

Physio also recommended doing pilates said that you need to work in your core to avoid injury so doing pilates once a week also so between that the stretches and the in soles she gave me I hope I don't continue to suffer !!! Good luck with physio.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,585 ✭✭✭nop98

Firedance wrote: »
    yes sorry I should have been clearer, as Clearlier said make sure you pick an exact spot and tell them where to be and roughly what time. I gave a 30 min window and an indication of what pace group I would be coming after and there is the official tracker too. I never ask my friends or family to help out with running related stuff but this was my exception, I was running a a marathon and I needed their help!! even if it was to know there were out on course cheering me on, I'm not suggesting that you rely on them for hydration etc, for me that was an extra back up 'in case' they also had things like Vaseline, extra gels, my energy drink pre mixed etc etc. Its just one option though and not necessary at all.

To me, this reads that Firedance is planning on manning a special "Novices-goodies" table, maybe at about 15M or so... ;)

All in favour shout "Aye!"...! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,804 ✭✭✭It wasnt me123

So this week is:
    Mon - M&T Club - 3 mile
    Tues - no run - Boot camp session
    Wed - Dundrum 10k race
    Thur - rest
    Fri - rest
    Sat - lsr of 12 miles
    Sun - 4 mile recovery run 25 miles for the week

SOOOOO many races popping up on Facebook that my buddies are doing and I'm looking at my plan for the next 17 weeks and I only have two events in it. I'm very very jealous and also a little tempted to rejig things a little so my first event (Monaghan 10 mile) is replaced with one a week earlier and my second (Athlone HM) is replaced with one two weeks later, that way they're 7 weeks apart and I could fit another HM in the middle.

Of course I'd probably get given out to so I'll most likely leave things the way they are and just grumble about missing out on all the fun.

So this week is:
    Mon - M&T Club - 3 mile
    Tues - no run - Boot camp session
    Wed - Dundrum 10k race
    Thur - rest
    Fri - rest
    Sat - lsr of 12 miles
    Sun - 4 mile recovery run 25 miles for the week

Just very quickly, way past my bed time ;)....but do you have to do Boot Camp? It hurt last week didn't it? How fresh do you want to be for the 10k? I'd recommend a 20min jog instead with 3-4 gentle strides. Could you also fit in a recovery run between the 10k and your lsr?
    Talk properly tomorrow anyway.

NIght novices :)

Ps Hi, the slow one, loved your report thanks, will get back to you properly in the am :)

I made up some bars last night, they started out as energy bars but probably aren't too healthy.

Almonds,
    Hazelnuts,
    Raisins,
    Peanut butter,
    Nutella,
    Digestive biscuits

Very tasty and I had one for breakfast because I was running late, I went for a 7.65k run and then hopped in the shower so had no time for anything else.

Edit; there's a small bit of honey in them too.

So now we have Flapjacks and energy bars for our Novices Table at DCM - keep them coming :D

Dubgal72 wrote: »
    Just very quickly, way past my bed time ;)....but do you have to do Boot Camp? It hurt last week didn't it? How fresh do you want to be for the 10k? I'd recommend a 20min jog instead with 3-4 gentle strides. Could you also fit in a recovery run between the 10k and your lsr?

Morning, so I had another look at this week's plan. I had already had to switch it around as my work days have changed but its nice to have fresh eyes on it.

we are off to Wexford for the day so no boot camp this evening, I'll do Dundrum tomorrow evening, its supposed to be flat and I'll do a recovery run Thursday after work, rest Friday as I'm working and lsr Saturday.

Thanks for that, have a good day folks, I'll be paddling at Fethard on Sea :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 723 ✭✭✭Pink11

Hi guys,

I've been training with a marathon in mind for months on my own but just hadn't decided which one I'd do. Now that I've the all clear from work in October, I've decided I'll do the DCM.

