Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

DCM 2015: Mentored Novices Thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,272 ✭✭✭Dubgal72

Crazy busy day today: Frash, Peadar, BobDylan (you have to ask if there's room for Bob??!!), am not ignoring you! Welcome to the thread and talk later.

Whoopsa, really sorry to hear your news. Listen to your body on Saturday, really listen and remember it's better to live to fight another day :)
    In the meantime, do as you're told....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,936 ✭✭✭annapr

diego_b wrote: »
    Does anyone know anything about the International Friendship Run aka Breakfast Run on the day before the Marathon in Dublin.
    Is it the last run that a lot of marathoners do? I just noticed the entry when looking at the race series list.
    It's a 4K run from the Convention Centre....info here

It was funny last year because it had a Battle of Clontarf theme including re-enactment, and there was a good buzz about it. But I definitely wouldn't pay for it... also, as a first timer, I'm not sure you need to be running 5k the day before...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38 limoncella

First run done! My dog and I ran through mud and rain this morning. nice start to the training plan :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,936 ✭✭✭annapr

If he had been doubtful about it, I would agree, but he's happy for me to do it. Not finishing won't be a big deal. I'd rather that than not start. It's been too long since I had the buzz of starting a race.

The funny thing is, I asked him would I be better to just jog it and he said no, to just go for it, the faster I do it, and the less contact with the ground - the better.

If he wasn't who he was, I might reconsider but I do trust him, he's a good guy with some top athletes as clients, as well as being one himself. I promise that I'll stop if I need to :)

best of luck with it so, you have to trust the expert!

Added my name to the google doc but don't know how to get it above the weekly total row without screwing everything up. Can anyone help?

edit: Whoever just fixed it you are awesome!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,585 ✭✭✭nop98

limoncella wrote: »
    Added my name to the google doc but don't know how to get it above the weekly total row without screwing everything up. Can anyone help?

edit: Whoever just fixed it you are awesome!

Done :)

nop98 wrote: »

Nop, you've just been pressganged hired as our resident geek sheet-fixer :D

Thank you!!! :D:D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 539 ✭✭✭raddo

Added my name to the google doc finally.
    Still undecided if I am going to do it or not, but will keep going.
    Did the Cork Half Marathon in a PB at the beginning of June and I will be doing the Waterford Half Marathon on Saturday.
    Looking forward to it but motivation after Cork was quite low.
    My running this week and next will be limited due to the race.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,776 ✭✭✭This Fat Girl Runs

I'm one of those not following the boards plan so this week is going to be low mileage from me! Feels like a little holiday though and much needed as I've been training for the last two months. I definitely don't want to burn out! So, going for an easy 3 miler later. It's going to be lovely!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,796 ✭✭✭It wasnt me123

Day 2 for me - a nice easy 4miles - did 4 yesterday, a Club tempo run which was tough enough - I love having a goal/plan, I find it much easier to get out and run. Its very hot in the sunny south east at the moment. I'm supposed to be doing Boot Camp in 30 mins but just had my tea and wavering - Do I really want to run 1 km, for an hour of torture, and run back? I'll see.

Is it too soon to ask everyone which hotels are the best/cheapest/closest to the start and finish? I have family in Dublin but think I might treat myself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5 marf

What is your athletic background?
    Running for the last few years but only started doing races and increasing distance for the last year.

Have you raced before?
    5k pb 26 mins
    10k pb 57 mins
    Phoenix Park half marathon 2014 2hrs 18 mins
    Frank Duffy 10 mile 2014 1 hr 38 mins
    Bohermeen half 2015 2 hrs 13 mins

Do you walk at all?
    No

Current training?
    Monday 4-6 miles
    Tues rest
    Wed 2 mile run and 1 hr track incl intervals etc
    Thurs rest
    Fri LSR 10 + miles
    Sat rest
    Sun easy 3-4 miles

Dream marathon finish
    4 hours
    Realistic finish
    4.5 hours

Loosely following Asics plan at the moment. Not really committed to any plan yet due to Clontarf and 4 days is enough running for me #oldlegs!

