Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

DCM 2015: Mentored Novices Thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,415 ✭✭✭Singer

I'm number 14, feel free to say hi! Been looking forward to the start of the Race Series all year, can't wait to get it started. Best of luck fellow novices, wise elders, lurkers and trolls.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44 betty swollox

I'm 525 :)

Best of luck to all, can't beat the feeling of a race day and all that goes with it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,585 ✭✭✭nop98

Dubgal72 wrote: »
    It may be that your body is adjusting to the demands of higher mileage also. Anyone else finding the same?

Yes - I am eating all around me. It didn't help that I had to skip lunch due to work cr*p today :( Absolutely famished!

Good tip re water. I am trying to get into the habit of carrying one of those proper water bottles with me everywhere and drinking it all during the day, not easy to remember tho.

Good luck to all running the 5 miler, or LSRs, tomorrow! It'll be 10M LSR for me.

Week 1 is almost done. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,371 ✭✭✭Phoebas

Good luck to all my fellow novices racing tomorrow.

I'd be interested to know what other races people have signed up for.
    I've signed up for the Clontarf half next weekend and the the Rock'n'Roll 1/2 at the start of August (which I may not actually be around for, but if I am, I'll probably do as at a slowish pace).
    I'll also do the race series 1/2 in mid September and maybe one or both of the other race series races, depending on if I'm around and how they might fit in with the plan*.

* Edit: (Question for DG et al) Looking at the Boards plan, it has a 10m race on the the weekend of the race series 10m. It has a 13m lsr on the weekend of the 10k race series race.
    (1) It is a good idea to do these races?, and
    (2) How would you tweak the boards plan to accommodate them?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,272 ✭✭✭Dubgal72

Phoebas wrote: »

I've signed up for the Clontarf half next weekend and the the Rock'n'Roll 1/2 at the start of August (which I may not actually be around for, but if I am, I'll probably do as at a slowish pace).
    I'll also do the race series 1/2 in mid September and maybe one or both of the other race series races, depending on if I'm around and how they might fit in with the plan*.

* Edit: (Question for DG et al) Looking at the Boards plan, it has a 10m race on the the weekend of the race series 10m. It has a 13m lsr on the weekend of the 10k race series race.
    Hi Phoebas, the boards plan has been constructed with the race series in mind so if you plan do do them, you won't need to tweak too much. I would definitely recommend you do them, indeed race them. The 10m in August and the half in September are great opportunities to see where you are; test how training has gone and if necessary, adjust your marathon target pace up or down.
    So for the 10k, you include your warm up and warm down to make up the mileage to 9 miles or so. So you'll be short a couple of miles but the intensity of racing a 10k will compensate in other ways, trust me ;) If you race it, your legs will be as tired as a 13 mile lsr.
    The longer the race, the less warm up is needed so for the 10 mile, you could get away with a mile shuffle jog warm up and a half mile warm down, for example.
    If you are planning to race these, you will need to taper in the days before the race but we'll discuss that closer to the races.
    For you, Phoebas, I wouldn't recommend two long races in August (the RnR half and the 10 mile race series), pick one and do one properly. If you do the half next week and the half in September, it would make sense to do the 10 mile for a bit of variety but your call.

I am bringing my special recovery flapjacks to the Phoenix Park so keep your eyes peeled ;)
    (oats, butter, syrup, seeds, raisins, nuts, dried fruit and chocolate chips...and there's one for every novice in the audience so come find me, because I know there are a few other boardsies running who won't think twice about jumping the queue :D )

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,182 ✭✭✭RonanP77

Dubgal72 wrote:
    I am bringing my special recovery flapjacks to the Phoenix Park so keep your eyes peeled (oats, butter, syrup, seeds, raisins, nuts, dried fruit and chocolate chips...and there's one for every novice in the audience so come find me, because I know there are a few other boardsies running who won't think twice about jumping the queue )

If I had known about the flapjacks I would've done the race ;-)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,413 ✭✭✭Toulouse

I will definitely try to find you so!! Also would you mind pm'ing me the recipe, have been on the look out for something like those.

I'm up and fed, terrible nights sleep but feeling okay.