I would love to join this thread for motivation and have so much respect for Dubsgal. Been lurking through the thread for weeks now and you all seem great - love the positive attitude. I really think this thread will help me and I hope I can help others too from my mistakes to date!

So, I'm having trouble picking a training plan. I've been doing a lot of research but just not sure which will suit me best.

I have a strange routine with work/travel so my long runs would have to be done on a Monday Or Tuesday evening after work. I can train mid week easily enough. My weekends can be messy at times but they are days I could get my short runs in.

I can commit to 4/5 days a week of training. And I also do TRX, circuits and free weights/toning at least once, if not twice a week.

Sometimes life gets in the way and I have to move things around so that's where I need help picking a somewhat flexible plan. Sorry for asking in this thread, just really need help picking one.

Thanks in advance to all. This thread is so inspiring. I'm really excited to run my first marathon!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 535 ✭✭✭jmcc99_98

Hi Guys,

I've decided to join in again this year as I have enjoyed this thread no end over the past few years. Also I am still to achieve my goal of a sub 4 hour marathon, although I have come dangerously close on 3 occasions (Dublin 2015 will be my 4th Marathon hopefully)

What is your athletics background? Have you run before? What other sports have you taken part in and at what level?
    I have been running for around 4 years. I gradually picked up the distance over the years. I have run DCM 2013 (4:04:35), Berlin 2014 (4:01:30) and DCM 2014 (4:03:50). There were only 4 weeks between Berlin and DCM 2014

Have you raced before? If so what are your PBs? (Date and distance please!)
    5km - 21:14
    10km - 47:20
    10mile - 1:19:20
    HM - 1:48:00
    Marathon 4:01:30

Do you still need to take walk breaks in your training ? (No problem if you do)
    No

How much training do you currently do incl cross training? Distances, cross training - whatever you think is relevant to your current fitness level.
    I tend to run three to 4 days a week - I try to do one day core work at least, and cycle about 4-5 miles each day (commute)

How many days a week do you run only?
    3-4

What do you want to achieve? Dream finishing time and realistic finishing time? Or just complete it in no specified time?
    Still hoping to break the 4 hour

What marathon programme are you following/intending to use?
    I tend to take a few of the plans that available and tamper with them to fit my life and the training with my running club

The marathon is a great event, the training for it is tough, but can be extremely enjoyable and very rewarding. The feeling that those of you doing your 1st marathon will get when you cross the line will never be forgotten.

I look forward to getting to know ye over the next few months. The novices thread is a great resource and thanks to @Dubgal for mentoring!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,459 ✭✭✭ZV Yoda

Took two days rest after the SSE 5 mile race on Sat. Went out for my usual 6k run this am. Was feeling grand & taking it very handy @ 5:45/km because it was very warm/muggy (even at 6:15am!).

Then, right at 5k, felt a twinge in my hip & it quickly became painful. It wasn't an excruciating pain, but was too uncomfortable to run. I walked the 1km back home. Been limping around the place today. Dunno what happened. Off the the physio later. Hopefully it's nothing serious.

Good luck at the physio's Yoda. Hope it's something little :/

Lads, am I allowed to ask here, what would be some of your typical diets? I'd love to know what you all eat :o

That sounds creepy. I'm just so obsessed with food, you've no idea >.>

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 16,593 Mod ✭✭✭✭adrian522

No that's fine, and I think its a worthwhile topic of conversation.

We had a good conversation on this in last years thread. I'm sure everyone has their own ideas on what is healthy etc.

However the main thing for me is, marathon training does not give you a blank cheque to eat what you want. You want to be at a healthy weight come race day. If you are 5KG overweight that will obviously have a negative impact on race day.

Personally I try to eat a farily balanced diet. I tend to eat a lot of carbs, a lot of vegetables, get protein from meat etc.