Thanks Dubgal.
    These are my answers to your reply on my previous post. Hope this helps. Sorry not too familiar with posting on boards 😊

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,324 ✭✭✭chrislad

1 run down, 89 to go! :D:D:D

The actual EFFORT of Aqua jogging. I'm off out now to the pool but not before I make sure I'm entirely hair free ERRYBLOODYWHERE and stand in front of the mirror in my togs for ages looking at all my fatness and wishing I could just RUN :(:(:(

(Sorry boys, I just absolutely hate hate hate swimming :()

/drama queen

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,477 ✭✭✭wolfyboy555

Could you hell me out too please? I am in row 37. I put in my two runs for this week but they don't appear in the total columns. Thanks in advance. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,781 ✭✭✭eyeball kid

Could you hell me out too please? I am in row 37. I put in my two runs for this week but they don't appear in the total columns. Thanks in advance. :)

That should be done now for you wolfyboy.

1st run done. Lovely evening out there. Only 992kms to go :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,477 ✭✭✭wolfyboy555

That should be done now for you wolfyboy.

1st run done. Lovely evening out there. Only 992kms to go :eek:

Thanks. Grand day for it alright. Getting out on the miserable days will be the tester!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,776 ✭✭✭This Fat Girl Runs

The past few times I've been out running I've been eyeing up other runners and wondering if they're boardsies or not. :D Especially the few I've seen running without earphones in...I always want to ask 'hey are you on the Novice DCM thread?'. :pac:

So hey, if you've been out running and passed a fat girl running in a grey shirt and looking at you oddly, it was probably me! :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,413 ✭✭✭Toulouse

The past few times I've been out running I've been eyeing up other runners and wondering if they're boardsies or not. :D Especially the few I've seen running without earphones in...I always want to ask 'hey are you on the Novice DCM thread?'. :pac:

So hey, if you've been out running and passed a fat girl running in a grey shirt and looking at you oddly, it was probably me! :p

Hah, me too!!

I probably went a bit too fast this evening but it was so nice out and it felt really good! I did concentrate on my form though so one box ticked at least.

Is it too soon to ask everyone which hotels are the best/cheapest/closest to the start and finish? I have family in Dublin but think I might treat myself.
    In 2011 I stayed at the Mespil Hotel and it was lovely, very close to the expo and start line. They were really nice to guests running the marathon with free showers if you had to check out that day and gave you free water bottles after. This year it seems to be full already, at least for the cheaper rates :(. I booked The Leeson Lodge house, near the Mespil and still close to the start/expo! I'm keeping my eyes open though in case something else better pops up (Booking.com has free cancellation).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,796 ✭✭✭It wasnt me123

In 2011 I stayed at the Mespil Hotel and it was lovely, very close to the expo and start line. They were really nice to guests running the marathon with free showers if you had to check out that day and gave you free water bottles after. This year it seems to be full already, at least for the cheaper rates :(. I booked The Leeson Lodge house, near the Mespil and still close to the start/expo! I'm keeping my eyes open though in case something else better pops up (Booking.com has free cancellation).

I'm looking around the Mespil/Merrion Square and its looking at €250 for two nights for me and a child. Is that the norm for this weekend? I think I might have to relook at staying with family. Would love to be in the City for the craic. Like you, I'll keep looking

I booked like 3 weeks ago and got 3 nights for €240. I think prices are only going to go up. I wish I had the family option!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,415 ✭✭✭Singer

Woohoo, first official marathon plan run done! (Ok, I completely didn't do what was on the plan, but still felt good :D )

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,585 ✭✭✭nop98

Dubgal72 wrote: »
    And this is why we do good old miles ;):p

even if I quietly correct your omission of .2 miles (believe me you won't forget that last .2 miles on DCM day) = 626.2 miles....still such symmetry :D
    1001.2....so untidy :rolleyes:

*nop98 recognizes an argument he can't win and heads for the exit.. * :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,119 ✭✭✭Mrs Mc

PJD wrote: »
    Hi. Strava is another app for the phone but it is one of the better ones. Just load it, run and upload. Link with friends and see their runs or cycles. I like it as it as I have it linked to auto sync with my Garmin. So, I upload to Garmin connect and strava pulls the info across. My dashboard shows all activities by me and those who I follow. You can create a club hence my query about a boards group. Just a thought. Im not the best with the old tech stuff though.......

Still catching up on the missed pages following hols just wondering did the strava novices group get set up in the end ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,781 ✭✭✭eyeball kid

Mrs Mc wrote: »
    Still catching up on the missed pages following hols just wondering did the strava novices group get set up in the end ?