Best of luck everyone, I'll be 1048.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,776 ✭✭✭This Fat Girl Runs

I've been walking around the start area muttering 'pink jacket, purple scooter' to myself. That might just be my race mantra! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12 Running mad

Thanks for the heads up but too late, I have a sore groin/upper thigh now - I was only doing 50metre strides on the straight part of a track, but was doing them at speed and probably over stretched. I have the ice pack in the freezer for a dodgy left knee, and now the groin. I'll need an ice body suit by October at this rate. :o

I got the same inquiry a few weeks ago as a result of going too fast on strides. Happened a week out from a half marathon I was doing. Went to the physio 4 days before the race and as a result of her good work and lots of icing in the initial 24 hrs after then lots of heat on it for the next 72hrs I was good to go.
    If you are icing/ heating it I found it best to lie on the floor with your knee out to
    the side to really get into the right area.
    Oh and a bag of peas are nearly better than any ice pack.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,067 ✭✭✭✭bucketybuck

First LSR of the plan done last night. I know these are meant to be slow but that was sloooooooow. It was a real slog to be honest, I guess the muggy heat takes more out of me than I thought. I'm also happy that my groin held up through it, although it is aching slightly today.

I also ran it without the headphones for once, simply because I wanted to clear my head after a very long week. I'm not convinced that no music is better though, I missed that sense of being able to zone out and find that the kms have flown by, instead it seemed like I was constantly "on" and counting every step, and that made the run far more of a grind than I prefer.

Further experimentation needed!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,306 ✭✭✭Myles Splitz

I also ran it without the headphones for once, simply because I wanted to clear my head after a very long week. I'm not convinced that no music is better though, I missed that sense of being able to zone out and find that the kms have flown by, instead it seemed like I was constantly "on" and counting every step, and that made the run far more of a grind than I prefer.

Further experimentation needed!

I think this is a good point, there is no doubt that for a number of people switching off will seem easier but I think it is crucial in the formative years of running to try and be switched on. The training the body is just one element you are also trying to learn how to use feedback. You need to be concious of form, breathing etc and learn how to use the feedback your body is giving you.

A great trick I remember Radcliffe giving back in the day was that if you do find yourself struggling, count strides. Rather than try to count every one focus on a count every time a particular leg hits the ground, break these down into segements (say count to 20,30 or 60 and start again)

This can be a great distraction but at the same time can give your distraction a particular focus in terms of learning feedback from your body during your running.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,324 ✭✭✭chrislad

First LSR done. I did a nice slow 8 miles (didn't get into my threshold heart rate at all) on a new route for me - all trail, and very narrow in places (which did help with going slow!) but very peaceful and quiet.

I did manage to kill a bird within the first half mile though. Little guy flew out of the high grass, straight under my foot. That's probably a first for a DCM Novices thread!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,457 ✭✭✭ZV Yoda

Just back from the Irish runner 5 mile. Didn't see any Boardsies around, but was probably too knackered at the finish line to spot them anyway.

Anyway, I was very happy to finish in just under 41 mins (according to my watch) which is a PB for me. I found it tougher to run in the heat (I usually do my runs before 7am). Those 2 hills were tricky too - especially the first one.

Hope everybody else got round OK.

Edit: just got my chip time 41:10, still a PB :)

Had an absolute disaster of a day fitness wise!

I took off too fast, and the entire time I was telling myself to slow down but my legs kept going. The hill was much closer than I remember it this year and I was struggling big time on the climb, I had to actually walk after the water station. My time was absolutely abysmal, much much slower than last year.

I had absolutely no pain throughout though so I'm taking that as a positive I guess. Onwards and upwards.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 329 ✭✭Nappy

Race Series 5 mile done and dusted. Came in at 36.26. First 5 mile time so happy. Was struggling towards the end. Marathon seems very far away for me fitness wise.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,119 ✭✭✭Mrs Mc

5 mile Race Series done and dusted God it was hot out there. Met KennyG and PJD beforehand and some of last years novices at the finish line. Disappointed not the get to the flap jacks DG ! Didn't get a PB today but delighted with my time 44.38 (pb 44.01 from recent Terenure 5 mile) considering I did the 5 mile last year in 46.59 I think a good years progress made. We had a big contingent there from St Anne's parkrun hope they managed without us all in St Anne's this morning ! Looking forward to meeting a few more boardies at the next race. Enjoy the weekend :)

Delighted to have PB'd my 5 mile time by two minutes! Finished in 1:06:29 :D Really enjoyed the race! Pre-race atmosphere was fab, and I did look out for people but while I saw numbers close to the ones posted here, I didn't see anyone. Race itself was great for me! I felt strong throughout, ran the hills fairly easily and finished in pretty much the time I was aiming for. I skipped the water station as I had my own water with me. The heat was brutal but I was glad for the wind and shade when I could get it! Loved seeing the deer crashing along in the bushes beside the course!

Afterwards I met up with my trainer, and also got to meet whoopsadaisydoodles who spotted me after the race. Very nice to meet you! I'm glad you're not in pain anymore with the foot. Definitely a positive!

DubGal I did look out for you 'pink jacket, purple scooter' but missed you. Ah well, there's always next time!