Typical day for me would be:

Breakfast: Porridge with milk, blueberries, honey
    Snack: Slice of toast with peanut butter
    Lunch: Maybe salad or wrap or sandwich. Nothing too fancy, Chicken/tomotos/lettuce/peppers etc.
    Snack: Maybe Banana
    Dinner: Pasta with chicken + Sauce/Meat + veg+ potatoes/Rice + Stir fry.

Drink plenty of water and good bit of Tea or Coffee.

I'd also have a bit dark chocolate on the go as well but not too much.

I'm not holding this up as what everyone should eat but it is what works for me. I don't feel like I'm being deprived of anything and as such I can continue with this for a long time without falling off the wagon as it were.

I think a good diet is essential in marathon training as you are challenging your body like never before so you need to give it the fuel it needs.

Hydration is important too, not just while running but throughout the day.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,009 ✭✭✭Firedance

adrian522 wrote: »
    No that's fine, and I think its a worthwhile topic of conversation.

We had a good conversation on this in last years thread. I'm sure everyone has their own ideas on what is healthy etc.

However the main thing for me is, marathon training does not give you a blank cheque to eat what you want. You want to be at a healthy weight come race day. If you are 5KG overweight that will obviously have a negative impact on race day.

Personally I try to eat a farily balanced diet. I tend to eat a lot of carbs, a lot of vegetables, get protein from meat etc.

Typical day for me would be:

Breakfast: Porridge with milk, blueberries, honey
    Snack: Slice of toast with peanut butter
    Lunch: Maybe salad or wrap or sandwich. Nothing too fancy, Chicken/tomotos/lettuce/peppers etc.
    Snack: Maybe Banana
    Dinner: Pasta with chicken + Sauce/Meat + veg+ potatoes/Rice + Stir fry.

Drink plenty of water and good bit of Tea or Coffee.

I'd also have a bit dark chocolate on the go as well but not too much.

I'm not holding this up as what everyone should eat but it is what works for me. I don't feel like I'm being deprived of anything and as such I can continue with this for a long time without falling off the wagon as it were.

I think a good diet is essential in marathon training as you are challenging your body like never before so you need to give it the fuel it needs.

Hydration is important too, not just while running but throughout the day.

Mine is frighteningly similar :-) minus the pasta (and sauce) unless I'm doing long run the next day (still no sauce tho..) and id have salmon a few days in place of chicken. Also nuts & natural organic yoghurt for snacks or carrots & hummus. Choclate is my big weakness and I do allow myself some/too much

Something that came up last year was alcohol, as your runs get longer you will notice its easier to abstain than run tired & dehydrated but its a personal choice & just something to consider. Plus 1 to not having free reign to eat all round you!

I'm glad diet has been mentioned, I'm keen to find out what I should be eating. A typical day for me;

Breakfast - 2 toast with peanut butter

Snack - boiled egg and toast + a banana.

Lunch - tuna/mackerel with 2 slices of bread, yoghurt, apple + easy peeler orange.

Snack - small handful of nuts with a spoon of Nutella/Peanut butter.

Dinner - Pasta/rice with chicken/fish and sauce or potatoes with fish and veg.

Snack - cereal.

I've cut out the cereal lately because I think it leaves me bloated so replacing it with bread and Peanut butter.

I'm glad diet has been mentioned, I'm keen to find out what I should be eating. A typical day for me;

Breakfast - 2 toast with peanut butter

Snack - boiled egg and toast + a banana.

Lunch - tuna/mackerel with 2 slices of bread, yoghurt, apple + easy peeler orange.

Snack - small handful of nuts with a spoon of Nutella/Peanut butter.

Dinner - Pasta/rice with chicken/fish and sauce or potatoes with fish and veg.

Snack - cereal.

I've cut out the cereal lately because I think it leaves me bloated so replacing
    it with bread and Peanut butter.

I'm not an expert ronan so just my 2pence worth - that's l lot of bread so if it were me id look for alternatives there, otherwise looks reasonably healthy especially if yove ditched the cereal already. Porridge is probably one of the healthiest breakfasts & good for fuelling a long run.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,373 ✭✭✭Phoebas

Whatever's in the fridge/press/local Spar.