Not sure who set it up but here it is...

http://www.strava.com/clubs/148009

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 93 ✭✭Brian_Dart

I stayed in the Mespil last year for DCM14, and while it is great and close to everything, I asked when checking in what was the possibility of having a shower after the marathon and they said they wouldn't allow it unless I paid an extra €20 for late check out, and made it back to the hotel before 2pm when late check out finished. Parking was a bit limited there too and I had to park a bit away on the road behind the hotel. They did open breakfast very early though and had some good options for breakfast. Wish I had known that before I spent so long the night before looking for that quick Porridge stuff, yuk!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,119 ✭✭✭Mrs Mc

Not sure who set it up but here it is...

http://www.strava.com/clubs/148009

Great thanks for that.

frash wrote: »
    Have posted in this thread before but never answered the questions.
    I followed the novice thread last year but had to bow out at the 20m LSR stage due to injury.
    By answering these questions I guess I'm officially going to it another go this year.

What is your athletics background? Have you run before?What other sports have you taken part in and at what level?
    Running about 2.5 years - not a lot done before that.

Have you raced before? If so what are your PBs? (Date and distance please!)
    Haven't done a 10k race in a while now but best was 52:53 in April 2014.
    HM PB is 2:02:41 (Sept 14 race series)

Do you still need to take walk breaks in your training ? (No problem if you do)
    No but I do stop for a drink at a couple of public taps on my LSRs.

How much training do you currently do ? Distances, cross training - whatever you think is relevant to your current fitness level.
    Last week was 3 lunchtime runs of 4 miles with an 11 mile LSR on Saturday.

How many days a week can you train?
    Will stick with above for now but I know I'll have to switch to an evening once a week closer to the time to get a longer run in midweek.

What do you want to achieve? Dream finishing time and realistic finishing time? Or just complete it in no specified time?
    Just complete really but would love to be under 4:30

What marathon programme are you following/intending to use?
    Hal I'd say

Hi frash, welcome back! You know the score I'm sure :) What was the injury and what caused it? I'm sure you are on top of stretching, foam rolling and strength work? ;)

Peadar_85 wrote: »
    What is your athletics background? Have you run before? What other sports have you taken part in and at what level?
    I ran a little when I was quite young - sprints mainly in community games. Have played Gaelic all my life training twice a week still to this day. Started taking up middle distance running non-competitively in last 3 years

Have you raced before? If so what are your PBs? (Date and distance please!)

Yes - have run the below distances quite a few times but here are my PBs:
    • Frank Duffy 10 mile 2014.....1:17
    • Barcelona Half-Marathon 2014.....1:41
    • Park Run 5k.......0.19:48
    Do you still need to take walk breaks in your training ? (No problem if you do)
    Very rarely

How much training do you currently do? Distances, cross training - whatever you think is relevant to your current fitness level.
    Gaelic season tends to consume my efforts from Jan to Sept which is my main concern in prepping for DCM15. Train twice weekly with matches generally every second weekend. Season already shot for us so I'm looking to focus my efforts more on running now but will still be training withmy club at least once a week. Generally an occasional jog or weekend Parkrun inbetween sessions.

How many days a week can you train?

What do you want to achieve? Dream finishing time and realistic finishing time? Or just complete it in nospecified time?
    • To start and finish a marathon for the first time.
    • To run the Frank Duffy 10 mile and Half Marathon as part of the Race Series.
    • To assist my partner (also a first timer) with her training and preparation as well.
    • Sub-4:00 marathon is my primary goal - suppose to have a specific goal maybe 3:50.
    What marathon programme are youfollowing/intending to use?
    I had been intending taking one of the Hal Higdon plans but I want something more specific with times etc. I did look at one that Asics provided but found it far too complex. I've just discovered the Boards plan and it looks good to me -like the way it incorporates the Frank Duffy and HM plus in general it seems easy to follow.

Hi Peadar, you look like you're at a good stage fitness-wise. Could you clarify your running training please, how many days' running will you be able to do? I've heard that running and football aren't compatible partners from an injury perspective, how have you found the combination of gaa and running?
    Your target looks realistic, more so if you're around the same level of fitness when you achieved your HM PB. You don't have to be there right now, approaching it will do for now :) Welcome aboard!