I'll be writing up my race report this afternoon and will post it later.

Well done everyone for getting out there!

Race report!

A few weeks ago I set my target for the Irish Runner 5m to be "< 37:30" on my training log. It was a little conservative but consistent with my other goals and no harm on having something do-able for the first of the race series :)

My morning got off to a terrible start as I bafflingly drove past the turnoff for Castleknock on the M50. I got off at the N4, went through Chapelizod, up into the park through the gate and parked on Chesterfield. I arrived about 9:20 so it wasn't a total disaster :)

Aside from navigation issues, pre-race was great, the announcer was as entertaining as usual for the Race Series, the weather was fab and the park looked amazing.

Mile 1: 6'55

I started in the first wave, place myself around the middle but got pushed up closer to the start as people moved forward. Lots of ducking and diving around people until mile 2 or so. A shame that stewards weren't there to stop lots of runners shortcutting across the verge on the first turn. Generally felt good.

Mile 2: 6'41

Still feeling good though a little nervous coming down Kyber due to the steepness and running fairly fast.

Mile 3: 7:01

Half-way through this mile was the first of the hills, and it hit me a bit harder than I was expecting. Slowed down a lot and started to be passed out a bit. I started to get a stitch and a sore tummy towards the end of mile 3, neither of which have been problems this year at all. I felt like I had a very full stomach and generally uncomfortable.

Mile 4: 7:18

Maintained pace for this mile. Legs felt a little tired, surprising for the distance. It was a little windy and exposed here which didn't help.

Mile 5: 7:33

Despite the hills and the slightly slower clock time I definitely picked things up in this mile, the stitch went away and I sped up towards the end.

Gun time: 36:19
    Chip time: 35:52

So, on reflection it's a good time and I beat my original target. However I was disappointed with the tummy problems and how hard the hills felt. I'll need to tweak pre-race eating - I had some granola and a smoothie around 8 along with some water, this was probably not enough time before the race. Hill work will definitely be part of my training before the next races. My time was 20 seconds/mile slower than the Docklands 5k, given that that was flat and shorter, I think that's probably expected at the same level of performance.

Post-race was great though, I met up with Dubgal along with other A/R boardsies and got a flapjack for for my troubles :)

My wife's delighted with the women's vitamins from the goody-bag and the mug's nice, so a good morning's work :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,119 ✭✭✭Mrs Mc

Delighted to have PB'd my 5 mile time by two minutes! Finished in 1:06:29 :D Really enjoyed the race! Pre-race atmosphere was fab, and I did look out for people but while I saw numbers close to the ones posted here, I didn't see anyone. Race itself was great for me! I felt strong throughout, ran the hills fairly easily and finished in pretty much the time I was aiming for. I skipped the water station as I had my own water with me. The heat was brutal but I was glad for the wind and shade when I could get it! Loved seeing the deer crashing along in the bushes beside the course!

Afterwards I met up with my trainer, and also got to meet whoopsadaisydoodles who spotted me after the race. Very nice to meet you! I'm glad you're not in pain anymore with the foot. Definitely a positive!

DubGal I did look out for you 'pink jacket, purple scooter' but missed you. Ah well, there's always next time!

I'll be writing up my race report this afternoon and will post it later.

Well done everyone for getting out there!

Congrats on the pb :)

Well that was kind of awesome! The last time I did the Irish Runner 5 mile was in 2011 with feck all training and it nearly killed me. I think I had a time of 52.XX and I remember stopping to walk.

So this morning I got organised and headed over to the park. I only live across the road and it was such a beautiful morning. I quickly came upon the 4 mile marker and stopped to take a photo. The next time I saw this marker I would be 1 mile from home.

I hadn't slept that well but I felt good so to warm up I jogged from the marker to the finish. That would bring my total to 6 miles for the day and so the training plan was fulfilled for this week. The Body Sculpt class I did on Thursday was possibly not the best idea ever as I had hamstrings and glutes like rocks but I stretched as best I could.

I had a little think about what pace to run at. I decided that I would be more than happy with a 47.30 finish so I popped a 9.30 min/mi into my Garmin, met a friend, dropped off my bag and pottered around the Wave 2 start where I met some lovely fellow runners and spent 10 mins telling myself I didn't need to pee. (I didn't, it's something I always think at the start of a race)

Mile1:9.15mins Then we were off! The race leaders were at the mile mark before we even got going :) I kept a bit of an eye on my watch, just to make sure I wasn't falling behind but mostly I just ran by feel and waited for the crowd to thin out a bit. Mile 1 was an eye-opener. I didn't have my head-phones on and I was amazed that coming up to the first marker that I wasn't even out of breath! I felt strong and comfortable, wahey!