Firedance wrote:
    I'm not an expert ronan so just my 2pence worth - that's l lot of bread so if it were me id look for alternatives there, otherwise looks reasonably healthy especially if yove ditched the cereal already. Porridge is probably one of the healthiest breakfasts & good for fuelling a long run.

You're probably right, I figure bread was carbs and I was told to eat plenty of those. Maybe breakfast could be changed to something else, I'm not really a porridge fan, especially in warmer weather but I'd have it occasionally and I'm sure there are other healthy options.

I might need more carbs when my mileage increases?

Yesterday I ate;

Brekkie; A green smoothie, with fruit and veg.
    Snack; greek yogurt with blueberries and almonds
    Lunch; Salad, including avocado, butternut squash, and salmon.
    Snack; Apple
    Dinner; Fish, green veg, potatoes.
    1 square of 70% chocolate with me tea!

I ran for 40 minutes, very easy.

That would be my typical diet though, (well apart from Saturday when I got into a right huff after the race and had chips and ice cream and frosties :o) no matter how much I'm running. I've had problems in the (recent) past with not eating enough and I don't want to screw up by doing that again. I can't afford to put on any weight, I'm already in need of losing some but want to be smart on out having enough fuel but not too much!

For me it's much the same porridge with blueberries and raspberries for breakfast lunch is generally a salad with some pasta or cous cous and some fruit. dinner can vary from noodles chicken and veg . to spag Bol, stir fry depends really on what's in the fridge. Snack on fruit or cashew nuts. Will have scrambled eggs and toast if running late and I have dinner at lunch time those days.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,413 ✭✭✭Toulouse

I've been starving for the last few weeks but I had probably not been eating enough up to then so just tried to increase my intake in a healthy way.

Breakfast is porridge with chia seeds and banana made with 50:50 skimmed milk and water

Lunch is a wholemeal wrap with chicken, spinach and low fat Mayo

Dinner is something like chilli con carne with brown rice, lentil stew with sausage or grilled salmon, brown rice and veg.

I have a cereal bar at break time, drink at least 2 litres of water a day and after a weights session or my LSR I'll have 1g per kg body weight of whey protein.

If I fancy something I'll generally have it, I try to be good most of the time though and usually only drink every 2 or 3 weeks. I'll keep an eye on my weight as the training plan progresses as I really don't want to put on any but probably shouldn't lose any either.

Oh and I've switched to decaf tea and coffee, not sure why, just don't feel like drinking caffeinated stuff all of a sudden!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,415 ✭✭✭Singer

Good luck at the physio's Yoda. Hope it's something little :/

Lads, am I allowed to ask here, what would be some of your typical diets? I'd love to know what you all eat :o

That sounds creepy. I'm just so obsessed with food, you've no idea >.>

I think it's more than on-topic :)

Breakfast: Generally porridge with berries. Sometimes granola or muesli. Pancakes/scrambled eggs/fry/smoothies over the weekend. Mandatory coffee with all of the above.

Lunch: Usually plate of something veggie in the office canteen (maybe something like salad, tart and some veg). Bowl of pasta with pesto or sandwich/bagel at the weekends.

Snack: Coffee & nuts / raisins (usually the chocolate covered variety :pac:).

Dinner: Curries, more pasta (spagbols, carbonara, amatriciana), homemade pizzas, chicken with salads, stirfrys, chilli-con-carne... semi-dictated by what the kids will eat.

I drink a lot of sparkling water both at home and in work (I used to drink 2 litres of Coke a day in work :eek:).

I find a great way to increase carbs is est more veg, carrots, butternut squash, broccoli, parsnips etc all have decent levels of carbs & you can fill your plate - yummy... Am hungry now all this talk of food but club session first :(