Mile 2+3:9.15mins + 9.30mins I missed the 2 mile marker here. Had stopped looking at my watch at this stage as I felt really good but I knew I was ahead of pace. Again, my breathing was fine, I made a conscious effort to run tall and not to clench my hands. I also started to remember Dubgals advice about others breathing - god there were some shockers - but they were in pain and I was not. We headed down the Khyber Pass and I made sure not to peg it like some of the others, I was really enjoying this feeling and wanted to stay in control. Plus it was kind of congested. Then around the corner and up Military Hill. It didn't scare me, I run it every time I train so it was a non-event.

Mile 4:9.03mins Again, this was along a stretch that I run at least three times a week and I was still feeling really good so I enjoyed it. I knew the 4 mile marker was coming up so I started to quicken slightly and pick people off. My chest felt a little tight towards the end of this but one 1 mile left and I knew I had bags of energy left!

Mile 5:8.36mins God I talk some awful sh*te to myself when I run. This was the main thought in my head for this mile along with being very happy about how my breathing sounded compared to some of the others. I had already come this way earlier so I knew exactly where we were going and how long was left. I kept picking people off and sprinted comfortably for the end.

So that was that really, I was thrilled with my time and the way the race went but I know I could have done better. I recovered really quickly after but I'm just not experienced enough to have done it any differently. So yeah, happy happy! Really good to have such a positive experience at the start of the whole series and I think it will stand to me.

Chip Time: 45:53
    Gun Time: 50.09

Well done everyone!!

Singer wrote: »
    My wife's delighted with the women's vitamins from the goody-bag and the mug's nice, so a good morning's work :rolleyes:

Was the mug in the goody bag? I didn't get one and neither did my friend :(

Toulouse wrote: »
    Was the mug in the goody bag? I didn't get one and neither did my friend :(

Mugs were being handed out separately after bag collection - sounds like you missed 'em.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,462 ✭✭✭TheBazman

Hey all

Have only been lurking for the past couple of weeks as I've been concentrating on physio and core work and still struggling with my hamstring...with a few runs in between.

Did the 5mile this morning in the Phoenix Park. Excellent event but the heat was a struggle. I also need to up my mileage a bit as my fitness was struggling in the second half. Didn't help that I was just in from an overnight flight from the states. All in all I came in at 35.06 which I was very surprised and happy with.

Great atmosphere around before and after. Unfortunately I won't be around for the next race in the series.

Singer wrote: »
    Mugs were being handed out separately after bag collection - sounds like you missed 'em.

Ah balls, home was back the other way so I didn't go any further than the baggage collection. Feck it anyway.

Toulouse wrote:
    Ah balls, home was back the other way so I didn't go any further than the baggage collection. Feck it anyway.

You can have mine! I have a favourite mug I use all the time so don't need another one!

Just popping in quickly, well done everyone for sticking it out on what sounds like a very tough day! The heat and closeness combined with a killer hill and finishing drag most likely sucked the life out of your legs so if you managed to PB, well done and if you didn't take a big consolation from having survived a tough course. I'll get back to you properly later, actually probably tomorrow at this stage, I am really looking forward to reading the race reports.
    My cunning plan to cheer you all on by numbers/username failed miserably, I didn't catch a single one sorry...you all went by at such speed, in fact even runners I know were nearly past me before I realised :D
    I dropped the 5yo and scooter this morning (sorry TFGR :( ) so I was a bit incognito but if you saw/heard the possibly very annoying person half a mile to go telling you to 'smile' :D.... That was me....

The eagle eyes of Singer managed to zone in on the strangers nibbling on flapjacks and zoned in on us, salivating bravely introducing himself. Well done that man and on a very respectable race, plenty more to come....after you slow down ;) :pac:

So hopefully you will all have warmed down, stretched, foam rolled if you feel you needed it and are now enjoying a rest and maybe a glass of whatever takes your fancy, you've earned it!

Lsrunners, I haven't forgotten you lot but you're kinda second class novices today, the racers are getting all the attention :p*

*:rolleyes: no, not really, tell us how you got on.....

You can have mine! I have a favourite mug I use all the time so don't need another one!

Are you sure you don't want to keep it as a memento?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 111 ✭✭Emsy 1

I haven't signed up for anything yet. I was going to do Letterkenny half in August but I'm thinking now I might try get down to dublin for the half in September it will be good practice for the big day.

Well done to everyone who did the 5 miler today loving reading ur report's. I did a nice 10 miles today. That's the first week almost over and still alive YAY !!!
    Phoebas wrote: »

Toulouse wrote: »
    Are you sure you don't want to keep it as a memento?

Been there, got the t-shirt :D That's all I need!